We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and ideal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Ranked #4 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location and ideal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

Our family stayed at the Holiday Inn late Dec and found that it was ideal for all our needs. The staff went out of their way to assist beginning at the airport when we arrived with the Holiday Inn van driver suggesting that because we hadn't prebooked the shuttle it would be cheaper to get a taxi which we did for THB600.
The best thing for us was the location. Our children are 19 and 21 and were able to 'lose' us and go exploring on their own without feeling trapped especially once they got accustomed to the hassling and constant calling out from shop workers in Patong (I suggest Kata Beach as a preference over Patong if you are not prepared for this).
Breakfast at the hotel is varied and plentiful and there are some changes to the buffet. We did not experience any food poisoning in Phuket even after eating cockroaches and grasshoppers at the beach stalls!
We initially stayed in two superior rooms in the Main building and these was perfectly adequate with two queen size beds per room, very clean and comfortable and one of the rooms had a sea view through the trees from the balcony. After 2 days we were told that one of our rooms had been blocked and was given to us by mistake so we were asked if they could upgrade the room to the Busakorn wing. The staff were so apologetic about moving us that they relocated the whole family to two interconnecting rooms in the Busakorn wing. These rooms were more spacious and luxurious and had views of the pool. Having a choice of pools and restaurants at the Holiday Inn is also an advantage if staying for a longer period of time.
My children also went to the henna activity that the hotel runs. Maybe not the best henna applying but the staff were lovely.
The hotel is handy to a minimart which, when exiting the hotel's access to the beach, is to the left and across the road and down some steps.
Also a warning, if you buy on the beach road you will end paying alot more for things than if you turn left at the main entrance of the hotel (away from the beach) and walk across the road to a market like area. You will also be hassled alot less.
Our only complaint is that when changing rooms we were given a non-smoking room as requested and it smelt heavily of cigarettes. The staff were good though in locating 2 more rooms which we were asked to inspect first before we were moved.
Overall we loved this hotel especially in that it felt like a haven after venturing out along patong beach.

  • Liked — Location and pools
  • Disliked — Smoking in non-smoking rooms
  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,299
    1,003
    233
    66
    31
See reviews for
1,428
1,212
132
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

I thought that the hotel itself was marvellous. The rooms were well appointed even though we were in the Superior Deluxe Rooms (the cheap ones) overlooking the Marriott Hotel. Small touches such as water in the room being replaced free of charge, the covers being turned down each night with orchids being laid on the pillows made the stay very enjoyable.
The staff in the hotel could not do enough for you, being very polite and seemingly very keen to help. This makes a refreshing change to some of the staff in UK hotels that I stay in regularly.

My only complaint was that the sunbeds were taken very early in the morning around the pool. The onw and only time I ventured to the pool before 8am there were towels everywhere even though the pool didn't open until 8 o'clock and the policy of the hotel is to remove unused towels after 2 hours - this didn't happen and it made for a bit of a lottery getting sunbeds close together. Possible problems for a family with kids etc.

Patong itself is seedy, dirty and not very friendly. If that's your scene, you'll love it, I reflected on it being a tropical Benidorm. I wasn't expecting what I came across and was hoping to see more of the 'real' Thailand rather than some flesh pot hole that Patong was. Don't let that put you off mind, you can still enjoy the Holiday Inn Resort without having to suffer all of the debauchery of Patong itself.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robatshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

The hotel is located on the Patong Beachfront in the middle of all the action. It is large enough for you to feel like you are in an "exclusive" resort inside the hotel and you are just a short walk away from all the Patong entertainment.

The breakfast buffet was nice, i could not fault the rooms, the swimming pool was a little busy with a lot of kids but all in all a reasonably priced option to stay in the middle of Patong.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucozade_Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

I would definitely not say that this property is value for money.I paid USD 250 in this peak season of December during Christmas and the rooms in main wing are very basic - nothing special - rooms need major renovation.

No welcome drink - breakfast very standard - overall not value for money.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank satyam78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

The Good:
The ambience, decor, service, staff, cleanliness were great. Location was not too bad, all we had to do was to dump our clothes on the deck chairs at the hotel swimming pool and cross the road to the beach, saving us the rental fees for the deck chairs at the beach itself. The main entertainment area, Bangla Road, is 15 mins walk away. There are many good restaurants nearby. If you are looking for good Thai Food, there's this restaurant named 'Banana Leaf' (if I'm not wrong) just around the corner that serves excellent green curry! The Hard Rock Cafe and Burasari Spa is also next door to the hotel, and just next to them is a decent supermarket and a pharmacy. Don't take up the Island tour packages from the hotel reception, they are obscenely expensive. Walk to Bangla Road area and book from those small stalls, they are half the price offered by the hotel.

The Bad:
My partner and I both suffered food poisoning on our 2nd last day, which we think was caused by the morning breakfast served at the hotel. The breakfast spread was rather impressive actually, but I think we just mixed too much at one go. [--] happens.

The Supernatural?:
Our first night spooked us out. The wooden furniture and bedding frame crackled often on its own after we turned out the lights (probably due to expansion and contraction).
The shower started trickling water on its own in the middle of the night (probably due to the low pressure caused by the suction vent in the bathroom sucking out residual water left in the shower head)
My partner claimed there was someone knocking on her bed frame at 3.30am in the morning (.....now that I can't explain!)
Our 2nd night onwards was ok.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EL_CO_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rapeeporn, Executive Assistant Manager i/c of Food & Beverage at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 22 December 2009
Dear sirs/ madam,

thank you very much for your feedback. Food poisoning is common in Phuket and we are very sorry that you had to experience it. To re - assure you we take food hygiene very serious and we are working with a food safety company and have been certified for 3 years running with high standards. In addition we get checked weekly by the Patong Hospital to ensure the maximum level of hygiene. We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Resort Phuket and looking forward to having you as our guest in the future.

With best regards
Matthias Jaeckel
Executive Assistant Manager i/c of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2009

The hotel has two wings, pick the new one! Its private and has better facilities. The room opened directly to the pool. Service was good. Food was reasonably ok. Loved the desserts though.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Patong area
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nahata101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

My wife and I stayed in the Holiday Inn Patong for one night. It has excellent location near the busy street for night life and the other end of the hotel leads to the Patong busy beach.
The hotel rooms, swimming pool, cafes, restaurants, beach, lobby, gardens, and the whole atmosphere are excellent. The rooms, sheets and towels are clean. The swimming pool is nice with area for children. The beach is just cross the street from the hotel. I saw many people swimming, others with jet skies, and other taking other water games. Check in and checkout are very smooth and fast. The breakfast is very good.
In summary, the hotel is a 4.5 star resort, I recommend it for families as well as couples who like to enjoy very busy Patong Beach.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PANAM-Air
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
1.0 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
0.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Phuket

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Address: 52 Thaweewong Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#2 Spa Hotel in Patong
#3 Business Hotel in Patong
#3 Family Hotel in Patong
#3 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#3 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Patong’s best choice for Everyday Travelers”Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, perfectly located in the heart of Patong, Phuket’s most famous beach. Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is an oasis in the middle of Patong and is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and night life and just steps away from the beach. 10 minutes away from Jungeceylon shopping center, Soi Bangla Nightlife, and Patong beach is just across the road.High speed internet is provided FREE of charge for hotels guests.Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is part of the world’s most recognized upper mid-scale brands, and it offers a fantastic choice with seven different room categories, separated in two distinctive wings. The contemporary-designed main wing is popular for its kids and family-friendly rooms and facilities. The resort is honored as a top 10 Family Resort in Asia by Tripadvisor. The Luxury Busakorn wing with Thai design offers spacious rooms with pool view or pool access in a tranquil pool and tropical garden environment appreciated by couples seeking a more intimate resort experience.Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is well-known for its excellent breakfast buffet and great value cuisine in the resort’s 4 restaurants. Holiday Inn Resort Phuket provides daily guest activities and dedicated kids facilities. A refreshing spa and several pools in tropical gardens give choices to relax or be active.At the heart of Patong, Holiday Inn Resort Phuket offers guests a warm Thai welcome, friendly service and total ease, simply Patong’s best Choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Holiday Gems and Travelbag so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Hotel Patong
Holiday Inn Phuket
Holiday Inn Patong
Patong Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing