We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort, wonderful staff, pretty good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
Ranked #24 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort, wonderful staff, pretty good location.”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just came back from our Phuket trip yesterday, and I am missing the room and the pretty island already! The resort is situated on the north end of patong beach, about a 20minutes walk away from the buzzing Bangla street and Junceylon.

We had the ocean suit with jetted bath for 4 nights, and I have to say, the room is TO DIE FOR. What's there to complain about two separate showers, one with the jetted bath and one with a standing shower, and also a separate toilet? The whole bathroom area is like a huge walk-in waredrobe and I have to say, the space is SPACIOUS. We had an awesome ocean view from our room on the third level of the Grand Wing up the cliff, a sofa corner for us to munch our snacks in, and a pretty balcony for us to enjoy our pretty sunset.

Though our room is situated on the higher end of the resort, we have shuttle tuktuks fetching us to and fro the lobby and the grand wing. The frequency of the tuktuks is so good, we don't even have any complains about it.

We also went to the cliff side pool opposite the resort, (across a street with a security guard on guard everyday to direct the traffic. So it is really very save to cross the road), which had a really scenic view of the whole patong beach. I do recommend travelers to go to the cliff side pool for some sunset viewing. Romantic much?

Of all the positive comments, there was also a slight hiccup in the service, which really dampened our mood. My boyfriend and I did not purchase hotel breakfast buffet because we did not see the need to since there are so many other things to try in patong! However we wanted to try their breakfast for once on our last day so we filled in the hotel breakfast menu card to hang outside of our door knob. We assumed that if we hang the menu out the day before, breakfast would be served the next day. However we were wrong! When I called the guest service to clarify if our breakfast would be served, I was transfered three times to different people. They couldn't really understand what I meant. We called them further for another two times, with the same problem. we ended up giving up on the hotel breakfast, and went out to banana walk for brunch instead. Slight hiccup, but still, we enjoyed the stay fully.

Would definitely recommend couples to stay in diamon cliff.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jisushika1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    349
    143
    54
    35
See reviews for
234
550
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
263 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hotel is a great choice for visiting Patong. It is in a good location opposite the beach and within walking distance of the bustling nightlife. We stayed 4 nights in an Ocean View Suite with separate Jacuzzi. The hotel is pretty big with a good selection of bars and restaurants, although we were very disappointed with 'The Sea Bar' as it would seem a bit more upmarket with a grand piano an nice furniture. We dressed up and went in for cocktails before the sunset only to have to rough looking guys with no shirts on sit near us! There should be a dress code or at least they should have told to put on their shirts or asked to leave. That aside the hotel staff were very friendly and professional although the English language was quite limited across the staff. There was all the usual facilities you would expect from this standard of hotel, spa, gym, kids club, choice of pools, mini golf, tennis etc.. even a little shuttle to ferry you up and down the steep hill.
My only real criticism would be that the whole place is quite tired looking and needed a little modernising. Our room was superb but very dated. We got the room very cheap but if you have to pay the full rack rake I think there would be better value elsewhere. That said we had a fantastic time and would definitely visit again for the right price.

Room Tip: I think their mostly all the same in regard to location as the hotel is well set out. You do have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scuba2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We spent 10 nights here at short notice in March 2014. We had originally planned to spend 14 nights in Krabi but decided after 4 nights that Krabi wasn't for us, so we reviewed our options and gave the Diamond Cliff Resort a call and booked ourselves in there for 10 nights, by doing so, we saved 1200 Bht a night from the best on line price, so well worth doing.
The Diamond Cliff is a fabulous place if you want a comfortable base at the quiet end of Patong Bay. They provide a free minibus every hour into The centre of Patong, but you do need to book up. The going rate for tuk tuks is 200 Baht one way, but it's a lovely walk along the sea front to the hotel so walk your meal off and save yourself a few quid.
We managed to get our favourite (1311) room overlooking the middle pool and the breakfast restaurant, they must have checked their records from our previous stays, which we feel is good service on their part, so kudos to them!
It's so relaxing to stay at the Diamond Cliff, and let's be honest, that's what we want from a holiday, isn't it?
The only thing I would comment is that there were occasions when there were towels laid out on the sunbeds and no one using them for hours on end, maybe the management need to look at this or it could be like the bad old days of racing down at the crack of sparrows and grabbing a sunbed, which would be a real shame.
Anyway, gripe over, the staff here are all lovely, from the receptionists, the pool boys and even our friendly shuttle driver , that drives you up to the higher rooms, remembered us from our previous visits, and they all have lovely smiles.
We were invited to a cocktail party at the lower pool which was great, chatting to the hotel chef and other staff there as we watched the sunset over the sea, complimentary nibbles and cocktails, a great evening.
It's about a 40 minute transfer from Phuket airport, which is about average for Patong Beach hotels.
The rooms come with complimentary slippers, you can keep, they also provide flip flops for use round the pools, hair dryer, free razors, toothbrushes, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel also 2 half ltrs of water a day, kettle and coffee & tea.
The fridge comes with a fully stocked minibar and chocolates.
Good size tv. With 2 movie channels and 2 sports channels. Air con very good and quiet.
All in all, choose The Diamond Cliff and you won't be disappointed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank TrevnDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at diamond cliff for 15 nights in feb it was our fourth stay . The hotel is still lovely but is in need of a little modernising .we stayed in diamond room which was really nice large bed ,seperate shower and bath over looking the sea .pools are really nice especially the one swim up bar nice cocktails at happy hour.we was invited to a cocktail party at the diamond hut and treated to canapés and cocktails and watched the beautiful sunset . There is a shuttle bus all day taking you to your room and I have to say the drivers were always friendly and polite .we have one grumble the female staff at the top pool were extremely rude my husband ordered food which came with a free smoothie when he asked her where it was she went into one shouting at him in thai ,and then refused to serve us.
Miserable madam .also asked a male member to help me to move a sunbed he reluctantly done it slamming it down .however there was a male member of staff name beginning with m who was really happy and smiling all the time.you don't expect rude staff at a 4star hotel.management really need to speak to some of their staff .food was good but a little pricey . You can book trips at the hotel but are cheaper down the road .its a 15 to 20 minute walk into the bangla road where the entertainment is buzzing used the tiger bar lots as we felt welcomed and a really nice atmosphere .on the whole would stay at this hotel again .

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank waygay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

The breakfast buffet is to die for, the rooms are clean and the staff admittedly struggle with English but so what... We are in Thailand and they're lovely people, especially the resort shuttle driver named Nikom he's funny and can assist you with anything

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angypangy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Nice hotel in great location with excellent views of the ocean from our suite. All staff were friendly and polite (although some had problems with their English skills). Front desk, restaurant and housekeeping staff and drivers were all great - outstanding staff member Nikom the driver! Ocean view from suite was great but the room could do with some maintenance (timber floors and furniture worn, walls could do with a paint job). Paint was falling off the walls on balcony. Our room (#2610) had a balcony safety issue and would not be safe for children. Children (and adults for that matter) could walk through a 30 cm gap next to the window near spa and fall to their death. This needs fixing.

When it comes to smoking in Australia, non-smoker are spoiled compared with Thailand. Would be great if the resort could provide some areas around the pool and especially the restaurant (breakfast) where families with children and non-smokers could enjoy the holiday without breathing in deadly cigarette smoke.

Location of the resort is a nice 25 minute walk from the centre of Patong Beach. The first 200m up to the beach promenade are the worst if you are walking. No safe footpath and no traffic rules. Be careful and walk facing the mad traffic.

Overall the resort is great and we had a great holiday.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and book the Ocean View Suite. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fips52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The hotel is located up on a cliff, shuttle service up to your room is very good and always have drivers taking you up and down. The drivers are very friendly,nice hotel staff. Some hotel staff who work in resturants understand very little English which was quite frustrating. I think the staff need to be able to understand and speak some English rather than none at all. The hotel itself is nice but wouldn't stay here again as it is quite far from the main shopping centre. The room was nice but bed VERY UNCOMFORTABLE AND ROCK HARD PILLOWS. I woke up with a sore neck and back everyday. 5 days at this hotel was plenty.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessch91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
2.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.7 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#5 of 322 in Patong
1,638 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#62 of 378 in Kathu
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa

Property: Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
Address: 284 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#15 Spa Hotel in Patong
#16 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#28 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#38 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa is located on the hillside of North Patong. Only few minutes away from the Patong downtown where you can enjoy night life and shopping. We have a plenty of great choice of restaurants and bars within the hotel grounds, really impressive and well designed pool areas over looking the sparkling blue sea of Andaman. All rooms type are fabulous including our Diamond Pool Villa, all well appointed and furnished in gorgeous typically Modern-Thai furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Cliff Hotel Patong
Diamond Cliff Resort And Spa Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing