We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will want to come back again and again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
Ranked #22 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This is the perfect hotel. Not on phatong's beach front so you never hear traffic. But its only a 3 minute walk to the start of the 3km phatong beach.
Close to bangla road (12 minute walk) so if you feel like a good party its close enough.
The hotel itself is just amazing. We had an ocean facing room that also overlooked the pool. Rooms are very big. Air conditioning works like a dream and bed is super comfy. Only negative is the shower head in the bath. I prefer seperate shower, but I travel enough to realize very few places have that.
All in all I would very strongly recomend the hotel. And there is happy hour from 4pm till 7 pm each night. Half price on everything.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Graeme_OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,108)
There are newer reviews for Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

After staying one night elsewhere in the midst of all the action of South Beach Patong, we preferred the quiet & high quality facilities of Diamond Cliff. We have stayed at the Burasari, the Bliss and the Novotel next door, and Diamond Cliff bests them all in every way. Staff are all friendly and accommodating, rooms are clean and spacious, and importantly for us, you could actually sleep at night as beds were comfortable - rooms dark, and little if any outside noise. We stayed in the Grand wing with one of the pools only 20m away.
I had an issue with an outside your operator (The Speedy Leong Travel Service) where we booked a trip to James Bond Island, paid our money, but they were a no show to pick us up. I talked to the reception staff who called her only to be told she had overbooked - didn't think to let us know) They followed this up with her numerous times on our behalf during the day as i wanted a refund and if not for their persistence, we would have lost the money. In fact they arranged for what I would best describe as this 'unprofessional woman' to drop off the money at our hotel later that night. This was service above and beyond as wasn't their issue. This hotel has lots of great restaurants within 100m, some overlooking the sea, so really well situated. Good breakfast selection, clean pools - all good. Even allowed up a 2pm checkout which helped. The internal shuttle was prompt so if you didn't want to walk up or down the hill, you don't need to. the longest we ever waited for the shuttle was a couple of minutes, so no issue. Overall. for the price we paid, we were really happy with this choice and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed at the diamond cliff for 7 nights and I have to say it is the best hotel I have ever stayed in! The staff could not have been more helpful and the setting of the hotel with it's indoor/outdoor mix is just beautiful. Me and my partner have both worked in the travel industry so we have very high standards and can usually find faults but we found none. The hotel has several different restaurants and we ate at a few of them including for breakfast and the food was lovely. The room was very large and of a high standard and we had a view from our bath of the sea in the distance as the window spanned the whole bathroom which was beautiful (the diamond class room). If we ever called reception for anything there was a member of staff at our door within 3 minutes (no exaggeration). The hotel is a little walk out of patong but that was fine for us as patong is just too hectic at night. The only thing I would say is that the hotel has no entertainment but we did not mind this. The hotel is on quite a steep hill but there is a shuttle running every minute of the day so you would never have to walk the hill if you didn't want to. The diamond cliff made my first stay in Thailand wonderful and I can not thank them enough!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Timetotravel1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at the Diamond Cliff, it was our first trip to Phuket. We could not complain about the hotel or it's staff. The staff were very friendly and helpful when needed. Diamond Cliff is built on the side of a steep hill which is OK if you want a workout every time you return to your room from the lobby however, there is a small shuttle bus that runs you up the hill if needed. We personally would like to have been closer to Patong but it is walkable. Since our stay in Diamond Cliff we've stayed in the hotel next to it on the Patong side (not mentioning the name) and found Diamond Cliff much superior. If you don't mind being out of the way a little I would recommend Diamond Cliff but if you want to be closer to Patong, best look for something closer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here for 10 nights from the 15th October. Read the reports of people being sick so stayed away from any Food venues on premises. Did not get sick. Rooms are a little dated, bathrooms really showing age, but a lot of places are now in Patong. Is a bit noisy with the shuttles running up and down and I also found it a little hard to get some sleep. Arrived at 3 and room wasnt ready but had it ready in about 10 minutes
On the plus side the staff were all lovely especially the shuttle guys.
Pools were nice as well.
Well out of the hustle and bustle of Patong but still a nice walk along the beach to get in to town

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luckyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_Jinda, Front Office Manager at Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us at Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa Phuket. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences in this website. It is a tremendous help for us to know how our guests perceive our services and where we have to focus on improvement to remain an exclusive resort.

Your comments regarding sickness of our guest, after doctor diagnosed, we just would like to share with you that almost of the guest who sick were from Japan, some of them had meal from outside and some of them had gastroenteropathy, however we never ignore and all guest details have been log and shared with our management team to look at cleanliness of kitchen and all food product.

Your point about the room a little dated, we have planed to renovation this coming year for some room category. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.

We are pleased to learn that generally you enjoyed the recent stay with us and you found that the staff were lovely. Please rest assured that we will pass on your comment to them accordingly.

We look forward to your next visit to Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa Phuket.

Best regards,
Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My best mate and his family flew from Queensland and we flew from Perth to this hotel. It was our wedding anniversaries and a 50th birthday as well. Check in was disappointing as we were told we had a pool view room. I asked for a seaview room and we were told the hotel was full. No, its off season, hotel not even half full but we took the pool view room as it was pouring rain and did so for most of our stay. The room was quite clean and very large with good strong shower pressure and the standard Thai concrete massive bed, which we have now grown used to. The hotel had a nasty gastro bug going around and we noted the poor cleaning processes in our rooms and the cross contamination at Breakfast. eg One of the chefs, at least wearing plastic gloves, picks up some uncooked meat and puts it in a pot then packs away some cooked meat and covers with cling film. Also the little sparrow birds loved to sit and eat the fresh bread next to the toaster and spread their avian bird flu. Our friends daughter was so sick she was taken to hospital, my wife spent 3 days in bed with a good supply of imodium, boscopan and alker seltzer. The biggest problem with this hotel is that over a weeks stay you will spend around $2000 baht on tuk tuks and that includes walking to town one way. The Drivers who take you to your room are the only shining light of this sad, tired resort. Also, if management want to attract Australians to their hotel as I discovered there are 22000 of us visiting Phuket alone each month, perhaps they could tune in the Australia Network on hotel TV's. It does not cost anything to do this. Sorry but better hotels for the same price in better locations, won't be back.

Room Tip: Check Trip Advisor for a better hotel
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malay-Expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_Jinda, Manager at Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Malay-Expat

Thank you for staying with us at the Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa. We appreciate your comments and suggestions through the network media. It is a tremendous help for us to know how our guests perceive our services and where we have to focus on improvement to remain an exclusive resort.

We are very concerned that your experience in some area at our resort was not up to your expectations. Your candid and frank comments are of immense value in providing a focus for improvement of the Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa product. Please accept my sincere apologies, and be assured that we have taken all the necessary steps to ensure our service returns to an excellent standard immediately.

Your comment about our room condition is noted and rest assured that we will review it in our next
Rooms Division Meeting. Your comment about the hygiene and cleanliness of buffet was passed on to our Executive Chef and Director of Food & Beverage for their review to ensure a corrective action is taken and an improvement is made. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.

On a positive note, your nice words about our Driver will be shared with in our daily morning brief and amongst associates.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Your ideas and suggestions are invaluable, and we will endeavor to use them to ensure that the next time you stay with us you experience the very best holiday here. We value your patronage, and look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Yours sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in October for work and after arriving from a long flight the bed was so hard I couldn't sleep. Resort is very dated and I killed two bull ants in my room the first night. Location away from the nightlife which is good. Not really impressive resort

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank AhBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_Jinda, Manager at Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for your valuable comment which we received on 22 October, 2013.

First of all, please accept our sincere apology for your uncomfortable experience during your recent stay at Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa.

We were very disturbed to receive your comments as the Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa takes pride in offering our guests the very best in hotel facilities. It is therefore very disappointed to receive your comments outlining especially in-room facilities and resort appearance where we have fallen short of our promise.

Thank you for your candid and frank comments which are of immense value in providing a focus for improvement of the Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa. It is only through shared experiences such as the ones you have described that help us to improve. Please be assured that all of the areas you have mentioned have been discussed amongst our associates and action plans will be implemented in an endeavor to rectify these shortcomings.

Beanca_D, once again thank you for your constructive comments, we value your patronage, and look forward to being of service in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.9 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
1.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.6 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#9 of 328 in Patong
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#28 of 328 in Patong
742 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Resort
Novotel Phuket Resort
#10 of 328 in Patong
3,019 reviews
1.8 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa

Address: 284 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#15 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#15 Spa Hotel in Patong
#28 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#38 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £55 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa is located on the hillside of North Patong. Only few minutes away from the Patong downtown where you can enjoy night life and shopping. We have a plenty of great choice of restaurants and bars within the hotel grounds, really impressive and well designed pool areas over looking the sparkling blue sea of Andaman. All rooms type are fabulous including our Diamond Pool Villa, all well appointed and furnished in gorgeous typically Modern-Thai furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Cliff Hotel Patong
Diamond Cliff Resort And Spa Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing