We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Patong Merlin Hotel
Ranked #33 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Location is just next to Hard Rock Hotel. Opposite is the OTOP shopping area. 15 minutes walking distance from Jungceylon. Beach is 500 meters away.

Room and breakfast is good ! Currently undergoing renovation so should be better rooms later.

3 huge swimming pools - awesome !! Especially now as the heat is just so hot !

Staff were very helpful and attentive.

Highly recommended !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rachel_ose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

808 - 814 of 1,736 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

First tip: DO NOT BOOK DAY TRIPS VIA THE HOTEL! That was our first mistake in a foreign country, and we were significantly over charged. Go to the dry cleaner down the road, and speak with "USA", she organised every amazing experience for us, at very affordable prices!

Also, don't use the phone at the hotel, the on-site internet cafe or the WiFi. Walk up the road to the internet cafe, it's much cheaper.

The hotel itself was quite nice. I agree with some of the other reviews that it is a bit dated and could do with some work in the rooms. We had a lovely view from above, looking straight over the pool and immaculately maintained gardens.

The food was amazing. I cannot fault the quality or presentation of the food at all. There is a wide array of variety to choose from.

The location of this hotel, I found to be quite good. Great for shopping. If you want to be in the party district of close to Bangla Road, this isn't that close but I think that it was close enough. Depends what you're going to Thailand for in the first place.... And what you want to be near.

The staff at the hotel, I found to be absolutely lovely and genuine. I didn't experience problems with English barriers - while I can appreciate that staff should understand English to a degree, let's not forget that we visit their country and can't speak Thai (well, I can't... Although the locals did teach me quite a bit!).

Thai people are among the most kindest, humble people in the world. I found the hotel staff to be just that. They worked very hard to make guests feel comfortable.

There are multiple swimming pools at the hotel and staff regularly walk around and offer menus to order pool side meals and cocktails etc. There is an on site restaurant and a few bars. The decor is really pleasant. We ate at the restaurant for dinner only once, with so much variety around to choose from, we couldn't resist wandering around!

All in all, we had a very positive experience at this hotel. The rooms were quite good, the food was amazing and the staff were lovely.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
6  Thank Talia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing time here very good rooms. Beautiful pool and nice food for breakfast! Staff were very helpful although some lack of English. Taxi service provided was great thanks Mr Joe! Great location on patong beach close to all the nightlife.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

When sitting at the travel agency in January we were looking for a nice resort that was 4 stars and looked quite special. The photos said it all. The rooms looked amazing from the brochure and the Internet site, and what appealed was that the standard rooms looked to be really nice.

Upon arrival (what had travelled in after a couple of days in Bangkok) it was early evening, dark and humid, I initially thought that we had been sent to the wrong hotel as I expected to see the reception view from the photos. Unfortunately, reception was a building site and had been relocated to a function room at the other end of the hotel which is not air conditioned and was relatively cluttered with makeshift office desks for reception and huddles of furniture clearly removed from the former reception. We were not warned of this prior to arrival or when booking.

The welcome was somewhat bland to say the least, and compared to Bangkok, I would have expected a friendly greeting from the lady on reception. We did appreciate the cold flannel and fruit drink though, and this we thank the resort for providing.

As we are a male couple I was particularly perturbed to be immediately informed that we if we wished to have a "joiner" to our room we would have to pay a fee. In fact, we had to sign a document agreeing to these terms. It seems this particular employee thinks that as we are both male (even though we had requested and paid for a double room) we were coming to Thailand to experience a certain type of industry. We were not. I wholly appreciate that hotels have to have a policy for "joiners", however I do believe that they should be a little more discreet about how they inform and enforce it.

**** The Room ****

We were allocated a twin room (with a single and a double bed), not the king we were expecting, but didn't realise this until the bellboy had shown us to our room. At this point we were just tired, hungry and a bit downtrodden to even think about going back to reception. Our room was clean and in good repair, but nothing like the photos we had seen on the resorts website for a standard room. Maybe I was being a bit naive to think that there would be flowers and folded towel swans as shown?

The air conditioning in the room wasn't too bad, although a little loud compared to other rooms and resorts we have stayed in around the world.

The maid service could not be faulted, and it appeared that they changed the bedding nearly every day. Our requests for extra towels were immediately fulfilled and our fridge was always stocked up with complimentary water. If you are over six feet tall, you may find the shower a little low, but it was always hot and powerful. I did also like the way that the tablets for the mosquito machine were replaced daily too.

Our final thoughts were that the room was clean and an acceptable standard, and the bed was comfortable, albeit only a double as opposed to the king we had been sold and were expecting.

**** The Resort Itself ****

The actual resort is quite pretty with lots of palm trees and very well kept grounds with flower pots on all of the balconies and lots of tropical plants lining the pathways. All, in all though, the resort does look tired. There are a number of pools, and although the water was always clean and appeared to have the right amount of treatment, the grouting was missing and if it wasn't it certainly needed a very good clean as most of it was black. At night quite a few of the pool lighting didn't work which was a shame because it could have looked great considering pool access was allowed until 2200hrs.

The hotel operates a waiter service to all pools and there is a pool menu serving a wide range of food and drinks/alcohol/cocktails. The pool waiting staffs were brilliant, very attentive and the food was very good. Prices were good too and the staffs were always keen to ensure that you were happy.

Pool towels were issued from a little hut between two of the pool areas, and I must admit I thought this was a good idea. The towels though were a little too well used and could have been better quality, but the staff were generally friendly (I have read some reviews saying they were rude - they were never rude).

Evening entertainment was.... Interesting to say the least. The live singers had a relatively limited repertoire, but seemed to enjoy themselves and did their best to keep the guests happy.

**** Food / Drink *****

The resort has a couple of restaurants - we ate at the Buffet on our first night, which was acceptable and well priced. The food was always hot and well replenished. We also ate at Cafe Del Mar at the beachfront end of the hotel. The menu was a mix of international/Asian dishes and we really enjoyed the food and deserts there. Service was very attentive and the staffs were very friendly.

Also of note was the cocktail bar next to Cafe Del Mar, the staff there were great, they had a wide range of drinks to choose from and were more than willing to mix drinks to taste or that were not on the menu. Their method of billing was somewhat strange though; a tab is immediately opened and you just ask for the bill at the end of your time at the bar. The problem was that the bar staff were clearly not allowed to complete the sale either by cash or adding to the room account and another member of staff had to be present to complete this (we did have to wait for this staff member to arrive on a couple of occasions) which we thought was long winded.

Breakfast was very good and catered for all nationalities. Service was buffet style, but coffee and tea was served to the table and this service was very attentive. Eggs were prepared outside of the restaurant, which was a pain that you had to get your eggs outside in the hot and carry your plate back inside to your table. The A/C was up and down, and sometimes when it was busy it could get quite warm and muggy inside, but overall, not bad at all.

**** Hotel Amenities ****

The hotel does offer Wi-Fi throughout the resort. It is only free however in the makeshift hotel lobby, which resulted in the lobby being busy, all day with people sat using the Internet (not that we have an issue with that). The price for using Wi-Fi around the resort was expensive and we quickly learnt that it was cheaper to buy a local SIM card for our iPad to access the net. Considering our hotel in Bangkok was of the same class and cheaper room rate, they offered free Wi-Fi throughout.

The 'Taxi' service that the hotel offers is in fact a Private Hire solution, and we thought that the price was reasonable when we requested a journey to Central Mall in Phuket (I asked a local tour operator afterwards if the price we paid; 500 Baht single was standard - it is).

We did not use the room service on offer, but I understand that the same staff that offer pool service run the room service, so I presume that it would have been good as the menu was pretty much the same.

**** To Conclude *****

We quickly learnt that the hotel and indeed the resort of Patong very much caters for the Australian market, and it was fun at times trying to explain to the locals that we were actually British. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the resort, and we are seasoned worldwide travellers, but I would advise any British visitors travelling to Patong or this resort that the Australian culture, sense of humour and demeanour is a little different to ours and I can imagine that it may not be to everyone’s taste.

What makes this hotel is the grounds, number of pools and its location. The pool waiting staffs were brilliant and are a credit to the Patong Merlin. However, the reception staffs clearly need more training with customer service and more importantly interpersonal skills. First impressions are the ones that last, and our first impression of the reception staff was very disappointing, and by reading other reviews on Trip Advisor it appears that we are not alone with our thoughts.

Be aware that the rooms may not appear as they are sold on the website and the brochures, but they are however very clean, and in a reasonable condition.

I'm sure that when complete in July, the new lobby area will be very good. There should have been more thought made to the temporary lobby. More A/C would have been very nice and I do not expect to see a back-office operating directly behind the reception desks.

On a good note, departing guests do have access to a shower area if they have to vacate their room before their trip to the airport. We welcomed this, but there was no A/C or ventilation in the room making a shower almost pointless in the humidity.

Wi-Fi, I believe should be free across the resort and this seems to be standard with other resorts in and around Thailand and this would then mean that the lobby isn't full of half dressed hotel occupants wanting to use the net.

Overall, the resort looks tired and could do with updating. The corridors leading to the rooms remind me of old tower blocks in the UK and are not very well lit. Lighting in the rooms was also quite dim. Don't believe the television channel menu either; half of the channels didn't work (and we left Thailand the day before the TV was cut off by the Army).

I do hope this review does not put people off visiting the resort, but I believe they should be made aware of its need for improvement. I find some reviewers on Trip Advisor tend to just moan and whine and not provide areas for improvement or praise where due - if you read other reviews, you will see that we are clearly not alone with the points that we have raised.

Room Tip: Rooms with direct pool access come with free Wi-Fi, pool towels in the room and are larger - we lear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

we arrived late in the evening the staff were unfriendly and were not aware we were coming despite sending a bus to collect us from the airport. we were a group of ten had booked 3 triple rooms and a double,we were split up with one room on ground and 3 rooms on top floor despite requesting all rooms to be adjacent,pictures of hotel on website bear little resemblance to actual hotel.breakfast was good and grounds well kept however the staff were at times rude and unhelpful the lack of English is appalling in a hotel of this type.we found the whole experience very traumatic when checking out lunchtime and paying the bill only to be told at ten pm (our flight was midnight) we had to pay the bill as the day shift had said nothing about us already paying,again lack of understanding of the English language and no communication.All in all a very poor experience of Thailand,one that will not be repeated!!!

Room Tip: Find a better Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaolak_Merlin, Resident Manager at Patong Merlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and I am
sorry to read that your experience with us has been disappointing
on the rooms assignment in which one room was split up from the
other 3.
Your further comment with regards to the check out at
lunchtime and had been told to do it at ten p.m. , just because
of all the 4 rooms have been occupying by your group members
and won’t be vacant until the group members were collected to the airport at ten p.m.
It is not because of no communication on the shift changed.

Regards,

Prayoon Tosarapee
Resident Manager
Patong Merlin Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We chose this hotel based on the previous reviews and it did not disappoint us! We were very touched when we found the front desk staff had prepared the breakfast boxes for us to takeaway upon check-out as we were catching 7am morning flight. What a thoughtful touch :)

Excellent location:
Patong beach, markets, restaurants & bars, Jungceylon (biggest shopping mall & supermarket) are all in walking distance.
Conveniences stores(family mart) and numerous of money exchange shops are just right outside.
Lovely rooms:
Shower gel & shampoo are provided, but not the toothbrush & toothpaste set
the aircon was indeed an issue when it got too cold in the room, but this could be easily solved by leaving the balcony door partly open for a while.

Fantastic pools and chilling areas & breakfast buffet which we all love!

5 stars service - The massage & facial package is absolutely enjoyable & professional, the package prices are fair and the staffs in the spa center all delivered an excellent job!!! It was exactly what we are looking for-it was very relaxing & refreshing.
(just be sure to call and check the availability in advance ;) as there are only 2 in house masseuses and the spa is closing at 9pm, which means their last appointments would be around 6pm, depends on the duration of treatment)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heily327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We love this hotel ok there is ones a lot better but there is something about the grounds, pools and location that drags us back and be honest how much time do you spend in your room anyway when you are on holidays its really just to dump the shopping and sleep. Was a bit disappointed that the whole lobby was closed off was told by travel agent that it was only minor renovations but the whole area right thru to restaurant was closed off including all the rooms above the lobby thats one whole section i guess they have to do upgrades and can only do it section by section so to all those people that keep saying it needs an upgrade they ware obviously doing it. Had a bit of a hiccup at the start about the rooms that were allocated to us but within 30 minutes all sorted got rooms 5103 and 5102 as we had our 22 years old son with us this time around they are ground floor block 5 facing the main pool great view breakfast was good as per normal, egg station still amazing gardens still maintained beautifully all in all still love this place but are looking forward to seeing completed changes in October when we return

Room Tip: we love ground floor but each to their own
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.6 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#25 of 331 in Patong
1,653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#15 of 331 in Patong
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Patong Beach
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
0.1 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#6 of 331 in Patong
3,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Merlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Merlin Hotel

Address: 44 Thaveewong Road, Patong Beach, 83150, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#20 Spa Hotel in Patong
#22 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#24 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#31 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £64 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Merlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patong Merlin Hotel is an international holiday resort in the heart of Phuket's exotic Patong Beach. Nestled amongst acres of swaying coconut palms and flowering gardens, the Merlin weaves its way around three beautiful aquamarine sculptured swimming pools in a labyrinth of curved walkways and meandering paths.There is easy access to the sparkling sandy beach and the quaint street markets.An enchanted ambiance and smiling attentive staff ensure your visit to Phuket's playground in the sun is as memorable as it is magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Sawasdee, TravelUp, Travelbag, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Patong Merlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Patong
Patong Merlin Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing