We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel June 2009”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #17 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2013

What a place, and hotel. Loved the fact that the resort is so beautiful, but the fact that it has its own private beach just 4 mins walk at front of the hotel. Love this place.
Patong was not fat at all, there are free shuttle buses which take you to the beach front and back until midnight, or u can catch a taxi which takes 5 mins and isnt that expensive

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanGarcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,204)
There are newer reviews for Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,087 - 1,093 of 2,204 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

I recently planned a surprise trip for my wife & 2 young kids as a surprise for my wife's birthday. She has serious food allergies and the staff made an exceptional effort to ensure that all her dietry requirements were catered for and even went to the effort of making little laminated cards in Thai language so when we were out and about, we could show them to other food vendors/restaurants, which made the communication so easy for us (for a difficult issue).

I had planned a surprise dinner for my wife's birthday and all the bells and bling were made by the staff for the event. They had even managed to arrange fireworks with all required approvals from the local authority and what a memorable occassion we will never forget. The staff even entertained our 2 young children on the night with balloon blowing and even had a back up table for us (as we were out in the open) in case the weather turned bad.

Thank you so much to Surin and Pethari @ Merlin Beach Resort...I will be a loyal repeat customer and you made our family trip so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil782013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week towards the end of July. We were with 3 other couples and all had ocean view rooms. The rooms were bright and clean with plenty of space. The bathroom in particular was a spacious lay out with a nice window opening feature to the main room. We ate in on several occasions and found both the quality of the food and the price to be very reasonable Just stay away from the wine. It must be taxed to the max because all wine over there is ridiculously expensive. $12 bottles in Aus are about $50 in Phuket. The Little Tiger restaurant is a great little spot on the beach out the front and up the hill a bit. Cheap as chips , good food and breath taking view. The best massages were out the front and turn right to the end of the beach It's called family massage and they were terrific for pedicure and manicure as well. The staff at the hotel are nothing short of fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble. Hospitality staff in Oz need to go and see how well it can be done if you genuinely care. This resort is unusual in the fact we saw a wide age group that it appealed to. Young couples , young families and middle aged patrons. The resort pool is without doubt the best I've seen and is probably the reason all the young families don't intrude on those wanting a quieter holiday experience. Simply because of its vastness it enables people to spread out to a spot that suits. This is a great place and I highly recommend it to all discerning travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Love love this hotel first time in Phuket it was wonderful the food was really good 2,the staff very nice just one thing the front staff need 2 learn a bit more English but other wise they were good,stayed in the new wing over looking the pool very nice will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing r quieter and nicer
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gosia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I much prefer Krabi over Phuket, but this resort made the trip worth while.

There are three pools - one kid, one "private" and the main pool. It felt you were never crowded. The resort backs onto a private beach, with amazing views while dining. There is also a private restaurant behind the resort that I recommend!

The food was great, the service well above average and the room was comfy and beautiful. If I ever return to Phuket, I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank us_traveldiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I only found this resort by searching for the best pools in Phuket so I was hoping that it was what the photos on the net depicted. We were extremely happy with the spacious rooms, friendly staff and amazing pools. I traveled with family and friends and this hotel suits everyone traveling. It is a little way out of the madness of Patong but only a short Tuk Tuk or Taxi which is half the fun. Paradise Beach is only just up the road which was also somewhere we visited frequently. We didn't swim in the private beach at the hotel but we did indulge in the Thai massages down on the sand. I will be returning to Merlin Beach on my next visit to Phuket. I loved it. And the buffet breaky was great!

Room Tip: There are private swim up rooms which look amazing.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Brooke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We have just returned from this resort and had a very good time. We usually go to Fiji and this time of year so we were comparing the two holiday experiences, and found that we really enjoyed Thailand and would go back to this resort, but there were a few areas that could use a bit of improvement.

The resort itself is very nice. The rooms were lovely, and clean. The only complaint about the room was that the airconditioner was very loud- most nights I woke up thinking that it was raining outside but it was just the airconditioner. Apart from that, no problems. The staff were mainly friendly, especially a couple of the poolside waiters, but there were quite a few who didn't really speak enough English to understand the guests meal orders.

The pool areas are lovely- pretty accurately depicted in the photos. We were travelling with a 7 year old girl and 9 year old boy, and while they loved the water slide and the kids pool, we missed the organised poolside kids activities that you get at most resorts in Fiji. The kids club was aimed at much younger kids and my 7 year old found it way too young for her. So some organised activities for the slightly older kids would be really beneficial.

The restaurants were all excellent. We were given a discount card when we arrived, and the more often we ate at the resort , the higher the discount got, so by the time the last few days rolled around we were on a 30% discount, and compared to Australian prices the meals were very reasonable to start with. "At Sea" was our favourite restaurant- the Norweigan salmon is to die for. Breakfast was the only meal we were even slightly dissappointed with, but there was a big variety of foods and you could always find something good. It was just very, very busy but I guess the resort was quite full.

My husband and I both used the gym, which was fairly basic but absolutely adequate for a hotel gym.

All in all, a very enjoyable experience for a reasonable price. We would certainly return at some point in the future.

Room Tip: WE had rooms 1414 & 1415 and they overlooked the kids pool, and the beach.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CarmenRaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
13.7 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road | Tri-Trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#12 Spa Hotel in Patong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £84 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, the resort boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. Our resort is the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Our resort has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing