We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #7 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Have just come back from an amazing stay at Avista Hideaway.
Staff are friendly, our room was emasculate each day, could not ask for a better hotel away from the hustle of the town.

Brilliant shuttle service and very helpful travel agent.

Alex at the main pool kept us fed and watered :)
Sizzle is an amazingly romantic rooftop restaurant, excellent service and very nice food.

We have stayed in some lovely hotels in our time in nice, Venice, Monaco, Geneva etc... The Avista is in our top 5

Well done and Thankyou

Chantelle and Marcus

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Shantal_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Shantal_S,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, Phuket!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the perfect ‘hideaway’ in Phuket. Our rooms are designed to create the sense of togetherness for couples looking for a quiet time.

We are thankful for your acknowledgement of our service. Our staff is trained to provide exceptional service to our guests by delivering quality rooms and personalized service with a touch of the warm Thai smile and Alex will be particularly pleased to hear that he played a small part in your wonderful holiday experience.

Sizzle, our new BBQ restaurant, has been delighting our guests form the time we opened and Chef Tim and his team take great pride in rustling up some amazing food there. It is just the perfect setting for a nice dinner under the stars overlooking the sea and the fishing boats.

We look forward on your next stay and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,416 - 1,422 of 2,042 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed at Avista for 8 nights from 2/1 as part of our honeymoon and were disappointed when we arrived to be put into a room beside a paddock which was not what we booked ie we booked a club vista room with guaranteed pool access (and paid extra for this - booked back in July) - our room had been given away to someone who wanted the room with dates that overlapped ours so we were pushed out and not even given the courtesy to tell us. I had to go all the way back to reception and tell them. Their response was less than satisfactory - being that we would have to stay in that room and over the next couple of days they would try and move us - not impressed. We ended up staying in the room for 1 night and then moved.

The so called pool access did not include the 2 lounges outside your room as you would have thought given that there were only 5 rooms each with 2 lounges out the front but if you wanted them you had to get up st 7am and attempt to reserve them somehow. You couldn't get out of your gate without tripping over the person who was parked right in front of it.

The room service menu is very limited and average time for delivery was 30 minutes and no drink menu.

Nothing was ever mentioned out the sleep oils that you could get - it was by pure luck that I happen to read it in the manual that had print so small I had trouble reading it even with my glasses. The manual also made mention of other restaurants and other items for the hotel which presently do not exist - I tried to organise a surprise for my new husband with the bbq on the balcony and was told it was only available for the Jacuzzi room so I thought ok then can I organise for the dinner on the beach then? No I'm afraid we don't do this either.

Whilst most of the staff were friendly they could not speak nor understand English very well and gave up on several occasions trying to ask something.

The signage in the hotel is very confusing when trying to find your room or anything else - perhaps a gps could be given to each guest.....

Whilst breakfast was lovely it was not explained to you that you didn't have to settle for the percolated coffee and you could have latte or whatever you wanted which we discovered on the 3rd morning.

We tried to organise a hire car from the hotel which proved very difficult - make sure you clarify absolutely every detail AND THEY DO NOT ACCEPT CASH and must be paid for in full upfront.

The lights in the wardrobe that we could not reach 7ft height would not turn off - we had to call them twice before getting it fixed. The lights from the external hallway shone into the room at night even with the doors closed as well as in the alcove and had to put cushions against the blinds to try and block out some of lights blaring through.

We went to cocktails which on the menu says 5-7pm but was changed to 6-8pm - the first night the waitress clearly did not want to be there and made everyone very aware of this - on most nights we had to send drinks back to be redone and noticed other people were doing the same - they were very inconsistent, and one night they had no mint in the hotel hence no mohitos.

The air conditioning in the room is incredibly loud and at least 3 nights there was a pack of dogs outside the hotel that would not stop barking .

Might be an idea to get your clothes washed down the road 200 baht - hotel 1800 baht.

The room was cleaned nicely but I had to call twice to get bathroom supplies as they hadn't restocked them.

We noted on check in it was our honeymoon we were married in Bangkok the week before 26/12 - not sure why they asked as nothing was done about it.

The driveway was a problem to walk up in any shoes and the shuttle bus does not run regular enough - sometimes there is a 2 hr gap - had to pay 400 baht for a taxi from Jungceylon

The hotel does lacks atmosphere. - it could be such a beautiful place....

We have travelled all over the world and stayed in all levels of accommodation , we run businesses of our own that rely on exceptional service. We are not unrealistic in our expectations but were very disappointed with all aspects of the hotel. We looked at moving to another hotel but couldn't be bothered with the hassle.

This is by far not a 5 star hotel and very inconsistent in its service and presentation.

It has a lot of potential and had expressed my concern several months ago on reading the other negative reviews and they assured me that by the time we arrived they would be sorted out as they were a new hotel. Its a lot of money to spend to walk away disappointed.

Room Tip: Make sure if you book a club vista you and you want to be by the private pool that you specify '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kristalbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear kristalbond,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

It is disappointing to note that you did not enjoy your stay with us. However, allow me to explain about the points mentioned by you.

The Club Vista rooms do not guarantee a pool access and any special request is only subject to availability. There is no additional charge levied to a guest for booking a pool access club room so you could not have paid extra. The Club Vista rooms come equipped with a private pool for the wing and we do not have a private pool for each room. As you have mentioned, we did move your room to give you a different room since you did not like that room.

The lounges outside the room are not specifically for that room and any guest is free to use them.

The Room Service menu gives our guess many options however, it cannot be as exhaustive as the restaurant menu and since all our items are freshly prepared we ask our guests to give us 30 minutes to deliver the order. We do believe that our food can be best savored in the restaurant setting, however, if any guest wishes to order from Room Service a varied option is available.

The in room BBQ option is available only for our Duplex Jacuzzi suite guests since there is a private dining area on the rooftop of the suite for the guests to be able to enjoy the meal. I am sure you will agree that guests staying in our high end suites are entitled to special privileges.

Our staff is well trained in English and caters to various nationalities. It is, however, not possible to understand all the different accents our guests speak since Thailand is not a native English speaking country.

We agree that our resort is spread out over a large area and believe that the joy of staying in a resort for 8 days is in discovering it. While on the first it may be a bit confusing, all our guests get the lay of the land by the second day.

One of guests in their review has mentioned that they could sleep so well and till late because the room was dark and no light filters in once the curtains are drawn.

We are a Hideaway and the resort is built in forest surroundings which does attract different animals which is one of the main reasons why our guests prefer to stay with us since they can stay close to the nature. We do however, take your feedback and will work towards finding a solution to this.

Walking on the driveway is not a problem that has ever been mentioned by any of our guests but you will agree that every hotel is designed in a certain fashion and our driveway is made of cobblestones. The reason for this is since the resort is built on a hillside it gives a better grip to the vehicles to climb up and therefore safe for our guests.

I do hope that we have clarified your points.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel in Jan 2014 with my wife for 12 nights and enjoyed it a lot. It is very clean and fresh with large rooms. First we had a room 809 pool view but after a few days experienced some smell ( after the rain) and they upgraded us to leila # 1107 with was also very good. The breakfast is a must have and there are a lot of diff varieties. The pools are fine in our second rooms pool was only for adults so it was quite and fine. Spa is very expensive but we found out about sweet lemon grass massage in 162/5 Nanai soi and it was well worth the 20 min walk from Jungcylong shopping center.
You will have complimentary tea,coffee and water in your room( Not evian water but Avitas own labled water) also you may find apples and water also to pick in Gym or recreation center. You may ask for memory foam pillows ect. The only neg. I could say is you have to expect a bit waiting for coffee or tea at breakfast as they are a bit slow. You may have as many towels by the pool as you wish and even borrow to the beach if you want . There is a coach transport to the city. Probl. is last home transport is at 23. You may wish to stay longer in the city but just take a taxi and price is 6£ .300 bath. so it is a bit expensive if you dont want to use the shuttle bus but we found it very easy to use.
Reception personal are good but in Bangkok I have seen much more experienced stuff with good local information and willing to help but that is just a minor thing for them to work on. The paradise beach is not much different from patong beach and they are all dirty and crowded. We went to Raya Island which was very nice and Cristal clear water but the trip with the speed boats was a nightmare. Perhaps it was a bit of a windy day. All in all Avista hide away is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Dont worry even if your room is far from reception they have a caddy to transport you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simishko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Simishko,

We are glad that your first impression of the resort was the stunning and well designed lobby which is located on the hill side and affords great views. Our Club Vista rooms are perfect for a couple who are looking to spend that special time together.

The location of our resort makes it perfect for every kind of guests whether you are looking for a quiet holiday or even enjoy the hustle and bustle of Patong which is just 5 minutes drive away. Our shuttle bus drives the guests to Patong and the Jungceylon shopping mall and the timing is designed to suit every guest.

Breakfast is a delightful experience at our resort with its wide selection of food, freshly squeezed fruit juices, bakery and a live Asian cooking station that allows you to pick your desired ingredient for a breakfast like home. Chef Tim and his talented team will be delighted to hear you enjoyed their creation. We do take your feedback about the delay in coffee service and will work towards improving this.

Our other facilities like the game room, kid’s club, activities and library are designed to help the guests make the most of their holiday.

We look forward to welcome you back at Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa Phuket.

Warm Regards,

Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed here for one week in Jan 2014. We had our two small children with us and were pleasantly surprised how kid friendly the resort was. The staff was always very friendly and my kids loved Maya from the Kids Club. You can drop your kids off at kids club at two designated times, one in the late morning and one in the late afternoon. It wasn't very long, but it was just enough time to have a drink by the pool (right outside the kids club) and relax without the kids for a moment. Don't let the "kid friendly" part fool you. This resort screams luxury. The breakfast was amazing, the pools were beautiful, the rooms were well taken care of and service was wonderful. The free shuttles were a great addition, don't wait until the last day of your trip to use them like we did! We had a dinner during sunset at Sizzle on the roof and it was breathtaking. The chef came out and introduced himself and made us feel special. For the price you pay, this hotel is a steal!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Nicole T,

Many thanks for your excellent comments. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Our activities team of Maja and Tanja are an asset to the resort and strive very hard to ensure that all our guests enjoy a great holiday experience with activities designed for both adults and kids.

Breakfast is a delightful experience at our resort with its wide selection of food, freshly squeezed fruit juices, bakery and a live Asian cooking station that allows you to pick your desired ingredient for a breakfast like home. Chef Tim and his talented team will be delighted to hear you enjoyed their creation.

Our other facilities like the game room, kid’s club, activities and library are designed to help the guests make the most of their holiday.

Sizzle, our newly opened BBQ restaurant, is already becoming very popular with our guests for kind of setting and food created by our culinary team.

All of us at Avista Hideaway look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1week and LOVED IT!!
Our room ( club vista room) was perfect :) and had a great view overlooking the pool.

We were a little worried before coming here , because of all the complaints about the buildingsite area next to the hotel. To be honest it did not boughter us at all!!

- Loved the helpful staff here who did all they could to make our stay relazing and plesant, and always greating us with a smile :)

- we used the trainingroom almost every morning, and liked the fridge with bottels of free water and the good red appels

- two nights we stayed at the hotel and ordered food to our room and had our nightsnack out on the balcony , aah missing that already...

Perfect stay! Perfect place! But one tip: if you really want to feel what awista is all about , leave the kids at home :) and come here to recharge your batteries

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mixtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Mixtie,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, Phuket!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the perfect ‘hideaway’ in Phuket. Our Club Vista rooms are designed to create the sense of togetherness for couples looking for a quiet time.

We are thankful for your acknowledgement of our service. Our staff is trained to provide exceptional service to our guests by delivering quality rooms and personalized service with a touch of the warm Thai smile.

Our fitness room, ‘The Sculpt’ is equipped with all the equipment that any guest would look for and the fruit, cold water bottles and towels adds to the ingredient of perfection.

Spoiling our guest with our food is our expertise. The beautiful view from the balcony of your room only adds to creating a great setting.

We look forward on your next stay and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Excellent property and the staff were always polite and friendly. Our family of four dined in the resort for breakfast each day of our 10 day holiday and the variety, presentation and the quality of the foor was excellent. Coffee was great too! We dined for dinner only once at the resort because we were usually out exploring and that dining experience was first class with the staff friendly and well trained. Our room was a decent size and really nice and it was one of a few resorts with a king size bed and a queen size bed in the same room which served our family well. The staff even ask what sort of pillow you like on day one and the next day the pillow type of your choice was delivered. A nice touch. The infinity pools were fantastic and not overcrowded and the 'swim up bars' in both main pools were well serviced and drinks were reasonably priced. Kids games room had complimentary bottled water. Mini golf on the roof top was great with nice views to the sea. The golf simulator was good and at 700 baht an hour it was well priced and a lot of fun.Hard to fault this resort and if there was one small issue it would have been the layout which was a bit confusing. Being built on the side of a mountain, the check in area was on the 4th floor and everything was spread out below this level but after a couple of days we found our way round ok. The hotel complimentary shuttle service was alway well utilised and saves about 300 baht or $10 AUS each way in and out of Patong Beach area. Overall a quiet, well maintained and well serviced 5 star resort with eveything a family could wish for. We would happily return again.

Room Tip: No issues at all. Great staff and they always said hello and were always smiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJBorlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear JJBorlace,

We are glad that you enjoyed the ideal place for a perfect ‘Hideaway’. Indeed, our location is our advantage as we are located on a hilltop just 5 minutes away from the hustle and bustle of Patong. Best of both worlds is how we describe the location of the hotel since you get a quiet time with your loved ones and also can take the hotel shuttle to Patong to enjoy the night life.

Our facilities are designed in a very contemporary fashion and yet blend seamlessly with the surroundings o create that perfect Hideaway.

Ensuring our guests enjoy a perfect holiday is our prime motto and checking for and delivering your preference is just a small way to let you know that we care for you and would like you to be extremely comfortable during your stay with us.

All of us at Avista look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic holiday in patong and the hotel,as others have said is a welcome sanctuary away from Patong.
We reserved two rooms,each for two adults and two children.Rooms are fantastic,we walked from balcony direct into pool.
Food great,staff friendly,plenty towels,scenery wonderful.If I was visiting the area again,without children,then I would recommend!
The disadvantages with this hotel,for me,are that children over the age of four are not properly catered for.
We were given one king size bed and one single bed for two adults and two children.We requested another single bed in each room and were told this wasn't possible,we ended up putting one child in the bed with us(the youngest is 7).Poor sleeping conditions for a five star hotel!
No activities around pool.There is a daily activity plan,but geared more towards adults.
Kids club is suitable for younger children only.
Nowhere for older children to play bat and ball,football,volley ball,water polo ect.Still didn't find mini golf,virtual golf door was locked every time we visited.
Childrens pool approximately the size of two snooker tables.
Both the swimming pools are small,so when the children were playing constantly had to be saying,not to splash too much.
My boys are 7,9,11 and 14.
If you are a group of adults only or a family with children under the age of 4,then go and have a fantastic time,but if you've got an older family then I really would think twice.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1234emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear 1234emma,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, Phuket!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide exceptional service to our guests by delivering quality rooms and personalized service with a touch of warm Thai smile.

Our activities team of Tanya and Maya try to ensure that there is something for everyone to do by designing activities for kids and grown ups. As a hotel that is rated among the top 10 family destinations of Phuket we try to ensure there is something to do for everyone. If you fancy a round of golf we have an indoor virtual golf where you can practice your swing on any of the top golf courses around the world or you can spend a lazy afternoon in our library browsing through the number of books that we have collected. If lazing by the pool is what you are looking for then we have three beautiful pools to take your pick from. There is also the games room with options like darts, pool table, table tennis and foosball to keep kids of over 4 occupied. We do welcome your feedback and look at adding some more options for kids over 4.

Very we have also added another dining option in the form of a BBQ restaurant where guests dine under the stars enjoying delectable cuisine prepared by Chef Tim and his team of talented chefs.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
19.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 10 in Karon Beach
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
12.6 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
0.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 39/9 Muen Ngoen Road | Tri-trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Patong
#4 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#5 Spa Hotel in Patong
#6 Business Hotel in Patong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £102 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, PhuketParadise in Phuket with Fresh Perspectives on the Perfect Tropical EscapeAs a discerning traveller, you understand that there are two sides to every story. Our view is, why limit yourself to a single point of view? Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa offers two equally mesmerising panoramas from its perch upon a steep green peak in southern Phuket.Ensconced in your lavish, luxuriously appointed guest room, Jacuzzi Duplex or the very private pool suite, we assure you of complete privacy. One of the vistas brings you back to nature as you gaze over a sea of trees to the calm of Tri Trang Beach; a contemplative outlook, pristine, green, serene. A contrasting view, due north is an expansive Andaman seascape, azure by day, glittering party strip by night, awash with the possibilities of paradise.This is luxury from a new angle. Naturally, you will find the expected amenities and cosseted comforts one expects from the ultra luxe tropical escapes: a private beach club, indulgent spa and dining adventures, 24-hour butler and seamless service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery By Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing