We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love the merlin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Patong Merlin Hotel
Ranked #34 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“love the merlin”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We love the Merlin and have stayed there four times out of 7 trips to Phuket. The only problem is the new wing. It is too far from everything and the new pool is too cold and lacks atmosphere. Most people go to the other pools. Also, if you make a booking, make sure you stipulate if you want a double room or a twin. They do not go out of their way to help you if your booking is wrong.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrissieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    659
    259
    82
    58
See reviews for
450
634
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
adelaideelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

8 of us have just returned from 10 days at this glorious Resort, the Staff were friendly, courteous and efficient, the rooms well equipped, clean with a balcony overlooking beautiful gardens and pool. Breakfast was varied and excellent, suiting the fussiest of eaters. Location ideal (we have stayed at 2 other locations on previous visits), but consider this the best we have been to. We would highly recommend this resort and would love to return in the future. October 2011

Room Tip: we stayed on 3rd floor of building 5, rooms 5301 and 5304 and 5305...excellent view and close to din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Stayed in a non-pool view room for 12 nights mid to late October, but we did get a pool view in the end - next door hotel's pool! For some reason our room was not serviced the first day of our stay but was serviced everyday thereafter. We were in a twin room with king singles, and as are all Phuket beds it seems, the mattresses were extemely hard.

The room contained a table and chairs, the 2 beds, tv cabinet above the fridge, desk with good sized mirror, luggage rack with draws and shoe space, and a wardrobe with shelves, hanging space, more drawers and a safe. The bathroom was functional with the shower over the bath but with a huge triple sliding screen meaning no water escaped on to the floor. There was no clothes line in the bathroom but the balcony had a moveable wooden clothes horse.

Breakfast was a good variety with 3 cereals, 3 juices, a selection of hot foods that all changed daily. The egg station is outside the coffee lounge in the outdoor eating area and we missed it the first day. The omelettes looked a little undercooked for my liking but the scrambled and poached eggs were good. There were plenty of pastries, different types of breads each day as well.

There are 5 swimming pools to choose from if you count the 2 that have a child pool as 2 separate ones. Only 1 has a swim up bar but there are plenty of staff around to order drinks and food brought to you.

This is a very large hotel, but we never had any problems finding a place at breakfast or around the pools. It is located at the end of the main Patong Beach Rd so away from the noise but easy walking distance to Bangla Road. It is also located almost opposite O-top Market making lugging all those purchases home quite easy.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mep01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed for 10 nights mid October, rooms were so-so, but the outdoor area made up for the room. Pools were lovely and so were the surrounds. Would be nice if the beds were a bit softer. If we were to go back to Phuket, we would look at staying here again.

Room Tip: Get a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level Contributor
158 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 10 days at beginning of Oct. Not sure whether I would stay again. We originally had booked Deluxe poolview rooms , but through a major stuff up from Flight Centre , we got superior poolview. So for starters weknew the rooms are not as nice. Anyway we pushed on , checkin was hassle free. First impressions of room were smelly and small. Alot like Balinese hotels. An old fashion Tv which I havnt seen in a Hotel for at least 5 years. And could only get 2 channels.
Only had breakfast at Hotel and a sanwhich one other time . Food way to expensive at Hotel. As it was school holidays , there was heaps of kids, generally running feral at breakfast.
Breakfast only OK, only had baked beans once and pancakes once while we were there.
Staff seemed friendly. We requested and got non- smoking room but that didnt stop people across from us doing, and smoke would come thru air-con. Overall rooms were cleaned well, but under the bed was never touched. I think if i had of got Deluxe pool room my experience of this hotel would have been different. This is my second time to Patong but I think if I return I will look at Ban Thai along beachfront also , but looks a lot better.

Room Tip: Definetly go for Deluxe poolview rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fanbelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We had a pool view room in the older section of the hotel but we can't complain about it. When we first got there our room was a bit smelly but we saw housekeeping and Jamnian (our housekeeper) put a cylinder in our room which absorbed moisture and gave out a nice scent. We were there at beginning of October so we experienced their wet season the reason the room smelled.

We found the staff very helpful and friendly. As the Patong Merlin is one of the bigger hotels in Patong it goes from one street to the next which is great if you want to go the beach you go out through the SeaBreeze Restaurant and from there you can walk or get a Tuk Tuk along the beach road, not that far from Bang La Road and that the far end of Bang La is Jungceylon Shopping centre also right next door to the Patong Merlin Hotel is a supermarket. If you leave the hotel via the Lobby you have HardRock cafe next door and Tuk Tuk's in front and across the road there is a 7/11, laundry at 50 BHT per Kg and a Chemist and a next to this is the start of OTOP Shopping markets which has the usually shops, food, bars and tattoo parlours. We tried the buffet dinner at the Seabreeze which is a great meal but a bit expensive (the staff kept an eye on the temperature of the hot food with food temperature gauges so no food poisoning). We tried the Sea Hag food there was great and we did receive additional dishes but again cheaper then home but expensive for Thailand, for those who are after a great feed and at a great price you can't go pass Sweet Restaurant. Cans of coke, etc 20 Bht, don't know what price the beer is (don't drink beer) cocktails 115 Bht, Thai dishes start at 65 Bht and I think the most expensive was around 110 Bht, steamed rice 20 Bht per serve which my husband and I found to be enough as we are not big eaters and if you want a Aussie meal these more expensive but we just ate Thai - fried banana 9 good size pieces 65 Bht and if you want ice cream it was an addition 20 bht, a cup of instant coffee 20 bht and a pot 35. Love Sweets' and it is Aussie owned and very clean. We even saw NRL players eating there.

Back to the hotel, the staff were helpful, the grounds and walk ways very clean and well presented. Jamnian did a fantastic job cleaning our room not complaints what so ever, maybe this could be because it was our first time their but you can't knock the location as it doesn't matter which end you leave the hotel complex you are not hassled straight away which is a real plus.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SexyJedda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Just returned from 9 nights at patong merlin, having stayed ten years ago thought we would take our two kids there. Arrived around 3 pm and was told second room not available till 6pm, not happy but they would compensate with a free dinner for two at the Terrace. Back at reception at 6pm and told not ready for another half hour, got into room around 7pm. Reception staff not at all friendly. Kids had free dinner at Terrace and were not impressed, two teens who would usually eat anything? Rooms not updated since our last visit, cant remember the last hotel with the old pre-digital television, wifi expensive and only available near reception, one beer in lobby bar costs 140 baht or 36 across road at minimarket, fair enough to make profit but that is too much. Staff never friendly, unlike the Thai people, obviously all hate their jobs and have been drummmed into them to get cash from guest is number one objective. Needed to check out late and were charged. Too many cats. Would defintely never recommend staying here, plenty of others to try.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#26 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#12 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
0.3 mi away
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Merlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Merlin Hotel

Property: Patong Merlin Hotel
Address: 44 Thaveewong Road, Patong Beach, 83150, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#20 Spa Hotel in Patong
#22 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#23 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#37 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Merlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patong Merlin Hotel is an international holiday resort in the heart of Phuket's exotic Patong Beach. Nestled amongst acres of swaying coconut palms and flowering gardens, the Merlin weaves its way around three beautiful aquamarine sculptured swimming pools in a labyrinth of curved walkways and meandering paths.There is easy access to the sparkling sandy beach and the quaint street markets.An enchanted ambiance and smiling attentive staff ensure your visit to Phuket's playground in the sun is as memorable as it is magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Patong Merlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Patong
Patong Merlin Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing