We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, wonderful!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
Ranked #25 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful, wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

I havent contributed before with a review but we loved this holiday so much we thought we must. The Diamond Cliff hotel was lovley. We had a room upgrade to the Diamond Wing which has its own recption and booking in area. The facilities at the hotel are lovely- 3 lovely swimming pools, one on the beach and two in the grounds. The hotel also offers free trips to a 'private beach' for hal days which was really good.

The hotel itself is set ina cliff so those with difficulties walkign may struggle a bit however there is a little bus which will take you up and down the hill to your rooms.

The restaurants within the hotel itself were a little pricey- we only dined at the buffet once, was nice, but there are lots of great restaurants wtihin Patong that are far cheaper. On your frst day you get a voucher for free 1kg of fruit from the fruit shop within the complex. After that we bought fruit every morning andf they have different things each day- beautful yellow mango!!

We also used the gy facilities which were small but very clean and quiet which was really nice. Again we didnt use the spa as it was procey but went to a few of the local spas for some amazing massages!

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, the rooms are lovely and the staff are so friendly and will do anything for you!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodiatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    343
    140
    52
    34
See reviews for
226
533
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

My wife & I stayed at this resort & spa for 11 nights 20 June to 1 July 2009. We had stayed here before some 10 years prior but wanted to see how Phuket was going after the tsunami. The property has grown considerably and is an excellent facility.We were highly impressed with the hotel, the town, shops & restaurants are everywhere. We are fairly seasoned travellers and are able to compare against many other locations. Phuket is a close 2nd to Koh Samui in our reckoning.
We celebrated our 28th wedding anniversary & my wife's birthday while there. We had made this known to our travel agent. The hotel staff could not have made it any better for us. Our Diamond Suite was well above expectations. Our king size bed was festooned with rose petals, a miniature bride & groome in the centre and arose on each pillow.
Our maid was an absolute gem and excelled daily.
The resort is set on a steep slope and those who find walking up hill may find it hard but the constant shuttle vehicles make this aspect a non issue. We were warned that the Waterfall swimming pool would be out of action for our stay but were thrilled to find it was back in service after only 2 days. This was a bonus as it was very close to our room and the best pool in the hotel.
If you are happy to be friendly with the personnel throughout the hotel they will certainly go out of their way to assist and ensure all your needs are met. Front counter reception and other personnel do have limited english but if you remain smiling and courteous they will go out of their way to please you.
We used the Spa several times and were impressed by their service and abillity in a very comfortable setting.
The location of the hotel is perfect being just on the northern edge of the Patong commercial and entertainment area. No constant noise to worry about and an easy 10 minute casual stroll to the centre of it. Tuk Tuks are plentiful so catch one for the return journey if you are weighed down with shopping. Go to JungCeylon shopping centre, no bargaining, if you want fully airconditioned shopping and Robinsons Department store for quality clothing.
Diamong Cliff.....you are wonderful. Thank you for a great holiday.
Do not miss going to FantaSea, a stage show including a full buffet dinner. It is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieCrocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

My husband and I recently spent a week at Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa, and we were very impressed. We took advantage of an upgrade offer and stayed in a Suite for the same price as a standard room, which was huge! The room was tastefully decorated, and well equipped. The air conditioning was excellent, and the beds were huge.
The gardens are a real treat, being long established and well tended. This resort meanders, so that it feels vast, yet still cosy.
We found the staff friendly and helpful, and the gentlemen who worked in the swim up bar we engaging and attentive.
There were two aspects that it's worth considering if you are interested in staying here. Neither of which pose a major drawback. The first is that Diamond Cliff is built on a steep hillside block, and it is quite a climb to the higher rooms. There is a shuttle that runs throughout the day, but not all night if you are planning a late night in Patong.
The second issue was the price of the food and beverage. At the time of our stay, breakfast in the hotel (incl taxes) cost approx. AUD$38 per person per day. We opted to head into Patong each morning and eat there for AUD$7 - 10 per person. The same could be said for lunch and dinner. We are not tight, this just seemed like good sense as the local food is excellent everwhere from street vendors to restaurants.
I would recommend this resort to any of my valued friends or relatives as it's of a ghigh standard and the accommodation was good value. It is located far enough from the madness of Patong to be relaxing, yet close enough to stroll down to the beach a couple of times a day if you wish. We will return to this resort as we were totally satisfied with our experience there.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emjay36_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

Travelled in June / July 2009. Stayed for 8 nights Ocean view room was very big and comfortable. Large bathroom with 2 showers (one over bath). Swimming pool large but only 26 lounges so would be a problem during busy time. Staff were excellent, breakfast very good. Shuttle bus provided to get from room to reception and vice versa (very steep walk) About 20 minutes walk to Bangla road, Ok but a problem when it is too hot. Found a good clean Massage / beauty parlour 5 minutes walk along beach front toward town called Beach spa & Beauty (Nem was excellent). Room also had PC supplied for Internet access (free)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennynig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

Stayed here recently, 3 of us in 2 beautiful poolside rooms in the grand wing. Lovely room amenities and a very good size. Large patios overlooking the pool with our own loungers etc.
Staff were very courteous and helpful, I had no problems with communication with them and they were very cooperative and willing to help with any requests.
Didn't eat much there as I enjoy tootling into Patong to explore but snacks we had were good and drinks also good. they also sell haagen Dazs ice cream poolside. Yum
The walk into Patong is about 25 mins right down to Bangla which we did every night back virtually. Good exercise. Although the hoteldoes a great free shuttle service at night on the hour into Patong and to Phuket town in the day. Tuk tuks are kind of trying to keep a standard fee of 200 baht to go anywhere in Patong but in low quiet season can be bargained with.
Just as we were leaving the grand wing pool was closed for a bit of maintenance with a bit of tool noise in the morning, but there are other pools which are perfectly fine to use so no real problem. Think it was 2 weeks closed on the sign.
the only slight gripe I have is the price of the breakfast is too much. We walked down every day 10 mins or so for a cheaper option.
Aside from that I have no problems recommending this place

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badbirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

We've stayed here for 2 weeks in may. The hotel is nice but the amenities in the rooms (diamond suite) are very dated (tv, hairblower,... didn't worked well)
Staff at the reception almost doesn't speak English but they always do their best to help you.
There is a free shuttlebus every evening to patong. If you don't want to take the shuttle you can take a cap (tuk tuk) for 150bath.
Breakfast is not that special comparing to other hotels but there is always fresh fruit.
The thai cooking classes in the hotel are a must!!!
You should also go to paradise beach, the hotel has a private beach there, with everyday a shuttlebus!
Be carefull for the weather in may! we had 4 days of rain from the morning till the evening!
Swimmingpool at the grand wing is beautifull!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanebart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

Rats - everyday by the poolside at the Diamond Hut area. This is something you dont want whilst sunbathing. On one particular day whilst sitting out a downpour, 4 holidaymakers suddenly jumped up onto their loungers after finding a rat sheltering from the rain under their lounger.
This is now a serious issue and needs addressing before I will contemplate going back, which is sad as apart from this I love the hotel (which is obvious being my 5th stay). I have sent 2 emails regarding this and nothing back from the hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie03560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
1.1 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#63 of 376 in Kathu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.9 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
1.6 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#10 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa

Property: Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
Address: 284 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#15 Spa Hotel in Patong
#16 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#28 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#38 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa is located on the hillside of North Patong. Only few minutes away from the Patong downtown where you can enjoy night life and shopping. We have a plenty of great choice of restaurants and bars within the hotel grounds, really impressive and well designed pool areas over looking the sparkling blue sea of Andaman. All rooms type are fabulous including our Diamond Villa, all well appointed and furnished in gorgeous typically Modern-Thai furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Cliff Hotel Patong
Diamond Cliff Resort And Spa Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing