We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in Patong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #8 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best place in Patong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I could not think of a better place to stay in Patong than here.

Well it isn't really IN Patong as such which is the beauty of it! You go to Patong for some madness, before you come back to the resort (in the free shuttle) and chill out with a cocktail surrounded by lush bushland! It is hard to think such a mad place is nearby.

This was our last night in Phuket and we splurged, getting the pool suite. It was VERY pricey for Thai standards. It was a simply amazing room, very spacious with an outdoor shower/bath (plus an indoor shower), kitchenette with the private pool very clean and a perfect temperature so it got a lot of use! Staff were very friendly and professional and could not do enough to assist us.

One thing we did enjoy about the hotel were the inclusions with the room. Most notably was the free (and ridiculous) late 6PM checkout - which suited us perfectly as our flight was at 10pm. We also had a free cocktail hour, free high tea, a free bottle of wine and little gift at the end of our stay. I'm not sure how long these inclusions will last though when the hotel becomes more popular (it is a very new resort).

One thing that is FANTASTIC about this place is you can choose how you want your bed. We got massage pillows and a soft mattress, and I had the most amazing sleep of all time, it was pure bliss!

Would definitely recommend this place to those who don't mind paying a little bit more!

Room Tip: I think any room looks good at this place. However, our pool suite was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Ben M,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Resort. We are conveniently located on the hilltop less than 10 minutes from Patong. The frequent shuttle service from the Resort to Patong and back to the Resort ensures the guest can easily return to the serenity of their room, thus a perfect ‘Hideaway’.

The Pool Suites are an excellent choice for indulgence and to pamper you. A private pool, excellent in-suite facilities like open air shower and bathtub along with butler service provides to the guests in pool suites an experience of true luxury and a level of personalized service that is unmatched.

We look forward to have you stay with us a second time and will be happy to ensure you are pampered again!

Warm Regards,
Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,208
    382
    153
    43
    42
See reviews for
296
1,060
51
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

The journey from the airport to the hotel seems to take forever on our first day. But when we reach the Avista Hideaway, all the frustration from the long journey (+ the traffic jam) just melts away. The view from the lobby was simply beautiful and the staff at lobby were smiling warmly in their long off-white dress. The cold towel, fruits and the icy cold lemongrass or cinnamon drink were equally welcoming.

Our Family Vista Room is a little away from the main lobby, so the staff arrange a buggy to bring us to our room. The king-sized bed and the maybe queen-sized bed were enough for our family of 4. We actually booked an extra bed and had to cancel it (with no refund as we booked through a website) as it was unnecessary. We also informed Avista that we needed transfer from the airport when we booked our rooms, but no one get back to us till I emailed them separately. The hotel will provide airport transfer for 1500 Baht but we manage to take a taxi from the airport at 900 Baht.

Overall, My children really loved this hotel so much that they do not want to leave for home. They were particularly happy that they can play pool or go to the game room to play table tennis or throw darts in the hotel. Each day they looked forward to taking the buggy to the main lobby and Every night they would also eagerly waited for the delicious cookies. I would recommend this hotel to family with children.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C18097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear C18097,

We are glad your family enjoyed the stay at Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa, Phuket.

We are particularly delighted that we were able to meet the expectations of our young guests and they had a good time at the Resort. We cherish having made our young guests happy with range of facilities like kid’s pool, activities for children and the games room with options of pool table, darts, table tennis and other games. Our Chef’s are always eager to prepare special feasts for children and are delighted when they meet the high expectations of our young guests.

The resort is 45-minutes drive from the airport and is located close to Patong - the ‘party hub’ of Phuket. The ‘vistas’ from our lobby, rooftops and many of the rooms are indeed stunning and the team at reception adds to the delight by an unobtrusive arrival experience which is completed efficiently while you enjoy the view of the ocean sipping our signature welcome drink made with Thai herbs.

The family Vista rooms are an excellent choice for guests travelling with 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. Family Vista rooms also have an option of sea-view from the higher floor, pool access from the lower or garden view. The guest can choose the view as per their preferences and availability on arrival at the resort.

We apologize for not being able to revert with the airport transfers when enquired through the third party website as we sometimes do not get these details from the third party. It is always best to contact the hotel for airport transfers and we are glad that you contacted us directly.

The buggy at the Resort is available for all our guests to go to different locations in the Resort as we understand on a vacation it is these small luxuries that count.

We will be delighted to have you and the family stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I'm a little unwilling to share this but I believe this resort deserves a good review. Located a little away from the noise and crowd at Patong, Avista provides tranquility and a good view overlooking the beach and endless sea. I've seen nice sunsets from the lobby and the main swimming pool area. Throughout the stay, we are constantly greeted by smiling staff and mostly good service. Though some serving staff at the restaurant might not understand English very well.

Upon checkin, it was relatively quick when you're served with assorted fruits, a cold towel and a glass of juice(think it was lemongrass). They would also provide you a checklist of special needs like you could decide your bed/pillow's firmness, type of pillow etc. I feel it is a fine touch of personalising their service to each guests' need.

We got ourselves a Jaccuzzi suite. Best experience ever. I personally feel it's even more worth it than getting a Pool suite since you would could get prettier views from the Main Pool. Though one thing about the Jacuzzi suite was that those that are nearer to the walkways would be more "exposed". So people could literally look in. Would encourage you to get the one further to the right so it's more "exclusive". Oh, did I forget to mention that they provide complimentary fruits, cookies and a bottle of champagne too? :)

The room was 2 storey high. First floor was our room and an outdoor Jacuzzi that is relatively sheltered from blazing sun and equipped with a fan. A towel stand and slippers were also provided. We got a private rooftop with huge sofas, equipped with tables and chairs for in-room BBQ and a shower for a quick rinse off. Within the room, the bed was huge but i guess they gave us too many pillows. I've got 6 pillows at one go and had to chuck some off the bed so I could have some space to lie in. The centralised lighting control was good. I could select several settings for the room without getting out of bed. Good for lazy bums like me. Haha.. They also have an additional sink, next to the cabinet that stores utensils and plates etc. One night, the inroom pet: cockroach was seen loitering around there. Too bad we didn't kill it in time and it ran away to I-do-not-want-to-know-where. Moving on, toilet is fully equipped with necessary toiletries with a separate shower and bathtub. Overall, very nice contemporary interior design i must say. Just one thing about Jacuzzi suites is that, it's relatively further than most rooms. So you either call for cabby(which takes very long to come) or you walk up the steep hill/walkway. So those who might have difficulty walking long distance might need to take note.

If you worry that Avista is too out of the way, don't worry. They have shuttle buses to bring you to Junceylon shopping mall and Patong beaches. For more info I guessed you could check with the hotel. One tip is that you have to book your slot for the free shuttle bus. So please be a little 'kiasu' and book early cos the slots are mostly taken before the scheduled timing!

Ok, i know i'm almost writing an essay but let me finish about the review on their food :p
Food is good, both room service and buffet breakfast at the restaurant. Love the buffet breakfast everyday. THere is definitely quality in their food. Just one thing is that the food provided is pretty much the same everyday.. BUT.. the variety of food available is so large you wont get sick eating that.

ONE FINAL THING: I actually asked for a surprise birthday cake to be delivered on 2nd day. I emailed them weeks ago, the manager wrote back and promised for it. but when i arrived and asked about it, the staff doesn't seem to know about it.. SO i just had it arranged again but it didn't come at all. Just a little disappointed that they didn't deliver what they promise.. But well, a small hiccup!

I LOVE AVISTA! I will definitely come back again for a quick romantic getaway

Room Tip: Choose corner Jacuzzi suites for more privacy :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiffyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Tiffyblue,

We are delighted with your detailed review of the Resort. Nestled on a hilltop less than 10 minutes from Patong, we are an ideal ‘Hideaway’ for all Guests.

The team at the resort is always delighted to serve the guests hence the genuine smiles all around and good service. The team at reception ensures that the arrival experience is efficient and the formalities of signing are minimal as you enjoy the breathtaking views of the ocean while sipping our signature drink made with Thai herbs.

The Duplex Jacuzzi suite with a private outdoor Jacuzzi, a private upper deck with views of the tropic and a host of additional facilities on offer is an excellent choice for a romantic ‘getaway’ or to celebrate those special moments of ‘togetherness’.

The electrical switches in the room have been chosen with a lot of thought to ensure that the comfort of luxury is celebrated in each of the finer detail in the Suite. The central control panel gives you the option of operating all lights in the suite, air conditioning temperature and speed, option for alarm and world time in 5 important global cities.

We operate frequent shuttle service to Patong and Paradise beach for the convenience of all our guests; prior reservation at the can be made at the reception desk.

We apologize that we could not deliver the birthday cake as requested. We strive for excellence in all our services and share your disappointed that we could not deliver what you requested. We hope this incident does not change your overall favorable opinion of the Resort and our services.

We will definitely make up for this lapse when you stay with us next.

Thank-you again for your kind review and sharing your experience.

Warm Regards,

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcliffe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Second visit to Avista Hideaway in November this year. As was the case in February when we first visited, staff were extremely polite, friendly and efficient. Bricks & mortar make a nice hotel, staff make it a great hotel. Only issue was the so-called Beach Club, which is in fact just a private beach. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MD_Reddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear MD_Reddy,

We are delighted that you to chose to stay with us a second time. Nothing gives us more satisfaction than to have our services acknowledged by a return visit from our guests.

We ensure our services are consistent with the same efficiency and perfection that you experienced during the first stay and will always experience on your return to Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa, Phuket every time.

We have frequent shuttle service to the beautiful paradise beach and our guests enjoy the serenity and the cleanliness of this hidden gem close to Patong and the resort.

Please let us know when you plan to visit Phuket again, it will be a pleasure to have you stay with us a third time as our very special guest.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

4 of us (2 adults + a 14 yr old & 8 yr old) stayed at the family Vista Room for 4 nights. We do not need to add any bed. The hotel is on a hill, taxis and private drivers will ask you for a little more than if you were to stay in Patong area, but the quiet, peaceful environment of the Avista is well worth it. The hotel also provides buggy rides for those whose room is a little further away from the lobby. A great place to stay for the young and old.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Songchua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Songchua,

We are glad your family enjoyed the serenity of the Resort.

We are always delighted to serve our young guests and have special facilities like the games room, the kid’s area and the kid’s pool to keep them happy. Our chefs are eager to cook special meals for the young connoisseur’s and are pleased to win their approval.

The resort is located on a hill and electric carts are available at the reception to take our guests to all areas in the resort. Many of our guests prefer to walk the stairs and explore the resort while also working off the special delicious meals that chef Tim and his culinary team are always eager to cook based on their personal preferences.

Please let us know when you plan to visit Phuket again, we will be pleased to have you stay with us a second time.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page!

What a great way to celebrate 21 years of friendship....we took a diving trip to Phuket.

Stayed at the Avista Hideaway resort and spa which is truly hid away a wee bit into the mountains and away from the maddening circus of Pattong / Bangla road.

Phuket can be a bit of a adult Disney land...the two of us were really glad that we were recommended this hotel as once there the craziness is replaced with peace.

We received great service right from the word go – there was our driver waiting for us (you could get it for half the price if you book one from the city – and that’s what we did for our way back). Once checked in (post being served a lovely refreshing fruit drink) we were truly and pleasantly surprised by the size of our room. Two massive beds leading out to a very cozy little balcony.

The view from there every morning was worth waking up to.

They had this special shuttle service t and fro Pattong – which was helpful indeed....though if you end up partying you need to sort out a tuk tuk– their last ride is at 11pm.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Special thanks to little Robert who with his smiles made our stay fun ;-)

Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: The Family room is massive - one bed was good for four! Select the room with a Jacqui if you are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bahiniya22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear AnnieT6,

At the outset congratulations on 21 years of friendship, it indeed is a very special occasion and we are thrilled that you chose to share it with us at Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa, Phuket. We understand that these moments are to be cherished and our team ensures we provide just the right service to elevate the celebration.

The family rooms with two beds are ideal for small family or friends travelling together and are appreciated by our guests. The option of pool access or sea view from the higher floor is a fun personal choice to make.

Thank you for your appreciation of Robert. He is delighted with your generosity and humbly accepts the recognition. It is appreciation and recognition from our guests that keeps us striving for excellence.

Warm Regards,

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed at Avista Hideaway - Jacuzzi Suite for 4nites. Really enjoyed the stay throughout. Special thanks to friendly and helpful staff like Eza and Erick who hlped us in our request to change to a higher level unit and late check out (without any extra charges). Hotel facilities were new and clean. Daily breakfast was a good spread with fresh juices. Will highly reccomend this hotel to family and friends. Pls continue to upkeep the facilities in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kumori_lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear kumori_lynn,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay of 4 nights at our Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa. The Jacuzzi suite’s with a private jacuzzi on the terrace and the view of the tropics is a perfect ‘Hideaway’ spot for a romantic holiday.

Ezra and Erick join me in thanking you for your special recognition of their services. The team remains humble in accepting accolades from our guests and continues to strive for excellence.

Chef Tim and his team are extremely happy that you liked the buffet breakfast that they have put together very thoughtfully to ensure all our guests enjoy the vide variety on offer ranging from bakery selection, Asian counters, health section to eggs made to order.

We continue to enhance our facilities at the Resort by the addition of a BBQ restaurant, which will open it's doors very soon where the guests can enjoy a great selection of sea food dining Al fresco.

All of us at Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa look forward to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
19.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
2.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
0.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 39/9 Muen Ngoen Road | Tri-trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#4 Family Hotel in Patong
#6 Business Hotel in Patong
#6 Spa Hotel in Patong
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#7 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, PhuketParadise in Phuket with Fresh Perspectives on the Perfect Tropical EscapeAs a discerning traveller, you understand that there are two sides to every story. Our view is, why limit yourself to a single point of view? Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa offers two equally mesmerising panoramas from its perch upon a steep green peak in southern Phuket.Ensconced in your lavish, luxuriously appointed guest room, Jacuzzi Duplex or the very private pool suite, we assure you of complete privacy. One of the vistas brings you back to nature as you gaze over a sea of trees to the calm of Tri Trang Beach; a contemplative outlook, pristine, green, serene. A contrasting view, due north is an expansive Andaman seascape, azure by day, glittering party strip by night, awash with the possibilities of paradise.This is luxury from a new angle. Naturally, you will find the expected amenities and cosseted comforts one expects from the ultra luxe tropical escapes: a private beach club, indulgent spa and dining adventures, 24-hour butler and seamless service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery By Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing