We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to Phuket”
Review of The Artist House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Artist House
Ranked #58 of 232 Speciality Lodging in Patong
Reviewed 22 December 2013

After looking through many hotels, my travelling partner and I decided to stay at the Artist House. Since they had a promotion going on, we took the opportunity to grab it. Artist house is built along the construction side near to Patong Beach. Honestly, reviews did mentioned that the beach is really far from the hotel but if you're okay with walking about 10mins to the beach and taking a stroll around the town to see the shops and restaurants, why not cos it's really worth it trust me. The Artist is very near to convenient stores and laundry stores that can cater to own personal needs.

We stayed at the highest level (level 5) and unfortunately, they do not have any elevators. So climbing up and down for some of travellers can be quite a hassle. We stayed for 5D4N at the Artist and honestly, we had quite an adventure there. The lobby was decorated with visual arts which I personally find them quite nice. They do have turn down service every night and they top up the mineral water for you everyday. The Artist House tried to make our stay a pleasant but I do think that they went beyond the standard expectations (other than the fact that the entire Patong had a major black out at 0000hrs on the last day which last for almost an hour). The Artist House was also near to quite a lot of good food (Western, Thai & Seafood) and their famous banana bread / Prata.

The service from both of the receptionists were brilliant. They ensured that everything went smoothly for our 5D4N trip. Taxis / Limousines / Chauffeurs were booked on time, everything was planned out accordingly. Nothing was left out. They do take note of our habits, to ensure you feel at home. Also, they are quite knowledgeable about shows / trips / travel agents. Ask them anything, they can provide you a convincing answer. Kudos to them!

Oraya, the Sales manager ensured that all our pre-arrival checklist was cleared prior to our arrival. Didn't have the chance to meet her and say Hi though. The office was always closed!

The only thing that the Artist should work on is the plumbing. No, not that they can't flush the toilet or anything but there's always a smell of the drainage inside the room, everyday no matter how clean the room was. I think it maybe the main drainage area from the outside and the smell just rise up to our room. If you're okay with it, don't get bothered by it. Oh, they should have all of their staffs that could at least converse in Basic English so that when the reception is closed at 2300hrs, we can get assistance from the other staffs.

Overall, first trip to Phuket for us was quite a memorable trip, with the help of the Artist House. Would definitely come back for another stay, next year!

Note: Try walking around the area rather than flagging a cab or Tuk-Tuk, its expensive and you'll get to see A LOT of things. Saves you quite a lot of money too!

Room Tip: The seaview rooms are actually not sea view at all. If you don't mind climbing stairways, take t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hellofee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

I have been travelling for a year and stayed here in March 2013! The hotel/house itself is really nice. The rooms are a decent size and bathrooms, with your own tv and fridge. The staff are very nice and friendly. The only issue we found was that it was a bit of a walk to the beach and town. There is a short cut but it's not the safest route. Apart from that it was nice, clean and good for price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank han_5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

In summary, nice hotel, nice people, nice service. Happy experience in this hotel. I had a little party with staffs in this hotel in the last day staying. We talked a lot for studying, emotion and each other's country. The staffs are all nice. And the design is really excellent, just like the name of this hotel "the artist house". Overall, I have a happy time there, and I hope I can come back with my friend and girlfriend in future.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samtan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We spent 3 nights in this hotel. It's a good place for a budget stay, only if you are planning just to sleep.

Pros:
+ Price
+ Friendly staff
+ Tea set in the room
+ 7-Eleven and Familymart are a stone away

Cons:
- A strong smell of the bathroom. Though the hotel was new
- Construction performed around the hotel
- Far from city center and the beach

If you don't mind about bathroom smell, you can choose it. It's good for a budget stay. I'd choose another place for a stay next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lempert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The property is new and well maintained till the date of review. The price is ok. I did not receive breakfast bundled with the room rent. The property is approx. 3 km away from the main beach and is at the end of Patong city. The room quality is excellent and staff helpful. I stayed here for a day and used it mainly for over night good sleep. Being an vegetarian had no veg food options around. Had to go to Patong beach and Jungceylon for veg food. However there are lot of Muslim Halal restaurants around as this hotel is near a Mosque. The location of hotel on Google maps is incorrect. This hotel is opposite Wat Suwankiriwong School. Fining this hotel was not easy though it is on the main road. But the rooms are quite and pleasant as this hotel is small. It is not chaotic. But for its location you will not regret staying here.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room # 21 which had balcony facing the entrance road, so could not open the curtains. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pratik57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

As soon as I began contact with the Artist House, the staff was incredibly accomodating. They treated my girlfriend and I like royalty and went the extra mile to take care of our needs. They set up a cheap tour for us and even allowed us to take a shower in a room AFTER we checked out (because we spent all day Sunday on the tour)!!

I seriously recommend this to anyone who wants to experience Patong and the entire area without having to stay near the main strip.

The room was top notch and the room service was cheap and good. The hotel was finished in 2012, so everything is new and fresh, very comfortable beds as well.

All-in-all, if you are looking for a nice place to stay on a budget, there is no way you can do better than the Artist House. I hope to go back again soon!

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so try to book a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor to ease the burn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My wife and I came back home after 3 nights at this excellent hotel fully contented and with a wish to go back. The staff are friendly and service minded and they succeeded in making the stay absolutely memorable. The hotel is new, clean, fresh with a modern design in 5 floors with two rooms in each level and no lift.
The location in a side street with no traffic, approximately 1 km from the beach and 1, 7 km to the walking street Bangla road. The hotel have their own scooters for rental to a very reasonable cost. 30 min driving to both north and south reveals some very nice beaches to be during daytime while spending the evening in town makes this hotel location absolutely central. We will choose this hotel next time in Phuket.

Room Tip: No lift so ask for 2nd and 3rd floor if you have a bad condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per-Inge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.7 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#67 of 331 in Patong
304 reviews
1.5 mi away
Breezotel
Breezotel
#27 of 331 in Patong
259 reviews
1.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The Little Moon Residence
The Little Moon Residence
#50 of 331 in Patong
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Patong Studio Apartments
Patong Studio Apartments
#16 of 232 in Patong
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Artist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Artist House

Address: 86/36 Prabaramee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 232 Speciality Lodging in Patong
Price Range: £13 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Artist House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Artist House located on Prabaramee Road Patong Phuket Thailand, far away from Patong Beach around 900 meters and far from Junceylon Shopping Mall around 10 minutes. Our hotel have 5 floor and 8 rooms with local Art Gallery on the first floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Artist House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Artist House Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing