We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for”
Review of 88 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
88 Hotel
Ranked #280 of 423 Patong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2014

It's a cheap stay. For value for money you can't go too far wrong. The bathroom is clean. There are insects trough the hotel. My room had ants but it wasn't to much of a drama. The road at the front is noisy so see if you can get a room at the back. The pool on the roof is really good but be careful getting in and out as it can be a bit slippery. TV is terrible very limited selection of English language programming. The elevator bell is noisy as well. I found the staff to be caring and friendly. Try and learn a few Thai words and they will go out of their way to help you. If you want to travel on a budget I would tell you to stay here. Though next time I go I will probably pay a bit more just for quieter room. Oh and the rooms have no kettle you have to use the urn in the lobby. You can buy a kettle for $8 Australian at the Big Supermarket down the road in the shopping centre. You can see it from the roof.

Room Tip: Room at back, Beds are hard and no kettle in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank VinceistheMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights. We had superior room on 7th floor. The room was big enough with A/C, balcony, fridge, and wonderful view. Great pool on the roof. Breakfast good enough. Great restaurant right next to the hotel, left when going out (local family restaurant, best Thai food we had). 15 min from craziness of Bangla road, and 20 minutes from Patong Beach.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Malik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The room was clean enough and had a clean bath room too. Actually, the staff were nice but they didn't understand english. Near to convenience store(seven eleven). There was no security officer arround the hotel or I have looked them during my visit.
I will be back here because they have reasonable price, a very valuable price for a hotel in Phuket. Highly recommended for back packers and low budget people.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Edwin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here for 9 nights in the hotel - double A/C room with breakfast. The hotel is on 8 floors (5 rooms per floor) we were in 504. Room was spacious located at rear with part sea/town/hill views with balcony and 2 chairs. Lift to all floors with large breakfast area on ground floor and seating area - plus a rooftop small pool with 2 seating areas and loungers (a real oasis up there!)! It is 20 minutes on foot from the beach, it is on the road but was quiet. We stayed here in low season and so got a great deal on Agoda (<$20usd) with breakfast. Breakfast was very good; toast, jam, butter, tea (or coffee), juice , fruit, plus eggs any style with ham/sausage/bacon... Very Tasty! To have an amazing breakfast included in the price was such a bonus. Staff were at all times friendly and professional. Our room was spacious and comfortable with A/C, TV with many channels, Tea/Coffe making facilities, 2 x water per day, Hot shower and full western bathroom. Room was cleaned/changed daily and water/toiletries/towels all renewed. Hired 125cc scooter for 200B per day - great value too. Next door was (left when leaving) was a great restaurant too! Stunning value stay. Very Highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Rear of hotel upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Sheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights..location was great..10 minute stroll from the madness of bangla st..rooms was excellent considering the price. .nice little pool on the rooftop. .only thing was groups of middle aged sex tourists around..

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fergus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on 3 separate occasions over 1 month April 2014 - first room was a standard located on level 6 paid $20 Aus a night. The good: very comfy bed, great shower and modern. The bad: tiny room, filthy walls and really noisy (road outside + the internal hotel noise lift, doors banging etc) non sound proof rooms) Second room on level 2 Superior paid $28 Aus a night. The good - same as the standard and comes with a small balcony. The bad: called front desk and asked for 2 extra pillows and the girl said "no we don't have any more" 15mins later the room service lady knocks on my door and gives me 2 pillows?? balcony door wouldn't lock and no view just the front yard of the guesthouse behind the hotel and again really noisy. The third room level 7 superior paid $30 Aus a night. Walked in and immediately thought wow now we're talking!! Great view of Patong and the room seems to be a lot nicer/cleaner than the previous 2.... Then the problems started to occur... Ants crawling through the room and on the bed, toilet wouldn't flush, shower water pressure shocking (had to duck upstairs and use the pool shower) aircon leaking water and still noise from the lift, doors etc. I guess you get what you pay for... Nice rooftop pool, never ate breakfast here so can't comment. If you're a backpacker/young party animal this place is great!! If you're wanting a relaxing holiday DONT STAY HERE pay the extra $10 - $20 a night and stay in a resort. I wouldn't pay anymore than $30 a night to stay here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank JulesM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights early March paying around $50 a night through lastminute.com staying in a standard room with balcony on the 7th floor. The hotel is situated on a relatively quiet section of Nanai road but is within easy walking distance of Banzaan market, Jungceylon, Soi Sansabai, Bangla road and the beach. The room itself is clean, modern and fresh but a little on the small side, but came with AC, flat screen wall mounted TV with western channels, small fridge and wardrobe. There was no room safe or tea/coffee making amenities although they did provide us with kettle and cups when requested. We had continual problems with the shower and sink water backing up and from time to time the toilet was slow to flush. Free WIFI is available and they have a small plunge pool on the rooftop and about six lounge chairs available. The staff are very friendly but English language is limited. All in all its an ok hotel that I wouldn’t get too excited about but would be happy enough to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.9 mi away
I Dee Hotel
I Dee Hotel
#286 of 337 in Patong
44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pimrada Hotel
Pimrada Hotel
#197 of 423 in Patong
37 reviews
1 mi away
Sunset Mansion Hotel
Sunset Mansion Hotel
#726 of 1,097 in Phuket
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lamai Apartment
Lamai Apartment
#178 of 241 in Patong
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Good Nice 2 Guesthouse
Good Nice 2 Guesthouse
#296 of 423 in Patong
14 reviews
0.9 mi away
Malin Patong Hotel
Malin Patong Hotel
#297 of 423 in Patong
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 88 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 88 Hotel

Address: 88 Nanai Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 423 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range: £21 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 88 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly opened hotel has 30 rooms on 7 floors with superior balconiesrooms and standard rooms overlooking Patong Hill. Each floor of the hotelis served by elevator for easy access and complete ground floor with cosylobby adjacent to the small restaurant serves breakfast and dinner.The Location near International shopping of Patong and convenience stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 88 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
88 Hotel Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing