We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delon Pillay - Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa
Ranked #174 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delon Pillay - Great stay”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Our stay at Club Bamboo was a very pleasant experience with very friendly and helpful staff both in reception and restaurant. All requests were attended to immediately. Rooms were comfortable and serviced daily. The menu in the restaurant can however be improved with more variety, especially with breakfast. The hotel is well situated, far enough from the hustle and bustle of Patong yet close enough to get to all activities when needed.

Well done to the Club Bamboo Staff especially Aoy at reception. Keep it up as it what makes a guest holiday pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Del0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    148
    95
    47
    79
See reviews for
61
208
78
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
karratha
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The room is not really like the picture ... Mold everywhere in the bathroom, more over the bath was not clean .
The shower pressure is ridiculous... and the water far from clear. The outside of the hotel is not very clean. The breakfast is okay, but not really nice... On the picture you can see a pool, but thats the pool for the private villa. We booked it for a night, we did not extend.
Definitely not the best in patong for this price. And the restaurant price are way to expensive, and the food quanity is very small ...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camillealizee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 18days...I don't even know where to start about this place.

I don't think it should be called a RESORT, maybe just apartments, or hotel or bungalows?


Pros..

1. Big room (we were told we were upgraded when we arrived we were very close to the pool A08)
2. Free shuttle ( however as its off season it only ran 3 times each day and the first was at 12noon so not great)
3. Friendly restaurant and housekeeping staff and shuttle driver
4. Room service available all day/night
5. Rooms were serviced everyday
6. Free wifi - but not the best connection. We couldn't watch any videos, or movies etc online. Only basic email and some web pages otherwise it just stopped working.
7. Quiet location, never heard neighbours, traffic or anything was great ( aside from the drilling)
8. Scooters for hire are available but nearly double what they are elsewhere. Walk 2mins down the hill to the left and theres a wee place that has them for 140 baht.

Cons...

1. Drilling beside our room everyday where they were cutting a new window into the bungalow beside ours, wish we had known about this. Sometimes till 9pm at night drilling would happen.
2. Limited breakfast, best option was omelette, milk was sour almost everyday due to sitting in the heat for hours. Sign says bacon but its really more like ham or luncheon. Juice is like Raro or cordial not fresh juice. Sometimes pancake type things were available but nothing was ever very hot. We only ate breakfast the first week then couldn't take the sight of it and went to Big C at Jungceylon mall and bought museli, milk and our own fruit to have each day. If your only there for a couple of nights its acceptable but other restaurants offer full English breakfast for less than 200 baht and has actual bacon and is big plus made to order.
3. Generally very shabby and run down 'resort'. Our room had stains on couch, chipped furniture and bathroom slates were stained aswell. Outside bamboo was cracking and had been painted over. Its adequate, and clean but definately not in good condition. The pool area is the worst with cracked tiles everywhere which are sharp. Pool was always clean however, and open 24hrs. All linen was old, especially towels were stained and frayed at edges. Bed sheets had holes in them and stains aswell.
4. Air con in room worked on and off..sometimes we were roasting other times too cold. It didnt seem to matter what setting it was on. Looking at the state of it being black with dirt and mould god knows what we have been breathing in the last 18 nights. Was quiet though - this maybe due to it not working?
5. Resort Guide book in our room was only about 50% correct. Phone numbers listed in it for the restaurant, room service etc were wrong so we gave up and just walked to the restaurant to order room service after the first day. Advertises that the hotel has DVD player and DVDs to use, they do not. We went and bought a load of DVDs on the first day and got back to hotel to find they don't have anything to hire or use. So had to go and buy our own DVD player. (990 baht from Big C). Requests that you leave your key at reception when you are out of room, so you have to come back to a sweltering hot room - not nice.
6. Spa treatments were nearly double the price of anywhere else in Patong ! I never saw anyone use the spa there, you can walk 2mins down the hill to the left and theres a lovely wee massage place thats open 9am-11pm and they do an hour thai massage for 250 baht or an oil massage for 300 baht compared with the 500 baht for a massage at the hotel spa. I don't understand why the high price when everyone knows things are cheaper in town. Had their prices been more competitive i would have used the hotel spa for sure.
7. International dialling from the room does not work. Cost me 1440 baht for 2 phone calls maybe 18mins total but had to go to reception and use their cellphone to do it.
8. Im pretty sure it mentions bath robes in the room, but we had none. Also said mosquito spray in room but we had none.
9. Had to give 2000 baht cash deposit rather than just holding a credit card.
10. Complimentary waters each day are only provided if you get the room serviced otherwise you don't get more. Some days we didnt leave the bungalow but were not given more water. Ended up just buying multi packs from the supermarket so we didnt run out.
11. Tv is very limited, only a few English speaking channels and the TV guide sheet for what language each channel is in is incorrect. So dont even bother with it.
12. All the steps......its on a hill, so just to get to reception is a big walk up stairs. Then all the rooms are 2 levels below reception/main entrance so think of climbing 60 steps just to get to reception to leave the hotel each day - your sweating before you even step outside. Not nice...


Other notes if your staying here -

1. Nicky massage on the corner of the street is a men only massage place.
2. All tuk tuk are min 200 baht back to the hotel
3. If you are travelling around anywhere else in thailand, dont pay phuket prices for elephants, tigers, snakes - everything is cheaper elsewhere!!!
4. Little thai bar beside club bamboo is really cool, cheap/free drinks, cheap food & locals are lovely.

We aren't terribly fussy people, and this was adequate for what we wanted. If I went back to patong I would want to stay closer to the beach and town to save money on taxis and time walking around.

I would say Club Bamboo is a solid 2 star place. For the bargain price we paid it was great. 793 baht per night - bungalow suite including breakfast.

It could definitely do with some energy put into the in room information provided, a morning shuttle, new linens, possibly charging guests 100 baht to take them into the beach when shuttle isn't running to make more money and an improved breakfast buffet. Could be a great hotel, just needs some money spent on it.

Enjoyed our stay although it definitely had its moments! Worth a try, I suggest ask to see the rooms first before paying over deposit if you are easily put off. Lovely staff make up for other frustrating areas - thank you club bamboo team :)

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamboo B, Manager at Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your kind .Thank you for your review on The Club Bamboo Boutique Resort & Spa and i am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

As of your comment after I had investigate with our teams that during you stay with the hotel we are get your comment only noisy and internet.

So, we are give you offer to move the room to avoid a noisy but you not want to move. And the maintenance starts from 15.00-17.00 pm.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope you must visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were offered a room upgrade from Deluxe to Superior. They charge a Security Deposit of 2000B before offering you the room key which was definitely not a good welcome. Credit Cards accepted only if food bill more than 500B. The room was stinking. The wash basin tap was leaking. The AC looks like an antique from 1980's. The room size was good enough. In the morning there was no water to take bath. We had to wait until 2pm to take bath after the water tanker arrived. We left on 8Aug at 4am so we wanted packed breakfast. They offered us bread, jam, butter, boiled eggs and banana which was in semi liquid state before peeling and the package was stinking with smell of banana, we had to throw it. We were informed that the renovation work continues throughout the year, very disturbing. The hotel offered us Taxi for airport drop at 650B + 200B (@4am pickup). We inquired with other tourist shops and they agreed at 700B (hotel - airport drop). Very far from Patong beach. Not much to choose from the dishes in breakfast. I have the photos to share on request. Not again to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrinmoy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamboo B, Manager at Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you very much for your kind .Thank you for your review on The Club Bamboo Boutique Resort & Spa and i am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

For your comment about deposit this is a standard with hotel business. All you commented we can resolve the problem immediately during you stay with us when you informed.

As of breakfast that hotel can provided the best for you by breakfast box because you are leaving at 4 AM very early in the morning.

In case taxi to airport the price must plus 650+200 THB because you are booking at last minute that we had already informed.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope you must visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Patong hotels

Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This is my second visit to club bamboo and once again i had a very enjoyable stay...The staff were polite and helpful and the reception staff were always so happy,friendly and fun to talk with...My room was very big and clean and i had no problem with noise or other guests...
Breakfast had a wide selection to choose from and there was always a nice atmosphere each morning..There is a gym and decent size swimming pool as well as a free shuttle ride into town throughout the day which was a bonus..I plan to visit Phuket again in January 2014 and i'm sure i will book to stay here again...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Don't be fooled by the photos. The place is pretty old, filled with steps, rooms are worn out, furniture are moldy and some of the staffs are pretty rude. Would not recommend to stay here unless the price is really cheap. We got 2 deluxe room, on the first floor, there's some weird noise coming from the toilet regularly especially during the night. I suspect it was the old waste water pipes running from upstairs that need some maintenance. Outside in the corridor is always moist and dubious water dripping from the ceiling.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EthanOw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We booked the villa, which is situated away from the main hotel at the top of a hill. On arrival, after initially trying to cover up their mistake, admitted they had double booked and it was in fact taken for the next couple of days. They tried to fob us off with a family room, which was run down, with signs of damp and rather smelly. Then two other rooms in the hotel, in a similar state but with the addition of dried blood stains, then finally two bungalows. Again they were far from what we had ordered but were considering taking these in lieu of the villa for the first couple of days. We then viewed the actual villa, as the occupants were away, and quickly saw that the pictures were rather flattering to say the least and did not convey a fair representation of the state of the villa, which seems to have been neglected since completion.

In an attempt to keep our business, they then offered two bungalows at a price that was approx. 4 times we could have booked via Booking.com at that moment. They assured us that it was a good saving on their walk in rate and refused to budge on that.

Needless to say, we found something else and went on our way. Only to get a no-show email with request for full payment, following the hotel reporting as such. They then refused to sign a declaration that they would not in fact charge us, displaying breathtaking arrogance.

Beware, glossy pics do not tell the true story, esp. of the villa, which you would need to be descended from a mountain goat to reach without aid of a vehicle!!!

Room Tip: As of July 2013, the villa was surrounded by an enormous building site, so robbing pool area of all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJP67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamboo B, Manager at Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Good afternoon,
Thank you very much for your commend.

First, we would like to apologize that you couldn’t stay at the villa as you book.

Second, we would like to remind you that day you come we show you the villa and give you a choice that you can cancel a booking or made a new booking with another room type.

So, you want to cancel booking and move to another hotel. Then our hotel give apologize and arranging the shuttle bus (Free – without any charge) bring you to new hotel.

As of payment the hotel never charge any baht from you and already inform to agency that you had booking with.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Jiraporn Hill Resort
Jiraporn Hill Resort
#161 of 322 in Patong
136 reviews
0.8 mi away
The AIM Patong Hotel
The AIM Patong Hotel
#213 of 322 in Patong
110 reviews
1.6 mi away
Forest Patong Hotel
Forest Patong Hotel
#152 of 322 in Patong
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Breezotel
Breezotel
#26 of 322 in Patong
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
The ASHLEE Plaza Patong Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Brother's Residence
The Brother's Residence
#290 of 322 in Patong
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa

Property: Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa
Address: Nanai Road 247/1-8 | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#61 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Bamboo is a small boutique resort located in the best part of Phuket, Patong Beach. Situated in a jungle garden, on a foothill overlooking Patong Bay, this resort offers the chance to be close to the most lively night life and, at the same time, welcomes you in its quiet oasis of exotic green for an intimate relaxation. At night you can dine at the poolside restaurant and enjoy the fine traditional Thai cuisine hearing crickets and looking at the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Bamboo Boutique Hotel Patong
Hotel Bamboo Boutique
Resort Bamboo Boutique
Club Bamboo Boutique Resort And Spa Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing