We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Nearby Hotels
Patong Paragon Resort & Spa(Patong)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Novotel Phuket Resort(Patong)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deevana Patong Resort & Spa(Patong)(Great Value!)
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Patong Merlin Hotel(Patong)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Phuket(Patong)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,175)
Filter reviews
2,176 results
Traveller rating
1,444
452
181
52
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,444
452
181
52
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi suitevista restaurantsizzle restaurantclub vista roomparadise beachvirtual golfgames roomriverside poolshuttle busrooftop baradult poolshuttle serviceevery hourmain poolpool villaour honeymoonbeautiful resort
Filter
Updating list...
1,449 - 1,454 of 2,176 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Like others, we booked our accommodation here based on reviews and the special offer through Tripadvisor.

Check-in for the family (wife and 2 x 10 year olds) was smooth with a refreshing Thai herbal tea and fruit skewer on arrival. I had called ahead as we were transferring from another hotel so was a little surprised when we arrived and was told our room was not ready. This disappointment rapidly diminished when we were told we were being upgraded to a pool access room! We were taken by buggy to Vista (the main restaraunt) and provided with a complimentary smoothie while we waited. About 45 minutes later we were taken to our room and it did not disappoint. A proper shower (not in bath), double sink vanity, decent sized bath tub and a huge room with a king and double bed and 40 inch TV, electronic lighting and air conditioning control panel (although the bed side lights hang too low and block the panel). Open the sliding door to your own balcony with table and lounge, open the gate to your own sunbed and a few steps later you're in the pool! Complimentary shuttle to Jungceylon at regular intervals (we booked the first few times but after that just tried our luck without any problems). Wide selection of food for breakfast ranging from the typical bacon and eggs through to rice, cheese, fruit and yoghurt.

We ate at Vista on our first night and the food was a little average and the wait times were ridiculous. A member of staff apologised when they brought out the kids ice cream after 20 minutes and explained that they were short staffed due to a wedding reception. We decided to eat dinner in Patong for the remainder of our stay.

The kids loved the pool and darts room (that also has a table tennis table and tv's) but we were really disappointed with the Kids Club (The Den). Their information sheet says that it is designed to entertain children from 4 - 12 with activities such as pool games, outdoor activities, local art and craft and gym activities and you can leave the kids there free of charge with their babysitter from 10:00am - 11:30am and 3:30pm - 5:00pm but it is open from 8:00am - 8:00pm. When we dropped the kids off at 10:30am (before catching the first shuttle at 11:00am) the staff had no sign in sheet ready and told us that the kids could play board games or watch tv or read. We asked about lunch and if they were hungry did they just order what they wanted and charge it to the room and was told yes. When we returned on the 2:00pm shuttle (first one back), the kids hadn't eaten, the staff member gave us a funny look and the staff had apparently been asking them constantly when we would be returning. We found out later that these staff are on a working 6 month holiday from Croatia and the one we dealt with had only been there for 2 days. Not very well organised in my opinion.

Apart from these two little hiccups, we had a wonderful time at the Avista Hideaway and would stay here again in a heartbeat (although maybe not with the kids). If you are looking for somewhere away from the hustle and bustle of Patong but still within easy reach then you can't go past the Avista.

Oh and make sure you say hi and have a chat with Boonrod and Sak from the swim up pool bar - great people who love to chat and make awesome drinks!

All in all a fabulous resort although you need to be aware of the number of steps to get around and you do get the occasional smell waft through the place.

Room Tip: Pool Access Room - you can't beat it!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JusCruizin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear JusCruizin,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway and thank you for your excellent feedback.

We are pleased to note that you had a great time with us and thankful for your acknowledgement of our service. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests as it encourages and motivates us to continue on this journey of excellence.

The location of our resort makes it perfect for every kind of guests whether you are looking for a quiet holiday or even enjoy the hustle and bustle of Patong which is just 5 minutes drive away. Our shuttle bus drives the guests to Patong and the Jungceylon shopping mall and the timing is designed to suit every guest.

Chef Tim and his culinary team will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast, which we believe, is one of the best on the island and caters to the different nationalities that stay with us. It also gives our guests an opportunity to try various cuisines.

However, we disappointed that the food and service at Vista restaurant did not live up to your expectations and will work on training and our internal delivery processes with our team to deliver a memorable experience for our guests.

Our other facilities like the game room, kid’s club, activities and library are designed to help the guests make the most of their holiday. We are surprised to hear about the attitude of our activities team since they have always been highly appreciated by our guests. However, we do take your feedback seriously and will work with the young, new team to ensure all our guests have a memorable holiday while their children are enjoying themselves, are safe and well cared for so that you have the peace of mind.

Being built on a hillside comes with its blessings and its disadvantages. The spectacular views that entice you on arrival at the hotel lobby would not be possible if the hotel was not atop a hill. The downside to this is the number of stairs that you need to navigate around the resort. Each area of the resort is a remarkable little pocket with its unique nooks and crannies , with very private and very public spaces, with landscape and pools, with golf putting greens and virtual golf pubs, spectacular al fresco restaurants such as the Sizzle and well as cozy corners such as our Rendez-Vue. What we can assure you is that once you have been in the resort for a day or two, you will soon figure out that if you use our three elevators and our hallways, you do not need to do too many stairs.

We are thankful for your acknowledgement of our service. At Avista each employee is selected on their ability to provide the highest level of guest experience. Boonrod and Sak will be particularly pleased to hear that they played a small part in your wonderful holiday experience.

Team Avista looks forward to welcome you back soon and assures you that you will continue to get the same level of service that you experienced during this stay while at the same time, we will endeavor to keep improving with each passing day.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Avista Hideaway was the third hotel we stayed at on our Thailand vacation. We chose this hotel based on a reviews and the tripadvisor special being offered. I have mixed emotions on this resort. The resort, room, outdoor sitting area and pools were clean, nice and comfortable. We chose the room package that included breakfast and happy hour at the rooftop bar. Breakfast was delicious and had a large variety of foods. The happy hour was a huge disappointment. I would like to suggest that Avista offer wine, beer and light appetizers during happy hour which seemed to be standard and on par with the other hotels we stayed at. I think they are in the process of building a store onsite which would be nice. We needed aloe one night and it's kind of inconvenient to take a tuk tuk or taxi to the store. The shuttle service was nice but you need to book ahead of time and hope for space or else you will be paying a tuk tuk or taxi to go up and down to the Patong area. Overall experience was good. I am not sure if we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Nicole A,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway and thank you for your feedback.

We are delighted to note that you liked the resort, room, outdoor sitting area and pools. Chef Tim and his culinary team will be glad to hear that you liked the breakfast, which we believe is one of the best on the island.

We have noted your suggestion regarding the Happy Hour seriously and this has discussed with our Food and Beverage management team. We will make the necessary adjustments to ensure that the offer during this period is better than competing hotels.

While we run the shuttle bus at various times to and from the resort, sometimes the guests do feel the need to come back to the resort earlier. We will however, look at options of increasing the frequency of our shuttle bus.

Thank you again and we look forward to your stay with us to see the improvements suggested.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This place is beautiful, new and clean. Very cheap for what you are getting. The views are heavenly. My only bad review is the upstairs fine dining restaurant (named: sizzle) = way over priced for Thailand, expected something amazing which turned out to be average .

Room= excellent
Overall Resort= excellent
Swimming pool= excellent
Facilities & staff service= excellent
Location= excellent if u don't mind 5 min drive by taxi into Central Patong

Stayed: April 2014
Thank JasminaVin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear JasminaVin,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway and thank you for your excellent comments.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the perfect ‘hideaway’ in Phuket. Our rooms are designed to create the sense of togetherness for couples looking for a quiet time.

It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests as it encourages and motivates us to continue on this journey of excellence.

Our Sizzle restaurant has been praised by almost every guest who stays with us and it is the most beautiful location in the hotel with a fantastic ambience, service and the best BBQ on the island, however, we do take your feedback and look at ways of improving.

Team Avista looks forward to welcome you back soon and assures you that you will continue to get the same level of service that you experienced during this stay.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Went with a recovering ankle fracture....and the staff were very helpful in ensuring that I was well taken care of. As their rooms are lined up on the slopes of the hill... it is advisable for those who require help with stairs to request for their buggy service. They would definitely come to your help.

Overall, the staff were pleasant and food at the restaurant was good (my own expectations). The quiet resort was relaxing(great night view from the bar) and the regular shuttle service to Patong beach and Juncelyon (2 -way) made it very convenient for us during our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cykl288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear cykl288,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa and thank you for your comments.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and liked our service. To ensure all our guests have a memorable holiday is what we strive for and comments like yours keep us motivated and encourage us to continue to do better.

Our location is our advantage as it allows the guests to enjoy the peace and quiet yet the hustle bustle of Patong is not far away. A lot of our guests avail the complimentary shuttle bus when they feel the need for action.

Our employees are our biggest asset and they have all been selected on their ability to provide the perfect holiday experience to our guests.

All of us at Avista Hideaway look forward to welcome you back soon to spend another memorable holiday with us.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I have been there in January. As I do not like patong very much I am happy to find this great hotel that is just 5 min drive from the center. Realy nice rooms, great stuf.... We had nice time at the pool where you can get also some food. There is a huge breakfast, all you want but seating inside what I did not like so much. There are only few tabels outside.
We had a nice dinner in the restaurant and witnessed Russian wedding. This was an experience!!! They just made up a big table beside us and go... We were like in the movie. All in all if you do not like Patong crowd go to this elegant hotel and enjoy!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Luckynata007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear NataliaBeg,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway and thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed the ideal place for a perfect ‘Hideaway’. Indeed, our location is our advantage as we are located on a hilltop just 5 minutes away from the hustle and bustle of Patong. Best of both worlds is how we describe the location of the hotel since you get a quiet time with your loved ones and also can take the hotel shuttle to Patong to enjoy the night life.

All our pools are spread over the property and each location creates those memorable moments that we strive for. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests as it encourages and motivates us to continue on this journey of excellence.

All of us at Avista Hideaway look forward to welcome you back soon to spend another memorable holiday with us.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews