We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Ranked #15 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Have been staying here for 2 nights now and booked because of the good reviews on here, also thought as the hotel is quite new they would have high standards regarding service and cleanliness. However it has not lived up to the good reviews overall. Service is average but not bad. Compared to other hotels I've stayed in Thailand they don't seem to come across as personable and don't smile and give as much eye contact, other hotels the staff have greeted you with a "hello" and pleasant smile but hardly anyone does that here when passing by them etc. The room is not that clean compared to other hotels I've stayed in. I totally understand what a previous reviewer was saying when they said they found the room humid and unhealthy. In fact I'm guessing there is a lot of moisture in the air as there is quite alot of mould and possible rising damp in the bathroom. Also there is rust on the soap dispenser by the sink. There is a musty, mouldy smell that hits you upon entering the room, guessing this may be the whole block, and my glasses get steamed up overnight when left on the side table while in their case all suggesting there isn't something right in the air regarding moisture. On our first night we had late check in and the room was very disappointing upon entering. There were finger marks on mirror, marks on the table, mould in certain parts of the bathroom, rust on the soap dispenser, marks on the sink, some ripped wallpaper and that musty unpleasant smell that doesn't really go away. Also one of the lights above the bed doesnot work. This all does not give a good first impression and makes you think they do a half hearted job regarding cleanliness and checking their rooms before giving it to guests. I uses water and a tissue to remove most of one of the rust marks on the soap dispenser and it makes u think if they had just used a cleaning spray and scrubber it would be off within a minute. Same for the mould, a bit of ant-mould spray from time to time wouldn't hurt. I was surprised by the condition of the room consudering it was about a tear old. Tbh though we were so tired and hungry from a long flight not getting much sleep and getting stuck in traffic that we couldn't be bothered to complain and just wanted to unpack, shower and grab something to eat, we also didn't have much confidence (mainly from the check in experience-not very personable or welcoming) that we would really get a better room at short notice and promptly at tgat and didn't want to haul our luggage to another part of the complex as it had already been tiring to haul it to our room in the first place as we were shattered. Once we unpacked we settled into the room and just got used to it, don't mind it too much now. The breakfast is very basic and ok as its included but would have been a travesty if you would have to pay extra for it! The only area where we have been really happy is the comfort of the bed and cushions, one of the best we have experienced in any hotel. Please see the pics I've uploaded. Personally I wouldn't stay here again and in hindsight should have tried one of the others on my short list for approx. the same price.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rax77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear “Rax77”

I am disappointed and surprised that you have not contacted us directly at the hotel. Our team is looking after great service and I apologies for the experience you had but would recommend that if something is wrong with the service to let us know directly. It should never happen in the first place and surprised with all the elements you list that you have not talked to us directly.

Sincere regards
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    622
    155
    36
    15
See reviews for
224
674
125
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Managed to secure 2 nights at this hotel under IHG points break promotion - 5000 points per night.

It's located near the Northern part of Patong. Easily reached from Phuket airport via 180 baht shuttle (use this if u wanna save some money on transport, taxis are 550 baht min i heard from airport to Patong). Short 10-15 min walk to Soi Bangla, where most of the night action is. Lots to see and do at the shops along the way to Soi Bangla.

As a Platinum IHG member, managed to secure early checkin (around 11am), late checkout (4pm) and room upgrade - stayed at 6303, overlooking the pool. Room was nicely furnished. Tiled floor which is good cause guests might be dripping water and sand from the swimming pool and beach.

This hotel is brand new, only about a year old i heard. The whole design has a very stylish, modern vibe to it. Being a Holiday Inn Express, they do they to do away with some frills, such as bell boys (you are offered airport-type trolleys to push ur luggages to the room, which is a brilliant concept). They also don't offer tiny bottles of shampoo and body wash. There's a big dispenser right next to the shower dispensing a liquid that can be used as both shampoo and body wash. Bring ur own if that doesn't appeal to you.

Pool towels are on loan from the front desk, which u can bring to the beach or use at the pool.

The breakfast buffet is not huge. But you can't really complain. The standard fare is there. For the two days i was there, there's porridge, fried rice, sausages, eggs, bread (white and wholemeal), selection of danishes/muffins/croissants, cereal with milk or soy, orange/apple/guava juice, coffee from a huge machine, and selection of tropical fruits (banana, watermelon, honeydew, pineapple). You can have a really good breakfast! And they also allow you to pack up some food to take to the beach or pool, even providing tiny carriers to put ur coffee cups and muffins. How's that for flexibility!

There's some minor pest problems, like ants at the coffee machine in the room, and mosquitoes. But that comes with the territory of a tropical country. After some feedback, the manager promised to tackle the ant problem. Mosquitoes, that's a bit hard. Use ur tracking skills to kill them haha.

Even though the hotel is new, they do have maintenance work ongoing. Drilling noises can be heard in the afternoons. I guess most of the guests will be at the beach at that time, but do take note if u wanna catch a nap. Perhaps have it at the pool area. The running water sounds from the water features do a good job to drown out the noises.

Will stay at this hotel again if i come back to Patong :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emilia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear “emilia c”

We are really delighted you enjoyed your stay and enjoy the short availability of the points break program making the most from your loyalty point’s form our IHG Rewards Club program. Thank you for your spending time to make an extensive review of our hotel features and describing the room and offerings.

Our hotel concept is as you describe no frills for the adventurous and independent traveler. We offer everything you need and nothing you don’t.

Please let us know when you next come to Patong and do not hesitate to contact me directly to help you with the arrangements.

Stay Smart with us!

Sincere regards
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My partner & I stayed at this hotel for 3nights. Found no probs with the hotel, rooms or staff. Super fast wifi. Great rooms with comfortable bed and excellent choice of pillows. Bathroom was clean and especially loved the washing line in the shower. Breakfast had a great variety.
Staff were pleasant and very helpful. Taxi driver we had was nice, he took us to the big souvenier store then to the cashew nut farm. Even the guards were friendly.
2min walk to the beach, 10min to Bangla Road, 15min to Junceylon, 30sec walk to 7/11.

Will def stay at Holiday Inn Express if we're ever in Phuket again

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear “Emily T”

Thank you for recognizing us for what we really drive for as a new hotel. We have a great location in Patong and aren’t our beds just for heavenly dreams… Our Soft and Firm pillows are as well loved feature and adding to the well-deserved sleeping experience on your holiday.

Stay Smart with us!

Sincere regards
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel after staying in the Anantara vacation club for 2 nights. Both my husband and I loved this budget hotel. First of all, it is really the price of a budget hotel but the facilities it provided were much more than usual budget chains. The pool was nice with great loungers. We loved the green beanbags by the massage pool (or children's pool). Breakfast was simple but adequate (would definitely get bored if stay for more than 3 nights). It was great that they had take away cups for you to take away coffee and tea to enjoy by the beach side! They provide free local newspaper and magazine in the breakfast room. You can rent beach towels and umbrella at the reception free of charge. (They allow you to take the beach towel out to the beach unlike some hotels which allow you to use at pool side only). The room was average in size, shame that they didn't have a tub. The bathroom was a bit small and can't fit 2 people together in the morning for washing up. You get a small balcony with a chair there.

It was walking distance (around 10-15 mins leisurable walk) to Jungcylon and only 2 mins walk to the beach. Must eat the Tony Zaw international pancake (hawker stall) just 1 street from the hotel (The banana nutella pancakes were addictive!!!). We had it twice during our stay!!!!

All in all, we had a great time in patong and with this hotel. Would definitely recommend to those looking for budget accommodation in patong!!!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor room as your view get blocked by bushes. Upper floors get a nice view of the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeleeburu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear “beeleeburu”

Thank you for taking the time to write a great and long review of our hotel and glad you both liked our hotel at an affordable price point. Grat value for money but being in a great location and having the facilities you need but not extra cost to pay for all the things you don’t need. The bean bags around the pool aren’t just super comfy and great for a quick nap or just relax.

The variety of food in Patong is just amazing you have from every food style to ambiance everything available. Great street hawkers with the carts. local restaurants and very nice dinning.

Stay Smart with us!

Sincere regards
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Staff very friendly, hotel very clean, as well as very cool design. And conveniently located (in Patong beach, 2 min from beach and 3min from the shopping area) but out of the noisy Patong. I stayed here with my husband and 6mo baby for almost 1 week, and I will highly recommend this place. Definitely worth it!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eliseinsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear “elseinsing”

It was our pleasure to have you and your family with us to enjoy all the activities available in Patong but finding the peace and quiet in our hotel very conveniently located just across the beach. Close to everything but far enough away from the noise.

Please let us know when you are making yoru way back to us.

Stay Smart with us!

Sincere regards
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Holiday inn express is nice hotel in excellent location in almost 2 mins walking from famous patong beach ... This hotel is very suitable for the people search for for clean nice hotel in good location and the one searching for hotel for relaxation after long day in city tour and outdoor trip also near shopping area so no need to go anywhere tonight as you will find everything near to you if you stayed in this hotel .

limited choices In breakfast menu however it's good start for your day but they should increase the choices in breakfast buffet

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear “Amir H”

Thank you for your great review highlighting our great location. Yes we are not luxury but offer great value for money in a fantastic location. We include free WiFi and the Express breakfast Bar in the room rates that you can save money with us and spend it elsewhere to enjoy your holiday. No hefty room bills at check-out and the items we offer at the lobby bar are all reasonable priced.

Stay Smart with us!

Sincere Regards
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Good location, within walking distance to Jungceylon Mall and Bangla Road. I like the fact that it is adequately far from Bangla Road so the area appreared more peaceful and safe.
It is a very new hotel so ameneties like gym and swimming pool were excellent. There is a kid's pool as well. Breakfast spread was not wide enough but they allow take aways e.g. hot coffee, hot chocolate, hot tea, muffins, fruits for guests on the go. Very convenient in my opinion.
Room was comfortable, spacious and clean.
Will stay here again if i go back to Phuket.
Oh and it's 5 minutes walk to the beach. Best location!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nahs731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear “nah731”

Thank you for taking time to review our Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central. Our “grab & go” is really a hit with our guests. Take the coffee ith you and enjoy around the pool or back in your room. We provide takeaway boxes for the people in the rush to go on tours as well. We are a select service hotel which offers a modern experience in our new hotel with great value for money. Fantastic location in Patong, just over the road to the beach with multiple restaurants the closest just to the left of the entry with Mam Café serving local and international meals.

Stay Smart with us!

Sincere regards
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.5 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 322 in Patong
716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#5 of 322 in Patong
1,638 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#25 of 322 in Patong
1,262 reviews
0.3 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#28 of 322 in Patong
1,559 reviews
0.1 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central

Property: Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Address: 8 Hatpatong Road, Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#17 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#25 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart International Hotel in Phuket Patong Beach.Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central is the smart choice for savvy leisure travelers, providing a relaxed, affordable and hassle-free stay all the time. Located adjacent to Patong Beach, Phuket's most popular and well-developed beach, we are within walking distance to a hub of shopping, dining and entertainment options. We are just a short 45 minutes drive from Phuket International Airport and 15 minutes from Phuket Town.Kick-start your day with our Free "Express Start" Breakfast and stay connected with free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Enjoy our high-quality bedding, shower, balcony and swimming pool experience to recharge after a day of leisure activities. You can have a restful sleep on our comfy bed, away from the noise of Patong's nightlife.The hotel features 277 brand new rooms with easy access to the beach or laze by our pool for ultimate relaxation. Our rooms are well-designed for everything you need for a great stay. Have an invigorating shower with our high quality bathroom equipped with a 3-head massage showerhead and a restful night with international standard bedding including 200 thread count sheets, duvet, a choice of soft and firm pillows.The hotel is minutes away from some of the city’s most exciting retail and dining attractions, including Jungceylon Shopping Mall, Patong Promenade and Beach Road Shopping. Value added benefits include Express Breakfast & complimentary Internet in each room. Consider becoming a Priority Club Rewards member to earn points towards free hotel stays, retail certificates or airline mileage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing