We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Service!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
Ranked #27 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
172 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Poor Service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

All these massively spread hotels, why they don't understand without service, they cannot stand in Hospitality Industry. Its another hugely laid out hotel, with nice nature around, swimming pools and restaurants, they are good, but staff can be rude and abusive, OH YES, THAT'S WHAT HAPPEN IN THE THERE FAMOUS POOL SIDE RESTAURANT, WHERE IS WAS ALMOST THREATENED BY THE STAFF TO PAY BILL IN CASH, AS HE WAS NOT READY TO LISTEN WHERE I WANTED TO SIGN TO THE ROOM.

Front Lobby staff does try to make an impression, however the rooms are old and need to be renovated, i was staying the mountain suite, which has lot of furniture, but some serious renovation is required. The Concept of fruit basket is nice!

Room Tip: There have many room types, then make sure to inform front lobby what is your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yatri07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    336
    137
    52
    34
See reviews for
221
521
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

me and my partner went here on holiday for 2 week last September and it was beautiful the double room was always kept clean on a regular bases with a mini fridge which helps a lot for keeping bottles of water cool, there was an onsite fruit shop which was always handy with 2 amazing swimming pools, the only thing is be careful when eating inside the hotel its very expensive compared to the restaurants down bangla road or along the beach. if you want to eat nice proper food over there your looking to pay a bit of money But hey your on holiday treat yourself, there was a lovely restaurant over looking the sea called Joe's which was a 2 minute walk from the hotel., it was in a perfect location being a 10-15 minute walk down to the main strip (bangla road) which is a must see even if your not in to the party scene its an experience. there is taxi in the hotel lobby waiting to take you to town if needs be, because both ways can be a bit of a walk. only problem when leaving the hotel is be very careful as there is not a pavement for about 400 yards and so your walking on the road. inside the hotel they have excursion desk but do not book your excursion through them we learnt our lesson after meeting a couple over there. they charged us £120 to go elephant trekking and white water rafting the couple joined us that day but booked it the night before but down bangla road and only paid £60 ,after that we booked it in independent ones and we had taken there number a swell there completely reliable :). There is a private beach about 15 mins away which is a lovely ride and there is a shuttle bus which leaves from the hotel to take you there and back every hour (from what i can remember) the hotel also provide you with towels. i would suggest to take a rucksack with some food and drinks in (try to be subtle about it) as your not aloud to but they don't check, just the food and drinks can add up if your there all day. xx

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellie y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Had the feeling that this was going to be a wonderful experience from the moment we walked up to the smiling reception staff, and we were not disappointed. Rooms spacious, well appointed & had the charm of Thailand throughout the complex. Loved being down in the seaside infinity pool , in fact we were lucky enough to have had each pool to ourselves. There is a shuttle to take you up & down the hill to your room every 5 minutes, scheduled times for taxi in the evenings to take you down to Patong central or if you want to go down earlier you can walk or pay 200BHT taxi. In & around Patong that is the going rate per taxi/tuktuk ride. Thoroughly recommend this for relaxaton & rest. Nice romantic feel about the place. Breakfast...oh yes, I would go back just for that!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shadeelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The staff are very pleasant but:
We have been to the pool every day of our stay, I cannot understand when the hotel is so empty why do we have to chase up staff to serve us at the poolside? The restaurant is just a few feet away but staff cannot be seen.
Ants at the poolside beds are a problem, as they are the little ones that nip you, when I asked for a spray to clean the mattress I was told they had none and that was where the problem was left, we have moved three times I am now questioning the towels!!!!
The rooms are very tired but clean

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy99_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Awesome place the staff were attentive and the service was great too.
Steep hill yes but transport is on hand to take you to and from your room. Very clean & if your looking for a little quietness this is the place for you as the hotel
Is only 5mins from town . We Will be staying here again when we head back in May 2015

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Firstly let me summarise why I absolutely love this place for the easy viewing of prospective visitors:

1) Great 5-star service
2) 3 swimming pools that are at distinct locations with different views
3) Amazing spread of breakfast buffet
4) Good wifi
5) Food / Cocktails @ resort restaurants / room-service is reasonable and tasty
6) Early check-in, late check-out
7) GORGEOUS ROOM


Alright, now for the more detailed review which will most probably follow the timeline of my trip:

We arrived at Diamond Cliff in the morning around 9am via the free airport pick-up, the staff welcomed us with their million-watt smiles and quickly helped us settle down with the check-in procedures. It was a really hot morning without any breeze, all of us were sweating profusely and a staff came over to serve us some welcome drinks. Chilled guava juice. Sounds simple but IT TASTED AMAZING and it was exactly what our burning bodies were craving for. I feel that it is worth mentioning that I was so in love with their guava juice I was drinking it throughout my stay at Diamond Cliff.
Back to check-in, it was only 9am yet the staff allowed us to check-in immediately (without us asking). The resort compound is humongous, they have a transport to drive you from anywhere in the resort to anywhere in the resort and THE DRIVER WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND NICE. Not those standard customer service where they just smile at you but he remembers visitors, their details such as nationality and will engage in small chats.
We were brought to our room (Diamond Suite) by a staff who did not just showed us to the doorstep, but entered the room to introduce each and every corner of the room to us.
THE ROOM IS AMAZING. Sea and pool view from the balcony & the bathroom. I have to emphasise that BOTH THE SEA AND SWIMMING POOL ARE VISIBLE FROM THE BATHROOM WHICH HAS A JACUZZI BATHTUB. Shower room, bathtub and toilet are separated so there's no problem if someone is urgent while someone else is having a bath.
Gigantic (in my opinion) walk-in wardrobe, very comfortable dining area, good and strong air-condition; it's more than i've expected.
They have 3 swimming pools. A grand pool which is deep within the resort compound, an ocean view pool where the sea is viewable and the dept is 2.7m!!! (Perfect for tall people like me -I'm 174-) and a sea side pool that is located opposite the resort compound, directly at the beach. All of them are not small and the resort staff regularly cleans them.

They have free shuttle services to Phuket town and the other shopping areas, though the given timing, 4 hours was a little bit short for me (someone who likes to shop a lot).

Resort location wise, it is not exactly near to the standard Patong area where a lot of resorts and hotels are squeezed side-by-side like sardines in a can. Which is good for me, as the resort is quiet and you don't get random people walking around your front door like those located right at the Patong shopping area. However, it is walkable from Diamond Cliff to the Patong drinking street or the Jungceylon shopping mall. By tuk-tuk it's about 200THB but if you go via walking, it takes about 30 minutes and along the walk way there are a lot of stores and bars to enjoy.

I will definitely return back to Diamond Cliff the next time I head to Phuket!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank drmjohn93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I would consider Diamond Cliff one of the nicer resorts in the Patong/Kalim/Kathu area. I would say the quality is right up there with Kalima Resort and Spa and the IndoChine. It is located in North Patong, so you do need to walk about 0.75 mile to have beach access on Patong Beach, and not the rocky beach that Diamond Cliff is on. But that was fine by us, we appreciated that the hotel was a little bit away from the nightlife, yet close enough to go when we wanted to.

It is only about 10km from Kamala beach which is much nicer than Patong, and you can either take a taxi for 500 baht to Kamala, or rent mopeds for 200 baht for the entire day. The other direction is Patong center and Bangla road (head South) and that is 200 baht flat rate each way to get there. Transportation was never an issue at Diamond cliff as they either had a free shuttle you can schedule ahead of time to take into town, or if you are more of a wing it and go with the flow type like us, we didnt plan a shuttle and just took Tuk Tuks or taxis into Patong whenever we wanted (any time of day).... and sometimes we walked. So In terms of location I really did not have any issues, I thought it was great that the hotel was perched on the cliff so that we could see the entire beach span, which was very beautiful at sunset from the room.

As for the hotel itself, it met our expectations in many ways. There are three pools, all with their own flavor. One is located across the street on the rocky beach and is a little run down, but was an infiniti pool, and it had a restaurant connected. The main pool was the Ocean pool, and that is near the main restaurant where they serve breakfast, and it is near the Grand Wing where our room was so we spent most our pool time there. The other pool is the Diamond area and it was cool because it was tucked away up the hill in the back of the resort so it was more private. This pool was huge, and had a waterfall, lots of beautiful foliage, a basketball hoop, and some water slides. There are tons of sun loungers and lots of space to relax too.

This resort is great for groups, couples, and families, and I think it is hard to find a hotel in Phuket that offers something for all these types of travelers, and that is what I liked most about Diamond Cliff. I will say for Thailand, the price is on the high side, but the value is there. So if you dont mind spending about $100 USD per night on an ocean view suite then I would definitely pick this resort over the others.

Room tip - ask for an ocean view suite with a view. Get a high level floor, we had #1833 and our friends had #1835. My brother stayed in a basic room, and even that did not disappoint as he had a decent ocean view from his room too, and his room furnishings were more updated and nicer than ours. He was in room #1417.

The rooms themselves are very spacious, and have a sitting area, couch, hot tub, and large patio. If you are there with family or a group, this makes great sense so you can have some social time relaxing in your hotel room. The view was amazing too. The bathroom is very large and has a big shower, modern amenities, and even toiletries (which is not common for Thailand BTW). My only complaint is that the furnishings in the room are very outdated, but I did like that they were traditional and made you feel like you were in Thailand, so it really was not a big deal. Housekeeping was accomodating and did a great job cleaning, and our driver for the shuttle NIKOM was awesome. Nikom has worked for the resort I think like 13 years and he is a funny guy. Get to know him, and be pleasant to him, he is very accomodating in getting you to your rooms (even on the off schedule of the shuttle) if you ask politely so you don't have to walk up the big hill all the time.

The food was pretty good, we liked the breakfast because it had alot of Western and Eastern food options. The price for Thailand of their food and alcoholic drinks is very high. If you dont want to pay it, walk about 500 yards down the street (South) and you will have many restaurant options, and bars too.

Overall, the hotel was great and we are all very happy we stayed here. It offered everything we needed, and the staff were very friendly too.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view suite with a view. Get a high level floor, we had #1833 and our friends had #1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jocelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
1.0 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#69 of 377 in Kathu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.9 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Resort
Novotel Phuket Resort
#9 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa

Property: Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
Address: 284 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#17 Spa Hotel in Patong
#19 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#28 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#38 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa is located on the hillside of North Patong. Only few minutes away from the Patong downtown where you can enjoy night life and shopping. We have a plenty of great choice of restaurants and bars within the hotel grounds, really impressive and well designed pool areas over looking the sparkling blue sea of Andaman. All rooms type are fabulous including our Diamond Villa, all well appointed and furnished in gorgeous typically Modern-Thai furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp and Hotelopia so you can book your Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Cliff Hotel Patong
Diamond Cliff Resort And Spa Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing