We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, rubbish place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Ranked #4 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, rubbish place”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The hotel itself was nice, not sure I enjoyed patong. Patong is set up for drunken tourists, if you're keen on seeing authentic Thailand this is not the place to go. Both swimming pools are nice, although the fancy one they advertise has sun loungers only for the upper class holidayers. The restaurants are probably the biggest asset, with them having a lovely steak house, a lovely Thai fusion restaurant and a reasonable buffet. Rooms are clean and well presented but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear "Oliver F"

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and while we are of course very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel, I am sorry to read that you have found Patong to be a little too touristic as a destination and if you are planning another visit to Thailand I would be very happy to assist you in arranging your holiday at one of our other wonderful properties throughout the country. Your comments with regards the pool facilities and the hotel restaurants are very well received, thank you. Please do stay in touch when you are planning your next visit to Thailand and let me know how I can help!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,341
    1,034
    241
    66
    33
See reviews for
1,460
1,241
136
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (833)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

So let's start, we are still staying here
2 adults and 2 children under 4 years old staying in a family suite.
Family suite is 2 rooms interconnected with 2 bathrooms. Children room is great: has 2 boat beds, tv, video game, toys, themed room fish. My kids are feeling super special here!

One thing we found not very helpful: we arrived very late in the night 10pm. Reception didn't told us much about the place. So no map, just discover yourself. Which with 2 little kids sometimes a bit hard.

Sign need to improve everywhere.

Kids club only from 5 years old to stay without parents. That was fine for us.
But for some weird reason kids club open till 9pm only on Monday, Wednesday and Fridays.
This is a high season here. Normally after dinner kids want to have a play. But the odd days close at 5pm.

All resorts we have been like in Bali, Brazil, etc was opened till late every day. So management need to look into this.

Another point
2 days in the row kids pool is supposed to be open at 8 am but by 9.30am staff haven't finished to clean pool and chairs and can be quite noisy and not nice...

The bad point
There is no toilets facilities around Kids pool. Need to walk a bit further and sometimes kids can't hold...

There is a new kids pool opening tomorrow, so we will check it out. They have been telling us 2 days ago they were opening it...

Breakfast is great! Lots of variety, even have vegemite, but no weetbix.

Restaurants a part from steak house, all very good price. We had a dinner tonight at Terrazzo with main courses and 4 ice creams plus coffee costed us 2500 bahts.;)

Food at pool good but need to improve menu. Need to have more variety of vegetables too.;)

The main pool which is in the picture of their website and here is not available for Main wing customers. So it's a no no to us. Which can be a bit of a shame since we are paying 12000 bahts plus tax per night.

Spa not expensive and we will try tomorrow;)

Yes there is lots of mini market, pharmacies, etc next to the hotel.;)

And yes hotel is not in the beach.
You need to cross the road to go there, which wasn't a problem for us.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear "Evelyn M"

Thank you for taking the time to share your very kind and constructive review. I am delighted that you and your family, overall, have had a wonderful stay in one of our newly renovated Family Suites and that the kids in particular have appreciated all of the fun aspects of these rooms! Your very positive feedback with regards the convenient location, the great breakfast buffet, our new Tea Tree Spa and the restaurants in general is all very gratefully received, thank you. Your further comments and suggestions for improvement are also greatly appreciated and I will personally discuss these further with my colleagues in the hotel.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share and we hope you will have the chance to visit again soon for another great stay!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed in the Busakorn Wing of the Holiday Inn Patong Beach. I was pleasantly surprised with the modern room, comfortable bed, and great facilities.
Ive not stayed in the main wing which is teh older area, but that seems to be more 'family oriented'.
If staying with adults, stay in the Busakorn area, where there is a dedicated pool (no kids included) and a dedicated restaurant / breakfast cafe.
The main wing has its own pools, and the main restaurant and bars, which you can access from easily from the Busakorn wing.

Room Tip: Busakorn wing for those travelling as adults / couples. Must more up-market room and no screaming ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koul_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear "Koul_boy"

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and I am very pleased to read that you have had a great stay with us in the Busakorn Wing. Your comments on the guest rooms and the overall hotel facilities are well received, thank you, and I will be sure to share your review with the team here at the hotel. We hope you will have the chance to stay with us again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

The holiday inn resort patong has everything that you want, need and desire. The rooms are excellent, the facilities are world class and the restaurants, bars are magnificent. And to add to an absolutely fantastic experience are the always friendly, helpful and very professional staff. I have stayed many hotels around the world and I have to say that the holiday inn resort patong is an experience that I have enjoyed many times now. I just keep coming back !

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sandersp1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear "Sandersp1955"

Thank you for yet another kind and wonderful review, and I am delighted that, as such a seasoned traveler, you have found "paradise" in Patong! Your very positive comments on the restaurants, the general facilities and the staff are greatly appreciated and thank you also for uploading some great photos of the breakfast in Charm Thai! WE are loking forward to seeing you back again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Our family 11 of us just returned from Phuket today. We enjoyed our stays with the resort. The hotel location is great, just along Patong beach. The resort has great amenities with tour desk and transportation services. There are 4 restaurants serving international, italian, thai & western cuisine. The lobby is spacious & airy. The room is clean. There are 3 pools & spa facilities available in the resort. The hotel staffs are very helpful & friendly especially Miss Napatsorn from the reservation.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindalmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear "Lindalmf"

Thank you for your "great" review and I am especially glad, considering you were travelling as part of such a large group, that you have all had a wonderful stay with us! Your comments on the great variety of restaurants, the cleanliness of the guest rooms and the hotel facilities in general are greatly appreciated and I will be sure to share your feedback with my colleague Napatsorn and her manager. Please do stay in touch when you are planning your next visit and let us know how we can help!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

I find this hotel is well located over the road from the main beach and close to the nightlife of Phuket. The staff are friendly and helpful and polite (this is one of the thing I love about the country, there are such fantastic people here). I feel the hotel offers good value for money and a good balance for a family holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorBurchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear "TrevorBurchell"

Thank you for your very kind review and I am really pleased to read that, overall, you have enjoyed a wonderful stay with us in the hotel. Your comments on the convenient location, the friendliness of the staff and the great value for money are all very well received and I will certainly share your review with the team. Please stay in touch when you are planning your next visit and let us know how we can help!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandungan, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This hotel is right in the heart of all the action best suited to couples , the staff were not very friendly. There were dead flys in the milk at the breakfast buffet and the food in itself was not the best. We also found dirty undies not belonging to one of us which was a clear oversight and bad form on housekeeping part. They were on the bed side table!
Needless to stay we checked out 6nights early and moved to a much nicer location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear "Sara E"

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and I am very sorry to read that your stay has been so disappointing on many levels. I am especially concerned that you felt the hotel was so bad that you have had to check out 6 days early and I have already personally taken time to follow up on your comments with regards the friendliness of the staff, your breakfast experience and the poor standard of housekeeping.

I understand from my colleagues that you also had some challenges (not mentioned in your review...) with regards the sleeping arrangements for your family and that, after arriving in the room, you have requested for an extra bed and a bed to be moved from one room to another in order that all of the kids could stay together in one room. Unfortunately, as we explained, we are not able to accommodate such requests as our room configurations are fixed and if this was not also a contributory factor to your decision to check out early, I at least hope that the hotel to which you moved was able to fully meet your needs.

Once again, I offer my sincere apologies that the start of your holiday has been so disrupted, and I hope that after moving you and your family have had an enjoyable stay in Phuket. If you have any further comment in this regard, or if there is anything else with which I can help, please feel free to contact me at any time on my email as given below.

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
1.0 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
1.2 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Phuket

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Address: 52 Thaweewong Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Patong
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#3 Business Hotel in Patong
#3 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#3 Family Hotel in Patong
#3 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Patong’s best choice for Everyday Travelers”Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, perfectly located in the heart of Patong, Phuket’s most famous beach. Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is an oasis in the middle of Patong and is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and night life and just steps away from the beach. 10 minutes away from Jungeceylon shopping center, Soi Bangla Nightlife, and Patong beach is just across the road.High speed internet is provided FREE of charge for hotels guests.Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is part of the world’s most recognized upper mid-scale brands, and it offers a fantastic choice with seven different room categories, separated in two distinctive wings. The contemporary-designed main wing is popular for its kids and family-friendly rooms and facilities. The resort is honored as a top 10 Family Resort in Asia by Tripadvisor. The Luxury Busakorn wing with Thai design offers spacious rooms with pool view or pool access in a tranquil pool and tropical garden environment appreciated by couples seeking a more intimate resort experience.Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is well-known for its excellent breakfast buffet and great value cuisine in the resort’s 4 restaurants. Holiday Inn Resort Phuket provides daily guest activities and dedicated kids facilities. A refreshing spa and several pools in tropical gardens give choices to relax or be active.At the heart of Patong, Holiday Inn Resort Phuket offers guests a warm Thai welcome, friendly service and total ease, simply Patong’s best Choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Hotel Patong
Holiday Inn Phuket
Holiday Inn Patong
Patong Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing