We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs dragging into 20th century”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Patong Merlin Hotel
Ranked #33 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Staff polite, good location 5seconds from shops! Problem with aircon wouldn't go down! Said its policy that it doesn't go below 25 threatened to leave they changed us rooms same again!! Eventually said they would send someone out instead they put a second card in to keep it going! Restaurant is a gem on the front and cheap as hell! Thought it would be expensive as attached to the hotel and it wasn't it was cheaper than eating out! I recommend the taster menu u get loads!! Seconds from beach! Pool service pretty poor! Omelettes for breakfast are awesome!! The cooking class is good but not worth the money aparantly down the road is better and cheaper!!! If you want a full bottle of fresh water in the mini bar you have to actually empty the lot if its half full they will not replace it! Hair dryers an absolute joke!!! Take your own!! Great place fab location just needs up dating!! Little tip if u go to the beach front restaurant check if its happy hour at the hotel bar opposit as they do buy one get one free on drinks and the restaurant doesn't but they let you take them over!! Oh and another thing what ever you do get a late check out the room they put us in to change was a joke!! Not-even a hot water tap hair dryer was a joke I gave up! Full ov mozzys it was like a changing room from the swimming baths I was absolutely livid!!! I'd go back but probably a different hotel near by location is fab!! Ps Hard Rock Cafe is literally next door but be careful as they don't tell you there's a service charge and tax added to your bill when you pay I paid an extortionate £12.00 for a glass of wine be carefull!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank charlotte b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

814 - 820 of 1,735 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Had a great stay May 2014. Rooms quite large and comfortable King bed. Bar fridge worked well! 3 nice pools with plenty of lounges & shade if required. Staff mostly quite pleasant. Buffet breakfast same as most hotels. Good location close to beach , shopping, restaurants etc. Elvis night on Tuesdays quite entertaining! Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our group of 4 booked into this rundown resort, the rooms are well worn and shoddy.
The veranda was quite disgusting with broken concrete and grass growing out of the walls, the window frames on the outside of the building were rotten with parts missing.
A few hudred tins of paint is required as it is in real need of a makeover - Dulux would make a fortune up there!
There are 3 large swimming pools which are kept well, apart from the pool located at the sea end of the resort. This pool had debris lying on the bottom which had fallen from the surronding trees which was never cleaned during our 8 day stay
The breakfast was ok if you like fatty bacon and I suspect that some of the dishes at the buffet were leftovers from the unused previous night's meals
On our first day I ate breakfast and within a few hours I felt very ill and for the next 3 hours I vomited so much that I thought I was going to die
It was not a nice experience and from that time I was so very careful what I ate from the breakfast buffet
The maids were very pleasant but the reception staff were not over friendly.
The bell boy was more interested in a tip rather than being interested in us, he stood at the door in an intimidating manner waiting for a tip - he lucked out we do not tip for bad service !
The reception was closed due to renovations as was the some of the rooms facing the road.
All in all I would never go near this resort again as there are so many more modern hotels and resorts in Phuket
We are returning to Phuket in September this year for 16 nights we are staying at Beyond Karon for 8 nights which is where we stayed on a prior trip and it is brilliant
We have 8 nights in Patong and we have booked our hotel and it is not the Patong Merlin

Room Tip: can't help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Wilscottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visit the hotel in May 2014 and had a great stay. The location of the hotel is excellent, a 1 min walk to Patong Beach and a 5 min walk to the really busy places (food, drinks, disco,..). The rooms were clean, pretty and modern with airconditioning. Only I did not understand how to regulate the airco. The breakfest is good with Thai food and international food. Also with fresh fruit and juices.
The only negative thing I can say is that the people at the lobby speak very bad English.

Room Tip: there are rooms with a 2 person bed and rooms with one person bed. We also asked for a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hansdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

After not having any expectations for a place with such a low room rate, it defeated and went above and beyond what I might be getting for my Patong stay.

All of the staff were lovely, no matter what time of day or night. The rooms had air-con cranking during hot and humid times and facilities around the hotel were plentiful. Pools were nice, and entertainment pretty much every night made it a great time.

Rooms were very traditional and comfy. Breakfast wasn't the best buffet, but wasn't the worst either, didn't have any real issue eating there daily. Would seriously think about coming back if I were to return to Patong.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoshuaRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Visited this hotel in April 2013 with my family. Good service overall and great location. I think the hotel is a bit outdated and would need to be renovated soon. The bathrooms have cracked tiles, very old bath tubs. The pools are pretty similar.

Room service was great though.

Would probably try a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nemoguca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here as part of a couple in March 2014. Had a completely lovely stay at the hotel.
First impressions were excellent. Greeted by cool cloths and ice cold drinks which is what you need after a long flight. Staff were very friendly and informative throughout the stay.
The location is brilliant, just seconds from the beach and all the main areas you could need. The hotel also has some lovely taxi staff which are reliable and happy to take you anywhere in Phuket in the comfort of nice air conditioned cars (slightly more expensive than getting a tuk tuk but much more comfortable in the heat!) still very competitively priced.
The food that we had was lovely, only slightly more expensive than restaurants or alternative places to eat.
The breakfast was good. Quite varied, lots of lovely fresh fruit and pastries plus freshly done eggs and omelettes.
The rooms are very big and modern, lovely comfortable bed. Very very clean.
Nearby would definitely recommend tiger kingdom and obviously going to the PhiPhi Islands and a MUST is John Grays Sea Canoeing: amazing!!!
Thank you for a great stay Patong Merlin :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barbie-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.6 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#26 of 331 in Patong
1,653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#16 of 331 in Patong
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Patong Beach
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
0.1 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#6 of 331 in Patong
3,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Merlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Merlin Hotel

Address: 44 Thaveewong Road, Patong Beach, 83150, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#20 Spa Hotel in Patong
#22 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#24 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#31 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £64 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Merlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patong Merlin Hotel is an international holiday resort in the heart of Phuket's exotic Patong Beach. Nestled amongst acres of swaying coconut palms and flowering gardens, the Merlin weaves its way around three beautiful aquamarine sculptured swimming pools in a labyrinth of curved walkways and meandering paths.There is easy access to the sparkling sandy beach and the quaint street markets.An enchanted ambiance and smiling attentive staff ensure your visit to Phuket's playground in the sun is as memorable as it is magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Patong Merlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Patong
Patong Merlin Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing