We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room with view”
Review of Amari Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amari Phuket
Ranked #2 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice room with view”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel is located at the edge of paying beach up the slope.

It is walkable to the jungceylon shopping mall, about 40 mins. Else pay 200 baht for the tuk tuk one way.

Taking a taxi/cab from airport to hotel cost 800baht and 950baht from hotel to airport.

The breakfast spread is good with a good variety. Had dinner at the main restaurant and the food was good and not too expensive.

The room was spacious and bed was comfortable. The view from the room balcony was great.

The pool was nice n not crowded.

Overall an enjoyable experience and will certainly stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hmsg128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmariPhuket, Manager at Amari Phuket, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for selecting Amari Phuket, we are delighted to learn you enjoyed a fantastic stay.

We sincerely appreciate you taking your valuable time writing us about your experience. Thank you for your great comments about the hotel location, the room view, the pool, the breakfast and the food at Rim Talay restaurant.

We all look forward to welcome you back to Amari Phuket in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Tipaporn Koonphol
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,353
    1,128
    216
    61
    25
See reviews for
1,415
2,958
194
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A hotel with a 5*view, right at the northern end of Patong Bay. With its own private and secluded beach with quality sun beds, sunshades and mattresses, this truly should be the number 1 hotel in Patong. Sadly without being to critical, although rated as 4* everything else has to be only a 3*. As is common in every hotel in Phuket the staff are always smiling and really willing to help but, in this hotel they lack the professionalism of other luxury establishments.

There can be language difficulties here after 6pm when the main English speaking go off duty. I encounter a night manager who could not understand the basics of asking why their main restaurant did not have its air conditioning working to allow their guests the benefit of not having to endure the high temperatures and extremely high levels of humidity. He simply could not understand or answer the question.

During our stay they only switched on the air con on one evening, when incidentally the place was almost full, yet when not working nobody sits inside and only a handful sits out in the humidity of the Phuket rainy season.

The rooms have been recently renovated, sadly only to a low standard, equal to a UK travel inn standard with its straight minimalist lines. The doors have been changed but the frames haven't and you can still see the battering those frames took when this hotel was the Coral Beach. The windows have also not been changed, although some of the glass has, as it is clear to distinguish between as the old still have the safety markings to alert you that this is glass panels and not open, but the new is plain, so be careful not to walk into the glass onto the balcony.

The beds are new but check carefully the doona/quilt inside the cover and the mattress protector, as ours were both urine soiled as was the replacement. This problem for us was a major issue which did not get resolved until we were able to locate the housekeeping supervisor, who also could not understand English but when shown the problem it was eventually changed for clean unsoiled linen.

There is currently no evening turndown service nor do they without a request leave your more than 1 towel per person, so if you shower in the morning and after a day on the beach, fresh towels come at a premium. Our first hotel here in Phuket did leave 2 towels per person and came around in the evening to check if you needed more, I guess we had been spoiled prior to our arrival at the Amari.

The bathroom is small, the shower is over the bath tub and is not powered nor with strong flow. The amenities are of poor quality as ours never lathered up. We were only given very small bars of soap, which only last a couple of days. The lights in the room are hidden and do not give good light.

The balcony has been totally renovated with clear glass to view the beach and bay. Danger signs are evident as it is seamless glass with no top safety rail. The furniture has been sanded down and repainted with new cushions.

The room floor as been renovated but not professionally sanded down and re-varnished. This is an oversight by the renovators as this lets the whole room down. Hence a travel inn/lodge finish and not a luxury hotel. Unlike the top bar with the best views in Patong and the reception, which both have been renovated to a good luxury hotel standard. Shame about the dirty stained carpet.

The breakfast and the evening dinner served in the main restaurant were both disappointing. Both did not qualify to be rated no more than 3 stars. Breakfast, you had to totally serve yourself including your own tea and coffee. The quality of the fruit juice was low grade, not warranted to be served in a luxury 4 *hotel. Again this is why, currently this hotel is only 3 stars, the food is applauding for a 4* hotel.

Because of this hotels position it could easily become a highly rated 4 star if not 5. We understand whilst we stayed here the hotel operated without a General Manager and this clearly showed.

This hotel has all the makings of being great hotel in Patong, I hope upon the arrival of the new GM he sorts out the food, service, and ensures that all of the beds have clean urine free mattresses, mattress protectors and duvets. Clean sheets alone do not make a clean bed.
Staff that understands English would also enhance everyone’s stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Calpespain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmariPhuket, Manager at Amari Phuket, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would firstly like to apologize for the less than satisfactory experience you had on your recent stay with us.

Customer satisfaction is one of utmost priorities at Amari Phuket and something we take great pride in working with team members to always strive to deliver the best experience possible to all our guests.

The points you raised about the language skills, the air-condition in all day dining restaurant, the towel changing etc. were duly noted and regret that the high standard of quality and service which Amari Phuket is usually known for was not experienced by you. We pride ourselves on ensuring that our guests leave with a fond memory and wonderful stories of their stay at our property. As you can imagine, we are saddened to learn that we have failed on this occasion. I would also like to point out that looking at all the other reviews that have been posted this year, your experience is not typical of what other reviewers have shared.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and hope that you will give Amari Phuket a second chance to make a whole new first impression. Please contact the undersigned if you visit Phuket again and we will ensure the standards of excellence you have come to expect from Amari Phuket will be extended to you.

Yours sincerely,

Tipaporn Koonphol
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Checked out of the hotel a few days back. The best part of amari is its people and their respective service. Very friendly and helpful in nature ready to give u the best answers. The breakfast is relishing with too many items to choose from..must spend at least an hour on breakfast. The view and sound from every angle of the hotel is amazing.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tahsin1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmariPhuket, Manager at Amari Phuket, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for selecting Amari Phuket, we are delighted to learn you enjoyed a fantastic stay.

We sincerely appreciate you taking your valuable time writing us about your experience. Thank you for your great comments the team members, the service, the breakfast and the view.

We all look forward to welcome you back to Amari Phuket in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Tipaporn Koonphol
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is without doubt the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Beautiful , quality rooms. Fantastic views and walks, including a gorgeous walk under the rainforest canopy to your very own jetty, complete with cocktail bar. Great pools. The breakfast is amazing in range and quality. Staff are fantastic, all smiles and helpfulness.Set at one end of Patong walk, peacefully away from the hustle and bustle, but easy enough to walk to. If not, catch a Tuk Tuk for 200THB to the middle of the action. We preferred the serenity of the walk along the beach to the main strip. Perfect for young, old, families and kids. We can't recommend this hotel highly enough. 5 stars isn't enough, maybe 7 or 8 would be closer to the mark.

Room Tip: all seem fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmariPhuket, Manager at Amari Phuket, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Joe,

Thanks for selecting Amari Phuket, we are delighted to learn you enjoyed a fantastic stay.

We sincerely appreciate you taking your valuable time writing us about your experience. Thank you for your great comments about the rooms, the views, the buffet breakfast and the team members.

We all look forward to welcome you back to Amari Phuket in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Tipaporn Koonphol
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a 3 night stay at this resort, we found our stay to be very relaxing and the beach views in the room and bars and restaurants were amazing, it was a very relaxing place and far enough away for patong to be peaceful, the walk in was easy not so great on they way back we used a tuk tuk 200 tbh which was pricey for the distance but worth it not to walk up the hill. The rooms were a let down, very small we paid for a newly renovated room, the paint was cracking and looked tired, tiny bathroom but all the same amazing sea view, It did encourage us to spend less time in the room, not a bad thing. Over all the resort is a delight and I found it easy to relax, nice staff and very efficient, the main pool is lovely overlooking the beach. It was a really nice stay, thank you.

Room Tip: pic a room close to the main dining area, I think the delux are bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k-dee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmariPhuket, Manager at Amari Phuket, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for selecting Amari Phuket, we are delighted to learn you enjoyed a fantastic stay.

We sincerely appreciate you taking your valuable time writing us about your experience. Thank you for your great comments the views, pool and our team members.

We all look forward to welcome you back to Amari Phuket in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Tipaporn Koonphol
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed here in Feb 2012. So I am a bit too late in putting my reviews here. But felt should share my experience of stay here.

This resort is located on one corner of the Patong beach on a small hill. To reach to his resort by walking sometimes needs good amount of effort if you are tired and exhausted.
If you take a tuk-tuk, they will take 100-200 bahts min. to drop you to the resort. So if you plan to walk back then be prepared to sweat a bit.

The resort is constructed in steps/level on the hill, touching the beach. The breakfast is served at the lowest level facing the beach which is very nice. You feel very good to have breakfast in the morning there.

We didn't try the spa in the resort as many options are available in Patong.

There is one Indian restaurant near to the hotel, i think it is "Pappadums" which serves decent Indian food. But we liked Tantra Indian restaurant a lot, which is a bit of a walk from this resort. (this tip is for all the Indians who are looking for good indian food options in patong).

Breakfast was nice in the hotel. No complains.

Rooms were nice and modern. Take rooms near to the lobby area as the hotel is made in levels, you need to walk up-down to come out of the hotel which is at times very tiring and difficult.

All in all, a very good stay. We recommend this resort to everyone who want to stay a bit away from the hustle bustle of Patong but still stay close enough to access the night life.

Room Tip: Take rooms near to the lobby area as the hotel is made in levels, you need to walk up-down to come o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prakhar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmariPhuket, Manager at Amari Phuket, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Mr. Prakhar,

Thanks for selecting Amari Phuket, we sincerely appreciate you taking your valuable time writing us about your experience in 2012.

Please be advised that we now has been completed the renovation and looking forward to
welcoming you back to Amari Phuket again.

Yours sincerely,

Tipaporn Koonphol
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is the best hotel we have ever stayed at!!! This was our second time at this hotel & it was every bit as good as the first time & the rooms were even better! The hotel had been renovated since our last visit & is just stunning now. The staff are fantastic. The hotel is so clean. The pool area is awesome - I looked for faults but didn't find any - some people may have a problem with where the hotel is situated as it is a little away from the main shopping area &
the hotel does have a lot of steps. We found it a nice walk into town but it is better to get a tuk tuk back to the hotel as the hills are steep! Loved this hotel! If we ever return to Phuket we will ey stay here for sure!!!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are great with the ocean views however we stayed in a standard room last time &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcdougall7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmariPhuket, Manager at Amari Phuket, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Mr.McDougall,

Thanks for selecting Amari Phuket, we are delighted to learn you enjoyed a fantastic stay.

We sincerely appreciate you taking your valuable time writing us about your experience. Thank you for your great comments about staff, hotel cleanliness and pool.

We all look forward to welcome you back to Amari Phuket in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Tipaporn Koonphol
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
6.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
19.3 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Phuket

Property: Amari Phuket
Address: 2 Meun-Ngern Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amari Coral Beach Phuket)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Patong
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#1 Spa Hotel in Patong
#2 Business Hotel in Patong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#2 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amari Phuket 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away on a secluded beach near Patong, Amari Phuket (formerly known as Amari Coral Beach Phuket) is the ideal Phuket vacation spot no matter what you are seeking. With first-class restaurants, affordable luxury accommodation and a quiet private beach, this island resort hotel offers a holiday experience unlike any other. You can indulge in some well-deserved relaxation at the renowned Breeze Spa, offering a whole range of spa treatments and massages. Reward yourself, and come celebrate the magic of Phuket with Amari Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Amari Hotels, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amari Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Coral Beach Phuket Hotel Patong
Amari Coral Beach Hotel
Amari Coral Beach Patong
Amari Coral Beach Resort
Amari Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing