We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware "Review Stuffing"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Seaview Patong Hotel
Ranked #8 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

If you have to stay in Patong, this might be one of the better hotels, but that’s setting the bar pretty low. One reviewer said only the pool and breakfast were nice. We agreed only with the pool. For western tourists, beware that this is hotel is big among the Russian and young male set, which means lots of noise from rooms with zero noise insulation (even mgmt. said we should call them because of the noise). Also, pay close attention to the reviews (from reviewers who have done more than 1-2 reviews in total) that are for 2-3 stars. We found them credible after our experience.

Location: You stay in Patong to party, and I mean party! The Russians are here to party (we met several nice ones who wondered why we were here) as are lots and lots of young men. If you’re OK with pictures of naked women in sex poses being thrust into your face (OK, I don’t mind that so much) and that of your children (yeah, I mind a lot!), then this is the town for you. And if you are going to stay in Patong, this hotel was in the better location for some quiet. It’s at one end of the bay, and therefore a good mile walk to the center of the party action (which starts a couple hundred meters walk from the hotel). There are plenty of hotels in the center of the party. This one is among the furthest away.

Hotel: OK, most of the rooms are not sea-view in that the hotel blocks its own view from the lower floors. Some upper floors do have a view. There is no free wifi, the first in our entire trip (this was our last hotel). Front desk staff often did not speak English. The restaurant food (not breakfast) was very hit-or-miss, mostly miss, and expensive for what you got. The pool areas (two) are beautiful. The TV / relaxation room had broken AC so couldn’t be used some days. Breakfast was OK if you had nothing to compare, but was the lesser of our different hotels in Thailand. There is plenty to eat, and the obligatory omelet station, so you won’t go hungry. But it’s just not what Thai’s serve elsewhere. Also, the coffee is the worst! You have to order espressos.

Room: These were the worst of our trip, including in India. The beds were board hard. I don’t mean European hard (which we’re used to); I mean the floor started looking inviting. Can’t say why, but the pillows were lousy too. The construction of the rooms themselves was highly suspect. Doors literally had crooked crossbars, as tho made by amateur carpenters. Our sink faucet was virtually unusable bec the spout had been positioned wrong (see pics). The shower was below basic, and had some grime on the wall-attached soap and shampoo dispensers (usually the hallmark of a cheaper hotel). There was zero noise filtering. We were routinely awoken by returning partiers simply talking loudly inside(!) their rooms, and not just the room next door, but down the walkway too.

Service: Checkout was awesome. Um, nothing else was. Check-in took forever, and we had to wait a couple hours for our rooms. Front desk service, apart from one particular gentleman, ranged from spotty/indifferent at best to zero comprehension at worst (and many did not speak English). Cleaning staff also had no English, so we couldn’t communicate even the most basic of needs (like soap). That had to be done with the front desk. Finally, restaurant service and pool service were over-the-top bad. As in set my normally very calm wife off. There was one restaurant server she absolutely refused to speak to by day three. And apparently mgmt. knows it too, because one kept circulating to check on tables and calm ruffled guests.

As someone who literally grew up in this industry (read my profile), I think it safe to say we would not stay here again. Nor could we recommend it for families. Were I 25, post-college, and with a job, this might be an awesome place to stay with my crew. Suffice to say I’ve (re)learned the dangers of “review stuffing” by hotels, and will pay closer attention to those written by guests who have reviewed multiple other hotels and have real comparisons to inform their opinions.

Room Tip: Either get one on the top floors for a view, or opening right onto the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueWindez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

988 - 994 of 1,819 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband and I spent a fabulous week at Seaview hotel celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. Our first and best impression was the friendly, respectful, attentive yet professional staff. The second biggest attraction was its location. It is on the quiet side of the beachfront suitable for relaxation or honeymoon. Yet it is in walking distance from a large food street market, flea markets, restaurants, bars, Bangla Road and other services. It is a stone's throw away from the beach. The room we had was on the 2nd floor and had a beautiful view of the sea and pool which was awesome. I would have preferred a larger room though, instead of the Superior room the Deluxe room. Every day the manager enquired whether we were satisfied with services. I would definitely go back and recommend others to visit Seaview Hotel.

Room Tip: Would choose a Deluxe room rather than Superior Room. I found the superior room a bit too small, pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GailSep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We were on a complimentary, two day visit of sister hotels offered by the "By The Sea" hotel in Cape Panwa, while saying at the "Seaview" Patong. The Seaview hotel was great, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the room was lovely. It's location on the south part of the seafront, offers a great base to explore Patong and is far enough away (walking distance) to provide a peaceful sanctuary from the chaos of the main town. A free evening meal was included as part of the sister hotel visit, which was a beautifully presented buffet selection of culinary delights. We asked at reception if we could spend the next night at their other hotel, the "Andaman Seaview" 20 minutes drive down the coast in Karon, hoping to also experience that part of Phuket. This was not a problem, free transfer was arranged for us and we were driven there the following day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PootleTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Im solo traveler from japan.every 3months im always going back to thailand.
3 to 4 days only.seaview hotel is my first choice.the place is really good,i feel
Im at paradise.the attendant and staff are very friendly,and im very thank full to
Supervisor Ms.Florida thank you for good accomodating and very good service.
Patong seaview hotel is very very nice place to stay.keep up the good work..

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kawauchi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We rather enjoyed this our last stop in our whistle-stop tour of Thailand. Surprised by the business of Phuket, we loved where we stayed where we could "hide" in peace by the pool or on our poolside balcony or step outside the hotel and be immediately among the local life on the beach and in the markets. There was also a huge shopping mall locally and lots of Lady Boys inbetween which our teens found hilarious! Clare and the boys loved the experience of the spa where they all had a back massage prior to getting back on the place again. The Thai food on offer in the hotel is an experience none of us will forget in a hurry- we loved it!

Again we were beautifully looked after - if only life could be always full of such pampering!

Just seen some reviews that the hotel needs refurbishment; not something we noticed but maybe our room had already been refitted.....

Room Tip: Most rooms look out to sea - being on the ground floor is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PTJC1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were a family of four on vacation. We checked in on 3-Jan-14 and checked out on 6-Jan-14. Our room was rated as "Superior". Though our overall stay was pleasant one I still feel I should share some of our experiences at the hotel in order for it to sustain its goodwill as a good one. So here I go -

1. The hotel is located in a good area was suitable for us. The hotel itself with its beautiful swimming pools and the Andaman sea in front was very picturesque. It was away from the hustle and bustle but enough shops were available within walking distance. The breakfast was of good quality and full of options. The staff were also very courteous.

2. However, the hotel's fittings were quite old. On the first night, we had to change our room as the shower was not working properly. The hotel staff took a lot of time to identify the problem and although they were unable to fix the shower, we had to request them repeatedly to provide us another room.

3. On the second day we found that the elevator button for 2nd floor was broken, so we had to use the stairs instead of the elevator during our stay there. This hotel is overall a good hotel and the only let down is its fittings. I think some immediate refurbishment is necessary.

I hope the management will look into these minor issues which at times create a great deal of dissatisfaction in customers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NigelRandolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Great Location. Bang Opposite Patong Beach. Enjoyed the stay here. Food is also good and a pretty descent variety available for Vegetarians. Very near to Bangla Market which is the famous market here.
Pretty warm Customer service. Rooms are descent. Mostly occupied by foreigners.

Room Tip: Please make sure you get a room facing the Beach along with a Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nirav p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
1.5 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 331 in Patong
766 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#10 of 331 in Patong
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bliss South Beach Paton
1.5 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#29 of 331 in Patong
769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Patong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Patong Hotel

Address: 2, Thawewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Patong
#6 Family Hotel in Patong
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#8 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £47 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seaview Patong Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Seaview Patong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Patong
Patong Seaview Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing