We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Beaconsfield Upper, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My partner and I stayed 1 week in a pool side room which we would highly recommend. It was only 4 steps away from the pool with a nice private terrace with our own sun lounges on it. The swim out rooms, which are more expensive and actaully not that private and we didnt think they were worth paying the extra money for. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the buffet breakfast was the best we had ever had. The only down side of this hotel was the mattress was very hard so it was a bit uncomfortable. The location is fantastic. You only need to walk 100 metres and you are right in the action of the main beach street. We had a great stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Best room is the pool side rooms but not the private pool side ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,025
    746
    246
    85
    85
See reviews for
406
979
68
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Don’t get me wrong, from my experience the Ban Thai is a nice, comfortable and safe hotel.
But I felt this hotel just lacked that special something and I was a little underwhelmed when my girlfiend and I stayed there for 10 days in April 2012.
Located right in the heart of Patong, but setback enough from the main strip to avoid the noise of Singha-fuelled revellers, the hotel is clean and modern and boasts three large pool areas.
Each pool has its own characteristics and swim-up bar – with drinks at reasonable prices – local beers are about 100-150 baht and there’s an extensive cocktail list that average about 200 baht (plus tax and service charges).
You’ll get your grog for about a quarter of that at 7-11 or from street vendors, but if you take on board the service and paying for the privilege, you are still getting a pretty good deal by western standards.
As others before me have posted, on check-in we were welcomed with a refresher towel and exotic cool drink, while hotel staff prepared our room (we stayed in a superior room).
The third floor room was modern and clean, although the bath looked a little worse for wear and needed a good scrub.
The staff were friendly, their service was prompt and it usually came with a customary Thai smile.
There were a few minor cons that kept the hotel from being an absolute winner including:
*Our room was modern, but a little plain – we had issues with our sink and the water temperature in the shower went from icy to boiling hot;
*The TV in our room was super touchy – it was overly complicated and was a pain to use;
*Using the internet was highly overpriced – it cost about 150 baht for an hour – when most hotels are free.

Room Tip: Order an extra security card for your room to ensure your air conditioning stays on when you are out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MickSinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed at the Banthai Phuket for 7 days on the 21st April...
We found it to be very comfortable...service was great. The rooms are only have simple decor
but neat and clean. Breakfast was super. All in all we had a lovely stay and we would highly recommend this lovely resort.

Room Tip: Delux pool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Just returned from 3 weeks at the Banthai, this is the second time we have stayed and I would highly recommend it. The staff are fantastic including Front Desk, Pool Bar, Restaurant, housemaids, gardeners, everyone. The staff were sensational, the front desk staff were always friendly (a special mention to Nar Ho), our room lady was fantastic (often our towels were folded in to rabbits etc) and the pool staff, Timmy, Nick, Jack and Sam really made our time by the pool a lot of fun. We went with 2 couples and we had deluxe rooms all together, only a couple of steps to the pool The rooms were well equipped and air con worked well, great showers. The Egg Man and Garm on the restuarant terrace were fantastic, always greeting you warmly and Garm always remembered the tea/coffee requirements. Yes, plenty of Aussies there, all were friendly and respectful, no problem with late night noise or late night swimming. A great place to stay, with the biggest smiles to greet you wherever you were in the hotel. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in a group of 10. The service is very good and the rooms are spacious even for a standard one. Good shower with a nice high head, good cupboard space. Easy acces day and night and fairly quiet at night so you can get a decent sleep but don't try to sleep in too late as the rooms all face the pools. The pools are good with well serviced swim-up bar.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Noodnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

It was our first trip to Phuket and it couldnt have been any better. The hotel is a perfect location it is near everything! The rooms are nice and big and they lay down your room in the evenings. If you have your Birthday while there they will go out of their way to write Happy Birthday on the bed in Petals and give you a cake at breakfast and sing Happy Birthday. Jack who works at the Pool Bar is the best! Gave us some very helpful tips and let us know of tours that we might like. Even though the hotel is in the middle of everything it is still secluded from everything and there is no noise at night when trying to sleep. At the front of the Hotel there is a number of Secruity Guards who will always salute you on your way out or in which is really nice! The Breakfast in the morning is GREAT and the Egg Man makes the BEST eggs anyway you want! There was an earthquake when we were there and the staff were very helpful and said if we did need to evacuate they would knock on everyones doors and let them know what needs to be done thankfully we werent evacutaed.
We just stayed in a normal Superior Room (the cheapest room) and it was fine very big room with balcony! The Pool Rooms looked nice but could get a bit noisy with people swimming in the pool if you're trying to relax. The beds are a little hard and could be softer but we aked for something to be put on our bed to make it better and they did it straight away.

I will deffinently be coming back to this hotel again on our next stay, already want to start planning a holiday back Phuket is lovely.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We had a great time staying at the Bannthai. The rooms are clean and large with a turn down service every night, the beds were hard and could be better with a softer mattress. I would suggest the pool view deluxe room, only a few steps to the pool. Breakfast was great and a special mention to Mr Egg at the egg station who put a smile on our faces every morning.The staff were fantastic from the moment we checked in, the best times were with Tim at the pool bar who continually "made us more sexy" and from sweet Julie who seem too work at all the bars thanks guys. The resort is close to everything, shopping, places to eat, the beach, all are within walking distance even Bangla Road only 5 min walk up the main rd.

Room Tip: Don't pay for pool access rooms when the pool view room is only a few steps away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.3 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#27 of 321 in Patong
1,557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#23 of 321 in Patong
1,262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#5 of 321 in Patong
1,638 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banthai Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banthai Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 94 Thaveewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#16 Spa Hotel in Patong
#18 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#19 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Banthai Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, Travelbag, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Banthai Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Beach Hotel Patong
Banthai Beach Resort And Spa
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing