We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, quality service and excellent and very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Ranked #4 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, quality service and excellent and very friendly staff”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the holiday inn resort phuket many times over the past 13 years and have the best time there. Everything about this fabulous hotel is exceptional. The rooms, pools, the restaurants, the bars, the amenities are all first class. The professionalism, competence and friendliness of the staff is the best I have encountered anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandersp1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear "Sandersp1955"

Thank you for taking the time to share another very kind review, this time of your stay in the hotel. As a greatly valued and many times repeating guest it is wonderful to note that we continue to not only meet, but exceed, your expectations and we are looking forward to seeing you back again soon!

All of your feedback, but in particular your wonderful comments with regards the staff, is greatly appreciated and I will be sure to share with all concerned.

Please make sure to stay in touch when you are planning your next visit and let us know how we can best help!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,368
    1,047
    245
    67
    35
See reviews for
1,491
1,250
138
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (844)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

stayed in busakorn wing- roomy and excellent. nice pool, close to action and private. best resort during trip to thailand. spa - hot stone massage was perfect and two for one deal also. staff at resort very helpful

Room Tip: busakorn wing only
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terryo1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear "terryo1963"

Thank you for taking the time to share another wonderful review. Your feedback with regards the guest rooms, the service from the staff and the convenient location is all very well received and we hope to see you back again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed in the Busakorn wing with family, our 4th stay. Great rooms, great service, great location. Would not stay anywhere else in Phuket. Both checkin and out are efficient and speedy, you are met by friendly staff who greet you by name. Recommend the resort to all.

Room Tip: 4th floor Busakorn wing every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianS694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear "Brian S"

Thank you for your very kind review and feedback. I am delighted that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and have received such great service from the staff throughout the resort, in particular at check-in and check-out.

We hope to see you back again soon for another wonderful stay!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The Holiday Inn chain are definitely trusty and you can be sure to be happy with your stays. Rooms are tidy and quite modern. We stayed in the normal part of the hotel - not the Busakorn part. The room overlooked the street so no nice views at all. And also very noisey with street traffic even though we were on the 5th floor.
The general pool was right next to the renovations for one of their restaurants. So expect to spend your pool side days listening to a construction site full of grinding and hammering. Really not nice at all so I advise you to call before you book to check if the renovations are finished. If you are swimming in the Busakorn pool you cant hear it.
The breakfast buffet was fantastic and I can find no fault in it.
All staff were very helpful.
I feel it was very overpriced considering the inconvenience of the renos.
Great easy central location.
Would I stay again? Yes but only when construction finished.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear "Sarah N"

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and I am delighted to read that you find our brand, Holiday Inn, in general to be reliable in providing happy holidays!

I do apologize that you experienced some noise disturbance from the outside traffic during your stay and you will be pleased to note that one of the room features we are up-grading in our on-going renovation project is the installation of double glazing to eliminate the disturbance from the busy streets of Patong!

In this regard, our first phase renovations will be complete within the first week of August and, although the renovation project will continue inside the main body of the hotel after this, the on-going work will be isolated from any public area and there will be no further disturbance at the poolside or in other general access areas of the hotel.

I do appreciate your very kind comments with regards the quality of the breakfast buffet and the high standard of service from the staff throughout the hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit. Please stay in touch with me directly at morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com when you are planning your next trip so that I can ensure you are able to experience our newly renovated rooms!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

As part of a 3 week SE Asia holiday we stayed here for 7 nights.
We stayed in a pool access villa in the Busakorn Wing.
Should mention the Main Wing of the Hotel is undergoing a make over, see tips regarding rooms below, see Hotel website, this does not impact the Busakore Wing.
We knew the Hotel having stayed here twice before. For us almost everything about the Hotel is excellent. That includes the rooms and the Hotel location. The Hotel is set right on Patong beachfront yet the Busakorn Wing provides perfect peace and tranquility. The staff were all excellent, that includes reception, restaurant, concierge, room and security guard who ensured I got safely across the road each day. Food also excellent, superb breakfast, and we used the Charm Thai restaurant on 2 occasions in the evening. We also used the Terrazzo but wouldn't rate that so highly, personally think we timed it wrong but our Pizza was a little undercooked. We also liked the little touch of having a complimentary mini bar.
We did encounter a Patong mosquito problem, but our room maid was extremely helpful ensuring our room was sprayed on a daily basis.
Would we return, yes for sure.
Would we recommend, yes for sure.

Room Tip: Villa rooms on the South side get the sun from early morning. North side rooms remain shaded. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anh_and_Em_BFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear "Anh_and_Em_BFS"

Thank you for taking the time to share your very kind and detailed review. I am really pleased that you have had such an enjoyable stay with us in one of our fantastic villa pool rooms and that you have experienced no disturbance from our renovation works.

Your feedback with regards the convenient location, the peaceful atmosphere at the private villa pool and the excellent service from the staff throughout the hotel is all very well received and I will be sure to share your comments with my colleagues here at the hotel.

I also appreciate your feedback with regards the excellent food in Charm Thai and I will speak further with the chef in Terrazzo with regards the pizza.

I do hope, as you have mentioned, that you will have the opportunity to visit and stay with us again. Please stay in touch when you are planning your next visit and let us know how we can help.

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The only reason i will give an average rating instead of poor is the location. It is in the middle of busy Patong beach road - shopping dining beach taxi all r close by. If not for the location we would have checked out of this hotel within a day.
We had stayed at Busakorn wing studio facing the pool which i guess is the best this hotel has to offer and it was one of the worst stays ever in a star hotel.
The main problem we encountered was air conditioning - the room a/c just wont go below 18 degrees in the switch and actual room temperature never goes below 23 degrees. We complained they tried to repair nothing happened except they sent a fruit basket (with some of them being rotten) and an apology letter but nothing helped. We hardly slept bcoz of the humidity and after a day we had to throw off the blankets and sleep without it.

Actually this is a very old property and many parts of it are crying for reconstruction/repair. Right from the lobby to rooms it lacked all opulence of a star hotel. The room itself was looking quite old with funny lay out of a separate toilet bath room and a washbasin outside the bath room and all areas (esp the toilet) are small and cramped. The room was big enough with a balcony facing pool but from the power of it, the air conditioner was built for the bathroom not the real room!! Anyway both toilet and bathroom had no a/c vent or windows making it hot and smelly. The whole room smelt rusty and we felt very uncomfortable through out. Only good thing about the room is provision of lot of cupboards and desks with drawers to spread out luggage. Toiletries included no toothbrush and paste but a note was kept we can ask room service for any stuff. Also the bar was empty and hotel expected us to pick stuff and fill it!!! The whole idea of a mini bar is that guest need not trouble himself to get room service or shop down for a drink!! Same went with welcome drink – we reached after a long drive and there were no cold towels or drinks except they gave a coupon after check in saying we can get a free soft drink at the hotel restaurants as welcome drink anytime later. Really! Is that the idea of welcome drink?! Anyway we never bothered to encash our coupons!

Now the hotel has a very open construction whereby the pool is surrounded by restaurants rooms lobby everything. So pool offers no privacy to women. Another thing the restaurant where Buskorn villa guests can have buffet breakfast is not air-conditioned same goes for lobby. So we were eating breakfast chasing flies and sweating down makeup! It makes no sense in a hot and humid beach city that hotel has no a/c at all in common areas and very poor a/c within the rooms.
Breakfast selection was good and service average. May be by the time we reached Phuket we were treated so well by our previous hotels, but somehow Holiday Inn staff paled in comparison to others in terms of manners and pleasantness. One particular lady at breakfast area who kept checking guests room numbers before letting us in gave everyone such sour looks and looked very unhappy with her job!!
We tried room service for Child menu and Thai dishes and food was below average and just average both times. The only place worth eating is Sam’s grill and it is very pricey.
We tried Spa services and will rate it only average – nothing to write home about, though the ladies at the Spa were more pleasant to deal with.

We spent THB 5525 for a studio room per night and we felt value for money was very poor for the price we paid! Will never stay here again and will think twice about staying in any other Holiday Inn property.
Will recommend this hotel to only single travelers, who wouldn’t mind staying in a bad hotel to be in the middle action!
Also one word of caution - if you are staying in this hotel be very sure to use the locker for all valuables and keep good clothes locked inside suitcases before you wander around. We had a bad experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leeza2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear "Ig2002"

Thank you for taking the time to share your very detailed and constructive review with us and I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not quite as you expected, although it is good to note that you have found the location to be so convenient. I am most concerned, however, by the final comment of your review with regards your "bad experience" and I would appreciate if you would take the time to contact me personally to elaborate on this - my email is morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com

I am sorry that the air-conditioning was not cold enough for you. We maintain this standard of 18 degrees as a minimum temperature in all of our guest rooms as part of our energy management program, and the air temperature in the room will come down to this same temperature providing that you keep the doors closed. The staff are not able to change this minimum temperature setting on a room by room basis and while I am pleased to note that they have taken action and sent a fruit basket and written apology, I am sorry that this was not communicated to you more effectively. With regards the air-conditioning in the public areas and restaurants, as you mentioned these are open spaces and therefore air-conditioning does not work. Ceiling fans and standing fans, as I am sure you are aware, are provided in all of these areas for the comfort of our guests.

It is disappointing to note that you have not been happy with our service in various areas, great service being something for which we are very well known and respected, but again I am happy that you have had a good dining experience at our signature restaurant, Sam's. You will also be pleased to note that we are actually at the end of our first renovation phase, and about to start a second phase. All of our Main Wing rooms and two of our restaurants will have been fully up-graded and renovated by mid-2014.

Our decision not to stock the minibars, but rather to offer an extended selection of products at great value prices in our hotel shop, was based on feedback from our guests who generally appreciate the flexibility of choice and savings available. We do offer fully stocked, complimentary minibars in our premium room types (Deluxe Sea View and Villa rooms), and I am sorry that you were not given the opportunity to up-grade to one of these rooms during your stay.

I must be clear, however, that many of the services and facilities with which you have found fault (namely the stocked minibar, fully stocked bathroom amenities, private swimming pools for ladies, service of cold towels and welcome drinks on arrival in reception) are really more representative of what would be offered in a 5 star property (where we are a very good 4 star property) and you may find that you are perhaps more comfortable in future in one of our InterContinental brand hotels. Please stay in touch with me personally when you are planning your next vacation or trip abroad and I would be happy to recommend a suitable property for you and assist as much as possible with your reservation details.

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel has good value overall.. at decent prices you get a resort bang on patong beach.. nice restaurants with chefs who can whip up a vegetarian thai meal.. in the middle of all action at Phuket.. 3 pools with 2 pools for little kids.. nice hearty breakfast

But in terms of location as soon as you walk out there are tons of happy massage parlors and prostitutes calling out.. it can be a quite embarrassing with little kids and families but I suppose its unavoidable in Phuket

I would recommend staying at a more secluded place if you are looking for a quiet relaxing time but this is definitely the place if you want to be in the middle of all the action

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indiantraveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear "Indiantraveljunkie"

Thank you for sharing your review with us and I am pleased that, overall, you and your family have enjoyed your stay and have found us to offer good value. It is also great that you have had a chance to enjoy our pool facilities and the breakfast buffet. Your comments on the street life are very well received, and as you have mentioned, this is largely unavoidable in Patong, although I can assure you we have strict controls in place within the hotel grounds.

I do hope you will all have the opportunity to visit again - please stay in touch when you are planning your next visit and let us know how we can help!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
1.0 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Phuket

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Address: 52 Thaweewong Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#2 Spa Hotel in Patong
#3 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#3 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#3 Business Hotel in Patong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#3 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Patong’s best choice for Everyday Travelers”Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, perfectly located in the heart of Patong, Phuket’s most famous beach. Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is an oasis in the middle of Patong and is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and night life and just steps away from the beach. 10 minutes away from Jungeceylon shopping center, Soi Bangla Nightlife, and Patong beach is just across the road.High speed internet is provided FREE of charge for hotels guests.Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is part of the world’s most recognized upper mid-scale brands, and it offers a fantastic choice with seven different room categories, separated in two distinctive wings. The contemporary-designed main wing is popular for its kids and family-friendly rooms and facilities. The resort is honored as a top 10 Family Resort in Asia by Tripadvisor. The Luxury Busakorn wing with Thai design offers spacious rooms with pool view or pool access in a tranquil pool and tropical garden environment appreciated by couples seeking a more intimate resort experience.Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is well-known for its excellent breakfast buffet and great value cuisine in the resort’s 4 restaurants. Holiday Inn Resort Phuket provides daily guest activities and dedicated kids facilities. A refreshing spa and several pools in tropical gardens give choices to relax or be active.At the heart of Patong, Holiday Inn Resort Phuket offers guests a warm Thai welcome, friendly service and total ease, simply Patong’s best Choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Hotel Patong
Holiday Inn Phuket
Holiday Inn Patong
Patong Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing