We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel but patience required”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Horizon Patong Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #43 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
467 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 725 helpful votes
“Great hotel but patience required”
Reviewed 3 July 2007

We stayed at Horizon Patong from 15/JUN/2007 to 21/JUN/2007 and thoroughly enjoyed our time at this hotel. This Hotel gets a pretty bad review but it appears these negative feedbacks are based on bad personal experiences, which gets a significant representation in the Trip Advisor Hotel reviews. In my opinion, there are many people that have had pleasant experiences that just do not review this hotel.

This hotel was absolutely fantastic with great service, magnificent staff, and its fantastic location. As you all know, nothing is perfect and you can find fault with just about anything if you look hard enough or do not have enough information. I don’t think that we were that picky, so some things didn’t really bother us maybe because we were pre-warned from other visitors (from trip advisor) and aware of some of its shortfalls. You just have to remember that you get what you pay for and depending upon your expectations this can be the best or worst stay, for you. In our case, we were well informed and as such, we knew what to expect and dealt with the situations as they came. As such, we had a tremendous time at this hotel.

Location: Horizon Patong is situated at the southern end of Patong, Beach Road (Thaweewong Road) but seems to be centrally located in regards to shopping and activities. The Hotel is set back from Beach Road by a shopping laneway that leads to Soi Kepsab Road. It also has a side access to Beach Road, which follows the Horizon / Holiday Inn fence-line if you wish to avoid the sellers & tailors in the laneway.

Positives: This Hotel has a great deal of positives and too many to list. One is value for money and the staff were always pleasant and tried their best to make our stay enjoyable. The hotel has great amenities and offers a great range of opportunities and services at a budget price. We had breakfast included and this was nice. They altered the menu every morning.

The hotel offers a free shuttle service to its sister hotel (Horizon Karon) if you wish to take a trip to see another part of Phuket.

They offer upgrades if you are not entirely happy with your accommodation and will do their utmost to make your stay enjoyable. We were upgraded from standard rooms to interconnecting family rooms, which were fantastic.

They regularly upgrade to Karon or other nearby hotels like Graceland if they overbook. This can be a positive or a negative depending upon what you are wanting. If its location then it is a negative but if, it is for a better hotel star rating and accommodation then it is a positive.

Another positive is Julieanne (Julie) their customer liaison officer. She speaks English and was instrumental in us communicating our concerns about our accommodation. Without her, I may well have been doing a negative report. If you strike a problem with accommodation, please request to talk to her. She was terrific and sorted everything out calmly and without any major problems. Just be patient, they will do their best to help you.

Negatives: The major setback was communication. This hotel’s major failing is from over booking or mismatched room locations. The feedback in this forum about this situation is unfortunately true. They really do not get the idea of pre-arranging rooms; in fact, they will not confirm or allow pre-bookings of interconnecting or adjoining rooms until check-in. It seems to be a hit and miss affair. Families who want interconnecting or adjoining rooms seem to be the biggest losers with the Horizon Hotel chain. This occurred at Horizon Karon as well despite the numerous emails and phone communications to avoid this occurrence. This is a major downfall with this hotel chain.

Communication and patience is the key in dealing with this. Getting upset with them will only spoil your holiday. Trust me; they will eventually get it right for you through compromise. We traveled with another family and we both needed two rooms each for our families. They had allocated rooms for us everywhere throughout the resort with no consideration towards placing each family together. We did not mind if we were not next to our friends but wanted to be close to our children. We eventually worked it out after a day or two of both families being separated from our children. We split up and divided the kids between rooms, which obviously created a bed shortage. All rooms were scattered around the complex.

I really do not understand how this is so hard to arrange and why they cannot arrange this prior with a booking confirmation of over 6 months.

The rooms are comfortable but the showers have a problem through flooding. The drains do not seem to be aligned correctly and as such, water gets to puddle over the floor. Not your problem though, you do not have to clean up. A few towels on the floor always work a treat.

The local bus passes frequently along Beach Road frequently and will take you into Phuket Town for 20 Baht each

Recommendation: This is actually a great hotel and suits families well. Its location is its biggest asset. If only they can sort out their room allocations then this would be perfect. Everything else (ie. service, staff and amenities) was wonderful.
Patience will pay off in the end......

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Unable to sort out room allocations for families
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank Chizzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    339
    120
    37
    63
See reviews for
259
237
41
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Craigieburn Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2007

Have just retuned from Patong after having travelled there 5 times before (20/06/2007) and was very annoyed with the treatment we received on arrival at Horizon Beach Resort. We had booked and paid for our flights and accomodation in February, and when we arrived on th 10th of June from Koh Samui (Beachcomber Chaweng Beach Beautiful and no problems) we were told that they had overbooked by 20. They would upgrade us to another resort. I was travelling with my parents, who are in their late 70's and can't walk long distances, We booked in to the Horizon for the fantastic location, I had stayed there 2 years prior so i new how good the location was. They wanted us to go to Graceland Resort which was down the far end of Patong, we said no too far. so they take us to Duang something? Paradise on Rat u thit Rd no too far, Patong Resort no didn't want there so we asked for Patong Beach Hotel which is the resort we normally stay well no thats booked out??? so we ask about the sister resort at Karon. WEll yes they can fit us in there, but not once did the Guest Relations girl tell us about all the bloody steps. We put up with it for three days and didn't get the free dinner for three or free massage each that we were promised. After finally getting to Patong we had a fairly good room but would not recommend this resort to anyone. My friend has booked in for her Honeymoon so i hope that she isn't unlucky like we were. I have told her to get her agent to check her booking before she leaves, but they can say what they want over the phone can't they.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank cinnabuki7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2007

After reading some reviews of the Horizon on here I was a little apprehensive about staying there, but once I arrived I was very happy. The staff were really friendly and spoke very good English, and my room which was quite cheap in Aus dollars was nicer that I expected. The buffet breakfast was great. The Hotel tends to overbook themselves, and they offered me a room upgrade if I was willing to transfer to the Horizon Karon Beach Resort, which I did and was equally as happy. Karon Beach was a lot more relaxed than Patong Beach and just as nice. I would recommend staying at the Horizon Patong Beach

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — not enough channels on cable tv
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank erininwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandurah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2007

our experience with the Horizon Beach
Hotel and Spa at Patong Beach of which we have stayed at before in 2003 and encountered no problems at all but the Karon Beach hotel hadn't been built then.
Firstly when we arrived there after being delayed from Perth and being awake around 14 or so hours We were confronted with a manager who implied we had to move to the other hotel at Karon Beach. After a little discussions and being very tied and not really understanding what the manager was saying we signed a letter or something to say we would go to Karon Beach but felt really upset about the situation. After thinking about it the next day and talking to my son and husband we decided we didn't want to go as we have friends at Patong and the fact that there is not much a karon beach and the hotel is on a hill not near anything. It would cost a lot more in taxis/tuk tuk fairs which we couldn't afford to add to our holiday.I spoke to the manager that confronted us on arrival and told her we didn't want to move as we paid to stay at patong not karon beach and said we wouldn't be moving. She said it was ok and that she would just get
someone else to move instead of us. After that conversation and not having to move hanging over our heads we preceded to enjoy our holiday instead of the stress of packing up and moving and losing half a day or so in doing so.
During our stay many people had the same request some were ask and nothing more said some were told the same as us. and there was others who had no choice to go as they had over booked the hotel and there was no rooms for
them at all. when we found out that people had no choice we then realized
that they were over booking the hotel to get people to go to there other hotel at karon which was build sometime in 2005. So we were not impressed
how they treated people. one group booked 2 rooms but they only had one room which wasn't really appropriate as there was a family of 4 and a family friend (male) so it made is very difficult for them. the fact thehotel argued with them for about 2hours insisting they go to the other
hotel.
Also we found the reception staff not very friendly on more then one occassion. after 3 or four days I found we weren't getting all our water each day so i asked reception and they said no problem. but then we were still didn't get our water each day so asked again and then they were not
very pleasant and said we had, most days we got 1 or 2 bottles of water as there was 3 of us we should have got 3 bottles of water each day. But inthe finish it was just too hard. There was no customer service at all.
I also asked then to recomfirm our flights but even that was too hard to do but they eventually did after about 10mins or so. As i was told by my travel agent we needed to do this i did insist they did it for me and eventually she did
There was also an incident with a glass from the room. The glass broke inmy sons mouth while he was trying to have a drink and they insisted we payfor it. I tried to explain that i wouldn't be paying for it as it broke insons mouth. I ask the housekeeper to get the manager but that never happened and thought no more of it. This happened in the first 2 or 3
days.Then my husband was asked about it as well and he told them the same thing. As no manager came and spoke to us about it we thought it was
sorted.
Too our surprise one of the reception staff tried to stop us leaving on the day of our departure about the glass again told her the same thing but wasn't good enough and there was 2 managers standing there watching this and did nothing. We said the same thing but she tried to stop our luggage
being taken out and also put her hand on me .
I told to her to leave me alone and proceded to leave.
I would have been quiet happy to pay for the glass or anything else if we had broken anything but the fact is it broke in our 16 years mouth which was very dangerous and could have cut his mouth open. Lucky it didn't so when approached we told the house keeper and the receptionist what had
happened but they didn't want to know.
One thing hotel ok pools ok and breakfast ok but would never stay again because of reception staff are rude and trying kick people to karon beach
the secruity staff were great and so were the bell staff

  • Liked — pool and location
  • Disliked — rude reception staff
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Austice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2007

Stayed at the Horizon Resort on Patong Beach from the 07/05/07 to the 15/05/07. Reception staff were VERY rude and told us on arrival that the resort was fully booked and that they would ship us off to another hotel at Karon. further, they made us feel very un-welcome.

We persisted and kicked up a bit of a stink and after about 30 minutes got the two rooms we had requested through our travel agent 6 months prior (though they had stated 30 min earlier that the resort was fully booked). Staff at reception were laughing at us as we tried to explain that we were tired and just wanted to get our rooms. They further laughed at us when i suggested that we get the police as i had it documented that we had two rooms for 10 nights at the Horizon on Patong Beach.

The whole thing felt like a huge scam to get people to stay in their sister hotel at Kuron. We actually saw them play this scam on other hotel guests during our stay. I still feel the only reason we got our rooms after being told that they were fully booked was because we cracked a 'stink'. In other words, be prepared to stand your ground with this resort as they will try a few scams on you.

The resort itself was basic and though a great location for probabely the cheapest prices in Patong its just not worth it. The resort caters more for young working class families who don't have much to spend on holidays as the pools were always filled with young kids throwing balls or rough neck parents who are quite happy for their children to splash and dive onto other patrons in the pool. Further, the pools are rather small compared to other hotel pools too. Single people, couples and the aged would be better to spend a bit more money and go to Holiday Inn or the Merlin in Patong.

Further, my AC leaked and was noisy and the rooms often don't get cleaned until the end of the day/evening which can create a problem if you wanted a fresh towel to shower before you wanted to go out at night.

In conclusion, i will never stay at the Horizon again and would not recommend it to anyone unless you want a dirt cheap holiday and want to recieve dirt cheap service. Also be prepared that your room you booked will not be avalble or that you get a crapper room than what you intially booked.

This resort is a scam and the reception staff were the worst i have ever encountered in any of my experience with customer service while travelling.

My advice - go for anyother hotel or resort than horizon - Yer its cheap but there is a reason for it being cheap !!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Vamplad79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.3 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#22 of 319 in Patong
1,219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Patong Merlin Hotel
Patong Merlin Hotel
#32 of 319 in Patong
1,573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Patong Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#11 of 319 in Patong
1,564 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bliss
The Bliss
#60 of 319 in Patong
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Patong Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Patong Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Horizon Patong Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 64 / 39 Thaweewong Road, Soi Kep Sap, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#27 Spa Hotel in Patong
#30 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#43 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Horizon Patong Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just across the road from Phuket's finest west-coast beach, Horizon Patong Beach Resort & Spa offers two swimming pools with a baby pool, kid's club, fitness centre, internet and games room, massage corner, reading area, 24 hour room service, sports bar with pool table, coffee shop, Italian restaurant and restaurant serving Thai, continental and the best Indian food on the Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Patong Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Patong Beach Resort And Spa
Horizon Patong Beach Hotel Patong
Horizon Patong Beach Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing