We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inns Ascendant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Ranked #4 of 333 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Am very pleased with how the quality of the entire Holiday Inn brand seems to be improving at a significant rate. And the HI Resort in Patong is no exception.

Bolstered by having to do significant rebuilding after the tsunami, this property is now one of the premier properties in the whole IHG group. Personally, with little effort it could be rebranded as an Intercontinental.

My room was in the Busakorn wing, as I requested based on others' reviews. Beautiful room, great pool view, quiet, great for sleeping. The Thai restaurant and the gym were conveniently located in this wing. It was a short walk to the other (main) wing where the other three restaurants, bar and beach access were. My first negative comment is that walk, only about 50 meters, is comparatively cruddy and seems (but does not) to go through the back areas of the overall resort.

I had major meals at the Thai restaurant and Sam's Steakhouse. Both were excellent with Sam's being exceptional both in food and service. My steak was grilled perfectly and the several little "surprises" were unexpected and fun. Service was top quality. Although I didn't really like my soup's flavors yet still ate half of it, they pulled it off the bill even though I hadn't asked and indeed only said that it wasn't "to my taste." The cost went to the tip.

Everything else was pleasant enough. Used the small gym and enjoyed that. My other negative comment is that it's too bad there is a road between the resort and the beach. Yes, that's the case for most resorts in Patong and on other beaches, but it's still not ideal.

Room Tip: Ask for, or pay for, the Busakorn Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kairho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear "Kairho1"

Thank you for taking the time to share another very kind review, in addition to that already provided for our wonderful Sam's Steak & Grill! It makes me very happy to read that your overall experience in the resort has been so enjoyable and that you have fully enjoyed the facilities and ambiance of our beautiful Busakorn Wing. Your comments with regards the excellent dining options and the gym are very well received, thank you, and your further feedback on the walk way between the two wings in the resort is very well noted for our further attention and action. Please do stay in touch when you are planning your next visit and let us know how we can help!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,408 - 1,414 of 3,922 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed from 8th June until 23rd (we're still here!). We decided to pay the extra and stay in the Busakorn wing, based on other's TA posts. We were not disappointed. After one night i announced i did not want to go home! The room has everything you could possibly want, good range of toiletries, biggest bed i have ever seen, flat screen TV, aircon, fridge, balcony, robes and slippers, plenty of reading lights etc etc. We are on the 3rd floor, and overlook the pool and the spa pool.

The breakfast is exemplary, and kept us both happy as it had a good range of western food, combined with a good range of Asian food. Of personal interest to me was the freshly made juice shots, and I had one every morning!

The staff are very helpful and accommodating. We were particularly impressed with the reception staff and the staff who arranged our trips (next to main reception). Arranging your trips this way is so much more convenient than dealing with the street guys trying to sell you all sorts.

The pools are stunning, and the staff are always working to keep the area clean and tidy (leaves and flowers drift down from the trees every now and then). Having a cocktail at the pool bar is a must!

I visited the gym, and was impressed as it was fully air-conditioned, and had free water and towels for guests to use - very civilised.

Although you can have treatments in other spas around the local area, i cannot recommend the Tea Tree Spa at the hotel enough. I had a massage and body scrub followed by a pedicure and manicure. It was undoubtedly the best spa experience I have ever had, and for over 3 hours of treatment and amazing finger and toe nails, it was worth every single baht.

In summary, this is the best holiday i have had in years, and this hotel reminds me of the really good Asian hotels we used to visit 20 or so years ago. One of the staff told us they have over 515 staff here, and you can really feel that professional presence when you stay here.

Fabulous hotel, peaceful inside, but great location means not far from beach/Bangla Rd action - perfect combination.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jomac77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear "Jomac77"

Thank you for taking the time to share such a fantastic and detailed review - especially while still in the resort! It is really delightful to read that you are enjoying every aspect of your stay and all of your comments, from the high standard of breakfast, through the excellent room facilities, the top class spa experience to the service from the staff, are greatly appreciated. I will be sure to share all of your feedback with my colleagues and I do hope you enjoy the final few days of your stay!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed at the Busakorn villa, great room stepped out your door and straight into your pool, very quite area of the holiday Inn, great for couples and central to all the night life but very quite when your in your villa. The holiday Inn is right on patong beach well across the road from it. The service at the hotel was excellent they even knew it was my husbands 50th and made him a cake and it was yummy. You get your drinks for free from the bar fridge and they are restocked every day that's the way it should be done, I can't say anything about the food there never ate there went to the coffee club for breakfast near enough every day and their food was good which is about 10mins walk up patong beach. I would stay here again if in Phuket

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear "Mauzie48"

Thank you for taking the time to share your very kind and positive review! I am delighted that you have so enjoyed your stay in one of our beautiful Villa Pool Access rooms. It is good to note that you have fully appreciated all of the facilities and amenities on offer in this exclusive area and that you have found the location of the resort to be so convenient. I am especially happy to read that the team have taken extra care in recognizing your husband's birthday and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Patong!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed for 6 nights on 5th floor rooms are roomy and modern. Breakfast was amazing. Great location close to everything but not noisy. Both pools are great, but only one has swim up bar. Really clean hotel

Room Tip: Book 5th floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holysezballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear "Sarah H"

Thank you for sharing your review. It is good to note that, overall, your stay has been so enjoyable and that the staff have taken such good and friendly care of you! All of your comments with regards the high standard of cleanliness, the convenient location, the pool facilities and the excellent breakfast are greatly appreciated and we do hope you will have the opportunity to travel and stay with us again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Amazing food amazing location really close to the beach literally about 10 steps from the pool to the beach. Amazing green curry my fave good choice close to everything great for families too I was on a girls holiday but would be great for everyone!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank xxSunnsandloverxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear "xxSunnsandloverxx"

I am delighted to read that you have had such a good time with your friends on holiday - thank you for taking the time to let us know! Your comments with regards the convenient location, the high standard of dining and the overall excellent experience are all very much appreciated and we hope to see you back again soon for another memorable stay!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed for two weeks, found the staff very friendly and helpful the rooms very nice and clean and couldn't fault the accommodation. the main thing for us was the location very close to Bangla Rd were its going on every-night and very close to the beach and main shopping areas right in the middle of Patong.
if you are looking for nice place to stay with great staff and service and want to be in the heart of the busiest town here you cant go wrong with holiday inn :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear "Dale B"

Thank you for sharing your very kind feedback. I am pleased to read that you have found the service from the team to have been of such a high standard throughout the resort and that you have been well looked after during your stay. Your further feedback with regards the convenient location and the cleanliness of the resort is very much appreciated, thank you, and we hope to see you back again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We lived there from the 4th of june to 8th for 4 nights. The hotel is the best hotel you can find in Patong main area and its so convenient. Bangla road is just a 10 mins walk or a 2 mins drive by Taxi. Jung Ceylon which is the best mall in Patong is just 2 mins . Patong beach is literally 1 min walk from the hotels second gate. Hardrock café is 2 mins walk as well. Wow we were impressed.

we got a Family Suite which was great. 2 big size rooms were given to use . One for kids and other one for us.

Kids club is amazing if you are travelling with kids. There is so much to do there for kids that you can even leave kids there for 2-3 hours and pick them up when you get free . Kids never get bored of it .

Breakfast was ok if not the best. Gym was good. Spa is ok .

The hotel is clean and is a 5 star property.We enjoyed living there . Perfect location I will say again.

Room Tip: Family Suite is great if you are with 1 or 2 kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SyedNoorMShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear "SyedNoorMShah"

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and I am really happy that you and your family have so enjoyed your stay in one of our beautiful Family Suites. It is good to note that you have found the resort to have a high standard of cleanliness throughout and that you have very much appreciated the convenient location and excellent kid's facilities. Your further feedback with regards the breakfast, gym and spa is very well noted for our further attention and action and we do hope that we will see you all back again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
1 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
18.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 333 in Patong
6,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Phuket

Address: 52 Thaweewong Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Patong
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#3 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#3 Family Hotel in Patong
#3 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#3 Business Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £90 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Patong’s best choice for Everyday Travelers”Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, perfectly located in the heart of Patong, Phuket’s most famous beach. Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is an oasis in the middle of Patong and is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and night life and just steps away from the beach. 10 minutes away from Jungeceylon shopping center, Soi Bangla Nightlife, and Patong beach is just across the road.High speed internet is provided FREE of charge for hotels guests.Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is part of the world’s most recognized upper mid-scale brands, and it offers a fantastic choice with seven different room categories, separated in two distinctive wings. The contemporary-designed main wing is popular for its kids and family-friendly rooms and facilities. The resort is honored as a top 10 Family Resort in Asia by Tripadvisor. The Luxury Busakorn wing with Thai design offers spacious rooms with pool view or pool access in a tranquil pool and tropical garden environment appreciated by couples seeking a more intimate resort experience.Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is well-known for its excellent breakfast buffet and great value cuisine in the resort’s 4 restaurants. Holiday Inn Resort Phuket provides daily guest activities and dedicated kids facilities. A refreshing spa and several pools in tropical gardens give choices to relax or be active.At the heart of Patong, Holiday Inn Resort Phuket offers guests a warm Thai welcome, friendly service and total ease, simply Patong’s best Choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Hotel Patong
Holiday Inn Phuket
Holiday Inn Patong
Patong Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing