We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So near to everything yet far enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Ranked #22 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here with my family, check-in was a bit delayed but that is because we arrived early and was balanced out by an hour late check-out (1pm).Staff was friendly and helpful, pool and jacuzi is ample, there were so many guests stayed there, but you can never find the pool crowded. There is no life guard at the pool, but the depth (1.2 meters) is a real peace of mind for parents. Pool towels and umbrellas are given complimentary at the reception area, the best part is that you can get as many towels as you want, not only just for the pool but you can take them to the beach as well, and not to forget the umbrellas as rain showers can arrive on a short notice.
The hotel's location is just great for families with young children especially. You can go to the most noisiest part of Patong beach in just 10 minutes, yet one can have a peaceful sleep at night after a tiring day visiting different attractions. It has all the basic choices in breakfast which is free and included in the price, wifi worked flawlessly. One can walk to the Patong beach at a leisurely pace in about 2 minutes, there's a cafe, fruit stall, and 7/11 right next to the hotel. Eateries, tour agents, and shops start when you take the left turn to the main happening "Thaviwong Road" (Patong Beach Road). Families with young children please bear in mind that if you want to try different restaurants every time you go out, the walking time could range between 2-20 minutes (one way). However, you can hire a cab or a tuk tuk easily when you just step out of the hotel.
To summarize, this should be the first choice of stay at Patong beach for families on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank feika100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi “feika100”

It was our pleasure to have you and your family with us as and thank you for your great and extensive review of our Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central.

Our location with everything in close walking distance is just a great place with value for money especially with young children. The pool is in the center of the hotel. Some garden areas to relax, restaurants of Thai and international choices all in short walking distance around the hotel. For all the tours in Phuket and the surrounding islands you can get picked up at the hotel conveniently and shops are all along the streets for every taste from street stalls, to markets shops or the big JungCeylon shopping Center about 15 minutes walk.

Please let us know when you are making yoru way back to Patong and if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Stay Smart with us!

Sincere regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

891 - 897 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

If you are looking for a affordable yet chic hotel, this is your best bet.
Had a four night stay before moving on to another hotel in a different beach which charged double the price and half the satisfaction. Holiday Inn truly lives up to its name even though it labels itself as a "express".

Pros
You exit the hotel and cross the street and you're at the beach.
Staff are well versed in English, had no problem with communication.
Zero noise pollution from bars/street/beach/etc.
Rooms are beautiful, well cleaned, kept, brightly lit, perfect working order, ZERO faults.
Good decent gym for both cardio freaks and muscle busters.
A simple and good spread of breakfast buffet.
Coffee to go available during breakfast.

Cons
You have to walk really far to reach the town area.
Taxis(mafia) often refuse to go to hotel from town/shopping complex due to
"one way traffic" which can get annoying as they will charge extra.
Pool can get crowded real quick.

I have stayed in several other hotels in the past yet there is no other hotel i could recommend more than to stay in this one. I doubt any other hotel would charge this price considering how close it is to the beach. So stop reading and do yourself a favor and make the booking before the rooms are gone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinSchwarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Hi “KevinSchwarz”

Greetings from Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central and thank you for your excellent review for our hotel with our great price point.

Our Holiday Inn Express hotesl stands for great value for money that you can save with us and spend elsewhere during your holidays. We believe in our location with walking distance to the beach in less then two minuets, 5 minutes to all the Thai and international restaurants, 10 minutes walk to Bangla road which keeps you closee to the entertainment but far enough away from the noise at night time. Our comfy beds with the soft and firm pillows to give you a great sleep experience and sweet dreams…

Please let us know when you are making your way back to Patong and if we can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Stay Smart with us!

Sincere regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

- Friendly staff
- Hotel is well located, walking distance from the beach
- Nice spacious room with pool view
- Pool area was nice
- Excellent standard for a Holiday Inn Express
- 4 / 5 star quality hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shimal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi “Shimal S”

We are very glad that we could impress you with our Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central with our value for money in a great location.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review for our hotel. With our pool area, I hope you could enjoy the super comfy bean bags around the lower pool with the rain-water-shower. They are perfect for an afternoon snooze!

We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel and if we can be of any assistance for a future booking please let us know.

Stay Smart with us!

Sincere regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My girlfriend and I thought about having a relaxing holiday in Phuket and were looking at 4-star sea-facing resorts and hotels.

However, we planned for just a short trip and thought that it would not make financial sense if we were out of our hotel for most of the time.

The obvious choice was Holiday Inn Express Phuket, given its good reputation, convenience and honestly for me, it represented the best value for money.

It's a bit of a walk to the bustling night streets in Patong beach, but food and massage parlours are easily accessibile within 5 minutes of walking time.

Checking in and out was also a breeze and the staff are very patient and good English speakers.

I would highly recommend it for travellers who are looking for affordable accomodation without scrimping on the quality of amenities. It's not a beach-facing resort, but you are guaranteed to have a good shower and sleep after all the fun you've had in Phuket and its surrounding islands.

Room Tip: Being a member of IHG helps you get a better room I believe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jules_Song
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi “Jules_Song”

Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central and glad our rest and go concept of our hotel has worked for you. We believe that our concept is a great addition to Patong with all the resort hotels. Most people come to experience Patong and as you say, you can save money with us and spend it elsewhere to explore and have fun on our vibrant island.

Great location with everything in walking distance. Beach over the road in less than 2 minutes, Thai and international Restaurants, street shops and massage places all within 5 minute walking distance. Bangla Road 10 minutes and for the shopping center JungCeylon in a 15 minutes walk. There is a new street market as well just around the corner on the second road.

Please let us know when you are coming back for another short escape from Singapore.

Stay Smart with us!
Sincere regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

You arrive in a big Foyer, check in is quick,the room is clean , spacious with balcony .26 Channel TV.Fridge is a bit small..Breakfeast is big , but not to many Choices and they got a carry bag, so you can take Coffee with You..Also if You miss Breakfeast you can get a Hamper at the Desk to take away. Towels are free at the Desk to take to Pool or Beach. The Staff is friendly and very helpful Here is a 24 Hour little shop on the right side,where You can buy about everything cheap(500 ml Beer 44 Bath). And to the left about 15 meter is a Money Changer.It is short walk to the Beach.Also around the corner to the left is a Tourist information Both, which is a lot cheaper than in the hotel.600 Bath . Taxi back to the Airport, or 170 Bath in a Van.If you want quiet dont get a Room near the Pool. Used free Wi Fi and Skypes to talk to friends all over the World. Overall for the Money it is Exellent

Room Tip: If You go a lot to the Pool , ask for a Room near it, if You want quiet ask for a room away from it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilhelm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi “Wilhelm H”

Appreciate you are taking the time to write a review for our Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central and I would like to say thank you for your great explanations to your fellow travelers. The value for money proposition in a great location is important for today’s traveler and having the great experience with my team and the hotel offerings is what we are continuously aiming for.

Please let us know when you are making your way back to us and we can be of any assistance with your booking.

Stay Smart with us!

Sincere regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a great location n friendly staff that welcomes you upon check in. There is a convenient shop (7-11) to the right 20m from the lobby. If you are going to the airport you could either get a taxi from the lobby at 900bhat (usd30) or go across the street and flag a taxi for a cheaper price.
Be careful those taxi by the street you will need to bargain on the price before you jump in.
For food you could walk 10min to the best thai food in patong, name us called "No 6 restaurant" from the lobby go right till the junction n turn right; walk 10min n you will see the restaurant..There is usually a queue outsude the restaurant but it is worth waiting for. Favorite dishes are local pineapple fried rice n fried noodles called "pad-thai". Npte the place us crowded n without air conditioning so it hard for family with younger kids.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Alvin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi “Alvin”

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and appreciate the local inside you give. I have not been to No.6 as yet but will definitely try. We have multiple great choices around the hotel for every taste. This goes just outside of the hotel with the Mam café with Thai and international cuisine. Along the beach for great local Thai sunset dining or the Sam’s Steak house or 9th Floor for amazing meals and service.

For the Airport transfer we offer a great rate at THB 900 for new cars and driver which are insured. We never want think about an accident but this is the difference you pay between a taxi from the road or a hotel organized transfer.

There is as well a new airport bus which connects during day time the international airport to JungCeylon which is THB 120 per person and then a tuktuk from there to our hotel.

We look forward to have you with us again and if we can be of any assistance for a future booking do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Stay Smart with us!

Sincere regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Although I have been to the other Holiday Inn Express, I wouldn't really return back to Phuket Patong Beach Central again.

The hotel has it's pros:
Check in was a breeze and fast. The people at the service counter were very friendly and they even move out of their counter to show you the path that leads to your block number, considering that there are different blocks around. The location is great that it is really just a few steps away from Patong Beach. For the price paid, it is really quite cheap, considering the room size you are getting and the facilities like the pool. They allow for take-away breakfast and provide guest with the boxes and disposable cups for you to take the breakfast somewhere else, good if you are rushing for a morning trip.

The cons:
I checked in about mid-night and was really tired. Once I am into my room, I couldn't connect to my wifi. They mentioned that there were multiple users, when we have not connected at all. We called them and they say they will reset for us in 5 minutes. We waited, and it was done after 15 minutes. Next, we went to bathe to prepare to sleep. Just merely 5 minutes into the bath, the toilet started to choke up. The water is not flowing into the drainage. I had to end the bath quickly as the water started to flow into the toilet area. The design of the toilet is as such that the showering area and main toilet share the same door. Meaning, if I am showering and close the door, the other person using the toilet bowl will not have any door to close. So when the water is in the main toilet area, it may get into the room. Called for housekeeping and they came to fix the toilet after 10 minutes. When it is already mid-night you get frustrated with all these things.

It doesn't really help that Phuket is facing some power disruptions for this period of time, as informed by the reception upon check in. So be prepared for power shortage through the stay. Through enough on our first night, we were badly affected. The aircon was on and off the whole night and the room was stuffy and warm. We really didn't have a good sleep and was very glad that we only booked one night stay. However, we did not face this electricity problem when we checked into other hotels in Patong.

Food served during breakfast were pretty limited and some of the food like the eggs were terribly salty. The pool looked great but it was quite small and it was so crowded around 9 to 10 plus and we really didn't feel like going down.

If location matters to you, you can consider staying here as it is very convenient. The photos shown of the rooms are also true as what you see is what you get. But maybe unfortunately i met far too many glitches to give this hotel a higher rating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shirloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Hi “Shirloves”

Thank you for your review of our Hotel and I am glad you enjoyed the efficient check-in and the service delivery of the team; however I was extremely disappointed to read your comments about the issues you experienced with the plumbing, WiFi and Aircon. Glad that the team was able to fix it for you in a short period of time. The power disruption is not happening every day and affects currently all Southern Thailand due to maintenance of the pipeline from Malaysia to Thailand. Our Generator powers emergency supply to be a safe hotel but does not support air-condition during the power failure.

Great to read that you enjoyed our fantastic value for money in a great location of Patong.

Stay Smart with us!

Sincere regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.1 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#10 of 331 in Patong
1,724 reviews
6.0 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,174 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#29 of 331 in Patong
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#26 of 331 in Patong
1,645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 331 in Patong
765 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central

Address: 8, Hatpatong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#17 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#25 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £59 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart International Hotel in Phuket Patong Beach.Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central is the smart choice for savvy leisure travelers, providing a relaxed, affordable and hassle-free stay all the time. Located adjacent to Patong Beach, Phuket's most popular and well-developed beach, we are within walking distance to a hub of shopping, dining and entertainment options. We are just a short 45 minutes drive from Phuket International Airport and 15 minutes from Phuket Town.Kick-start your day with our Free "Express Start" Breakfast and stay connected with free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Enjoy our high-quality bedding, shower, balcony and swimming pool experience to recharge after a day of leisure activities. You can have a restful sleep on our comfy bed, away from the noise of Patong's nightlife.The hotel features 277 brand new rooms with easy access to the beach or laze by our pool for ultimate relaxation. Our rooms are well-designed for everything you need for a great stay. Have an invigorating shower with our high quality bathroom equipped with a 3-head massage showerhead and a restful night with international standard bedding including 200 thread count sheets, duvet, a choice of soft and firm pillows.The hotel is minutes away from some of the city’s most exciting retail and dining attractions, including Jungceylon Shopping Mall, Patong Promenade and Beach Road Shopping. Value added benefits include Express Breakfast & complimentary Internet in each room. Consider becoming a Priority Club Rewards member to earn points towards free hotel stays, retail certificates or airline mileage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing