We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #21 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
london uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 12 February 2010

had a great time here lots to see and do its not far from the center of patong nightlife and shopping ride in a tuk tuk. nightclubbing in patongs banana club. visit islands by speadboat. learn thia language a simple thankyou in thia goes a long way.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,052
    655
    256
    90
    50
See reviews for
749
814
40
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Skövde
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

This is a clean and rather nice hotel with excellent pool facilities, but the location and over-priced services disappointing. We stayed 5 nights, two adults and 2 children (aged 5 and 7). You might as well go to a large standard charter hotel in Greece, Spain or anywhere else in the world. The thai-atmophere was just not there - and the prices almost as high as in high class western hotels. Ice-cream, beer, snacks, food - all priced 2-3 times higher than similar hotels we have stayed at in Kata and Patong, probably due to the fact that there are practically no alternatives or other good restaurants in the area. As breakfast was not included for our 5 year old we knew we had to pay upon arrival to the hotel, but 20 euros a day (!) is not a resonable price for a child's breakfast in Thailand. Internet access is often free in Thailand, but WiFi usage was around 20 euros a day at this hotel. The beach looks ok from a distance, but once you get there it is practically impossible to go swimming due to large boulders (dead coral), the beach is just nice scenery...

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Most high-end hotels in Kata and Patong are better value.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

We are a family of 3 (2 adults and 1 seven y.o. son) who travel frequently and extensively throughout the world. We have just returned from a 14 night stay at this resort and had thoroughly researched our trip on TA prior to booking. We were very happy with all of our choices based on what we had read on this site. Hence, we wanted to give our feedback on our trip. We had a Deluxe room overlooking the resort's beach (which I requested when I booked). Room was very comfortable and very clean, not 'luxurious' but fine for a family holiday. In our opinion, rooms with a view to the beach/sea were the nicest . The Merlin provided a great base for us as a family with its 3 very large pools and access to quieter beaches than those we saw at Patong, Kata, Karon and Nai Harn (the latter, although pretty, were lined with many rows of beach lounges/umbrellas and packed with tourists). The beach directly situated at the resort, as mentioned in other reviews, was a little rocky although still swimmable, but was lots of fun for our son who explored the rock pools and found all sorts of sea creatures! Massages, pedicures and laundry are all available at both ends of this beach and were cheap and very good (The ladies at 'Good View Massage' to the left as you enter the beach were just lovely) All 3 of us had regular massages there. The other beach is a 5 min walk out the front of Merlin, and down a dirt road to 'Tri Trang Beach'. We spent a whole day there, rented sun lounges, had lunch at the beach cafe, and our son spent hours playing with and feeding the 'resident' gibbon. Also good massage hut at the southern end of beach! Back to the Merlin - at the end of the resort's beach and up the steep walkway is 'Little Tiger Restaurant' - we ate there twice, both times lucky enough to sit at the front corner table and watch the beatiful sunsets - food was great, service was very friendly.
Restaurants at the resort were fine but you do need to venture out to Patong and other places if your stay is a longer one as menu would get a little repetative. The buffet breakfast had a very large selection, food was fresh and nicely presented, we found it to be fine. One of the restaurants we tried in Patong was the 'Sea Hag' - highly recommend - I had the best yellow prawn curry there that I have ever had, and all very cheap. Transport into Patong (or any of the other resort areas) we thought to be very inexpensive (250 baht to Patong, about 350-400 baht to Kata/Karon) and easily accessible (right outside front of resort) so eating out in other areas was not a problem for us. As others have mentioned, there is a free hotel shuttle to Patong, but it doesn't go all that frequently, although we did use it once or twice when it fitted with our plans. It drops and picks up from the Merlin Patong Hotel, which is the 'sister' hotel to Merlin Beach, so guests can use pools and facilities at both these resorts. We spent a day in Patong shopping etc. and, given the heat, use of this facility was a god-send to swim and cool off during the day (remember to take a red hotel towel with you from Merlin Beach front desk) Of the two hotels, Merlin Beach Resort is definitely nicer - larger, in good repair, more picturesque overlooking the sea, beautiful gardens and much better pools. The pools we have to say were sensational, our son had hours of fun in them as they're huge and there's many areas to explore etc. The two main pools consist of a toddlers and children's activity pool, the other being a more relaxed pool with swim up bar. The third pool in the Busakorn Wing was shady and quiet and had a huge waterfall and two spas if you wanted to relax away from it all. It was never a problem for us to get sun lounges at any of the pools and we never felt overcrowded. I also had a treatment at the Resort's Spa (massage and thai herbal facial) which as well worth it. We chose to do a few tours during our stay, but did not book any through the resort. Transfers for tours are no problem from Merlin Beach. All our tours were booked before we left Australia after looking on TA for ideas. We did two day trips with 'Simba Sea Trips' - one out to Phang Nga Bay, the second to the Phi Phi Islands. 'Simba' came highly recommended on TA and we were not disappointed. Both trips were fabulous, our son was thrilled with the experience as were we. Both were with Jenny (owner of the business) on her very comfortable speed boat, with only 14 people all together. Trips were very personal, well-organised and safe, food and drinks were plentiful and all included, as was snorkelling gear etc. If we had to decide between the two trips, we would choose Phi Phi - snorkelling was great - our son was mesmerised. We also did an overnight trip to Khao Sok National Park and Chieow Laan Lake. This was the highlight of our trip - the lake is beautiful and we chose to stay overnight there in the floating rafthouses - what an experience for us all. Waking up to the sounds of the Thai jungle and seeing the stillness of the lake at dawn is a memory we will all keep with us for a long time. We went with Limestone Lake Tours, which included transfers from the hotel for the 2.5 hour drive to the Lake, longtail boat rides and transfers, overnight accomm in Rafthouses, jungle walk, lake canoeing, all meals and fresh drinking water, and 2 hr elephant trek. Accomm. is basic (mattress on floor of a bamboo, floating hut) but that's part of the unique experience. We did the Elephant trek as an option in Khao Sok but in hindsight wouldn't again - I didn't like the experienc of seeing elephants used in this way. There are other options that can be taken instead with this tour. We also hired a private driver for a whole day to take us around the island (paid 1100 baht for 8 hours) His vehice was immaculate and air conditioned. We went to Phuket Town, the Big Buddha, all the Viewpoints, Nai Harn beach (where we stopped and had lunch at one of the many quaint beach front cafes followed by a ncouple of hours swimming at the beach), Kata (where we took our son to Dino Minigolf and looked around the town), through Karon and back to the Merlin. This was a great and relaxed way to see a good part of the rest of the island. We chose not to go to Fantasea - thought it was overpriced and there were better things to experience in Phuket.

TO SUM UP

Merlin Beach Resort is a great choice if you:
- want to be away from the 'madness' of Patong, but still accessible by Tuk Tuk
- have a family that loves pools and swimming
- like a resort that has an 'open', uncrowded atmosphere
- are not focussed on doing lots of shopping
- don't mind catching transport to restaurants and markets etc.

Merlin Beach Resort is not the best choice if you:
- want a large, swimming/sunbathing beach at your doorstep
- want a totally 'luxurious' 5 star experience
- want to be able to come and go from your hotel to restaurants and shops by foot

We loved our stay here and were very satisfied. We wanted to be accessible to Patong for shopping and eating as it was our first trip to Phuket. If we return to Phuket in future, we would like to try either Nai Harn or Kata as a base. Nai Harn, although busy, had a very appealing, quaint, village feel to it, and everything was within walking/moped distance from the hotels. Kata also had a village atmosphere to it, and again shops and restaurants outside the resort were easy to access.

Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank bellarineGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Fantastic!!!!!!! First impression was set by the staff who greet you with a smile and most importantly a cold drink even before we check in. Its very clean and well presented. The rooms are spacious the pools are well kept. We didn't have any kids with us but other guests did and the resort catered for all the kids. If possible I would recommend getting the pool room, so each morning you wake up you can step straight into the pool.

Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank McPlump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne,Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Just stayed at Merlin Beach for 2 weeks. This property is amazing.Pools everywhere! You can even swim through one of the buildings between two of the pools. It is located only 5 minutes by cab to Patong for shopping/ Jungceylon centre/Restaraunts. The service and staff are welcoming and helpful. The only hard decision was where to relax... in the quiet pool with the waterfalls, around the main pool,on the beautiful lawns or on the private beach behind the hotel. If you are really energetic you can cross the road in front of the hotel to walk 150 metres to another beautiful beach and relax in true Thai fashion.
We stayed in 2 interconnecting deluxe rooms which are on the fourth floor looking out to the Ocean over the pool (Worth the extra cost!)
Only ok bit was the food..the setting,tableware,service etc. was great but the food could be better for this glorious hotel. However on the left of the private beach up the stairs was the best Thai restaraunt called Little Tiger(Not part of the hotel). We consider ourselves foodies and ate in delicious restaraunts in Patong but this had the best Thai after Charm Thai @ Holiday Inn( yellow curry crab,home made satay prawns, green curry chicken etc. ). We only ate breakfast at the hotel (which was included in our package). The kids loved the burgers and spaghetti around the pool (and they are pretty fussy).
This beach also has massage,cheap laundry,hair braiding etc but the people do not hound you.
We would have no hesitation to go back and hope to soon. Book early ,it is very popular.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheTravellingChooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden NSW
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

THIS HOTEL HAD THE BEST STAFF WE HAVE EXPERIENCED from the front desk to the restaurant staff, to the cleaning staff.The room was immaculately clean and serviced every day.
EXCELLENT specialty restaurants including Italian, seafood, Thai.10 minutes fron Patong beach, it offered perfect relaxation,and the "get away from it all"space that we wanted, yet was a shrt free bus ride away from all the activities in Patong beach. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbugged10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

This hotel is far away from the stressfull areas in Phuket. This is in the middle of nowhere, I`d say.
But once you manage to get there, you don´t want to go elswhere, if you appreciate peace on your holidays.
Do not go there if clubbing, pubs and nightlife is what you want around the corner on your stay in Thailand.

If you are just as much frustrated as I am, watching people getting drunk all over, watching prostitutes walking on the streets, pedofilians with young boys or girls, etc, do come to this place and you don´t have to look at it every night. At least you can protect your own children from watching it somehow by staying in this quiet hotel and it´s areas in evenings.

Hotel is quite big, with reasonable sized rooms. Roomcleaning every day.
Pillows are totally too hard, like having a block of wood under your head. Take your own pillow with you, if you have problems with your neck.
Freezer in the rooms, which is good for your on water, juices, chocolates etc. to keep cold.
We had groundfloor room, so we had wonderful fiew over the pool area and the sea behind it. Be careful with the bats if walking in the dark!

We chose to have halfboard. It was nothint too impressive. On our 2nd week we went out to eat few times, even we had payed for dinners for two weeks.
Breakfast is really good. Lots of things to eat. We loved fresh fruit, croissants, omelettes.

For shoping we chose to take taxi few times a week to take us to Carrefour for snacks, bottled water, soft drinks and so on. Our children, aged 4 and 12, liked to do "their shopping" for toys, chocolates, chips etc. in Carrefour. (Money they have had for Christmas- and birthdaypresents).

Staff at the reception area gave us all information and help in everything we ever needed, with smiling faces.

Hotel has it´s own beach, but it is not very good for swimming. Full of rocks.
You can take the longtail boat, if you wish to go the sea.
Sun was shining bright every day, and that was the only thing we were really after, when planed to go Thailand. More touristic places compared this hotel, are ruined ages ago in most of the places.
Do go to the beach, even it is full of rocks. In stead of swimming, take manicures, pedicures, massages. I had some treat almost everyday - with 2-5 euros.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninav_fin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
18.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,646 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
19.6 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Property: Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road | Tri-Trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#14 Spa Hotel in Patong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, the resort boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. Our resort is the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Our resort has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing