We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good night out”

Bangla Boxing Stadium
Ranked #12 of 57 things to do in Patong
Attraction details
leicestershire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“good night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

After really not being interested in the thai boxing i was dragged along by my husband, but I have to say i really enjoyed it was different to what i thought and can say im glad i experience a thai culture that is very popular among locals and travellers, it was quite reasonable but wouldnt pay extra for the ring side seats as the view is better in normal seats.
There was about 5 fights in total and lasted about an hour and a half but seemed to go really quick.
glad i went!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mandalLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    218
    92
    24
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

9 fights all up. Starts a little slow with the juniors having the first 3 or 4 fights, but after then it picks up tempo. Ringside is great but we preferred the stadium seats as they are only 5 or 10m further back, but elevated for a better view

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Banglas Duende Boys”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is an experience we did not want to miss even though it was so hot.We booked superior seats for 2000 Baht each.The cheapest being 1700 and most expensive 2500.
There were eight fights starting from youngsters to adult professional's.The fans worked well and it was airy,although the beer was three times the cost upstairs.
The boxing was fast and furious on occasion and the skill evident as the drums beat a sound that the boxers moved to.
The seats were terraces of ply covered in gym mats and after the initial hour of being fine my derrier and legs ached in time to the drum.I think you should go just for the crowd watching to he had!!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderingbrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average Thai Boxing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

After listening to the continuous and irritating sound of boxing vehicles driving around Patong Beach advertising the Thai Boxing, I decided to see what all the hype was about. I took my 19-year old son to see the boxing at Bangla Stadium and the best way to express the quality of the boxing was 'average'. It was very expensive to see the boxing (about AU$45-50 per person) and it was definitely not worth the money. You also have to be careful as there were people trying to arrange betting with you for the fights. I (politely) told them to go away. If you have never watched Thai Boxing before and you want to experience it for yourself, then go along. If you want my advice, I would recommend you watch some on YouTube and save yourself the high cost.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DJaaayyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Bangla Boxing Stadium”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Too expensive, the seats were not good, It was very noisy and stifIingly hot we won't go back , you'll have to make your own mind up, but make sure you're happy with the seat first!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TrevnDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bangla Boxing Stadium also viewed

 

Been to Bangla Boxing Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing