We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding and reception for my daughter”
Review of Amari Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Amari Phuket
Ranked #2 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding and reception for my daughter”
Reviewed 10 August 2008

On Sunday 13th July 2008 at 2;30pm my daughter was married on the Jetty owned by the Amari Coral beach resort with the reception held at the Amari, Rim Talay Restaurant overlooking the ocean.

The Amari closed the tree covered path that leads along the hillside to the jetty mid morning. They placed chairs along the path for the elderly to rest if required and draped strings of flowers from the overhead branches. The wedding guests faced towards the water and a light breeze provided light relief.

We had cocktails and pre dinner drinks at 6pm by the lower swimming pool and sat down at 7pm to start the reception. We can not speak highly enough of the effort and attention to detail the Amari paid to making the wedding a memorable and outstanding success. The flower arrangements, the chair covers, the lighting, the ice sculptures, the attentiveness of the staff were all outstanding. They honestly could not have thought of or done anything more to add to the magic of the evening. We had 57 guests and chose the International buffet for its diversity of food. We placed wine on each table for toasts and guests were able order drinks through the evening.

The International buffet was outstanding in it's size and diversity of Asian and European food, it's entree, antipasto, main course, seafood and sweets. It must have taken the Dutch chef and his staff hours to plan and prepare.

We must give a special thank you to Geev Andre Bahrampoori the Executive Assistant Manager and his staff for their organisation and attention to detail. One of my friends whose daughter is to be married in Perth in 2009 flippantly said “ this will be hard to top” . I smiled and agreed with him.

Of the guests, most stayed at the Amari. One of the successes of the wedding was that the attendees met and attended several of the social functions in the days prior to the wedding. So not only was the location idyllic but everyone was in a holiday mood

We were impressed, the Amari Coral Beach Hotel at Patong Beach Phuket went beyond our expectations. As a wedding destination hotel, truly the only place to go.
Peter Fry - Perth Western Australia August 2008

  • Liked — The ocean views and the magnificent breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing to complain about at all
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Pietro52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,139
    1,094
    209
    59
    24
See reviews for
1,290
2,868
189
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

We Have just got back from 10 days staying at the Amari Coral Hotel.
It was impossible to find any fault with it. The only thing i will say is it is not good for people who have trouble walking upstairs,as it is built into a hillside,so many stairs up and down.
Rooms were spotless,cleaned every day,with 2 bottles of free water everyday also. There was a fabulous view from room over the sea.


We ate there in the evening a few times. Was a little bit more than down town,but was excellent food and service.The Breakfast was out of this world. If you could not find anything there that you liked there was something wrong with you.They catered for european and asians.
There was 2 swimming pools and were both very clean,with towels supplied. Meals around pool at lunchtime were again reasonably priced and good helpings.
We did couple of trips and they even gave us there own towels instead of using our own.
It is a good 10 to 15 mins walk to centre of town,all downhill,but you can become a bit hot and sweaty by the time you reach town.Not good if you have just showered and changed for the evening.
Better to catch the Tuk Tuk which we managed to get for 200 Bahts going and 150 on way back. If you are a bit daring ang hire a 150cc motorbike you can save a bit as getting Tuk Tuk back and forward a couple of times a day soon mounts up.If you are looking for cheap designer clothes then the town has many places. We found offer a quarter to one third of what they are asking.
We got couple of suits made and i got 5 shirts made also,very cheap.Plenty of bars and restaurants,mainly in the Bangla Road area.
I tend to normally pick faults with Hotels,but this one i could not. All and all wonderful holiday experience.

  • Liked — Excellent Sevice and Cleanliness
  • Disliked — The amount of steps you had to climb every day.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank stmarysthdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

The Amari Coral Beach Resort is a must stay. I've been to Asia for work and leisure many many times and it would have to be summarised as an 'A' class hotel.

My girlfriend and I stayed for 11 brilliant nights!!!

I do a substantial amount of research before I travel and trip advisor was a good bet.

Here are the reasons why you should stay.

1. The rooms are spacious and clean (and I'm a clean freak!!!). Do NOT consider any other room type apart from the SEAVIEW rooms- incredible. The standard rooms are nice but the seaview is seriously unbelievable!!

2. Staff are extremely friendly especially Geev Andrew Bahrampoori- Executive Assistant Manager- a young man that goes out of his way to make your experience a pleasant one. Comes around your breakfast table ( to all guests!!) and wishes a great morning and offers his services).

3. Breakfast first class with a great chef from Germany or swiss who just got back from Las Vegas. The variey will please the big breakfast eaters.

4. Pool sizes and positioning outstanding.

5. Beach view from the pool is fantastic.

6. The Italian restaurant is a MUST do- Le Grevitt- something like that located at the Amari Resort. I URGE you to try and I'm sure everyone would agree that has stayed at the Amari. The views of the beach at nights is truly amazing.

5. Gym is sufficient and will suffice for a solid workout for all body types.

6. It's a 10-15 minute walk to Patong and a blessing when you are a little out. Tuk Tuk will cost you 150 BHT!!

7. The surroundings of the garden instantly relaxes you and they are well maintained.

Negatives?

Just one. There are steps to your room so if your struggling with an injury or old age (apologies) then this may pose an issue. Going down is ok but walking up may be an issue. However, they do have an elevator.

A brilliant hotel but please make sure you have a SEAVIEW room.

Prices from Markets:

Men:
Singlets- 100 BHT
Jeans- 650 BHT
Adidas tracksuit jackets- 400 BHT
T-shirts- 150 BHT
Billabong shorts- 150 BHT
Gameboy games- 250 BHT
Cargo shorts- 500 BHT...good quality
CD- 100 BHT
DVD- 100-150 BHT

The best seafood restaurant- called YA seafood restaurant...we went there for 5 nights in a row!!!!! yum! CLEAN! FRESH!!

Feel free to email me with additional questions.

Bill and Mary

  • Liked — Clean, spacious and incredible seaview
  • Disliked — perhaps the bathroom could be a little bigger, however, i dont spend that much time in there.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank needabreakMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a holiday to Thailand and Malaysia. We cut short our stay in Khao Lak (1 hour north of Phuket) due to horrendous weather and booked into the Amari Coral Resort for 2 nights.

We booked directly with the hotel for their standard room over the phone and got the same rate as we would have had we booked online. As noted by the all the favourable reviews of the resort, the hotel is just in a stunning location on a headland that is all of a 7-12 minute walk from the centre of bustling Patong.

The breakfasts are just terrific, the service attentive and the views back across the bay and the lights of Patong are just superb. The resort's private jetty is set in a gorgeous spot, as is the hotel's spa. And the hotel's private beach is clean and wonderful for an evening stroll. Just wear shoes due to the small, but harmless crabs.

The only issue I had with the hotel was that they didn't notify guests that they had a house cover band (whilst incredibly good) played from around 6.00-7.30 pm and then returned to play from 10.00-12.30 in the morning!! The open air bar area where the band plays, located beneath the reception area means that the band's sound blares out over nearby loacted hotel rooms.

We were shocked to be able to hear the very audible sound of the band and every lyric through our walls once we had turned off our tv. We approached reception on our first evening about being relocated to a room further away for our second evening.

Instead, the staff graciously and quickly upgraded us to a superior room with direct beach views and access that very night around 11pm. A lovely fruit basket and note of apology for the inconvenience accompanied the gift. We were floored by their professionalism and unexpectedly generous response.

In summing up, The Amari is a truly wonderful resort in a memorably picturesque location. If you book a standard room and want an earlier night's sleep, just request one further away from reception. Also, due to the hotel's hilly site, family's with elderly members and small children may find the number of stairs just too much. Otherwise, the Amari Coral is a superb hotel destination for those wanting to access the beauty of Phuket.

  • Liked — Professional service, Hotel views and location and amazing breakfasts
  • Disliked — Not being informed about the hours when the hotel band performed (important when your hotel room is ONLY 50-100 metres from band's open air type venue. Also standard rooms are a little on the small size although perfectly adequate and clean
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2008

When we arrived we were served this Lemongrass Tea drink that was fabulous. The staff was very attentive and the rooms were excellent. We stayed in the furthest building from the front desk that was certaily more quite but it was trek to get into Putong on foot. The packaged meals / entertainment were fun and great after a long day, but don't eat there everynight as the food in town is good and less expensive. The high end spa looked wonderful but the prices were beyond me as I was at the end of our trip. The salon by the fitness center offered a great facial. I will go back on the Amari

Two things to note

1 - Drinks on the pier are much more expensive
2 - Don't use your calling card from the hotel, you get charged an extreme rate as an operated assist call. Go into town and use the yellow phones

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MomentByMoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dev
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2008

After a lot of research chose Amari and were not disappointed. Had Superior room and there were 3 women in it, would chose the same again. Beds were not like cement as some people said but comfortable, shower was a little slow in draining but no big deal. La Gritta was lovely and service fantastic, resident band and happy hour was great, wish we had discovered it earlier! Position was fantastic, 10 minute walk down to shops and a tuktuk ride back for 150-200bht. Pools were plenty big enough and the breakfast was fantastic. Would most certainly chose Amari again and would stay even longer!

  • Liked — Position, pools, views and food
  • Disliked — Probably the steps, we were lucky only had about 12 to climb!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
509 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2008

We stayed at the Coral Beach for 11 nights on our first trip to Phuket following three nights in Bangkok, a night at The Rose Garden Resort, Ayutthaya, and a night on a floating hotel on the River Kwai.
It was a real pleasure to be able to relax for a while without having to keep re-packing suitcases.
The Amari is situated at the far southern end of Patong Beach in Phuket over a small river and up a long sloping road to the resort. A relaxing open-air lobby awaits with far-reaching views back over the crescent shaped Patong Bay. with the sea twinkling below.
The previous reviewer referred to the distance to Patong itself, but this was really not a problem and we both enjoyed the walk to and from the "bright lights". If it was too late at night or we couldn't be bothered to walk back we simply took a tuk tuk for a few pence.
The hotel is spread out in blocks over quite a distance which led to a secluded feel to the rooms, much preferable to a large hotel in one single building. Paths with tropical foliage linked the rooms to the main reception area, magically lit at night. Frogs croaking in the darkness kept you company as you walked back to your room.
Our room was probably the furthest away from the main reception and we were able to step right onto the sand below.
The becroom and bathroom were extremely comfortable.
There were two lovely looking swimming pools, but we were not in the hotel during the day so not able to comment on how busy they became.
The breakfast spread was magnificent and kept us going all day long.
We only had dinner at the hotel on one occasion, which was the special Loy Kratong dinner. This was a magical occasion where each guest set their little candlelit boats bobbing off into the sea.
The beach at the Coral Beach is certainly nothing to get excited about, nor is Patong Beach itself. Better beaches can be found just around the headland south of the Coral Beach Hotel and at Kata and Karon.
Patong itself was a heady experience. Even a few nights in Bangkok had not prepared us for the sights and smells of Patong. We spent most evenings in the infamous Bangla Road at the open air bars where hours could be spent nursing a couple of beers watching the most incredible sights imaginable. At no time did we feel uncomfortable and as there were many couples enjoying similar evenings to us this seemed to be the general opinion of all. The bar girls were extremely friendly to both of us and seemed just as keen to chat to us as lure single men into the bars.
Wonderful meals were taken on Beach Road before the trip back to the Coral Beach.
Phuket was a beautiful island. We took a trip to Pearl Island for the day, we also visited Kata and Karon Beach, the sea gypsy village and a memorable day was spent at Phang Nga. We visited Phuket Town but were a little disappointed.
The weather was wonderful for the whole holiday, and I will always regard Phuket as a little bit special, even though we have travelled to far prettier and stunning locations in the following years.

  • Liked — The Location Away From The Bright Lights
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2003, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
6.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.7 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Phuket

Property: Amari Phuket
Address: 2 Meun-Ngern Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amari Coral Beach Phuket)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Patong
#1 Family Hotel in Patong
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#2 Business Hotel in Patong
#2 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amari Phuket 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away on a secluded beach near Patong, Amari Phuket (formerly known as Amari Coral Beach Phuket) is the ideal Phuket vacation spot no matter what you are seeking. With first-class restaurants, affordable luxury accommodation and a quiet private beach, this island resort hotel offers a holiday experience unlike any other. You can indulge in some well-deserved relaxation at the renowned Breeze Spa, offering a whole range of spa treatments and massages. Reward yourself, and come celebrate the magic of Phuket with Amari Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Amari Hotels, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Amari Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Coral Beach Phuket Hotel Patong
Amari Coral Beach Hotel
Amari Coral Beach Patong
Amari Coral Beach Resort
Amari Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing