We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but service without smile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Ranked #4 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stated in the hotel with our two small kids for 2 nights in July.

This hotel has all the ingredients to be a superb place as it has a great location, good pool, kids club and many restaurants. Nothing to complain except it it lacks is the characteristic Thai service. In general the staff looks indifferent and going through motions. Guest service is not the biggest priority. We thought this was because the hotel is divided in two blocks and guests staying in the main building might not be experience the same level of service as the once in more premium Busakorn wing where regular rooms are not given to guests if they are traveling with more then one child. We went to the Thai restaurant in the Busakorn Wing and only two tables were occupied we overheard the other table complaining about the service and then we left our dinner mid way as there was no one to even refill the water.

Over all a good place but we could not experience the characteristic Thai hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Saurabh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear "Saurabh A"

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am pleased to note that, overall, you have enjoyed your stay but your comments with regards the standard of service are disappointing to read and I am sorry that we have fallen so far short of your expectations in this respect. We are normally well recognized for the very high standard of personalized service we offer to our many happy and returning guests and it is very worrying to read that you got the impression that the team was simply "going through the motions". This is certainly something that I will discuss further with all concerned for immediate corrective action. Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope that if you are planning another visit to Phuket that you will stay in touch with me directly and allow me to offer whatever assistance I am able.

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,807)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,241 - 1,247 of 3,808 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just upfront - we're just wondering if the service level was this bad when Phuket in general is going through it's worst tourist season in a long time (coup and rainy season), then this place would be truly truly avoidable in good times.

We arrived at HI Resort Phuket after a delayed flight and lost baggage early in the evening. No warm welcome - staff not very fluent in English with a couldn't care less attitude. Anyhow, we were given our rooms. We had been told by the airport that the baggage would arrive at the midnight flight and would be delivered to the resort. After pacing the room at about 1am, I went down to ask if they could call the airport and enquire if baggage had arrived at the airport - instead the manager on duty started shouting at me that the airport would be closed at this time of the night. Finally persuaded him to call, and guess what, there was a lady who picked up and gave us the necessary information.

Bad service the next day when we tried to use the bar-lounge area. Waited for 15 minutes with not one waitress approaching for an order. Had to ask for the bar menu a few times before we were given one - decided to avoid ordering the drinks as it had already been half an hour.

No fruit basket on check in (members are supposed to get one). When asked the front desk, no apology - only a "We'll check for you", and the fruit basket was there the next day.

Rooms were clean and comfortable, though a little cramped. Elevator and hallway looked shabby and dated. Pool in the non-busakorn wing was tiny and a joke - especially given the size of the hotel and number of guests.

Highlight of the kids club was the x-boxes. Staff not really interested in making the non-video gamers play.

Breakfast spread was huge - either continental, Chinese or Thai. But none of the hot food was hot - it was mostly cold and not warm, making it not very appealing. The menu was about 80% the same everyday - a little boring as we stayed for 5 days. Service at the breakfast room was bad - we asked for a jug of water for our table as we were a big group and generally drink lots - told that we could go get ourselves glasses as we pleased. Asked for paper napkins, and were pointed towards a box and told that we could get this ourselves as well. Smoothies at the live smoothie counter were cold as they were on ice - asked if we could get one that was room temperature, and they said they would charge us for it as they considered it a special order.

We stayed at the Meridien after, and really, there was such a big difference in service - we were so welcome there. Holiday Inn really needs to learn a few things from its competitors.

Room Tip: If you are not planning on staying in the Busakorn wing, just totally avoid the hotel altogether. Th...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amelie9626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear "Amelie9626"

Thank you for taking the time to share this very detailed feedback. I am genuinely sorry that you have experienced a poor standard of service in so many areas of the resort and that your overall stay experience has fallen so short of your expectations. This is very unusual and disappointing feedback for us to receive and we are proud of the high standard of service we normally deliver to our very many happy and returning guests.

While the information you have so far provided is sufficient for me to start some in depth conversations with my team to address the issues highlighted, I would be very pleased to receive any additional information or detail you are able to provide, if this is convenient. My email address is morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com

Once again, I offer my sincere apologies and I do hope to hear back again from you soon

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in Holiday Inn Resorts for 4 nights, we have been upgraded to a room with direct access to the swimming pool, service was good, location is perfect which everything is very close to, resturants, shops ect. I really recommend this resort!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank JayAlmannai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear "JayAlmannai"

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It is really great to note that you have been well recognized during your stay and that you have really appreciated the upgraded pool access room. Your feedback with regards the convenient location and the high standard of service from the team is very much appreciated and we hope you will have the chance to stay with us again soon.

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have stayed at the holiday inn 5 times and on our last stay in April we came with our 16month old daughter and the staff showed her so much love and attention, we also got married around the Villa pool.They made my wedding day amazing, could not fault it at all. I can not speak highly enough of the holiday inn. Such lovely staff,gorgeous rooms and great areas to eat. Cannot wait to come back again!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberleydine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear "Kimberleydine"

Thank you for sharing your review and I am really pleased that you and your family have so enjoyed yet another great stay. All of your feedback is very much appreciated and I will be sure to share your kind and positive comments with the team . We are looking forward to seeing you all back again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

In breakfast we got both veg and non veg options. Pool is nicely maintained. Hotel have three side opening.
1. Market side......
2. Opening at Hard Rock cafe side..
3. Beach side...

Location wise this hotel is perfect place to stay. It is very near to Indian restaurants also. Me and my wife always talking about this resort. we love it.

Room Tip: My room number is 320 and area is very quiet. No disturbance at all.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sidpro2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear "sidpro2007"

Thank you for your "amazing" review! Your feedback with regards the convenient location, the excellent pool facilities and the high standard of dining options available is very greatly appreciated and we hope you will have the chance to stay with us again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at Holiday Inn Resort Patong - Busakorn wing for the 7th or 8th time this year. Everything was to our utmost liking. Rooms were perfect! We had to double rooms on the second floor with connecting doors for our two girls. Although the Management has changed resort has not changed a bit. Everything was wonderful. Rooms & facilities very clean and well taken care of. The food was wonderful. Breakfast buffet great and caters to all tastes. Girls used the kids club on two or three occasions. They enjoyed the activities. We also hired a babysitter through the hotel. Lek was very loving and caring with the girls and they liked her very much. We thank the Management & the Team for the wonderful stay. We shall be back again in the near future.

Room Tip: Busakorn wing - further away from the lift area! Rooms facing the villas are the best and very quiet...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MCK-Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear "BlumeSingapore"

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and I am very pleased to read that you and your family have enjoyed another wonderful stay. As a many times returning guest, your feedback is especially valuable and your comments with regards the kid's facilities, the cleanliness of the resort and the high standard of dining are all greatly appreciated. I will be sure to share your review with the team and we hope to see you all back again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here for a week in a kids suite which was great. Hotel is in a great location, can walk to many places. All the staff were so happy and friendly. Pool area is nice. Beds were very comfy and wifi is fast. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Eva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear "Eva A"

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and I am delighted that you and your family have enjoyed such a great stay! Your comments on the comfort of the guest rooms, the convenient location and the excellent pool facilities are very much appreciated and your further feedback on the friendliness of the staff throughout the resort is also well received! We hope to see you all back again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
1.0 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
0.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Phuket

Address: 52 Thaweewong Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#2 Spa Hotel in Patong
#3 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#3 Family Hotel in Patong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#3 Business Hotel in Patong
#3 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £75 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Patong’s best choice for Everyday Travelers”Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, perfectly located in the heart of Patong, Phuket’s most famous beach. Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is an oasis in the middle of Patong and is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and night life and just steps away from the beach. 10 minutes away from Jungeceylon shopping center, Soi Bangla Nightlife, and Patong beach is just across the road.High speed internet is provided FREE of charge for hotels guests.Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is part of the world’s most recognized upper mid-scale brands, and it offers a fantastic choice with seven different room categories, separated in two distinctive wings. The contemporary-designed main wing is popular for its kids and family-friendly rooms and facilities. The resort is honored as a top 10 Family Resort in Asia by Tripadvisor. The Luxury Busakorn wing with Thai design offers spacious rooms with pool view or pool access in a tranquil pool and tropical garden environment appreciated by couples seeking a more intimate resort experience.Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is well-known for its excellent breakfast buffet and great value cuisine in the resort’s 4 restaurants. Holiday Inn Resort Phuket provides daily guest activities and dedicated kids facilities. A refreshing spa and several pools in tropical gardens give choices to relax or be active.At the heart of Patong, Holiday Inn Resort Phuket offers guests a warm Thai welcome, friendly service and total ease, simply Patong’s best Choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, IHG, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Hotel Patong
Holiday Inn Phuket
Holiday Inn Patong
Patong Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing