We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noise lots of it and cockroaches” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banthai Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #28 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Noise lots of it and cockroaches”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Hi just booked out of the banthai never again. Disinterested staff poor service tired rooms dry noisy especially if your room faces the lobby bat. Cockroaches in room . No free internet they charge for everything no free pickup from the airport. Banthai bus costs 100 bhat more than a taxi charges.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    997
    719
    240
    85
    84
See reviews for
391
956
64
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

What can I say except Banthai is possibly the best hotel in Phuket (if not the whole of Thailand).Just came home from my fourth stay at the Banthai resort and still can but fault the resort.I celebrated my birthday while in Phuket and the staff at the Banthai all made sure I had a memorable and beautiful day.They started off with leaving a fruit basket and lovely card in the room followed by a gorgeous cocktail made by the amazing Tim at pool bar 2. Later in the afternoon they surprised me with a birthday cake which was so yummy and then when we came inside from the pool the wonderful housekeeping staff had decorated my bed with flower petals saying happy birthday.I have never been treated as well as I am at the Banthai.A special mention to Jack at pool bar 2 for his wonderful help and friendliness and what can I can about Tim that hasn't been said before?? Tim would have to be the most amazing,beautiful person I have ever had the pleasure of meeting.He always makes sure we are happy and everything is ok.He is truly an asset to the Banthai resort and deserves every success in life.I can't thank the gorgeous staff at Banthai enough for making my 4th stay as pleasant as every other stay and I WILL be back for a 5th stay next year...And if you're ever needing transfers/tours see Naike out the front of Banthai.He does an amazing job of looking after his guests and is the most patient man around--waits while you shop/go to the market/touristy things and always has a smile on his face and is so helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaJCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

BanThai is a good 4* Hotel what I would rate it as.

Few Positives About Hotel.

1) Excellent Location Right on Patong Beach Road. The Beach is Across a Busy street.

2) Good Rooms. (Although I couldn't understand why Wash Basin is placed in the room and not in Bathroom )

3) Good Buffet Breakfast menu every morning

4) Courteous Staff for Services both in the Hotel and in Restaurant

5) Easy Walking Access to Main Patong Beach Areas, shopping Areas, Restaurants, Night Life
Areas

6) They have Got a Band Which plays on most of the evening called Manila Machines. They are awesome. So Your Evening Entertainments are taken care off.

Overall a Good Hotel to stay in. No Complaints.

Room Tip: Choose the Pool Access Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cityof_Lakes_Udaipur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Myself and a couple of mates stayed here at the start of November this year. We arrived at 06.30am and our check in was not until 14.30. The hotel reception staff were incredibly accommodating and set us up at the pool with towels and had our room ready for us by 11am!! Very grateful to all the staff for this.

The hotel itself is huge and beautifully set out! Two large pools either side with rooms set around each one. The rooms are cleaned daily and are a perfect size! The whole venue was lovely and clean!

Included breakfast Buffet had a huge selection and cooks there to make eggs! So much food we didn't feel like eating til later in the day!

The only downsides were that you hear a lot of noise from the streets outside including loud bangs which are fireworks on the beach. However this really isn't a problem - you get used to it! But it may be if you have small children.

The other downside was having a wifi account for one person only. Most restaurants, day spas and bars offer free wifi though!

Overall I loved this hotel, will recommend it to my friends and will stay there when I come back!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Yes this resort is well located but we found the rooms to be a little tired. Bathrooms don't offer separate bath and shower facility. Would suggest that anyone with mobility issues would struggle to step into the bath to shower (superior room). Breakfasts were ok. In peak times the egg station can be extremely slow as can the coffee station. Pricing reflects the quality of this hotel which is at best 3.5 star compared to other hotels in Thailand. I should say that the staff were extremely friendly and you were always greeted with a smile.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Room too small for a family of 4. Location is excellent and buffet breakfast is good. Staff were excellent and always willing to help. Will definitely recommend to a couple or small family. Avoid the pizza place across the entrance, way too expensive. There is a nice Aussie owned restaurant called Sweet Restaurant within 5 min walk that was excellent.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lester M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel has the potential to get 5 stars from me, location was brilliant, right in front of the beach and far enough away from Bangla road to be away from the craziness there. Hotel is lovely, pool and swim up bars are excellent and staff are really friendly.

Room is big and cleaned every day - nice touch giving you beach towels and bag (towels changed every day or more if you need it). Food at pool bar was nice and really liked the touch of handing out fresh cold pineapple to those round the pool for free on a hot day.

Downsides to this hotel which stop it being 5 for me are - no free Wifi. Wifi was 400BHT per day if you wanted it. Considering almost every other hotel in Thailand offers free Wifi as do most of the bars we thought this was ridiculous and well expensive. Other downside to the hotel is the noise of the air conditioning system which is really loud and did impact our sleep at points. The noise seemed to be the actual main system rather than our individual air con as even when you switched that off the sound was still there droning on and on and on and on....

Hotel over all is great value for money and good location but feel that free Wifi should be a given in hotels in this day and age and they def need to find a way to quiet down the air con system.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat6779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.1 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#23 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.3 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#25 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#6 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banthai Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banthai Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 94 Thaveewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#18 Spa Hotel in Patong
#19 Family Hotel in Patong
#20 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Banthai Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Travelbag so you can book your Banthai Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Beach Hotel Patong
Banthai Beach Resort And Spa
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing