We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, but the hotel needs some work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa
Ranked #150 of 337 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights while passing through Patong. When we got to the reception the four of us were offered to upgrade to the 'private villa' (see trip advisor cover photo), because they didn't have rooms with separate beds available in the main hotel. Because the villa is up the hill, farther away from the hotel we were also given free scooters that we could use as we pleased.

The bad
Ok, so what could possibly go wrong?

The private villa has mouldy bathrooms to the point where sleeping there at night is difficult. I don't even have allergies. There are two holes in the wall of one of the two bedrooms and I am guessing water came in through there during the rainy season.

There is a construction site for a condo right next to the villa. It is very noisy and dusty. You have no privacy when staying under the gazebo or in the pool and the pool was very murky.

The good

The staff are really great and it is easy to communicate with them.

The villa offers a great view of the neighbouring wooded hills and the sea.


I can imagine that if the house was renovated and if the adjacent condo was finished this would be a great place to stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Monica o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamboo B, Guest Relations Manager at Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Sir and Madam
Thank you for your feedback
All comments are very important for our Hotel to improve our future
We apologize for not having separate beds in the rooms for your original booking
However we did upgrade you for no extra cost and provided you with scooters free of charge
I hope if you ever visit Patong again you will return to club bamboo
As we do the best to make the guest satisfied

kind regards
Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

I loved the stay. the room was spacious, pool is amazing, food is great and the price i paid was great. Its little bit far from the beach but its a nice 20 min walk so its not too bad. The only downside was a slight smell of mold in the room but the air con sucked out most of the smell

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamboo B, Guest Relations Manager at Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Sir and Madam

Greeting From Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa
Good to hear you are satisfied with our service
and Thank you very much for sharing the constructive and helpful suggestions with us develop at all time
Your feed back very important we will shared with the team immediately to more improvement
Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again

kind regards
Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stay at club bamboo 4 night
Front desk staff very helpful and friendly
all department always smile and ask how was stayed
breakfast buffet good taste and have lot choice
price very good for value
we will come back stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamboo B, Guest Relations Manager at Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Sir and Madam

Thank you for choosing to stay at Club Bamboo and Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience here
We really appreciated it ,we glad to know that you have enjoyed your time with us
We hope to welcome you again next time

Kind regards
Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Excellent cost benefit, staff very helpfull, location is very good considering its in a hill top and the area can be afected by tsunamis...
The food is cheap and they have a free service to take the guests to the beach with a tuk tuk from the hotel....

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ManuNavroski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamboo B, Guest Relations Manager at Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Sir and Madam

Thanks You very much for nice review
I am glad you kind words show that you have appreciated it almost everything at Club Bamboo
Hope Hotel can service next holiday again

Kind regards
Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The paneled interior and the painted wood needs serious attention...... the toilet is very small, that doesn't bother me but for some it could be a real set back.The menu has a limited choice, limited bar and beverages. No whiskey for two consecutive nights. But, all that is made up by an appropriate mix of friendliness and efficiency, all the way from the bellboys, the manageress, the reception staff, outstanding housekeeping services and most of all, the service staff in the restaurant. Overall, an extremely family-friendly place, providing generous and extremely tasty food. It is close to Patong beach and very famous Bangla Road. It's not always what it looks like, if we get a chance to travel back to Phuket in near future we would love to put up at Club Bamboo one more time......

Cheers....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arijit_guha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamboo B, Guest Relations Manager at Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Sir and Madam

Thank you for your nice review
our staff try their very best to be helpful ,friendly and happy all the time
I am glad your kind words show that you have appreciated almost everything at club Bamboo
Our hotel is always clean well and presented for our visitors
We try our best to provide a large variety of beverages,however due to a great demand for a particular type of spirit i.e whisky we occasional run out because of our exciting happy hour at the bar
this is also one of our popular time of the day
the menu also has a good variety or hot and cold meals ,there is always something for every member of a family to enjoy

kind regards
Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

If you have respect for yourself then try to find another hotel: we stayed in separate bungalow with the view on "swamp" (that's assumed to be an artificial lake) with constant noise of water pumps system just right outside of our window.. Holes in ceiling and floor where some insects can come through inside your room (we got lizards). Stairs are inconvenient and very steep so it is very difficult to go upstairs with bulky luggage or with children or if you are elder person. Dirty towels in the room and you have to ask manager to change them.. Bath was old and rubbish (we checked two bungalows -they were in same condition). After staying several days in the hotel when we returned lately in our room, we found that two glasses disappeared. We informed reception -they promised to "fix the problem next day" but nothing was done.
Overall condition of the hotel and bungalows leaves bad impression. However, there are definitely positive things about this hotel: it located quite far from crowded Bangla street with all that madness and hustle&bustle activities. You also can find good open food market which located not far away from the hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank VladT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamboo B, Guest Relations Manager at Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Sir and Madam
Greeting from Club Bamboo Boutique resort and Spa
Its a shame you did not enjoy your time at our hotel
We try out best to keep all our guest happy ,relaxed and provide a good experience of Club Bamboo
unfortunately your stay was not pleasant due to construction work taking place at another hotel
This is a shame as normally our hotel is very quiet and a relaxed place to be
Club Bamboo always clean and we provide clean towels and bed sheets on daily basic
If any reason we forget to leave extra glasses or cups in the room our staff are always available to help with any issue which may a raise

Kind regards
Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 days and had a comfortable room. Pretty surroundings but in need of a coat of paint. Pool area was pretty and restaurant cooked good food and was quick when we ordered room service.
Hotel is at one end of the beach away from the madness of Bangla walking street. Hotel rented us a bike and we were able sample the nightlife and then escape back to club bamboo for peaceful sleep.
The only thing that I would say is a bit of a problem is the stairs. You have to get your suitcases up a lot of stairs to get to the lobby- no mean feat for a couple who are of moderate fitness. Definitely not for the elderly or those with small children.

All in all we would go back to this hotel.

Just at the bottom of the street was a great little food night market selling freshly barbequed fish or meat as well as the usual padthai and crepe stalls.

Tip- don't book a shared mimi bus from airport. Taxi for two was set price 800baht- 45 mins journey. Taxi service offered mini bus for 150 per person- but they detoured to a shop to sell us excursions and took 2 hours of the beginning of our holiday- and didn't even drop us at our hotel. Dropped us at the bottom of the hill and we had to walk our cases up to the hotel. Return taxi cost 800 but took 45 mins with no detour- it seems set price for taxi is now 800 yet when we flew to chiang mai same length journey in a nicer taxi cost 180baht. Phuket is pricing itself out of the tourist trail...such a shame.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamboo B, Guest Relations Manager at Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear Sir and Madam

Warmest Greeting From Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa
Thank you for choosing to stay with our resort and share experience
It is a great motivation for teams to hear about your satisfaction our service during stay with us
Hotel location have stairs ,cause check in and check out hotel provide porter will take care you to carry suitcases Just contact reception
Hope hotel can support on next future again
Kind regards
Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0 mi away
Sun Hill Hotel
Sun Hill Hotel
#104 of 337 in Patong
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baan Yuree Resort  and  Spa
Baan Yuree Resort and Spa
#115 of 337 in Patong
416 reviews
1.2 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#71 of 337 in Patong
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sai Rougn Residence
Sai Rougn Residence
#116 of 337 in Patong
157 reviews
1.5 mi away
Swiss Palm Beach
Swiss Palm Beach
#87 of 337 in Patong
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
The ASHLEE Heights Patong Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa

Address: Nanai Road 247/1-8 | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#56 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £12 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Bamboo is a small boutique resort located in the best part of Phuket, Patong Beach. Situated in a jungle garden, on a foothill overlooking Patong Bay, this resort offers the chance to be close to the most lively night life and, at the same time, welcomes you in its quiet oasis of exotic green for an intimate relaxation. At night you can dine at the poolside restaurant and enjoy the fine traditional Thai cuisine hearing crickets and looking at the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Bamboo Boutique Hotel Patong
Hotel Bamboo Boutique
Resort Bamboo Boutique
Club Bamboo Boutique Resort And Spa Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing