We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Patong Merlin Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,803)
Filter reviews
1,803 results
Traveller rating
622
727
292
92
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
622
727
292
92
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadsunset bara superior pool view roomnew wingbeach endthe hard rock cafeotop marketspools are greatinterconnecting roomsreception staffpool accessbuffet breakfastbangla roadegg stationgreat holidayground floorhappy hour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,080 - 1,085 of 1,803 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed for 9 nights from 24th feb in a deluxe pool view room in the new wing, however when we got there we upgraded to a pool access room. Hotel is in a good location and opposite the beach, rooms were good, but I would recommend staying in the new wing which had been renovated as the hotel is looking tired and old in some parts. Breakfast was adequate enough, I found the staff to be helpful. There is no free wifi at this hotel however there are a lot of restaurants that offer this, so it wasn't too much of a problem. We would stay again but only if we could get a pool access room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

As a family, we found the Patong Merlin catered to all our needs. It is close to the beach, shops, restaurants & bars & there is a free shuttle bus to their other hotel, Phuket Merlin, daily. There are 3 large always clean pools and numerous good restaurants on site. There is also a lovely spa retreat, small gym & games room. The restaurants, spa & wi fi are a little expensive but probably comparable to prices charged at other hotels. There is a big selection of food at breakfast which is usually included with the price of the room. I stayed at this hotel 21 years ago & found things a little different but I think this reflective of how Thialand has changed rather than the hotel itself. The staff was not as freindly as previously experienced & tips are almost demanded. They work long hours and appear tired. Reception can be very abrupt during their busy times.

Room Tip: choose a room with a balcony facing the pool.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This is my 4th trip to Phuket and haven't stayed here before, it was a busy week Chinese new year, wouldnt come that time of year again. However the hotel has the perfect location, fronts onto the beach side on Thanon Taweewpmg and the back side onto Thanon Ratuthit Songroipi where the major shopping centre Jungceylon', is only a 10 minute walk away. I stayed on Bangla road prevoiusly which was noisy, where as the Merlin was quite and relaxing. The hotel itself is a bit old and tired, but the swimming pools are great all 4 of them. The best pool was the one on the side where the pool access rooms are. We wanted a pool access room but they were booked out. WE over paid for the room as it was Chines new year, but when you book cheap flights you go when you can get them! Which we did. I would request a ground floor unit f i was stay here again. Breakfast was included and would have been nice to have some muesli and a few more healthier options but there was plenty of fresh fruit and an egg station with great omlettes. All in all it was good and I would stay again but would love to be in the pool access room next time.

One thing, and this is not just at the Merlin, but every Hotel I have stayed in, (thats 5 different hotels in Patong), the beds are so hard its like sleeping on a slab of wood with a matress protecter ontop of it. Whats with that! Are there any hotels in Patong with nice soft comfy beds????

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChampangneMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We found the staff very good and the service even better.Some renovations were in progress at the time of our stay, however we had no disturbance to our stay.We found it to be in close proximity to everything we required and walked daily into Jongceylon Shopping Centre. The beach is very close, just a short walk thru the hotel gardens.This was our first trip to Thailand and wont be our last.The food was average and with the menu staying constant needs to be upgraded more frequently to incorporate more European dishes to accomodate the many different palates.Some nights had a group of rowdy young partygoers in the next room, but this only lasted a few days.Overall we found this Hotel to be a good all rounder.Considering returning again this year 2014..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank orca007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This is the 18 time we have stayed at this hotel. We know the staff so good that it is almost our family. They have 3 wonderful pools, but we are mostly at the beach where we know many of the people, mr Bauve who sell bear and mineral water and the massøs Siva(madam take massasje every day) and the longtail driver mr. Dang. Of course have we been at Bangla Road where there are many fine restaurantes, sweedish and danish and some thai resturantes where we eat thaifood which is very good. We stayed there for almost one month. It is a long trip almost 12 hours from Norway but it is worth it.

Room Tip: Room which faces the pool is very good. We have stayed at the same room 3 times.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jenspk1026043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews