We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Bamboo Hotel & ? Needs Urgent TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa
Ranked #160 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I have been staying at the Club Bamboo Hotel and ? My first night in my hotel room while in the shower the whole power to the room went off, pitch dark stood in the shower with soap all over. Slipped and fell trying to get out in dark.
Second night shower pipework bursts....
Moved finally to another room only to find large door window latch open to the world, fixed to close, with large gap that allows biting bugs in.
Then ceiling hatch that (I tell no lie have pictures to share) allows a sticky mice catch substance through in large amounts.
Reception staff that smile however, sadly knowing very little English language what so ever, proving embarrising and confusing to say the least, and very difficult to communicate one's needs.
I would like to say you get what you pay for, but there are cheaper and better in Phuket. Looks like a nice place once, just lacks TLC and proper investment.

Room Tip: Look around before you book. There are better and cheaper hotels around that offer much better accom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaryReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2011

I actually stayed here over two years ago (this site will not let me go beyond a year) so bare in mind things might have changed over the ensuing years.

It was an attractive, quite modern facility back then though (nice lobby, pool, bar), and my standard room was nicely decked out. Everything worked too (with the exception a pipe in the bathroom which dripped a little a created a slightly dank odor).

The area is a little bit of a backwater. (It is on the lower side of a hill but there didn't seem to be any grand views or anything). Not walking distance either so you will need to take either a taxi (if you can swallow with the inflated prices the taxi mafia charge here), hire your own hire bike, or take the free shuttle service Club Bamboo offers four or so times a day.

The price was good though: about 15 percent less than places closer to the main action. Staff were quite friendly (if a little bit amateur) so no complaints there either.

When everything runs smoothly, that is pretty much my bench-march for quality.

Room Tip: Everyone staying there seemed to have hired a moto. There is a hire place close by too, so probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meja E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We went here after a disappointing experience in the other hotel.
The reception lady was very delightful. The location was perfect, not to near to bangla rd but not so far either. Walking distance to most area if u enjoy walking. If not, motorbikes are available for rent.
Breakfast was alright. The swimming pool was small. We didn't spend time at the pool.
The toilet is slippery. I brought my 2 year old kid, she nearly slipped.
But overall, a great place to stay for all kind of travelers.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cintaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We had booked a Bunglow suites in this Hotel after reading feedbacks and our experience with this hotl had been very good. Though the Hotel is little away from the Patong beach, it had offered a tranquil and peaceful stay. My wife liked the small pool inside the hotel and having dinner near the pool was a very romantic experience for her. The view from balcony was breathtaking. The hotel had also offered a surprise free massage.

The staff was very friendly and services were very good. The only negative I observed was that on the first day when i checked in, the receptionist wore a dilapidated uniform and this had given me a bad impression. Anyhow, I can say that this was a value for money stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We booked our room for two on lastminute.com so we were a bit unsure what to expect at such a cheap price (about $90 for two nights AUD). We were very happy from the minute we arrived.
The hotel is presented nicely. On arrival we were served a refreshment while they sorted our details. They carried our bags to our room for us. We then ordered room service as we were so tired and it was actually the best Pad Thai we had in our whole stay in Thailand.
The room was just what we needed and more. It was also right by the pool and breakfast.

Small downsides:
It looked like the shampoo and shower gel had not been replaced.
The breakfast was farely basic. (However you can buy really good cooked breakfasts).
Was about a 15 minute walk to Patong, but that is actually not that bad walking downhill.

Honestly I would definitely stay here again and I reccomend it. :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I have jast returned from a wonerful trip to Patong, we stayed in the Ananthara Pool Villa and had a great stay, we did have a number of minnor issues and problems with the room but as soon as we let the staff know of the issue, the problems were solved within a hour or so, in fact the staff went completly out of there way to make or visit very special.I was dealing with Mr Chinorot who was completly professional on any issues we had and highly recomend anyone to deal with him.The room its self was lovely with its own pool area and two very large rooms with ensuites on both + a separate toilet and very large kitchen ,dinning and living area with a massive court yard with pool ,sunlounges and pagola with table for out door dinning .The room is situated up on top of a hill some distance from the hotel with nice veiws, the wlak up is quite steep but the hotel gave us a scooter to use to go back and forth from the room also if we needed to carry more than one they have a car to pick you up and drop you off during the day so no walking up the hill.
I highly recomend to stay in this room type of which they ony have one.
There are better villas in Patong as this one is starting to need mantanace done on it but I highly recomend this room type for the price you pay and the service received from the staff who I can not say enough about.*****WONDERFUL*****

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaptin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Me and my family arrived this hotel after we landed in Phuket, and we were pretty tired from an intensive trip in the north of Thailand, and we stayed there for 2 nights.

When we arrived and handed the voucher to the secretary, he called the manager to tell us that they don't have an available room for 5 (or 2 rooms for a couple and 3 kids) as we ordered and as it mentioned in the voucher. The manager suggested to transfer us to the "Family Villa" which contains two king size bed, we agreed and compromised for a king size bed for the 3 kids.
After a long and exhausting check in, a guy with a tuk tuk came to take us to the villa!!
It turned out that the villa is up on the mountain and that we have to drive there and from there and we have to call reception everytime we want to get down and to see if this tuk tuk driver is available!!!

It was frustrating but we moved on because we were really tired.

after an afternoon sleep, we wanted to get down from the villa. in the villa there was no wired phone, so reception gave us a cellular phone which was BROKEN - so we couidn't call and we needed to get down on our own (a 15 minutes of a very unpleasent walking down the mountain).

At the reception they told us they will bring us a new cellphone- that never happend.

We barely succeed to manage with this conditions, but when we arrived at the second night we had a surprise- there were NO WATER coming through the pipes!! we still had no phone so we got down ourselfs and called the maintenance guy, who turned on the water again,but there was an new problem - there were no hot water and the water were dirty with mud.

After we argued with the manager and employees they decided to give us another room (for 5 persons) and there the water werent hot but they were cleaner.

On checkout we talked to the manager, who wasnt sorry at all, and decided to "make it up for us" by discounting something like 1% of the deal- EMBARRASSING!!!

Also, the distance from the Patong beach and Bazar is 10 minutes driving.

We Will Never Get Back TO This Place Again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aviv E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.2 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#67 of 331 in Patong
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jiraporn Hill Resort
Jiraporn Hill Resort
#168 of 331 in Patong
145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#39 of 331 in Patong
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sun Hill Hotel
Sun Hill Hotel
#113 of 331 in Patong
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Veerakit
Baan Veerakit
#213 of 331 in Patong
20 reviews
1.4 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 331 in Patong
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa

Address: Nanai Road 247/1-8 | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#60 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £12 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Bamboo is a small boutique resort located in the best part of Phuket, Patong Beach. Situated in a jungle garden, on a foothill overlooking Patong Bay, this resort offers the chance to be close to the most lively night life and, at the same time, welcomes you in its quiet oasis of exotic green for an intimate relaxation. At night you can dine at the poolside restaurant and enjoy the fine traditional Thai cuisine hearing crickets and looking at the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Bamboo Boutique Hotel Patong
Hotel Bamboo Boutique
Resort Bamboo Boutique
Club Bamboo Boutique Resort And Spa Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing