We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad..”
Review of Amari Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amari Phuket
Ranked #2 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed for 7 nights in January for our honeymoon. The rooms were nice but not as nice as i was expecting, but the bed and pillows were very comfortable. Walls had grubby marks and paint peeling, air con leaked water down the wall. The Mini-Bar prices were ridiculous and we did not purchase anything, however they do supply 3 free bottles of water a day.
The buffet breakfast had something for everyone's tastes and was excellent and we ate at two of the restaurants for dinner on 3 occasions. The meals were good but the pricing is almost the same as back home (Australia) so not cheap!
Unlike other reviewers, we didn't have a problem with all the stairs (yes there is alot) and the distance to town is an easy 15 min walk in and back (and we definitely are not fit!)
The thing that really annoyed us was the poor WiFi reception and the fact you had to pay for it.
Luckily i had read another reviewer mention about signing up to the Amari rewards club and getting free WiFi; when i mentioned this at reception, they had no idea what i was talking about until i found the pamphlet on the desk and straight away was given free WiFi for 5 days. But it only worked for 3 days so im glad i didnt pay for it. Even the free WiFi in the lobby would log you out over and over.. So yeah, its nice, but when your paying roughly $220 AUD a night you do expect a bit better.

Room Tip: We stayed in 4210, water from shower goes under the shower door, noisy air con vibrates outside, poo...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TazKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,885)
There are newer reviews for Amari Phuket
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,005 - 4,011 of 5,890 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed at Amari for 7 days. The standard room had great views of the water with a nice sized balcony, the room itself had everything one expected from a standard room in a resort but was feeling old and drab with a refurb well overdue. Everything was in good working order, our toilet flooded on day 3 but was attended to by maintanence promptly. We Lso had issues with the lights which our friends also experienced in another room. The breakfast is delightful with all the bells and whistles of a resort style buffet offering, the egg station chefs and waitstaff were friendly and polite. On occassions the breakfast team did seem understaffed, one morning we noticed only 3 staff running around and we had to setup our own table and clear our own plates. The reception gave us a pleasent welcome but was quite unhelpful at times as they ignored requests and seemed to have very little local knowledge, we were asked to wait when we requested some band aids but were forgotten about for 15 minutes. We spent a lot of time relaxing by the poolside in between tours and trips to town, we consumed many cocktails which were a hit and miss when it came to taste but can't complain considering the prices we were paying were so cheap, sticking to beers are probably the safest option however our friends did enjoy copious amounts of Piña Coladas, Zombies and fresh coconut juices. The only criticism is that the pool side staff did seem a little un-attentive at times missing parts of our orders and standing around not acknowledging customers standing at the bar, in some cases they were just plain rude walking away mid order or having conversations with other staff while we waited to order and be acknowledged. We had a couple of spa treatments at the breeze day spa which I highly recommend during anyone's visit, the service is fantastic and ambience very tranquil set up in huts in amongst the tress overlooking the harbour. The jetty is a amazing place to enjoy a few beers while watching and feeding the many different types of fish and ocean life swimming around the clear waters, a dip off the jetty and onto the pontoon is also a must! Overall the facilities are good and set out over a lot of space, the are plenty on offer when it comes to food with different buffet themes each night and the best Pad Thai we had during our time in Phuket. The best service was provided by the tour desk who were always helpful and able to meet all our needs for tours and information. The location is great as it is only about a 15 minute walk into Patong town away from all the hustle and bustle giving us a quiet and relaxed resort style holiday whilst also enjoying the delights of such a hectic town such as Patong.

Stayed: January 2013
3  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

- Positives
# Location: great location, close to Patong so you have the option to visit the night life in Patong, having an authentic thai meal or enjoy a nice massage. You are also away from the seedier side of Patong. It's a good 15 minute walk to the centre of Patong. take a Tuk Tuk.
# Good service recovery: We were booked into a rather awful Superior room (more on that later). However, we were quickly moved to a Deluxe room on complaint.
# Breakfast: the breakfast has a wide variety of food but its average for an international hotel.
# Deluxe rooms: these were light, airy, spacious and providing excellent views of the bay. A lovely balcony to sit on in the evenings. This is more upto the standard I would expect from the Amari. (Previously stayed at the Amari Palm Reef - Koh Samui... It was better).
# good airport transfer.

- The not so good
# Superior rooms: these were just awful! Outdated, in need of refurbish (dirty walls, furniture coming away from the wall, dirty bathroom, dead mosquito on the mirror and insects). As you can imagine after 17hours of travel to Phuket, we were less then impressed. To their credit the front desk staff did move us to a deluxe room, but that was mainly due to us complaining that the room standard was unacceptable and we were here for a special occasion. Plus returning customers to the Amari. I would highly recommend an upgrade to a Deluxe room to avoid disappointment.
# Upkeep: the hotel overall lacked attention to detail. Some areas were in need of a paint job, other areas were not kept clean. The rooms could be cleaned to a higher standard, particularly the bathroom.
# Beach: yes it's a poor excuse for a beach. Full of dead coral so it's difficult to manoeuvre around. plus it is shallow and dirty at times. But, I still managed to swim during the early afternoon.


Patong
# just remember that if you are staying in Phuket and Patong the nightlife and seedier side comes with it. You will hear the pounding sound of music at night from the hotel.
# Seahag Restaurant: great Thai food but poor service. A smile would help!
# The Place Restaurant: on the seafront near the banana walk. Excellent Pizza and owned by two lovely French hosts. You also get a great view of nightlife and get to hear live music from the restaurant next door.
# Red Hot bar: fantastic live music band. Really worth visiting.
# Tiger club: Avoid this at all costs, full of seedy people and all the things you may have heard that happens in Patong. Nasty! But it depends on what you like...
# Thai people: are lovely and welcoming.
# Massage: Get dropped off by the Royal Paradise hotel. Two great massage places.

Room Tip: Deluxe room, until they refurbish the Superior ones...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RKBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Me and my hubby went to Amari for our honeymoon last September, we spent 4 amazing days in the hotel.
The location of the hotel is a bit far from the crowded areas in Patong, yet everything was reachable.

We booked all our excursions from the hotel with a very friendly person who advised us where to go and which things we shouldn't miss, but on the day we were supposed to go to Phi Phi island it rained heavily so we took back our money for the trip without any trouble what so ever.

Buffet breakfast is very good, we had a discussion once with one of the chefs who was so friendly as were them all :)
The stuff is very welcoming and friendly everywhere, the rooms are so clean, the view is more than amazing. Overall it was the best honeymoon ever :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omnia_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We have stayed in this hotel two times, 2008 and 2010.

Location:
Patong beach, not right in the center but about 10-15mins walk. It is on a hill, so if you have bad legs, use a tuk tuk. The road to the hotel is very quiet at night also, so I suggest maybe using a taxi or tuktuk if you're going back to the hotel very late at night.

There were a couple of occations that a passing moped taxi asked us if we wanted to buy drugs, and that was when were walking on that lonely part very late. They won't hassle you if you just straight decline (or ignore them - that is a thing you have to learn in Thailand anyway :) or you'll never be able to get past the vendors and tailor shop guys) , but you can avoid it by taking a tuktuk.

Hotel grounds:
The hotel is spread on a private beach area next to Patong beach. Two swimming pools, four restaurants and a lobby bar, a private jetty, gym, souvenir shop (where you can use internet also) and spa. Lots of steps.

Room:
Both times we stayed in a superior room. We were lucky to get a room that was located right on the private beach, LITERALLY the beach was just under our balcony. Amazing! Even the deluxe rooms are not so close to the water. I could hear the sea at night when I was sleeping, really soothing.
The room had a king sized bed, a dvd player, comfortable chairs on the balcony, a shower. We received fruit and cake on arrival (we stayed there on our wedding anniversary both times - they remembered the second time!), and a newspaper, Bangkok Post, was delivered to the room free of charge daily.

Even though the corridors of this hotel are outside, we didn't ever see ANY bugs in our room. I think the staff sprays the room daily against mosquitos.

Pools: There are two pools located on different parts of the hotel area. Both are great. The pool next to the breakfast restaurant has a pool bar. Occasionally they'll bring you some small free snacks too when you're relaxing in the sun chair.

Restaurants: We didn't eat in the restaurants, because we usually went to Patong to eat dinner. I regret a little bit that we didn't eat in La Gritta - I've heard it's the best italian restaurant in Patong! But we DID have the exact same views from our room as La Gritta, and I think the restaurant charges for the view too in a way (in the meal prices, because it isn't a cheap restaurant).
We did have a drink in the lobby bar and the jetty, amazing views and tasty cocktails in both places.

Staff & Reception: Staff is very friendly and polite in this hotel. The reception is beautiful. Looks like they keep a record of guests, because they remembered our wedding anniversary from the first stay, and they gave us the exact same room on both visits.

Airport transfer:
You can book a hotel car to take you to the airport (1900 baht round trip).
We booked the car to meet us at the airport on arrival, but it didn't arrive. We had to take some awful minibus that took us to some travel centre in the middle of nowhere, they tried to change the price etc etc. Not a good experience. Do not take the minibuses! Book from the limousine service desk INSIDE the terminal! The "limousines" are legal and good.

The hotel reception said they had sent me a confirmation request to my email, and when I didn't reply, they cancelled the transfer. I never got that email, I suspect they miss-typed my email address.

We did use the hotel airport transfer returning to the airport, and it was OK.

Breakfast: This hotel has the most amazing breakfast ever! The breakfast buffet has every possible thing you can ever need. The restaurant is peaceful and in the open air. These days I compare all the other hotels breakfasts to this breakfast. None of them has been as good as this.

This is my ultimate favourite hotel of all time. There isn't really anything negative to say about this hotel. I really don't love Patong that much, as it is quite busy (I prefer Ko Samui and the smaller islands near Samui), but I think that with this hotel you can get the perfect mix of busy Patong and peaceful, secluded hotel Amari. I will definitely choose this hotel again, if I'll return to Patong.

Room Tip: Ask for a standard room from the building next to La Gritta restaurant.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SummerSun83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Our group of 4 stayed at Amari Coral Strand where the welcome could not have been warmer. Great staff, great manager, lovely pool, our rooms with ocean view were very comfortable. Wonderful breakfasts and several other dining rooms. Although the hotel has quite a few steep stairs this added to exercise which was needed after all the wonderful Thai food. Staff only too willing to book tours. Would love to go back !

Room Tip: Ask for front rooms which are right on the ocean. Lovely sunsets.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 98Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Lots of fun here. Very close to everything you need (shopping, bars, beach) but far away enough to get that resort feel. The big hill sucks but we rented a scooter so we didn't have to walk up the hill and could get around town.

Buffet breakfast was excellent. Service was great.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
6.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 36 in Choeng Thale
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
19.3 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Phuket

Address: 2 Meun-Ngern Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amari Coral Beach Phuket)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Patong
#1 Spa Hotel in Patong
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#2 Business Hotel in Patong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#2 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £97 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amari Phuket 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away on a secluded beach near Patong, Amari Phuket (formerly known as Amari Coral Beach Phuket) is the ideal Phuket vacation spot no matter what you are seeking. With first-class restaurants, affordable luxury accommodation and a quiet private beach, this island resort hotel offers a holiday experience unlike any other. You can indulge in some well-deserved relaxation at the renowned Breeze Spa, offering a whole range of spa treatments and massages. Reward yourself, and come celebrate the magic of Phuket with Amari Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, TravelUp, Amari Hotels, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Amari Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Coral Beach Phuket Hotel Patong
Amari Coral Beach Hotel
Amari Coral Beach Patong
Amari Coral Beach Resort
Amari Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing