We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #22 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Where do I start, wow wow wow. We stayed here from the 13th july till the 23rd 2014.fantastic relaxing place to stay , was risky time to go as it was the wet season but it hardly rained, the staff are wonderful not one bad one, yes they are not very good with english but do there best to understand, great buffet breakfast and 5 different restaurants so plenty of choices , 2 great pools swim up bar even if your not a drinker its worth a go, private safe ibeach.free buses daily to and from Patong , the only downfall was having to come home, the staff are amazing from the waiters to the cleaners our room was very spacious and spotless and great pool or beach views , giving the staff a tip is like giving them a million dollars very greatful only gave them 200 bht each in our money is nothing , so take some extra bht with you as they are truly very amazing to you, cant recommend this place more highly.

Room Tip: Weddings every day beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhonda33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,028
    640
    253
    87
    49
See reviews for
726
801
37
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This resort is an amazing place with its pools facility and restaurant especially escaping from the European winter :-) The staff is another story, most of them were hardly speaking English this February but they were helpful and friendly. Excellent place for families with small kids as they have a good space for kids with a lot of attraction for them. Rooms are nice, well furbished, nicely decorated and kept cleaned by the staff. We stayed in a large room with king-size bed access to a kind of private pool next to the water fall but that stopped working after 6 pm. :-) Our advice is when you make any booking if you have kids take the pool at the kids world, if you don’t mind the public take the middle pool with the bar aside and if you wish to be in a romantic isolation take the third pool area rooms. We would recommend the ground floor with access to the pool directly :-) Wifi was slow in the room but at the lobby was much faster. Always take the free hotelbus (4x a day) to get down and back from Patong city never take taxis.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete_M_Budapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed at Merlin Beach Resort on a review from a friend! Great place to relax and just chill out while no hustle and bustle of Patong in site! Daily trips to Patong are a must on the bus at 11am as nothing opens until then from the night before. Rooms large and spacious all with a view! Only negative i have is the TAXI service run from this hotel, All trips are 1way only unlike other hotels which will stay and wait with you on your trip for the same price. The drivers don't speak or understand a word of English unlike other hotels in Patong. The driver who took us to the airport strange but we had to change car before entering the airport as he wasn't aloud to enter! this would be the only negative! restaurants at the hotel are yum and have a huge selections of food, breakfast daily was good and many selections to eat and try, Staff were amazing!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seanss79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalgoorlie
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This resort is amazing. Extremely clean first class. Staff are very helpful & friendly. Stayed for 12 nights but going back next year for longer. The facilities 3 pools, 4 restaurants, free shuttle bus into Patong, gym. Due to being 3kms out of Patong the air was a lot fresher and so easy to get to Patong for shopping & dinner. Tuk tuk back up the mountain was highlight of every evening - about $10 per trip. Would highly recommend this resort to families. Kids club too

Room Tip: Rooms in the front part of the hotel are quieter due to construction at the back which is 24 hrs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Recently Stayed at the Merlin Beach Resort and had a wonderful experience from when we arrived. We were lucky to be upgraded to an ocean front room. We had free Wifi in our room, however it was a little slow at times.. but in common areas / pool - wasn't as slow.

It was nice to stay somewhere away from the busy Patong area.. We cause the bus service from the hotel a few times down to Patong and also to Phuket City - which was good.. Otherwise you can get a tuk tuk or taxi from the hotel to Patong from the hotel - 200bt..The Tuk Tuk from Patong is 300 bt

Pools are awesome, great to be able to relax. the staff are great, they walk around to take orders for drinks and food - which is very reasonable price.

Rooms, very spacious, however the beds were a little hard to my liking, great size bathroom
Breakfast, was great, had something for everyone, toast, cereals, egg bar (where you could get omelette, poached, boiled and fried eggs) Pancakes, Danish's, fresh fruit... and even have vegemite on request.
Other Restaurants - very reasonable price, (for two of us paid 600bt), yes might be more than street food, but good quality and very tasty, great service

I would recommend this resort to anyone especially if you want to relax... I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alyssa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I would go back, but the place is not perfect. I will start with the bad stuff; The resort has a gym but the equipment is old and not well maintained almost to the point of unusable. The place could do with some maintenance, some on the walk ways have small holes in the roofs and other little things that would not take much to fix but look like they have been left for too long. This doesn't extend to the rooms they are maintained to a fairly reasonable standard. A lot of the plates and cups I had been given in the resort had cracks and or chips in them. Restaurant staff almost never smiled or greeted you which was a bit uncomfortable.

The good things; Most of the staff were helpful and nice
The basic room is is a good size for what you pay for and has everything you need (including laundry detergent). The food was reasonably good and you have several places and style's to choose from at the resort. It is about a 5-10 minute drive to Patong, depending on how mad the driver is. The resort has a bus in and out several time a day for free. If it is to long between buses you can get a tuk tuk (taxi) for between 200 and 300 B ($10 Australian). The Taxi service run by the Hotel was very good and had good deals e.g. we wanted to travel to a few different places around Phuket Town so instead of charging us per ride they hired a van with driver to us for 5 hours for 2000 Baht ($60 AUD) which we filled with 14 people. The pools are nice and cleaned daily, with enough room for everyone in the resort.

Room Tip: Wifi in the room was slow, wifi at lobby was faster Taxi to and from hotel to Patong was 200 to 300...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lobster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarneit, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a large hotel compared to my previous stays abroad, but was surprised how pleasant the stay was. Not quite in the thick of Patong but close enough to leisurely walk to the main drag even in the heat of the day and of course the beach is right across the hotel.
As for the service, the staff couldn't do more for you. We spent most of our time on day trips and exploring the island and surrounds, so it was nice to return to the hotel for a dip in one of their pools, sip on a cocktail and re-energise before going out for the evening. Recommend for couples and families as the yahoo crowd tend to stay in the heart of Patong.

Room Tip: I stayed in a deluxe room with kingsize bed and a a spare single bed, even though there were only 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
18.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
5,514 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
19.6 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Property: Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road | Tri-Trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#14 Spa Hotel in Patong
#15 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, the resort boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. Our resort is the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Our resort has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing