We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #6 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I couldn't have enjoyed our stay more at Avista Hideaway. The location, the facilities, the food, the staff were all great and the best thing was the private dinner they organised for us for our anniversary (Shout out to Robert and Chef Tim).
There are plenty of shuttle van times to Patong (but make sure you book the day before) and the shuttle to Paradise Beach is worth doing as well.
Couldn't recommend highly enough for a romantic, relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeTWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear MikeTWeb,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, Patong.

We are delighted you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and we managed to make your anniversary a memorable occasion.

Chef Tim and Robert both thank you for the recognition and pass on their regards.

It is always a pleasure to know our guests enjoyed their stay. We have shared your comments with all the team and hope to see you back again in the near future, hopefully to celebrate the next anniversary.

Kind Regards

Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,985)
There are newer reviews for Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,468 - 1,474 of 1,985 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel is very new and beautiful. Staff are helpful but at times struggle with delivering five star service levels. The transport to and from the resort to Patong/airport etc must be resolved for Avista to be considered a serious five star contender too. As others have stated on here, they dont let the reasonable metered taxis up to the resort, some sort of taxi mafia exists that charge very expensive prices. The Spa is more expensive than home (and I live in Australia!) The transport shuttle they provide is not regular enough and only houses 14 passengers per trip. No power point for a hairdryer in bathroom ??????? Couldnt work that one out! Highlight was the morning breakfast. Chef Tim regularly moving among guests to get feedback and the young waiter Louis, he offered five star amazing service. Remembered our preferred table, how we liked our coffee etc. He was a gem. And also the wardrobes dont have full length hanging space, so ladies don't bring dresses cause there is nowhere to hang them! Good resort that isnt really five star though.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Frommyisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Frommyisland,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, Patong.

Many thanks for your recent feedback and we are glad you thought the Resort was beautiful.

Chef Tim and Louis also thank you for the recognition.

We do apologise for the issues with the Shuttle bus, we do try to operate the service every hour and realise that during peak times the buses can get filled very quickly. If this does happen then we do offer alternative transport. We have also now purchased 2 large coaches to run the shuttle service which should be fully operational by October 2013. This will ensure all guests have easy access to the shuttle.

We have also now changed the power points in the bathrooms to allow the dryers to work.

The Taxi services are operated all over the Island and have a very strong union which has set the prices for local travel. From the Resort to Patong or Patong to the Resort the fare should be no more that 250 - 300 baht.

With regards to the Spa I am sorry you felt it was too expensive, we have priced ourselves at the same rate as most other Spas here in Phuket which offer the same treatments. We also have a range of special promotions and vouchers which entitle guests to up to 50% off. We will certainly look into doing more promotions.

We thank you for your feedback and have shared your comments with the entire team.

We do hope to see you back again.

Regards

Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Avista made my honeymoon the most romantic and peaceful trip of my life. Everything about this resort was great. The ambiance, service, staff, rooms, food..everything was just amazing! Me and my hubby enjoyed our stay at avista to the fullest. Avista was indeed the best resorts everrrrr! and I mean it! And I would really like to visit it again someday!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sameea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Sameea F,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

WOW, what can we say? We are honoured that we made such a positive impact on you especially on such an important occasion as your honeymoon. We do try to look after all our guests as much as possible and it constantly motivates us to provide the best service we can when we receive such positive comments.

We have several newly weds visiting our Resort and we do feel its a perfect place to relax and be pampered.

We are glad you both had a wonderful time and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Congratulations once again.

Warm Regards

Avista Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

After staying in a Swiss property on Karon beach, the wife and I truly enjoyed our three nights with the Avista Hideaway wishing we would have originally done without the first three nights at the Swiss property to the south. The Avista Hideaway exceeded our expectations in every way. We had booked the Buena Vista room, and it was the nicest room we've ever stayed in for the money.

We both really liked the breakfast service, but suggest others to go early as it does get crowded after 9:30am. As stated in many other reviews, the coffee service can be slow. We had talked with Chef Tim and found out the they brew each cup of coffee individually, so no wonder it's really great. Y'all have been informed. You may order iced lattes, if that's your thing. They serve eggs to order, bacon and sausages, European salamis and cheeses, breads and pastries, fruit, and juices. They offer a truly great selection to start the day.

They offered some great dining options with reasonable prices. The BBQ dinner was another great choice accompanied with a lively Aussie DJ.

Since the property is located on the side of the mountain with steep walkways, they offer golf cart service to various locations. The pool was nice with some great views. They offer towel service, but chairs can be limited.

I don't quite agree with TripAdvisor's listing this as a beach location, because that's stretching the truth. It's on a hillside and away from Patong beach. It would be one hell of a walk to and from the beach and should not be considered an option. But don't fret because Avista Hideaway offers FREE shuttle service to and from the resort to either Paradise beach or Jungceylon mall. They do ask guests to reserve as there are only fourteen seats per trip with trips a several hours apart. I suggest that you be flexible, if you can't get the times you want. You can always get a taxi from the taxi mafia (that should be a whole other discussion) for approximately $10.

I'll verify what other reviewers are stating, "The blow dryers suck". Avista Hideaway, replace your blow dryers. Another thing, the blow dryers don't work in the bathrooms. Go figure that one out.

Overall, Avista Hideaway gets it. They understand what guests want. Thanks for the free internet and the shuttle service. It's the small details that really make the difference.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank csjedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear csjedi,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

Many thanks for your recent feedback and leaving such positive comments, it is so nice to know how we compare to other properties and that we managed to impress you.

We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast, we do try to offer the highest quality items as well as a wide range of selection to cater for all tastes. The coffee has been specially selected and is brewed freshly for each guest as most people now expect a high quality coffee in the morning. As you rightly pointed out Breakfast is very busy normally between 9:30 and 10:30 but before this time is perfect to have the restaurant to yourself. We are also glad you enjoyed the BBQ dinner and Trevor our Resident DJ, he certainly is a character!

We do realise we are located on the mountain and not directly on the beach but we are within 2 minutes from 4 fantastic beaches. We offer a free shuttle to both Paradise Beach and Patong beach and then we have Tri Trang and Freedom beach also within 2 minutes from the Resort.

We are improving the shuttle service as we have purchased 2 new coaches to cope with the high demand and hope this will no longer be an issue.

We are also addressing the hair dryers based on previous guest feedback as well as yours.

We would like to thank you again for leaving such a positive review and we have passed all your comments on to the team.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Warm Regards

Avista Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Just had 6 nights at Avista. Wonderful hotel. Lovely pools and surroundings. Great views. Food was great and the cocktails at happy hour by the pool where a hit. The service was great. My husband was sick before we arrived at avista and the resort doctor was wonderful and very caring. The doctor and hotel arranged everything to make him feel better. The only thing we would have preferred is extra shuttle buses to make it easier to get to patong shopping center as it is to far to walk. It was great value and would be happy to stay here again. Very peaceful and quite resort.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hughesMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear hughesMelbourne,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your recent feedback and leaving such positive comments, it is always nice to know we have managed to look after our guests well especially if they are feeling unwell. We are glad Dr. Alvin looked after you well.

We do realise the shuttle bus can get very busy and have purchased 2 new coaches to deal with this issue. We hope that by the end of this month the new vehicles will be fully operational and the shuttle service will no longer be an issue at peak times.

We have passed on all your comments and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm Regards

Avista Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We came here as the last stop on our honeymoon to splurge on a bit of luxury - and it was worth every cent!!! We were greeted by a very friendly, professional staff who took us to our upgraded room (we got a complimentary upgrade to a duplex jacuzzi suite instead of our original jacuzzi suite due to our honeymoon - which was great to have some privacy in the sun!) - a happy honeymoon cake, bottle of champagne and basket of fruit were waiting, plus roses and bubble bath in the jacuzzi tub!!! So sweet! The room was fantastic - nothing to complain about! It's tasteful, practical and beautiful - has that botique feel without any pretense or feeling of being stuck up. Would definitely recommend the duplex as we enjoyed topless tanning in our own private terrace with a view of the ocean (room 505!). Food was a bit expensive for thai standards, but delicious (recommend the veggie calzone!). The breakfast was a dream - fresh cooking stations, pastries of every kind, yum yum!!

Everything was very very very clean - and they offer lots of "activities" for those not wanting the hussle and bussle of the extremely busy Patong beach area (swimming pools, darts, billard table, table tennis, library with books to check out, etc). I'm not sure if I'd have paid full price for the room (we got it 50% off due to the season), but for that price - it was a steal! The only potential negative is that it's really a "hideaway" as the name promises - so ideal for those wanting to get away from it all, but not the best for people wanting to spend time in the city, do excursions, etc. But, therefore you get an incredible panoramic view of the beaches and ocean - the pictures don't lie!

We couldn't be happier and would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone wanting a bit of luxury or that "something special" for a honeymoon!!!!

Room Tip: We had room 505 - a jacuzzi suite duplex. It was the perfect location - not far from the main pool a...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear mcmonkey,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

We are so glad you enjoyed the last part of your Honeymoon with us, its nice to know that we were able to make such an important occasion so memorable and will be part of your memories for a long time to come.

The Duplex Jacuzzi suites are some of our most popular rooms and the private terrace does allow you to have extra privacy which is ideal for soaking up the sun or having private BBQ and cocktail evenings.

We are glad you enjoyed the range of food we offer at breakfast, we do try to cater for all tastes and have a wide range of international dishes which also includes fresh stir fry as well as a selection of vegetarian and halal items. On our A La Carte menu we do try to price ourselves in an average price range which compares to other establishments of our caliber so we do hope this did not put you off too much.

We are glad you enjoyed the activities on offer, we do try to provide a range of things to do which include tours, a games room, kids club and virtual golf simulator for those that do not venture out.

We do promote ourselves as a Hideaway location and we think this is one of our strong points. The fact that we are locate don the mountain overlooking Patong just far enough to feel private and secluded but within 2 minutes of the night life if required.

We have shared all your comments with the team and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm Regards

Avista Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were disappointed with our overall experience at the Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa in Phuket. The resort itself is very pretty and sits on gorgeous grounds. The rooms are also nice, clean, and spacious. Our complaints deal more with the service of the hotel. Here is a list of some areas from improvement and areas that we feel that other customers should be aware of:

1) Location and lack of shuttle availability-- The hotel is situated high above Patong on a hill. There is really nothing within walking distance, so if you are hungry or want to grab a drink, your only option is to go down the hill or eat at the hotel. In order to get down, you have to either a) take a taxi (which will cost you double what it should cost you due to the taxi mafia or b) use the hotel's shuttle service. The problem with the shuttle service is that they only have 1 shuttle bus for the entire hotel and the availability is limited to every 2 hours or so. In addition, you have to request this service well in advance. The 7:00 PM slot seemed to always be full and so then you have to wait until the 9:00 PM slot, which is usually too late for dinner for most of us. They have a shuttle that seats about 14 people to provide transportation for an entire hotel... makes no sense.

We felt "stuck" many times because we had called to late to request the 7:00 PM drop off and then had to wait until 9:00 PM.

2) The hotel creates expectations and then does not fulfill them. Upon check in, they provided us with a questionnaire regarding our preference for pillow style, tea flavors, mattress preference, etc. We excitedly filled out the questionnaire expecting that we would have our favorite tea in the room and special pillows, only to find that everything was what a standard hotel room would have and none of our preferences had been implemented. In addition, the questionnaire asked if we were celebrating any special occasion, which we were (it was our 4th wedding anniversary). We thought that this was a nice gesture and expected that they would be doing something to help us celebrate, but nothing came. For this, it is better to not provide the questionnaire, so that there are no false expectations.

3) Not enough pool towels. We were in need of pool towels to go to their offsite private beach (which is one of the nicer things about the hotel) only to find that they did not have any pool towels available, as they were all being cleaned. After waiting about 45 minutes to get towels, they brought us wet towels that smelled like mildew. Needless to say, we did not use them and felt that in a hotel of this type, towels should always be available.

4) No take away breakfast box on day of departure. Our room rate included daily breakfast. On our last day, we had to check out early (30 minutes before breakfast was to begin) due to having to catch a flight. As we met with our driver and some other guests, we were informed that it is customary for some hotels to provide their guests with a take away box of some breakfast items on the day of check out, if they are unable to make the breakfast. The other guests that rode to the airport with us had their take away boxes that their hotel had provided. Mind you, they stayed at a much more affordable and less luxurious hotel than we did. We were sad that we did not get to enjoy the daily breakfast that day and were not even informed of a take away breakfast option.

All in all the hotel is very nice in terms of looks. One can truly go there to relax but what makes it difficult to relax and enjoy the beauty of the hotel is the faulty customer service. Being a more luxurious hotel, customer service should be top notch. Primarily providing options for the guests to experience a hassle free vacation. We will probably not be returning to this hotel and will pick another hotel option upon our return to Patong.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NixC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Dear NixC79,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

Many thanks for your recent feedback, we are glad you found the rooms at the Resort comfortable and are sorry to hear the service was not as you expected. We do take all guest feedback very seriously and I would like to address some of your comments.

1). Regarding our location we do promote ourselves as a Hideaway destination and do try to explain we are situated on a mountain overlooking Patong. We are within 3 KM from the heart of the Patong and it takes approx 2 minutes by vehicle to reach the main entertainment area. We are located in the middle of a Jungle environment and this does mean there is not much to do in the immediate vicinity of the Resort, however this is exactly why most people choose to stay with us. We do have bars and restaurant at the Resort however, if you do want to explore other options then yes the only choice is to head into the main Patong area.

We do operate a free shuttle service which can get very busy at peak times however if the bus is full we do try and arrange complimentary alternative transport. To overcome this issue we have already placed an order for 2 more coaches that will transport more number of guests. Local taxis are also available outside the Resort and the standard price from the Hotel to Patong is 250 baht. Coming back the normal charge is about 300 baht however some may charge 200 Baht depending on how busy they are. The local taxis have set the prices for all cars which, unfortunately, we have no control over.

2). On the form we do have several options for both the Pillows and Tea / Coffee and the items you indicated are our standard items which are always in the rooms. The range of pillows we offer vary from Duck Down to Memory Foam and if guests do prefer these then the pillows are changed however if a standard pillow is required then these are already placed in the room. I do apologise if the form was not clear enough and we will certainly look at ways to improve.

I am truly sorry if you Anniversary was missed as we do like to celebrate with our Guests, especially on such a wonderful event. Our normal practice would be to send an Anniversary cake and Champagne or other gesture however when we investigated based on your comments we realised that there was no mention of it on the form. If however, this was mentioned to one of our associates and not actioned then I sincerely apologise that we missed out this very special occasion.

3). We do keep towels by the pools for all guests and the higher category rooms also have towels available in the rooms. I am sorry it took so long to get your Beach towels as we will certainly look at improving this. We always have towels available for Guests and keep a large stock of spares to ensure all guests can be catered for.

4). We do provide a takeaway breakfast box however this is based on request. On checkout we do not automatically send a take away box as Guests are still entitled to the full buffet breakfast and the majority will attend the Restaurant which opens at 6:30 a.m. If a guests does request a takeaway box then we provide a full range of A La Carte options or our staff will gather your required selection from the Buffet.

I do hope these issues did not prevent you from enjoying the beauty of our Resort and can assure you we will look at ways to improve all areas which you mentioned.

We thank you for sharing your experience and do hope you will choose to visit us again to see the improvements.

Warm Regards,

Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
19.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,913 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 39/9 Muen Ngoen Road | Tri-trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Patong
#4 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#4 Family Hotel in Patong
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#6 Business Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £84 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, PhuketParadise in Phuket with Fresh Perspectives on the Perfect Tropical EscapeAs a discerning traveller, you understand that there are two sides to every story. Our view is, why limit yourself to a single point of view? Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa offers two equally mesmerising panoramas from its perch upon a steep green peak in southern Phuket.Ensconced in your lavish, luxuriously appointed guest room, Jacuzzi Duplex or the very private pool suite, we assure you of complete privacy. One of the vistas brings you back to nature as you gaze over a sea of trees to the calm of Tri Trang Beach; a contemplative outlook, pristine, green, serene. A contrasting view, due north is an expansive Andaman seascape, azure by day, glittering party strip by night, awash with the possibilities of paradise.This is luxury from a new angle. Naturally, you will find the expected amenities and cosseted comforts one expects from the ultra luxe tropical escapes: a private beach club, indulgent spa and dining adventures, 24-hour butler and seamless service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery By Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing