We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
Ranked #23 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We spent 1 week at this fantastic resort from july 18th 2012 ! It was so beauitful from the lobby to the lush green gardens and the tropical pools , our room was great it was a superior poolside room . We had our own private pool deck chairs and the bed and bathroom where amazing 10/10 ! We went to most of the resturants in the resort ... perfect and the diamond cliff seafood on the beach was our favourite . Staff where very friendly and polite ,always happy and smiling !
I thought the location was great , its away from Patong beach , but close enough , just a 15min walk to the centre of patong .
thank you diamond cliff .... it was awesome !!!
Andres & Ellie Australia

Room Tip: superior pool side room 10/10 the biggest king size bed ever approx 2.5m wide . Huge bathroom as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andres229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    344
    143
    52
    35
See reviews for
230
544
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Harstad, Norway
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We spent two weeks at this hotel in the beginning of March 2012, and found a hotel which is a bit datet and worn. But we were in no way let down by the promotion photos from the hotel's web site. The only thing we found not so good at this resort were the beds. In our room they were terribly hard!

The hotel truly provides a quiet retreat and a place to unwind from noisy, busy Patong. We met nothing but friendly and welcoming staff. The hotel provides both a shuttle bus within the resort, and a free shuttle service to Patong city. But the best service for us was the private beach; Paradise Beach. The resort has no beach of it's own, so as far as beaches within walking distance are concerned, Patong Beach is it. This is a public beach. We went there one day, but it is right next to the main road, which of course meant a bit of traffic noise. To go to Paradise beach you can reserve a place on the free shuttle, and yes you have to cling on to the back of a pick up truck during a twenty minutes at times bumpy ride, but it is so worth it. The beach is secluded, and has a nice little restaurant which also serves drinks on the beach. The sanatary facilities are also good with clean, functioning toilets and a shower. As a guest at Diamond Cliff you have free access. The days we weren't on outings or by the pool, we went to this beach - truly paradise!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siv J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful. When we arrived we were greeted with a very welcome glass of orange juice and polite and friendly staff. We were then escorted to our superior room which is behind the hotel itself. Then we could go and choose a free kilo of fruit of our choice. the minibar is slightly expensive but very well stocked.However if you miss the shuttle bus after 12 midnight it's a fair old hike up a steep hill which is no good for overweight and unfit people like myself. The room was amazing. We had a double bed all to ourselves which was great as it was warm nights.
Would definately recommend this hotel. Love to go back again sometime.

Room Tip: I Would recommend the superior suites at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glasg0wkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The Diamond Cliff Resort is in a great location just outside Patong but within walking distance (15 minutes) or a quick taxi ride (200 Bhat). The resort itself is a little dated but this doesn't undermine the fact that it is comfortable and has the most amazing surroundings and views over the ocean. We stayed in room 1115 which is an Ocean Front Suite with a Spa! As it was off season the resort was quiet and we felt like the pool,near our room, was our own private haven! The staff were excellent (I wonder with previous comments whether 'rudeness attracts rudeness' if you get my gist!). We found that our room was cleaned well every day, the waiting and pool staff where always polite and courteous and the reception staff helpful too. The woman in the coffee shop was delighted to see us and remembered our orders! The room we stayed in was large and the bed comfortable - although expect it to be hard!

Breakfast was plentiful and the other meals we took at the hotel were OK, although our friends ate in the Thai Restaurant on site and said it was amazing. Across the road from the Diamond Cliff is Baan Rim Ra which was a stunning find for eating and we loved the Lebanese Restaurant in Patong!

If we ever returned to Patong I would consider staying here - but you'd have to love Patong to want to return. The place is quite in your face and the constant requests to buy fake goods (which are tat!), take a tuk tuk, watch a ping pong show, take a massage etc. A return to Phuket would involve staying in a beach front resort far from the craziness of Patong and enjoying the peace and tranquility!

Diamond Cliff is not a beach front resort. There is a busy main road separating the hotel from the ocean. There is no beach although the hotel does have an ocean front swimming pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Korniotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The resort itself was absolutly stunning!!
Pity about the rude staff.
We arrived to find our "double room" was in fact a room with 3 single beds. Even though we had booked a honeymoon special. We were told by the reception manager that evn though we had booked and confirmed a double room, that didnt mean we were entitled to a double bed!!

After getting no help ourselves we contacted our travel agent who jumped up and down to get us moved. This took our first afternoon and we were moved the next morning. But then had to go through it all over again when the friends we were travelling with got dumped in the same room. They got moved almost straight away but got shafted to a lower quality room and then finally got moved to the room they had booked after 3 nights.

The staff ruined the first 2 days of our stay and the gorgeous resort couldnt make up for the staff.

Would not recommend this resort at all, which is a pity but the reception staff really let it down

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aims79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_Jinda, Front Office Manager at Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

We have reviewed your comment with regards to your unpleasant experience during your recent stay at our resort.

I was deeply disturbed to read your constructive comments. The Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa takes pride in offering our guests the very best in service facilities. It is therefore very disappointing to receive your comments where we have fallen short of our promise.

Thank you for your candid and frank comments, which are of immense value in providing a focus for improvement of the Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa. It is only through shared experiences such as the ones you have described that help us to improve. Please be assured that the area you have mentioned have been discussed amongst our staff and action plans will be implemented in an endeavor to rectify these shortcomings.

We apologize for any inconvenience that you endured as a result of us not meeting your expectations.

Yours sincerely,
Jinda Saelim
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed in an ocean suit and the views were lovely. Room service was great, it rained many days and they would come smiling under an umbrella. All the staff were lovely very friendly and helpful. Very steep walk to the rooms - great for the legs! Breakfast was good lots of variety and choices. It is out of the way but a Tuk Tuk or taxi is always waiting. Otherwise 10 minutes to the edge of Patong or 20-25 to the centre.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma_K785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

My husband and I were dubious about what we were going to find here after reading some of the reviews but were more than pleasantly surprised when we got here. We arrived around 11 am on Sunday 18th june and were told our room was ready and that we had been upgraded to a suite, it was stunning, a sunken bath with a view over the pool, king size bed, dressing room, separate shower and toilet and a dining area. We had a back entrance to the room which opened onto a patio area which led straight down to the pool. The staff are amazingly friendly and can't do enough for you. Yes it is on a steep hill but the hotel transport is always available and the drivers are really friendly. Our room was cleaned daily and on the one day that we forgot to put the maid service light on they rung us to ask if we would like our room cleaned. The breakfast buffet was great, good choice of food, staff always very attentive. I can't fault the hotel or the staff and so glad we came here. I honestly don't know what some people expect! Would thoroughly recommend this hotel to everyone, it's just a 25 min walk from the hustle and bustle of Patong town/beach or a 200bht tuk tuk ride. One of the best hotels we've stayed in! Didn't use the spa so can't comment, pools were always lovely though and staff constantly tidying up around the pool areas. We found some good restaurants in Patong to eat in too, no 9, just before you reach Patong beach, no 6 along the main shopping road, just before Bangla Road, always busy but you can ask to go up to their restaurant up the hill, free transport and lovely views - service can be slow but good food! And restaurant 101 in the JungCeylon centre (good place for shopping), the staff in 101 went out of their way to be friendly, I fell in love with some glasses they used for my drink and the waitress offered to buy some for us and we collected them a couple of days later, lovely people! As for trips, would recommend going to see James Bond island, phi phi island, elephant trekking and bamboo canoeing, Simon Caberet is fun and the Fanta sea show is good, the theme bit outside is not much cop unless you are into expensive shopping but the show itself was brilliant, well worth seeing. We are going home today and sad to leave, always said we wouldn't go to the same place twice but may make an exception for here :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
1.1 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#64 of 377 in Kathu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.9 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
1.6 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#10 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa

Property: Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
Address: 284 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#15 Spa Hotel in Patong
#15 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#28 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#38 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa is located on the hillside of North Patong. Only few minutes away from the Patong downtown where you can enjoy night life and shopping. We have a plenty of great choice of restaurants and bars within the hotel grounds, really impressive and well designed pool areas over looking the sparkling blue sea of Andaman. All rooms type are fabulous including our Diamond Pool Villa, all well appointed and furnished in gorgeous typically Modern-Thai furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Cliff Hotel Patong
Diamond Cliff Resort And Spa Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing