We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful staff!”
Review of Balcony Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balcony Hostel
Ranked #14 of 230 Speciality Lodging in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here the food is good too and it has a nice friendly atmosphere. Staff were really helpful, the only thing that was a minus was the noise from the roads and construction. But you get what you pay for.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

This hostel was better than any hostel I've been in Australia and it's so cheap! The staff was so caring and always smiling. I felt very welcome and would recommend this place to everyone! I was on the 5th floor... unfortunately there is no lift so the staff brought my heavy bag up the stairs, so lovely :) The room was cleaned everyday, the beds were really big and from the balcony you could look all over Patong, even you could see the beach. A really good thing was that there was a market maybe 50m on the left of the hostel so I could grab some yummy streetfood everyday. The shops and the beach are not far away as well. Thank you very much Balcony Hostel for having me as your guest :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank moemeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The staff at this hostel are brilliant!! Really go out of their way to be as helpful as possible. Location was good. Just far enough away from the carnage so you can get a good nights sleep. Beds are very comfy. Rooms are clean and air-conditioned but could do with a little more love, perhaps a new paint job but that's a minor issue everything else is really great. 24 reception always useful in Patong.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KattyMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hostel has five floor but there's no lift!
Just a bit tired to walk up and down. Especially if you stay on the fifth floor.
I think the mix dorm room is not spacious enough. But that's not a problem if you just stay in the hostel for sleep. And the room it's not clean enough when i just checked in. I can see the dirt under the bed. Sorry.... :(
My aircon is leaked! Water won't stop dropping. It's a bit annoying.


But so far, staff is so nice and friendly...
Nice view from the balcony. Love it!
Maybe that's why they called it Balcony Hostel.
You can just walk for less than 5 minute from the hostel and then you'll find a Night Market called Malin Plaza. And Patong beach is just a few minutes away ...
And the Simon Cabaret too!! You just have to walk 5 minutes from the hostel if you want to watch the cabaret show.
Quite strategic place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Its_Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Clean, air-conditioned rooms, 24-hour front desk, good hostel computers for free use, bar, restaurant, excellent staff, nice bathrooms in each room...just a great stay all around. Close to everything, but far enough away to be quiet. Easily recommended

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Derek N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Hostel is a 15 minute walk to the beach and a 200 baht tuk-tuk drive from the town (a little hard to find). Staff where extremely friendly. Our room was large and clean but in a little need of some TLC. Our room also had a large balcony and a computer with internet access.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali-Bongo3019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Amazing a/c and comfy beds, and great staff that helped with all our needs!

Bring your own towel or rent one for 150bht.

Walking distance to Patong beach. Lots of shopping areas very close.

Helpful for arranging cabs and tours to the islands.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Alysha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neong N, Owner at Balcony Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Wow thank you so much for your good review.
Every one work hard for your biggest smile.thank for support thank for your smile thank for your friendship we hope to see u again.
One more thing i think it wrong towel for hire it just 50 thb. Not 150 thb.
Every one love u
Balcony hostel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.4 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 329 in Patong
750 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fin Hostel Phuket
Fin Hostel Phuket
#6 of 113 in Karon
208 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bed Hostel Phuket
Bed Hostel Phuket
#2 of 12 in Talat Yai
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lub d Phuket Patong
Lub d Phuket Patong
#1 of 230 in Patong
242 reviews
0.9 mi away
Patong Backpacker Hostel
Patong Backpacker Hostel
#21 of 230 in Patong
168 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lupta Hostel
Lupta Hostel
#3 of 230 in Patong
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony Hostel

Address: 34/23 Prachanukroh Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 230 Speciality Lodging in Patong
Price Range: £9 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Balcony Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-minute drive from Patong Beach, Balcony Hostel offers private and dormitory rooms with air-conditioning. The hostel is equipped with a tour desk and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. The hostel is a 10-minute drive to Jungceylon Shopping Centre and Bangla Road. It is a 20-minute drive to Phuket Town and a 55-minute drive to Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Balcony Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony Hostel Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing