We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay! 3rd stay and always impressed!”
Review of Amari Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amari Phuket
Ranked #2 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent stay! 3rd stay and always impressed!”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This resort is awesome! Location is great, far away from hustle and bustle of patong, yet within minutes walking distance to the shops and nightlife. Hotel staff are friendly and the grounds of the resort are well kept. Amazing food and wonderful ocean views from the rooms. I have stayed here on 3 occasions now and will continue to return! Highly recommend for honeymooners and couples, lots of stairs for the elderly.

Room Tip: Request a room closest to water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,130
    1,092
    209
    59
    24
See reviews for
1,285
2,864
189
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed here winding up our lovely honeymoon in Europe.
Its is by the sea having its own private beach.. very good food, room and hotel.
Staff extremely friendly

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruchitk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed at the hotel in May 2012. Had a very good stay. We were upgraded to a superior room during check-in. The room was very nice with a very good view. It was very spacious with a private balcony.

The hotel has 2 swimming pools. One of them is a deep pool while the other one has shallow & deep section. There are 3 restaurants in the hotel. As we were out most of the time, just had breakfast which was decent with plenty of options to choose from. Wanted to try the Breeze spa but could not get an appointment in the limited time we stayed there.

Free wifi is provided in the reception lobby. It was extremely hot and humid and the fans in the lobby are of no use. It is best to ask for some refreshing cool towels while you wait in the lobby area.

The hotel is not far from the Patong town. You can easily reach the shopping areas in 10~15 minutes. Alternatively there are tuk-tuks available at the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms are spread out across a large area. For those who are not active and have difficulty in cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpripr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This is a very overdue review. I stayed here in September 2011 for a week. One of my most pleasant holiday experiences ever. I am just back from another stay in Phuket (June 2012) and wished I had re-booked into the Amari.

What makes the Amari stand out for me is just the overall atmosphere that it provides. I stayed in a superior room on the second level with just a small stretch of grass separating me from the beach. The room opened to a decent sized balcony with sufficient chairs to laze about. Each night I opened the glass doors and kept the screen doors locked and went to sleep listening to the waves. As it was raining quite a bit, the sounds of rain made it even better.

A highlight for me was the absolutely beautiful setting for the excellent breakfast. The area which doubles as a restaurant is partially enclosed and the view of the ocean and across the bay is gorgeous. The service staff in the breakfast were very welcoming.

The actual buildings and rooms are not what make the Amari special, they are quite ok but nothing really outstanding. The service however is outstanding. Perhaps the happiest and most friendly staff I have encountered. There are the usual issues with making yourself understood with the staff who often have only a basic understanding of English, this is not uncommon but patience can be required. It did not detract from the basic friendliness and smiles of the staff.

The hotel is located some distance from central Patong - Bangla Rd and Jungceylon and requires the use of a tuktuk - 200 Baht each way. You could walk but it would be at least a 20 minute walk to those places for a quick walker.

The hotel is quite spread out with a number of levels - so be prepared for that and hope you don't get to the top level (reception) and realise you have to go back for your wallet!

The swimming pools are ok but nothing special, but in a nice setting. They run some free activities - I did a quick scuba lesson in the pool. The actual beach in front of the hotel is more for looks but some people were happy to go swimming there.

I paid extra to get internet access in my room.

A great stay, I just loved it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The building is fine, in a good spot if you want to avoid the main strip, but the service provided is provided only if, and in the way the staff want to - even to the point of denying a service which is offered!
When you come to Thailand, people who go to Phuket a lot will tell you that Westerners can be frustrated by Thai service because they don't understand the culture - that Thais will not tell you something cannot be done and so just smile and suggest something else. I live in Bangkok, in an hotel, and that is simply not true, in fact, if you accept that behaviour, you are being, at best, disrespected, at worst, manipulated. Thai service is some of the best in the world - they will do whatever they can to accommodate you and then, if they really can't, they will say "Sorry, Madam, cannot," - in short, they are honest and give wonderful service, always looking for some way to provide you with a good alternative. Not at Amari, here the guest must accommodate the staff.
For example, there is a breakfast card in each room, for room service breakfast - we filled ours out way before 4a.m., thinking we'd enjoy breakfast on the balcony at about 8:30. At 8:20 I got a call from a woman saying "oh madam, breakfast in room is extra cost", I found that strange, but I said "I know, that' fine, thank you for that." So she said she'd just check the order and she proceeded to read out the order, she got it wrong, so I corrected her, and she said she'd start again. Again she got it wrong - but in a different way this time. I corrected her. Again she began and made a different mistake, so finally I said "Look, I don't think you'll get it right, so we'll just go to the restaurant." The response "Yes, Madam, that is much better, what everyone does." CLEARLY, they just couldn't be bothered bringing us breakfast - this is not Thai culture, this is poor service and manipulation.
At the restaurant, the buffet is dreadful. The restaurant is open to the elements (which is what most people come for) but it means that there are bees all over the juice bar, that the cheese, cold cuts, and fruit which sit on uncovered plates on mounds of ice, are open to the bees and flies, as well. The cooked food in the bain maries is neither Asian nor western, for example the "strawberry french toast" is actually a white bread and strawberry jam sandwich covered in beaten egg (not soaked to absorb the egg, just dipped) and fried so that there is rubbery egg around a too-sweet sandwich. Any meats from salmon to meatballs are overcooked and like hockey pucks. The bread for toast is all days old and curling at the edges.

Note, also, that the "Foot massage" in the Breeze spa is actually a half body massage for which you must get naked and lie down - don't book it if you aren't comfortable with that.

I've stayed at much cheaper hotels in Thailand with far better breakfast and much, much better service.

Room Tip: Many, many stairs - most without railings - and only one tiny (1.2m x 1.3m) lift - not good for thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Danisidhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Amari Phuket, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write the review and provide us with the feedback. We can only apologise that there were aspects of your stay that you felt were less than perfect.

We sincerely regret that the management of the hotel did not learn of any problems you had during your stay, and therefore, was not able to offer any assistance to make your stay more enjoyable. We have discussed the feedback you provided with relevant teams and they are taking steps to address the issues.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and hope that you will give Amari a second chance to make a whole new first Impression. We look forward to welcoming you back and extend to you the standards of excellence you have come to expect from Amari.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

just back from 15 night stay. wonderfull as usual. now the 2nd week half the hotel was closed for up grading, it has to be done sometime to keep your standards up. staff did their utmost to make it a smooth change over. some small teehing problems but a word with Alex, Monticha or Phil it wasnt a problem. As phil said tell me when you are here and it gets fixed. dont wait until you go home.Any one thre now with work going on dont let it put you off. we will be back for 7th time.
michael & shirley
Ireland

Room Tip: we have never had a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael mc b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights, first trip to Phuket! What we gathered was Amari was in probably the most prime position on Patong Beach, at the most southern end with no beach road between the resort and ocean yet only a stones throw from the hussle/bussle of shopping and restraunts of Patong. Could not fault our stay as everything was perfect including the friendliness of all staff and a great breakfast each morning, Amari also has two seperate restraunts, one Itialian and one Aisian/Western which were both great. We stay in 1104, bottom block, 10m from pool and could literally dangle our legs in the ocean at high tide. Room was huge, bed was massive and comfortable, biggest flat screen TV I've seen in a motel (about 76in 92cm). Only minor fault we had was bathroom was a little small compared to a huge room they should have moved the wall half a meter during planning! I had to sit sideways on the toilet to avoid pressing my face on the shower screen, this was the only minor inconvenience though!
Unfortunately the whole left side wings of the resort was closed for renovations until October and we were unable to access the private jetty many say is a must do at sunset, from the view from our room we could see why! It would be beautiful. The renovations in no way effected us, I appluad the fact they have decided to shut the whole wing rather than renovate room by room as most resorts do which annoys visitors to no end! Although I would not be keen on staying in those wings as it warrants plenty of walking just to get back to reception! The resort is built on the side of Patong hill thus be prepared for a few stairs although we only had one flight before access to the lift straight to reception. All in all was a great resort and we would certainly stay here again for a great relaxing holiday! I doubt anyone would be dissapointed here!

Room Tip: We stay in 1104 bottom block, 10m from pool and could literally dangle our legs in the ocean at high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank T0ny73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
6.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.7 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Phuket

Property: Amari Phuket
Address: 2 Meun-Ngern Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amari Coral Beach Phuket)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Patong
#1 Family Hotel in Patong
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#2 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#2 Business Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amari Phuket 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away on a secluded beach near Patong, Amari Phuket (formerly known as Amari Coral Beach Phuket) is the ideal Phuket vacation spot no matter what you are seeking. With first-class restaurants, affordable luxury accommodation and a quiet private beach, this island resort hotel offers a holiday experience unlike any other. You can indulge in some well-deserved relaxation at the renowned Breeze Spa, offering a whole range of spa treatments and massages. Reward yourself, and come celebrate the magic of Phuket with Amari Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, Amari Hotels, Ebookers, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Amari Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Coral Beach Phuket Hotel Patong
Amari Coral Beach Hotel
Amari Coral Beach Patong
Amari Coral Beach Resort
Amari Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing