We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, does what you need...read on for pros and cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Patong Merlin Hotel
Ranked #32 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This was my second stay at the Patong Merlin, albeit the first was seven years ago. It's a decent hotel, does what it says on the tin and serves all basic needs. However if you are a couple and looking for something a little more intimate and relaxing I would suggest looking at some more smaller, boutique hotels.
Positives for this hotel are that it has a choice of three pools, and you never have to reserve a sunbed in the morning. The rooms are cleaned daily, staff friendly and it is only 3min stroll to the beach.
The negative is (in my view) that this is a BIG hotel and so you can find a lot of kids around the pools, lots of groups (of all ages) and so it can get a little noisy. The rooms are okay, modern, but I wouldn't class as 4 star as it is rated. For families and groups this hotel is ideal but for couples may not offer the more cosy feel if that's what you are after.

Room Tip: I chose a superior room, but if you are not on a budget you could go for a Deluxe room as you get bi...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelboy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,688)
There are newer reviews for Patong Merlin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 984 of 1,688 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

We have just got back from our 3rd visit to the patong Merlin. We went for 6 day's had a lovely time as alway's. The hotel has gone under some renovations for the better, the showers are much better rooms look a lot nicer, but still outdated furniture in the rooms. The rooms are very clean the staff do a very good job and if you need any thing you just have to ask and its done for you. The 4 pools are great as usual , we like the 3rd pool near the beach end, its got plenty of shade and tropical, plenty of sun lounges to sit at and not over crowed. On a morning you get a buffett breakfast, i must say this time around wasn't as good though, the breakfast variety only changed by 2 things, it would have been nice to see baked beans more only had them once in 6 days, the food is very dry variety, i think they need to re look at this and change it every day. The egg station is very good you can have your eggs done as you like even a omelet cooked for you. At night for dinner you have a choice of restaurants to choose from, we like the cafe Del on the beach front, we had pizza one night then tried the burgers the following night very good and not expensive. They also have a buffett restaurant near the beach end, it does different theme dishes each night, we liked the seafood & barbecue night one, the others not too impressed with, but every one to there own .The buffett dinner cost 530 th-b that is cheap, drinks not too bad they are extra. The waitresses clean the dishes off the table as soon has you have finished with your plate very efficient and always a smile on there face. There is a good pool bar serves up good food cheap too have a happy hour at the pool bar. The room service was very good, we ordered a meal didn't take too long to arrive price were good and plenty of food. We have seen other hotels in patong, but i must say for the price and to have 4 pools even though furniture out dated in the rooms still think its one of the best to stay at, if we go again will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor with a pool view same side as the reception. Our room were 1212 central to...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindarobinson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The Patong Merlin Hotel is simply superb! Situated across the road from the beautiful Patong Beach, it is close enough to the action but not so close that you can't escape. After staying there for 10 nights across March and April, here is my opinion:

The grounds/location
Patong Merlin is situated on the quieter side of Patong Beach; about a 5-10 minute walk to busy Bangla Road. We enjoyed being on the quieter end, but were never far away from all necessary amenities - shops/restaurants/bars etc.

The grounds are immaculately well-kept, with beautiful palm trees everywhere and luscious green lawns. You feel as if you are nestled in the jungle at times, instead of in the middle of one of Phuket's busiest areas.

There are 4 swimming pools in this resort, all a very decent size. My only complaint is that three of the four pools were not kept cool enough to be refreshing on a hot day. Given that March is a very hot and humid month in Patong and all pools are not shaded, this can probably be overlooked. The fourth pool (in the new wing) is very refreshing because it is in the shade. All pools and pool areas are kept immaculately clean, and even though the resort was pretty busy while we were there, we were always able to find a sun lounger.

Room
My boyfriend and I stayed in a superior room in the older wing that overlooked the pool. For the price we paid this was a very good room; spacious clean and comfortable. The shower was better than our shower at home and the king size bed was very comfortable. The balcony that overlooked the pool was the perfect spot to relax in the afternoon. Unlike other Patong resorts we have stayed in, our room didn't come with a DVD player. The room was made up every day by a very friendly lady who went out of her way to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

Service/atmosphere
Before booking this hotel I read a few reviews that complained about the attitudes of Patong Merlin staff and I hate to say it, but their comments were spot on. Aside from the friendly lady who cleaned our room, the staff at Patong Merlin are definitely not nearly as friendly as other resorts. Hardly any of them smile which is very unusual for Thailand, but they do manage an occasional greeting or thank you. Luckily, the lack of friendliness doesn't wreck your stay because the atmosphere in the resort still manages to be terrific.

The breakfast buffet was delicious every morning. The breakfast area is huge, so there's always a chance of a comfortable table. There are also plenty of staff on duty during breakfast, and although unfriendly, they do serve you well. There is great variety in the breakfast (fruit, bacon, eggs, pastries, Thai dishes, salads, French toast etc.) and everything is steaming hot or fresh.

My boyfriend and I found the quality of other meals at the resort to be mixed. While the poolside lunches are delicious, the room service meals are very average - weird considering they probably come from the same kitchen. The hotel also serves up a dinner buffet every night (extra charge) which was pretty disappointing. We wouldn't recommend it as the food was bland and we both felt a little crook the next day.

I would definitely recommend the Patong Merlin Hotel to anyone looking for a reasonably priced, comfortable, high-quality resort in Patong. Whether you're travelling as a couple, family, or group of friends, the Patong Merlin will suit your expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HayliePretorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I am traveling since 30 years in Thailand and can tell you this hotel is overprized. The pools are great but the water of our pool was constantly over 30 degrees because they do not put fresh water in the pool so if you want to cool down go to your room and have a shower. The light wires around the pools are laying on the earth instead of under the earth, this is dangerous, especially for children. I have booked a room for a guest for three days, unfortunately my guest had a heartattack one week before coming, the management was not ready to refund any money, i said why don't youngive me some vouchers for the buffet or a dvd in the room instead of a refund, this was refused by the management which was not even ready to talk to me directly but went always through the reception. Don't expect an extra mile in the service. Some of the staff are very helpfull but some other are lazy and do not even speak english. This hotel wants your cash and is not ready to give you a friendly and familiar service. As I said no extra mile.

Stayed: March 2013
2  Thank rodizio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My girlfriend and i ( 45 & 50 ) stayed here in Feb 2013 , the pools are great and the pool with the bar is away from the main pools so its good if you dont want lots of people and kids around while you are relaxing . The rooms are fine nothing to write home about but nothing to really complain about either . I think they should air the rooms out before you arrive . The main thing about this hotel is its location its great in the middle of everything so a couple of minutes walk to anything you want but once you are in the hotel it is quiet . We stayed at the Merlin Beach last year but would now pick the Patong Merlin just for pure convenience no having to barta for took tooks to get to and from your hotel i dont think we used a took took at all this time. If you are wanting a dentist the one in the hotel is great and has an excellent reputation . Also if looking for a jeweller just around the corner is P & C Jewellers , i can not recommend them highly enough bought several items off them and had things made and posted to us after we had left both rings arrived exactly when he said they would not that i had any doubt they would they were extremely nice helpful people .So dont hesitate to order something and have it sent if he doesnt have the time to make it while you are there ... Like us who went back and ordered more our last day ... Don't forget to take your old jewellery with you to have melted down .

Room Tip: Unless paying for a pool access room i wouldnt bother paying extra for the new building
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My daughter and i loved this hotel. We stayed here 9th march till 23rd March 2013. We had a delux pool view room. will be rebooking here for next year. the air con was great, we slept under the doona every night. The breakfast was fantastic, the staff were so friendly, the pool guys that bring u your cocktails and lunch are all fantastic :-) loved the pools... all four of them :-) The hotel is so close to everything, close to the otop market, 10 minute walk to Bangla road and Jungcylon shopping centre. After shopping we would go back to the hotel pool for a swim, it was so quiet and relaxing :-) highly reccommend this hotel :-)

Room Tip: we chose a delux pool view room,it was really quiet where we were. next year i will opt for a cheape...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jansywansy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The staff greeted us with a refreshing drink as we were checking in, Location is great it is just a short walk to bangla road, junceylon shopping centre & if you walk past all the pools in the hotel you will find yourself across the road from the beach! There is a convenience shop right across the road and the cafe across the road 'oasis' has great food and free wifi.
My mother and i stayed in one room and my 2 sisters in the room next to ours.
My mother and i found no fault with our hotel room, after 8 nights the hotel cleaners even realised i like sleeping with my own extra blanket so each day they would place it ontop of the bed perfectly for me.
My sister on the other hand did find blood on her pillow 1 night and blood on her blanket the next... She was not bleeding.. maybe the cleaner was... disturbing!
Breakfast was nice, there is a man who makes eggs outside tucked away behind the tables by the pool.
Nice hotel, loved the service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abenson1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.6 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#25 of 328 in Patong
1,605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#24 of 328 in Patong
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
0.1 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#7 of 328 in Patong
3,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Merlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Merlin Hotel

Address: 44 Thaveewong Road, Patong Beach, 83150, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#19 Spa Hotel in Patong
#22 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#22 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#37 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £65 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Merlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patong Merlin Hotel is an international holiday resort in the heart of Phuket's exotic Patong Beach. Nestled amongst acres of swaying coconut palms and flowering gardens, the Merlin weaves its way around three beautiful aquamarine sculptured swimming pools in a labyrinth of curved walkways and meandering paths.There is easy access to the sparkling sandy beach and the quaint street markets.An enchanted ambiance and smiling attentive staff ensure your visit to Phuket's playground in the sun is as memorable as it is magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travelbag, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Patong Merlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Patong
Patong Merlin Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing