We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for what you pay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of 88 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
88 Hotel
Ranked #316 of 396 Patong B&B and Inns
gold coast
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good for what you pay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at 88 hotel for 8 days in February.
The rooms were small but good enough, after all you don't spend much time in your room.
When I arrived they placed us in a room with two singles despite paying for a queen, they could not accommodate us that night but we moved the next day. They tried to say I had made the mistake but I had paperwork to back me up - made me very mad!
The air con worked well but they only supply one room key and once the card is taken out of the power slot all the electricity goes off, including the fridge which is annoying to come home to hot drinks.
Also when they clean the rooms they leave the bathroom open which brings in the smell from the water. Not pleasant.
I found the staff not very friendly, most can't speak English which I don't mind but I do mind when they nod their head yes to what you are saying rather than letting you know they don't understand you - this lead to an annoying incident in which they tried to charge me for something I had not received.
The breakfast is crap - it's the same choice every day, if you enjoy mystery meat then you are ok. I ditched the breakfast and went down the road every day for much better choices.
The hotel pool is good, on the roof and no one really uses it so we pretty much had it to ourselves every day.
The hotel is on nanai road, quick walk to juncelon shopping centre and bangla road.
There is no safe in your room, they have a box at the front desk that you can lock your things in but I don't trust them with my passport.
Overall I would say that if your looking for a cheap, clean hotel then stay here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Allison Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    18
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
7
23
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed in Hotel 88 for one week before relocating to Singapore. We were only looking at a certain budget which it fell into. We booked this about a week before requesting a balcony and a queen bed which they confirmed, on arrival it was obvious they had forgot about our arrival, hence us being given a twin single bed right on the road. Once we informed them of the mistake they were unable to fix until midday the next day, in which we had to move rooms again. The breakfast is ok, but if you are prepared to walk 50m down the road you can get a real coffee and breakfast, and I don't think the hotels breakfast is worth 200 Baht. The room is small but not more than i would expect for $50 a night, but the bathroom is tiny and the room always smell once you forget to close the bathroom door as the smell of the street would come through the window. We asked about having 2 card to keep the aircon going and reduce the smell but was not accommodated, and the wifi cuts out quite a lot. We had 2 plastic chairs outside on our balcony and while sitting on one the leg broke ( and I'm not fat), when reported to the staff they were okay with it, but upon check out they tried to charge us 800 Baht. If we had broke it doing something stupid i would agree to paying it but seeing as it broke cause it was poor chair and the staff knew this i found this to leave a sour taste in my mouth. The hotel is about a 200m walk from Junceylon and Bangla rd boxing stadium. There are many food stalls around with great food, and plenty places to drink. I found the pool the best assets as many times I went in we were alone and had the pool to ourselves for many hours to relax and get some sun. I would stay here again, but I am more inclined to look at other places first. The staff were friendly, but I got what I paid for.

Room Tip: Ask for queen bed with balcony facing away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfernurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humpty Doo, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Good little hotel in walking distance to everything in the Patong area - Beach 15min. WiFi good. Good friendly service, and nice brekky. Rooms are small, but clean. No safe in the rooms, and no complimentary tea and coffee, but you can borrow an electric jug. Nice swimming pool on the 8th floor. Good cheap tucker at the Thai restaurant next door. Overall very good.
Cheers Niels & Mary, Humpty Doo, Darwin, Down Under

Room Tip: Top floor, city side is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NielsAndMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Friendly day staff ( no so for the ones working the graveyard shift !!) Nice comfortable rooms with free wifi. Small pool but good enough for anyone who just wanna have a dip in it. Location wise.... about 10 minutes or slightly more if you are heading to the beach ( 7 or 8 minutes as in previous review can't get you there ) but if you have a good pair of walking shoes, everything's fine !! Breakfast was definitely good, not buffet but the serving should be good for anyone!!!!!!

Room Tip: Get the rooms with the balcony, just pay a bit more!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 514Fantastic101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Good hotel, value for money. Smiley friendly reception staff let us check in at 11.30am.
Good, clean room with tv with lots of channels, free water daily. We were on 3rd floor, good free wi-fi signal in room and reception area. No wi-fi signal on rooftop pool area. Nice basic pool area with 6 sunbeds, always quiet so available beds.
Good location, no noisy bars around, 10min walk to big jungacelon shopping centre and bangla road, 15mins to beach. Lovely Thai family run restaurant next door to hotel (left out of reception) very cheap, amazing food, hidden gem for Thai food!! We booked room with breakfast but shouldnt have bothered, serves till 11am, not the best breakfast!
Alround fab hotel in good location!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sami T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Excellent hotel in all ways... Wifi in bedroom was awesome.. Staffs and reception was v friendly... I like the hotel v much.. I recommend this hotel to all.. Nice stay and to relax.. Bedroom was very clean and very comfortable.. Spacious.. Worth for the money that we spend on this hotel...

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rajaramandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed 8 nights at this hotel, good location only 10 minute walk to beach or nightlife area. Rooms bit on the small side but everything appears new. Great little Thai restaurant on the opposite side of the road to the left of hotel with sign saying fast food 50baht. Will stay at hotel again

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.8 mi away
Green Harbor Service Apartment
0.3 mi away
Pimrada Hotel
Pimrada Hotel
#177 of 396 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Good Nice 2 Guesthouse
Good Nice 2 Guesthouse
#304 of 396 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunset Mansion Hotel
Sunset Mansion Hotel
#370 of 982 in Phuket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.0 mi away
Triple Rund Place
Triple Rund Place
#185 of 492 in Kathu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.5 mi away
Good Nice Hotel
Good Nice Hotel
#327 of 396 in Patong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 88 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 88 Hotel

Property: 88 Hotel
Address: 88 Nanai Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 88 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly opened hotel has 30 rooms on 7 floors with superior balconiesrooms and standard rooms overlooking Patong Hill. Each floor of the hotelis served by elevator for easy access and complete ground floor with cosylobby adjacent to the small restaurant serves breakfast and dinner.The Location near International shopping of Patong and convenience stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your 88 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
88 Hotel Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing