We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Ranked #20 of 329 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 12 nights. I emailed the area geaneral manager Dominic Egger to arrange transport from the airport which he did and arrived at the hotel to a warm welcome.From that moment on we had a great time and the hotel made our stay in Patong a memorable one.
Our room was lovely, quiet, and very clean. The towels and bed linnen were changed daily. One of our cases was broken in transit and I took it to reception where upon the maintenance guy fixed it in a few minutes. The breakfast was modest but ample. Fresh fruit, juice, toast, coffee, eggs, sausage, and cereal. The pool area was relaxing and it closed at 8pm so as guests would not be disturbed if housed near the pool. I would highly recommend this hotel.Vince & Shirley Burns England.

Room Tip: We stayed in block 4 (401) and found it very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vince B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Shirley and Vince

Appreciate you taking time to write a great review for our Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central. Love it that you enjoyed your nearly two weeks with us and team has looked after your very well and was able to fix your suite case.

We are now just operating over a year and getting a lot of great feedback for our value for money and service delivery and all of that in a great location of Patong. Close to everything but far enough away from the noise.

Please, let me know when you are coming back and do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance again.

Stay Smart with us!

Sincere regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

963 - 969 of 1,561 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed for 5 night. The hotel is clean and rooms are nice and quiet.
Location is just on the northern edge of the active part of Patong, and 3 minutes walk to the beach.
The breakfast buffet is acceptable, with one choice of eggs and sausages available, in addition to toast, cereals, and fresh fruit, as well as some rice dishes for the many Korean and Chinese guests.
The WiFi, however is not working in many of the rooms. Sometimes a connection can be made, but more often than not, it is slow or impossible to access the internet. Staff apologized, and claimed that it was because my room was too far from the router, but it seems that many guests were having trouble with in-room WiFi, as many were surfing in the reception area. WiFi is close to being as important to many travellers as is hot water, and more important than TV and Mini Bar. Why this has not yet been fixed yet is beyond my comprehension, as it is a known problem with a relatively simple solution: Install more WiFi access points.

The hotel is relatively expensive for what it offers, and much better deals can be found.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear “Morton”

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.
As you describe out hotel has a fantastic location which is just over the road to the beach, 5 minutes to all choices of restaurants. 10 minutes walk to the Bangla Road but far enough away from the noise.

Value for money - everyone has a different definition. We define value for money being in a great location, being most of the time nearly half the price to the other international hotels in the first road just across the beach. Our room price is including The Express Start Breakfast Bar and the option of the Grab & Go option to take the breakfast with you if you are on the road. You are paying for what you need and nothing else. You do not pay with your room rate the restaurant, the minibar, the kid’s club which you do not use. That’s how we are able to offer lower rates in such a great location.

Your assumption of guest using the WiFi in the lobby because it is not working is questionable. Years ago people read magazines, newspaper and books in the lobby when they waited and nowadays they use the smartphones when they wait for friends or to get picked up from the tour bus. A lot of guests are making the use of the WiFi before they leave and wait for their transfer. We have defined a couple of corner rooms which do not have the strength for smart phones but enough strength with a Laptop. We are at current looking at the router and cabling to ensure consistent signal for those highlighted rooms. As you highlight for us and our guests WiFi is important and that’s why we included it in our rates and not charge extra.

Stay Smart with us!

Sincere regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

My family (husband and 1 year old) & I recently stayed here.

The accommodation is very nice. Clean, bright, new, friendly & helpful staff and rather central. Close walking distance or 200thb tuk tuk ride to otop etc.

Downside is the large amount of inconsiderate (Asian) tourists which basically overtake the entire resort. Wether it be at breakfast (which is more like feeding time at the
Zoo - being pushed around just to get a piece of toast) or them running up and down the corridors at stupid hours, smoking outside our room, unable to swim so splashing around in the pool like they were drowning, it really put a dampener on our stay.

This is my 5th time to patong. Yes it's lovely here but Would I stay here again? Probably not. I can get a nice resort that's not so crazy and busy for a little more money.

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank elle_261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear “elle_261”

It was our pleasure to have you and your family with us. Patong is very seasonal and we have good mix of all nationalities in our hotel. Month by month the mix is different depending of the main holiday seasons. In December and New Year there is more western guest, in January more Russian guests with their main holiday season and with the Chinese New Year in February more Asian guests. This is not just in our hotel or Patong this visual in all resort destinations. Just talking to a colleague in the industry in Australia which highlighted as well the increase in Asian Guest over the Chinese New Year.

My team enjoyed to have you at our hotel and has loved your little one and when you decide to come back to us in the future please let me k now if I can be of any assistance with your booking for great value for money in a fantastic location in Patong just over the road to the beach.

Stay Smart with us!

Sincere regards

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed with my family over the Chinese New Year celebration and we were happy to see the staff being very attentive. Got a room upgrade as I am their platinum member and the suite room (which is widely not available in most, if not all Holiday Inn Express) was fairly big. This hotel also offers a swimming pool.

The hotel is close to the beach, less than 3 mins walk and it's just off the patong beach shopping as well.

I would highly recommend the stay at this hotel and I would not hesitate to book again in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear “Sean C”

You have done our TripAdvisor Review number 300!!!

Thank you very much for your great note about my team’s service delivery and the great location of our Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central. The IHG Rewards Club (free to join) is adding a great benefit for your stay with our hotel. Whilst we have the beach just across the road a lot of our guest enjoy the pool to quickly refresh before they go out again.

Please, let me know when you and your family are coming back and do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

Stay Smart with us!

Sincere regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed from 1 to 4 Feb. It is less than 5 mins walk to Patong Beach and probably Jungceylon Shopping Centre in 15 mins. No lack of food and shopping. Requested for smoke-free room and the room really smells clean and fresh. Room was very good except the pillows were far too soft and not too sound proof. It can get very noisy when other guests decides to talk loudly along the corridor.

Breakfast was a simple fare to start the day. Fried rice, rice soup, sausages and eggs for the 3 mornings we were there. The breakfast bar offers drinks and toasts to-go though for guests who are in a hurry. I thought that was quite thoughtful. Staff were helpful, from check in to check out - fast, efficient and friendly.

The pool and jacuzzi pool were great places to lie around for some private sun tanning. Not crowded like the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ling78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear "Ling 78"

Appreciate you taking time to write a review for our Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central and thank you for your visit.

The bedding is very important for our guests to relax on their break. We have on each bed two pillows, one Soft and one firm for the sweet dreams after a busy day in Patong.

The Grab & Go offer is very much liked, especially for the people leaving early on tours and trips to have some take-away when they get on the buses. This adds on to the value for money we offer as our Express Start Breakfast bar is all included in the rate same as with the WiFi to stay connected with the ones who have not been able to join you on the vacation.

Stay Smart with us!

Sincere regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We loved our stay here. It is situated very close to the beach and close to all major restaurants, shopping, etc. . The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable with very fast wifi!. The pool and pool area were great. Breakfast was good but a greater variety of food( bacon or ham or pancakes) would be a nice change from the eggs and sausages. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlesMDillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear “CharlesMDillon”

Greetings from Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our location just across the road to the beach and multiple restaurants from Thai to international choices is absolute perfect. The entertainment precinct is 10 minute walk away. Close enough to walk but far enough from the noise to have a relaxed sleeping experience.

With our Express Start Breakfast Bar we have all four hot items on a daily rotation and provide every day a different egg style: Omelet, scrambled eggs and fried eggs. Same with fried rice, rice soup and sausages. The Grab& Go option is as well liked from a lot of our guests to ensure to have a great start when they go on an early tour.

It is always a highlight for me to share with the team when they have been recognized for their great efforts they deliver day by day. Thank you very much for you comment.

Let me know when you are coming back to Patong and do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

Stay Smart with us!

Sincere regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night at this hotel and find it very good hotel indeed. The hotel is new and modern. Hotel exterior looks nice with a touch of purple colour making it very easy to find and recognise. This hotel has free parking and very usefull for us travelling by car and its safe too with guard 24hours. The reception is fast and lobby is very nice with a touch of open space ambience with colurful interior furniture. The location was great, everything was in the walking distance of patong famous places and attractions. Our superior room was great with extremely comfort bed and choices of 2 types of pillow which is soft and hard. Our room is on the 4th floor facing the road. We found it a bit noisy during late hours because of the location in the heart of patong. But that doesn't make us uncomfortable during sleep. Breakfast the day after was simple with limited choices. They only served fried mee with sausage and the rest are fruits and drinks. I just felt overpaid for the breakfast itself. The pool was great with new infiniti concept. Overal was great and pleasant stay.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pakoo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear “Pakoo D”

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and giving us the title very good.

We appreciate your great comments about the nice design of the hotel and our great location in Patong, just across the road to the beach. We get lot's of great comments about the sleep experience with our soft and firm pillows, enabling your choice of pillow for a relaxing and comfortable rest on your vacation.

Holiday Inn Express offers great value for money with the Express Start Breakfast Bar included to have a great start in the morning. A lot of our guest like the Grab & Go option enabling to take the breakfast away when they go on an early tour. As you highlight it is not a full buffet breakfast. Our Express Start Breakfast Bar caters for everyone. We offer for our Asian guests the congee and the fried rice, for the Western guest’s sausage dish and the egg dish (changing from scrambled eggs, to omelet to fried egg on a daily rotation). For the Middle East and South West Asian guests the salad bar. We have our bakery selection with muffins, danishes & croissants and toast breads. 3 different juices, 3 cereals, 2 yogurts and 3 cut & 2 local whole fruits every day.

We look forward to have you with us again and do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further assistance.

Stay Smart with us!

Sincere regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.1 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#9 of 329 in Patong
1,702 reviews
6.0 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 329 in Patong
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.3 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#26 of 329 in Patong
1,621 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central

Address: 8, Hatpatong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#17 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#25 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £49 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart International Hotel in Phuket Patong Beach.Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central is the smart choice for savvy leisure travelers, providing a relaxed, affordable and hassle-free stay all the time. Located adjacent to Patong Beach, Phuket's most popular and well-developed beach, we are within walking distance to a hub of shopping, dining and entertainment options. We are just a short 45 minutes drive from Phuket International Airport and 15 minutes from Phuket Town.Kick-start your day with our Free "Express Start" Breakfast and stay connected with free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Enjoy our high-quality bedding, shower, balcony and swimming pool experience to recharge after a day of leisure activities. You can have a restful sleep on our comfy bed, away from the noise of Patong's nightlife.The hotel features 277 brand new rooms with easy access to the beach or laze by our pool for ultimate relaxation. Our rooms are well-designed for everything you need for a great stay. Have an invigorating shower with our high quality bathroom equipped with a 3-head massage showerhead and a restful night with international standard bedding including 200 thread count sheets, duvet, a choice of soft and firm pillows.The hotel is minutes away from some of the city’s most exciting retail and dining attractions, including Jungceylon Shopping Mall, Patong Promenade and Beach Road Shopping. Value added benefits include Express Breakfast & complimentary Internet in each room. Consider becoming a Priority Club Rewards member to earn points towards free hotel stays, retail certificates or airline mileage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing