We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place mate!”

Halfway Inn (Restaurant)
Ranked #9 of 553 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Thai, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are pleased to announce that, on the 2nd October 2016, we opened a second 'Halfway Inn' in the grounds of The Hill Resort, Patong, which is 400 metres past Simon Cabaret on the left hand side of the road heading South towards Karon, directly opposite PS Hill Resort. To avoid confusion the new place is known as 'Halfway Inn - The Hill Resort' on Facebook and the old place is known as 'Halfway Inn Bar, Patong'. The indoor covered restaurant has a very traditional Thai theme with 10 individual 6 seater salas (bamboo huts) for 60 diners, 12 standard tables providing seating for 48 customers, and a central 'Bamboo Bar' with stools for around 20 punters. There is also a large sports bar area with 2 pool tables, 2 large screen TV's, a 2 metre wide projector screen and enough space for a 5 piece live band. Outside there are a further 3 salas with seating for 18 customers and what will be a covered BBQ sala. There is spacious off-road parking for up to 4 cars (or minibuses) and 30 motorbikes and easy access North (towards Phuket Town and Kamala) or South (towards Karon, Kata, Chalong and Rawai). There is also an access ramp for disabled customers at The Hill Resort reception steps (although, admittedly, it needs some improvement). Customers, old and new, will welcome the fact that we have paid attention to the few negative reviews we have received on TripAdvisor (and constructive criticism from our regulars). There is now much more space between different dining groups, excellent washroom facilities, and (optional) segregation between the restaurant and sports bar areas (in one half you can enjoy watching live sports while dining and listening to the music whereas the other area is a bit more private). There are also comfortable rooms available at The Hill Resort, which is currently being renovated, bookings can be made online or in person. Bed and Breakfast prices are reasonable, the pool and rainforest surroundings are very pleasant, with a swim up bar, jacuzzi pool and kids pool. Some of the rooms on the upper levels have views over Patong Bay. Nan is enthused by the fact that can now create her mouth-watering dishes from a very large, modern kitchen with stainless steel appliances, the size of our existing restaurant / bar area in Soi Kepsap. We are both excited by the opportunities this new property offers and we trust that all our customers, old and new, will enjoy their visit here.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place mate!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

G'day Dave & Nan. Bit disappointed in some of the negative comments I have been reading lately. Some of these customers must be expecting to be seated at the Queens table. We were there in April 2013 and thought your place was fantastic. Food, drinks & the atmosphere spot on mate. Will be back in Patong in 2 weeks so will catch up with you all again soon. Hope the Aussies are on their way to being 2 nil up in the Ashes. Regards. Andrew & Susan.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    809
    176
    58
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Went on a Thursday night for BBQ. Owners Dave and Nan very welcoming and friendly.
Food was excellent. Neither good nor drink were expensive.
Showing football and rugby!
Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Cinders1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Budget, friendly, Delish!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We strolled down here for lunch off the back of its Trip Advisor Rating and were very happy with our decision.
Dave greeted us and Nan took our orders and cooked our food. A very warm and friendly personal experience!
We are 4 26yr old males who had just done a workout and had no idea on Thai food so we said to Nan "we're really hungry, can you bring us out a pile of dishes with meat in them" :D
They all tasted great but we liked best:

Fried Cashew Nuts - Chicken
Fried Curry Paste - Chicken
and we ordered another Fried Rice dish twice it was that good!

Played some free pool while we waited and all up we paid about 300B each and walked out full and satisfied.

Highly recommended :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GunHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W, Owner at Halfway Inn (Restaurant), responded to this review, 20 November 2013
thanks Jon, for taking the time to give us a really good review! My wife, Nan, is particularly impressed with young travellers who have the good manners to show their appreciation where it matters, by letting everyone else know about our business by writing a few complimentary words on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We had a quick lunch here and were really impressed by the friendly staff. The pad Thai was delicious and the icy cold beer was just what we needed!

Helpful?
1 Thank JacquiL0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N S W
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Grossly Overated”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The restaurant has 4 small tables with 3 chairs at each (inside) & 2 bench style seating arrangements out the front.. Meals are more expensive than many other larger restaurants in better locations. Dave & Nan are friendly. Alcoholic drinks are more expensive than many other bars in similar locations Meals are ordinary.
There are 3 'free BBQ's a week. As free as ping pong shows in Bangla Rd , free as a scratch ticket from the timeshare touts.
The tiled floor inside is badly damaged , the pool table has holes worn in the surface & every plate used to serve our meal on was different & appeared to be randomly selected from a 2nd hand shop.
Not what most would expect from the #3 restaurant in Patong !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank black_ribbon_NSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W, Owner at Halfway Inn (Restaurant), responded to this review, 4 November 2013
dear Black Ribbon NSW

thank you for your review, I have a few comments that I would like to make in response.

The FREE BBQ that we provide 3 times a week (Tuesday, Thursday and Sunday) is exactly what we advertise - we do not charge for the food and customers can eat as little or as much as they wish. The food is fresh from the market that day, many satisfied customers comment on the quality of the sausages and the way our cooks painstakingly marinade all the meat and seafood prior to cooking. Your comments comparing our FREE BBQ to a Ping Pong show or timeshare scratchcard ripoff do not accurately reflect the legitimate, upfront, honest policy I encourage here and I am disappointed that you felt the need to make those comments.

On BBQ nights the only thing we charge for is alcohol which should not come as a surprise to a seasoned traveller. We have found that nearly all our customers who reply to our invitation to a FREE BBQ (i.e. where we do not charge for food) reciprocate by having a few beers, enjoying themselves, playing Pool and making new friends.

There are several reasons why we charge slightly more for our drinks than other bars in the area notably the fact that we serve original spirits rather than the 'copy' spirits that are readily available in Thailand and which some other bars may choose to serve in order to keep costs down. We also specialise in serving our beer ice cold, never charge more than 80 baht and, for 3 hours every day between 4pm and 7pm, drop the price to 60 baht during Happy Hour. We are also a Sports Bar and customers can watch almost any sport on 5 independent TV's in a fully air-conditioned, non-smoking environment.

Our meal prices are actually the same or cheaper than most other establishments in the immediate area, we have had many positive comments about the taste and quality of the food, the only surprising complaints being that our portion sizes are too large!

I agree with your comment that the pool table surface leaves a bit to be desired, however the table is perfectly level, the cues are straight, the cloth is fast, and most of all it is totally FREE to everyone all day, every day. The small hole has been caused by inexperienced players (felt rippers) repeatedly breaking from the spot, which would annoy any pool player of standing. The table will be recovered in the near future. I also agree with your comment about the holes in the floor, again caused by 'felt rippers' smashing the ball off the table, again I have plans to source some sort of rubberised floor covering to improve the appearance of our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Halfway Inn (Restaurant) also viewed

 

Been to Halfway Inn (Restaurant)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing