We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Patong Merlin Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,800)
Filter reviews
1,800 results
Traveller rating
622
725
292
91
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
622
725
292
91
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadsunset bara superior pool view roomnew wingbeach endthe hard rock cafeotop marketspools are greatinterconnecting roomsreception staffpool accessbuffet breakfastbangla roadegg stationgreat holidayground floorhappy hour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,267 - 1,272 of 1,800 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We have stayed here 5 times so far. Every time we book a trip to Thailand we look at other options but we come back here every time! The hotel is huge, the 3 pools are huge, there are literally hundreds of sun chairs to lay on all day and sunbake, read, eat and drink. There are poolside bars, food and drinks can be delivered to your pool chair, the atmosphere is lovely. The hotel itself is opposite the beach, massage ladies awaiting your arrival (very cheap!).

We will stay here again and again, there is a daily happy hour, 2 bars, one on each side of the hotel (beach and street side) offer happy hour daily (possibly multiple times) and the cocktails are good! The buffet breakfast is also huge and amazing, it will fill you up until dinner.

The rates are always very reasonable and competitive, the hotel is in a great spot, ask for a high room for the best view of the pool! And definitely ask for a pool view room instead of a garden view!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mrsktm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

When we set foot on the grounds of Patong Merlin we just knew that we were going to have a good stay. The staff were kind and offered us welcome drinks and cold towels when we first checked in. The hotel is extremely large taking up almost one whole block of space. This was a minor annoyance at first for I couldn't find my way through to reception. After one or two nights though, you should be able to navigate your way around the hotel grounds. The room balconies were terrific. They are large and spacious and are a great way to dry off and converse after a swim at the excellent pools. There are four large pools, each of them different temperatures and sizes, spread out all over the hotel. The hotel itself is a little over priced, but the facilities and free breakfast will shake that right off. There is a gym which has a table tennis table, treadmills and workstations. So if you're prepared to splurge a little, then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

this was our first stop before heading to Phi Phi the reception desk was not super helpful or friendly they finally got there act together and got our welcome drink and cold towels which was great. our room was AMAZING we had a pool access deluxe room it was another group of rooms slightly away from the main building. you could walk out from your room and swim straight over to the pool bar we loved it the rest of the hotel looks slightly run down and the food was fairly average i would definietly head out and eat and some of the other hotels the Holiday Inn next door looked amazing and there food was fantastic they had SAM's steakhouse finedining it was amazing and charm thai the service was amazing and all the prices were really reasonable. but as for Patong Merlin would definitley book a pool access room again.

Room Tip: Definielty get a pool access room.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamsey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We felt very spoilt staying at this hotel. The staff and facilities were excellent, whilst it was quiet and relaxing place to stay. Our room had beach views and was very comfortable.
We were in Patong beach but until you walked out of the resort you would not have known it.
So close to everything. Restaurants and shopping at your door step beach across the road what more could we ask for. Loved this hotel. Good breakfast that had variety and good service by staff. We will go back again.

Room Tip: We had a superior room over looking gardens which was lovely and as we were on 3rd floor had beach views just so nice. However our daughter had the new wing 7 and these rooms are 5 + star, just amazing.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elley-mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Hotel room had no seating except hard chairs in the room had to sit on the bed a lot. Drink prices by the time they add all there charges are far to expensive, the pools were great however the water was always a little slimy. There reastaurants in hotel are far to dear for what you get ate elsewhere while we stayed there. Overall the hotel facility was good.

Room Tip: All rooms overlooking pool would be best
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews