We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #17 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2006

We booked this hotel for 6 nights for our honeymoon after staying 5 nights already at Phi Phi Island. We weren't really sure what it was going to be like because my parents were meant to stay here the year prior when it was destroyed by the tsunami but they never did.
We were so impressed upon entering!
We had one of the rooms where you can swim straight off your balcony! We booked this room straight off the net (not on a last minute deal) and saved quite a bit compared to what the travel agent was quoting us. The bed was covered in flowers, petals and in the bath. The room was a very generous size with a queen bed and all the mod cons. You could even open the shutters that were on the bathroom wall and see the pool through the room.
The pools were amazing! 3 different pools that everyone can access. Kids section was great too. Swim up bar was a lovely treat where you could play jenga and order food whilst sitting in the water. The buffet breakfasts were to die for. Many different foods for all nationalities. They were quite busy between 8-9 though.
There was a 3 person band each night in the cocktail bar which were brilliant, enjoyed with 2-4-1 cocktails.
There is also a free bus that runs from the resort into town (about 5 minutes) but it is very nice to take a break from the centre of Phuket and escape back to the resort. We only used the bus once because we hired a scooter from town for 4 days that we used to take us back and forth. It was very safe and a bargain for $16 for 4 days! (hired on beach near McDonalds). We actually used this to explore the island and came across Elephants, secluded beaches and a snake farm.
Highly recommend the Merlin Beach Resort and would definitely stay there again.
p.s My only issue the whole time was one night at 1am the fire alarm went off and we woke in a state but it was because
someone was smoking in their room.
Also, if you have a couple of days definitely check out Phi Phi Island it's a great place with the best snorkelling I have ever seen.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank mozqueeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,032 - 2,038 of 2,306 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2006

Stayed here for 10 days end July beginning of August. The hotel is everything the other reviews have said. The staff were always polite, attentive and good humoured. The rooms were clean and spacious - we had superior rooms and did not feel we needed to upgrade to deluxe. The pools were wonderful, clean and uncrowded with plenty of comfortable sun beds and shade. Whereas it is not possible to swim, in the sea, the beach provides a pleasant breeze and some interesting rock pooling and at high tide it would be possible to snorkel. The hotel restaurants were all good, although a little expensive - around 600 bahts per person including drinks and tax for two courses. It is possible to eat much more cheaply in Patong where it is easy to get a meal for 300 bahts or less. We used the Happy hour in the lobby bar (18.00 to 20.00) with a 50% discount on all drinks most evenings. This bar also has a live band every night who play requests. The hotel is situated in a quiet area a few kilometres from Patong, but the hustle and bustle of Patong was only a tuk tuk ride away. We tended to get taxis out in the evening 200 bahts and then return by tuk tuk - same price without negotiating. The first couple of nights in Patong we were constantly hassled by traders, but after a few days they seemed to recognise us and were happy to chat to us, mainly about football, and not try to sell us anything. Always barter - be prepared to pay about 10% of the asking price. Patong was lively but felt safe. There was a small police presence and we were happy to let our daughters 19 an 17 out on their own to return to the hotel by tuk tuk when ready. But word of warning, keep a tight rein on your men - the ladies of the night were bountiful and often beautiful. We only did a couple of trips, an elephant trek which was excellent and a rather touristy and tacky trip to James Bond Island which we didn't enjoy. The climate was lovely, and even though monsoon season, we only had two days of rain out of 10. The rest of the time of either sunny or slightly overcast, but warm and we all got good tans - the sun is very strong, there were several burnt people around.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank west46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2006

I booked this hotel for myself and my boyfriend having seeing it was so well recommended by people on this site. Whilst it was a nice hotel there were several problems. The main problem that no one mentioned is that you can't swim in the sea!! I'm not sure what the point of having a beach front hotel is if you can't actually have a swim (it's too rocky). That was the initial disappointment.

The staff were a little clinical at times and it did seem like a large chain hotel - for example, there were charges for everything, which they often failed to mention. On once occasion we asked if a member of the "boat bar" in the swimming pool to take a picture of us in the pool but he refused saying they were not permitted to. I guess all these little things mounted up and I came away a little disappointed. However the rooms were lovely and the pools beautiful. Maybe I was expecting too much!

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank lissag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2006

We stayed at the Merlin Beach for 5 nights in July as part of a multi-centre trip from Tradewinds. Firstly, I would highly recommend Tradewinds for this type of holiday, as we were very impressed with the price and service we received for our whole 2 week holiday.

Right from the moment we arrived we were impressed with the Merlin Beach and felt very ‘looked after’. We were immediately sat down at a table and given cool towels and a cold drink whilst we were checked in. We also received a free room upgrade to a Deluxe room, which was very nice.

As other reviews have said, the pools are outstanding and very well maintained. The swim-up pool bar is just too convenient and relaxing!!!

The whole point of this leg of our holiday was rest and relaxation – and this resort is perfect for it!! It’s away from the constant hustle and bustle of Patong, but near enough to get into town easily if required. The only evidence of 2004’s tsunami is that the stretch of beach at the back of the property is a bit ‘stony’ so not very good for swimming at all. Not their fault – the ‘stones’ are actually bits of coral reef that were broken off and have slowly been washing ashore for the past 18 months.

Don’t bother getting a massage in the hotel Spa – there are 2 huts either side of the beach, where the massages are superb and far cheaper!!! A 1-hour Thai massage lying in the shade of the hut on the beach with the sound of the waves for 300B (£4.50) – bliss! We had a massage at both huts and found the one on the left-hand side of the beach (as you look at the sea with the hotel behind you) to be marginally better.

Food and drink in the hotel is very good. There are 5 different restaurants, and all are distinctly different and not too overpriced. Service and quality of food is very good.

One thing we found in all 3 locations in Thailand we went to, is that the hotels do not include government tax and/or service charges in their advertised food and drink prices - so you can get caught out by this. 99% of the bars and non-hotel restaurants do include tax, so be sure to read the small print at the bottom of the menus if you want to watch how much you spend. Taxes add about 15-20% on top of your bill at the end of the night.

The shuttle bus (well, it’s a coach really!) is a bonus – not to worry if it’s not convenient for the times you want to get into town, as it’s not difficult or expensive to get a tuk-tuk. There’s a tuk-tuk stand outside the hotel and they are the only ones to choose from, which is why they’ll charge you 200B (£3) to get into Patong but you can get back for 150B.

Personally we didn’t like Patong much – it’s a bit ‘tacky’ and feels like you could be in any package holiday resort anywhere in the world!!! Felt to me a bit like being in Benidorm, Ibiza or any of the Costa del Sol tourist traps. Just didn’t feel ‘Thai’ – too many stalls selling rip-off sports t-shirts and sunglasses, combined with loads of theme pubs (Aussie, Irish, Rock music etc. etc.). I have nothing against these places, and quite often love to visit them – there were just too many of them and nothing 'non-touristy' to balance it up.

We also hired a motorbike for the day to get out and about a bit more, but having the freedom of not being in an organized tour group. I would recommend this only if you are an experienced rider. Most of the bikes in Thailand are small 125cc scooters and there are hundreds of them about!! But these don’t have the stabililty and power to get out of trouble and we saw many near-misses with tourists who weren’t used to riding and didn’t understand the rules (or lack of them!!) for the Thai roads. There were also a fair amount of people to be found with arms/legs in bandages as proof of this! We hired a 600cc Honda Shadow for 600B (£9) which was much more suitable, and enabled us to ride up around the east & west coasts at our own pace for the day.

Going to the Phi Phi Islands, where ‘The Beach’ was filmed, is a must – superb! Prices vary from various tour operators and one of the biggest differences for the money is the mode of transport – it takes 2 hours to get to Phi Phi by boat and only 45-50 mins by speedboat, so these trips are more expensive but worth it. Once you’re away from Phuket mainland there’s not a lot to see en-route to Phi Phi so wasting an additional 2+ hours of the day in a slower boat didn’t appeal to us. We went with Phuket Adventures and they were 1st Class – do take the opportunity to go snorkelling; the waters are very clear and the amount and variety of fish to be seen is out of this world!

July is in ‘rainy season’ but we didn’t see one drop of rain during the 5 days we were there, so I would definitely go again at this time of year when prices are cheaper and places not as crowded.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
42  Thank Mel 'Evans' Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2006

Like everyone before us we (6 adults) had a fabulous stay at the Merlin Beach Resort. Very friendly staff - couldn't do enough for us.

Breakfasts were fabulous - I'm sure I've gained many pounds thanks to these breakfasts.

The Thai Restaurant and Cafe Bar great. Pool Bar great and we found the service excellent. Swim up cocktail bar has great drinks - one called "sex on the beach" gave my friends back home a scare but good for a laugh.

We used the shuttle to Patong quite a lot and got a tuk tuk back after we had dined. Found this worked very well.

All in all a great place to stay.

Isobel (Perth)

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank Isio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2006

I stayed at the MERLIN BEACH RESORT at the end of June/begining of July 2006 for 11nights. After 3 nights in Bangkok I was looking forward to some relaxation, this resort didn't disappoint. This was 1 of the nicest hotels I have stayed in, everything was great! On our 1st night was decided to stay at the hotel and eat, it cost us about £17 for 2 of us which we didn't think was that bad, that was until we went into Patong. There, we were having a meal for 2 plus beers for about £3.50 (Restaurant 4 and Restaurant 6) or we'd go to the Savoey Fish Restaraunt and have a starters, lobster or red snapper, rice and drinks for about £15.

As most of the other reviews state, the buses run at unsuitable times but I think that was to encourage people to eat at the hotel. We actually found it cheaper to get a Tuk Tuk into Patong (200 Baht-no bartering) and a Tuk Tuk back (150 Baht-they'll say 200 but just say no).

The breakfast here was the perfect start to the day, there was something for everyone. They start serving at around 6am and don't finish until 10.30am so it gives plenty of time. We found that we wouldn't want anything to eat at lunchtime as the breakfast was so filling.

As for trips, we went to the Phi Phi Islands and elephant treking and loved both. Already looking forward to going back next year as there is still things we want to see and do.

The only dowside to the hotel is that its a little out of the way although this can also be a good thing. We never had any trouble getting back, even at 3am! We went into Patong every night as we found the hotel a little expensive, a beer here would cost 150 Baht plus VAT and service charge, in Patong, the prices ranged from 40 Baht-100 Baht. You can get hassled a little in Patong for suits, bags, shoes, watches etc, just be firm or, when asked if we wanted a suit just say you are going home the next day, they can't get the suits made up in time!

I can't speak highly enough about Thailand and am looking forward to returning next year. I loved the island, the food, the weather but most of all the people!

If I can be of anymore help to anyone, please feel free to email me and I will do my best! Xnuttercupx24187@aol.com

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank NUTTERCUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Australia
116
Reviewed 15 July 2006

We stayed at this resort for our honeymoon and it was by far the best place we stayed in all of Thailand. The service is great, given secluded room in far southwest of the resort overlooking the private beach and massage huts. The breakfasts cannot be faulted, always heaps there. Day trips were expensive through the travel desk at the resort, could probably get it cheaper in Patong Beach. We found that the more you tell people its your honeymoon, the more free stuff you get!! Tell everyone if your on your honeymoon and they will give you free drinks and appetisers...cant complain about that. The shopping was reasonable in the main street of Patong - m ainly cheap Tshirts and the like. Day spa is very clean and thorough. Pretty much on par with the other places for massages, although you do get a bit more privacy and elegance when you use the resort day spas. Overall, we really enjoyed the relaxation and seclusion of the joint from the main drag.

Stayed: February 2006
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,254 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
3.5 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Address: 99 Muen-Ngern Road | Tri-Trang Beach, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#12 Spa Hotel in Patong
#13 Family Hotel in Patong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £92 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, our resort in Phuket, Thailand boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. We are the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. The resort's own house reef offers guests colorful underwater adventures (snorkeling and diving) without ever leaving the property. It is also home to Phuket's first sanctuary for butterflies, a unique conservation project aimed at increasing the native butterfly population. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Marriott, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing