We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect hideaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #7 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We arrived very late and the staff made sure we were taken care of... We travel a lot and this has to be one of my favourite hotels.

Pros:
Staff speak excellent English and are genuinely interested in making sure you are happy. The resort design and layout is spectacular. Awesome photo opportunities (great sunset views). Breakfast is AMAZING! Fresh juices, croissants, fruit French toast, yogurt, cereals, eggs, you name it... All ingredients are of high quality (no processed!) real maple syrup and a honey comb. They serve coffee but will also bring you an Americano or cappuccino if requested.
All facilities are top notch (pools, game rooms , gym and yoga)
They have a shuttle (hourly or so) to bring you into Patong. 10 mins away.
We celebrated our anniversary and they surprised us with a bottle or brute and a cake (a very nice touch). Quiet location.

Cons:
The design and layout is somewhat of a labyrinth... Not good for stroller or people who have trouble with stairs. We stayed in the Cattleya section which is right beside the construction site of the new hotel they are building next door. Although we had an amazing sunset view the daytime drilling made it digoxin for our 8 month during nap time.

Would definitely come back again... For longer!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisabourgeois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Lisabourgeois,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway and thank you for your feedback and recommending us.

It is pleasure to note that you liked the layout & design, breakfast and anniversary surprise. The resort is indeed a great place for some breathtaking views and photography options. The sunset and just after are moments that make for a memorable experience and that is what Avista Hideaway is known for apart from great service and facilities.

We believe the joy of staying in the hotel is in discovering a new area everyday and yes the hotel does seem like a maze on the first day but our guests get used to it very quickly and then the sheer beauty of the place overshadows everything. Yes, it is not very easy for elderly or guests with disability to move about the resort since we are built on the hillside and therefore a lot of steps.

Our location is our advantage as it allows the guests to enjoy the peace and quiet yet the hustle bustle of Patong is not far away. A lot of our guests avail the complimentary shuttle bus when they feel the need for action.

We are thankful for your acknowledgement of our service. Our staff is trained to provide exceptional service to our guests by delivering quality rooms and personalized service with a touch of the warm Thai smile.

Thank you for your understanding about the construction activity next door which we have absolutely no control over and my apologies that your little one could not sleep well. We are looking at options to avoid disturbance to our guests.

All of us at Avista look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,067)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,406 - 1,412 of 2,067 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

I am from Toronto, Canada. This Hotel is Best in Phuket, Thailand hands down. I love the Location, Rooftop bar, Buffets, Infinity Pool with Bar, mins away from the Action. I was there for my Honeymoon. I was upgraded free. I love their stuff's level of service, it is 5 star service. Kevin the Receptionist is THE Best Receptionist I think any 5 Star hotel can have. he was so helpful. Overall 10 out 10. I will be going back to this hotel ONLY when I am back in Phuket again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kumar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Kumar S,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway and thank you for excellent feedback.

We are glad to note that you liked the location, rooftop bar, food and pools with swim up bars.

Our location is indeed our advantage and our guests get the best of both worlds. Being up in the hills we have best vistas of the sea and the beautiful island sunset and yet we are close to the action of Patong.

Kevin thanks you for your acknowledgement of his service and team Avista looks forward to welcome you to spend many more of your anniversaries with us.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our stay at Avista was overall a lovely experience.
Like the name says it truly is a hideaway resort up in the hills 6-7 minutes drive away from Patong beach and the Bangla road area to which they have shuttles to, however there is nothing within walking distance , unless you plan on hiking your way down which would take u around 30-40 minutes to get to.

The resort itself is beautiful and serene , with a beautiful view of the ocean at a distance and beautiful sunset views, excellent rooms and excellent helpful and very accommodating staff right from the checkin staff, security, bartenders etc

The breakfast has a massive and excellent selection of continental , American style breakfast and oriental / eastern style . We looked forward to that everyday!

I would definitely like to go back there again ! Its indeed a beautiful hideaway from everything and very peaceful ! Would definitely recommend it !

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saasv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Saasv,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway and thank you for your feedback.

We are glad to note that you liked the location, rooms, breakfast and friendly and efficient staff. I am glad you enjoyed the sunsets which we believe are the best on the island with everyday a new experience.

Our location gives our guests the best of both worlds as they are away from the maddening crowd of Patong yet close enough that it takes less then 5 minutes to get there.

Our breakfast is definitely one of the best on the island where Chef Tim and his team strive to give our guests a great experience everyday and I am glad you started your day in a great way.

Team Avista looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

perfect hideaway resort, the room is perfect, nice decorated.
we love club pool, quiet area no child. service is excellent especially front desk staff.

breakfast is good but need more staff to be served.

we love shuttle bus service, free of charge but need to book in advance!

overall was a perfect holiday!

we will go back there for sure.

miss you guys Avista

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Aus2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear David_Aus2014,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway and thank you for your feedback and recommending us.

It is pleasure to note that you liked the resort, room, club pool and Front Desk staff.

Our Club rooms are truly a romantic haven for couples looking to spend that alone time together and enjoying each others company. All our rooms are built to provide the maximum privacy so even if the resort is fully booked you can still get those private moments and that is the reason we have ensured that one pool is for adult's only.

Our location is our advantage as it allows the guests to enjoy the peace and quiet yet the hustle bustle of Patong is not far away. A lot of our guests avail the complimentary shuttle bus when they feel the need for action.

We are thankful for your acknowledgement of our service.

Team Avista misses you too and looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The hotel is really beautiful but there is the construction of another hotel just besides avista generating a lot of noise.
So if you do not like hearing building machines when at pool, don't go there.
We have moved immediatly.

1  Thank Voyage06500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is such a lovely resort and the grounds are absolutely beautiful! The grounds are immaculate and had such a wonderful design. Our room was ultra modern and spacious. Our room was cleaned everyday and I loved the rain shower in the bathroom. I had such a hard time leaving. The daily breakfast buffet included was wonderful as well. There was always plenty of food to select from and included exotic fruits (to me) such as dragonfruit and rose apples.

Pros
1. Tucked away from the crowded and noisy patong beach
2. Beautiful grounds and pools were amazing
3. Great breakfast and liked having restaurant on site
4. Great place to watch a sunset

Cons
1. The free shuttle doesn't come often enough. It only came every 90 minutes but really they should have it run every 30 or 45 minutes. We had to wait quite a bit for the shuttle to Jungceylon mall
2. The resort is set on a hill so the way in which it was built requires many, many stairs. To go to the restaurant or pool required going down 3 sets of stairs and back up those 3 sets of stairs. The lobby was an additional 2 sets of stairs!

I would definitely stay here again but next time would opt for a room that opens right into the pool. When they meant pool access, they really meant it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strawbebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear strawbebi,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway and thank you for your feedback.

It is pleasure to note that you liked the location, landscape, breakfast and rain shower.

Our rooms are truly a romantic haven for couples looking to spend that alone time together and enjoying each others company. All our rooms are built to provide the maximum privacy so even if the resort is fully booked you can still get those private moments and that is the reason we have ensured that one pool is for adult's only.

Our location is our advantage as it allows the guests to enjoy the peace and quiet yet the hustle bustle of Patong is not far away. A lot of our guests avail the complimentary shuttle bus when they feel the need for action.

We are thankful for your acknowledgement of our service. Our staff is trained to provide exceptional service to our guests by delivering quality rooms and personalized service with a touch of the warm Thai smile.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

First of all the hotel itself is amazing the infrastructure the decoration and all stuff like that but as soon as we checked in we found the room so well equipped and neat but that's just for one time . The house keeping doesn't refill any of these stuff not the shampoo shower jel nothing ! And u will never be able to explain to them wat u need as they all barely spoke the basic English so dealing with them
Was impossible. This hotel is so far away from everything it's 30 mins from patong if it's not crowded not as mentioned in the adress at all. Its high on the hill and once u arrive to the airport U will underStand how bad it's location is from all the taxi reaction to going to vista they All say it's faaaaaaaar up the hill !!!! It's not a safe Island to walk around a taxi was going to kidnap me as I rode with him along at 10 pm ( I'm a girl ) it was an awful experience and the staff in the hotel reacted like its smthing so common and that it's ok !!!! Their good might be one of the good things too but over all it's a beautiful place with no service no life no location nothing . I don't recommend it to any1 honestly .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Babessss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Babessss,

We are glad that you loved the hotel , the infrastructure and the decoration . All of our guests are very pleasantly surprised by the fabulous twin vistas upon check in , the room ,the decor and the amenities which have been thoughtfully provided for the convenience of well heeled guests.

However, we were disappointed to note that there were some aspects of hotel that were not upto your satisfaction. We would like to address these one at a time.

1. We have two sets of amenities in each room , one in the shower cubicle and the other at the vanity counter. The very purpose of this is that our guests never have to await replenishment. Perhaps you did not notice the extra set.

2. Most of our staff are trained to speak english and we hire a sizable number number of staff who are very well versed in English.It is always a difficult proposition for the local non-english speakers to understand all the accents and colloquialisms associated with English.

3. As you correctly noted ,the hotel is up a headland above the Patong/Tri-Tang bays. It is
a very short ride from Patong Beach. A majority of the hotels in Phuket are in the Patong sub-district so a ride from the airport to any of these hotels roughly takes the same amount of time. So it it not so faaar vis-a -vis the location of the other hotels. They are many other hotels which are located further south in the Karon,Kata and Panwa areas which are further removed.

4. We took your comment about distance from Patong to the hotel very seriously and timed our FREE Shuttle service which takes our esteemed guests from the hotel to the Patong beach, the shopping center in the heart of Patong ,Jungceylon and back. Here are the exact timings in minutes and seconds on different days of the week:

shuttle at 5:30pm – Sunday (weekend)
Hotel to Patong Beach = 6:15:30
Hotel to Junceylon = 11:11:23
Shuttle at 6 pm
Junceylon to Hotel = 10:40:21

Shuttle at 7:30 – Tuesday (working day)
Hotel to Patong Beach = 7:30:13
Hotel to Junceylon = 19:10:60
Shuttle at 8.30 pm
Junceylon to Hotel = 09:29:25

We would like to bring to your attention that these timings were recorded in what we consider the busiest time of the day. During other periods, the time taken is much shorter. The hotel shuttle is a large vehicle which seats at least 25 guests and is driven slowly to ensure the safety of our guests. A car ride would obviously be much quicker if you are in a hurry .

5. Many of the guests use a taxi from Patong back to hotel and we have never received such complaints earlier. We will brief our teams to be more careful in the future.

6. Avista Hideaway is a true Hideaway and was built as the location was very appropriate to follow the adage " So close yet so far " - So close to the action and shopping in Patong yet feels like it is removed miles away to enjoy the peace and quiet and de-stress during the day. Perhaps ,you would have preferred a hotel in the heart of Patong with all its noise and action.

We thank you for your comments and for choosing Avista Hideaway for your stay.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
19 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
2 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 39/9 Muen Ngoen Road | Tri-trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#4 Family Hotel in Patong
#5 Spa Hotel in Patong
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#6 Business Hotel in Patong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £108 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, PhuketParadise in Phuket with Fresh Perspectives on the Perfect Tropical EscapeAs a discerning traveller, you understand that there are two sides to every story. Our view is, why limit yourself to a single point of view? Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa offers two equally mesmerising panoramas from its perch upon a steep green peak in southern Phuket.Ensconced in your lavish, luxuriously appointed guest room, Jacuzzi Duplex or the very private pool suite, we assure you of complete privacy. One of the vistas brings you back to nature as you gaze over a sea of trees to the calm of Tri Trang Beach; a contemplative outlook, pristine, green, serene. A contrasting view, due north is an expansive Andaman seascape, azure by day, glittering party strip by night, awash with the possibilities of paradise.This is luxury from a new angle. Naturally, you will find the expected amenities and cosseted comforts one expects from the ultra luxe tropical escapes: a private beach club, indulgent spa and dining adventures, 24-hour butler and seamless service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery By Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing