We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Place and Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #27 of 329 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Changing plans from going to Bangkok and staying in Phuket a little longer meant we were in need of a place ASAP and my travel agent booked here. Boy were we impressed! 3 pools (2 of which 50 metres), with spas, swim up bars, lots of area to lounge, lovely foyer, beautiful rooms. New beach/pool towels on demand was great. But best of all was the staff. they were so friendly and got to know us on a personal basis, happy to attend to every queery. Only negative was being charged for them to make calls on my behalf in the hight of trip re-arrangements, although i understand that other hotels I have stayed in do the same thing. Mini bar was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

973 - 979 of 2,261 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

Room was lovely and clean. Accommodations were more than adequate. Location is fantastic in Patong, whilst remaining quiet for sleeping. The breakfast was beyond excellent. The three pools prevent any competition for lounge chairs and there are swim up bars at each. The staff was lovely. They heard that it was our honeymoon and the maid service took it upon themselves to decorate the room in flower pedals and heart shaped towels. My wife and I thought it was incredibly sweet! The also were fantastic after checkout. We had a late flight and had time to kill so they held our bags and allowed us to enjoy the pool and then shower up in the spa before departing for the airport. Not a single complaint with our stay. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The Staff were fantastic, the pool bar boys were very accommodating and always made sure that the ice buckets were topped up with ice and ensured nibbles were always provided, popcorn and pineapple and water melon slices were yummy. The pool rooms were a bit of a let down, as they are very dated and very small, could be cleaner. The pool leading out from the pool rooms needed cleaning as the pool tiles were slimy and slippery. Also was swimming with a few wrigglies :(
The breakfast room was fantastic and the egg chef was the best, he was so funny, does eggs anywhich way. recommend the omlette with everything yummo.
The Fridge wasnt icing the ice cubes so we had to call the technician to fix it once fixed was working a dream. Also the airconditioner is very noisy make sure you get them to fix that, I didnt because I was enjoying my cocktails in the pool, slime and all :)

Room Tip: Delux pool rooms are no bigger than a small motel room, so definately wouldnt stay in them again, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shushpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

+
Location is perfect, just off the beach but not right on the noisy street.
Nice pool area.
Great coctails.
Good size rooms.
Friendly stuff.
Nice firm bed.
-
Slightly used up - we had squeaky bathroom door, and veneer peeping of the bad (we needed it fixed since we had a baby with us).
We asked reception to address the issues above once and it wasn't fixed. We didn't ask again.
Pool bar table was always slightly dusty, when we asked to clean it, they just wiped the area around our seat and not the whole table.

So the place could do better with a little more love by personnel, but anyway I would stay here again, for the good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chillimen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is the 6th time we have stayed at this hotel, when we travel to Thailand we normally start in Patong Beach for a few nights, head elsewhere and then come back to finish off in Patong and we always stay here.
The best thing about the Banthai is the location, it is a short walk from Bangla Road but it is set back from the beach which is perfect as it gives you a bit of a reprieve from the madness (you walk down the short driveway from the main beach road). You can walk out of the hotel and cross the road and you are on the beach with a choice of 1,000's of sun lounges to relax and people watch all day. Each sunlounge is 100 Baht per day (all day) and I recommend you tip them another 50 and they will take good care of you.
The foyer to the hotel is lovely, but the standard rooms could do with a bit of an update.
Rooms: Size is fine, more then you need. There is a wardrobe with a safe and mini bar. There is a lounge and a ledge next to it for your bags. The biggest downside is the size of the bathroom, it is tiny and the vanity is in the room itself (not the bathroom). It isn't a biggie. All the balconies to the rooms face each other so privacy can be a bit of an issue, each balcony has 2 wooden chairs and a table so its more then enough but the balconies are quite small.
The beds are hard.
We have never tried the breakfast but if you are hard up for a coffee there is a Starbucks right outside the hotel. Reception staff can be a little hit and miss, some are lovely and some are quite short and curt. Concierge and the pool staff are awesome.
Request a room on the top floor.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor and make sure you specify if you would like a King Bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We had an incredible experience at the Banthai and out of all the hotels we stayed in throughout Thailand, the Banthai was by far the best. Fantastic location, off the road with guards, fantastic staff and plenty of places to swim, eat and drink. Amazing buffet breakfast!! It's right in the thick of patong beach so no need for tuk tuks. Truely impressed!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loveyaguts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Just returned from 10 nights stay at Banthai - reading recent reviews I was quite excited to stay at this resort (not that it is a resort) when we arrive after 8pm I was quite impressed. The hotel appeared really nice, room was ok & location was excellent.

We thought as it was our first night we would just stop out side at The Port (we was not aware at the time that this was part of the hotel) we sat down - the singers were so loud & not the best I debated if to leave! We ordered a starter, 2 mains & a rice with two cokes. Cokes took 20 minutes to arrive, starter arrived with main. The curries were full of oil ! We couldn't eat them so we paid our bill & returned to our room.

~ good pool size
~ good location
~ good pool staff - great service
~ cold air con
~ nice room size, good decor & cleanliness average
~ good house keeping (towels , toilet roll & water)

~ poor breakfast
~ poor hotel food
~ noisy hotel, music from port
~ noisy staff early hours in morning
~ fire works until early hours
~ small bath room/ not cleaned in whole 10 days
~ noisy ac - sleepless nights
~ hard bed - really hard!!!

There's probably more .. This is just a few things. This is about a 2.5 star hotel ! There's better hotels that are cheaper, have better breakfast, hotel food & that are quite! We was happy to leave & return home.

Room Tip: Ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.3 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#25 of 329 in Patong
1,621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#18 of 329 in Patong
1,366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.7 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#9 of 329 in Patong
1,703 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Flora Resort Patong
La Flora Resort Patong
#35 of 329 in Patong
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banthai Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banthai Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 94 Thaveewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#17 Spa Hotel in Patong
#19 Family Hotel in Patong
#20 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £33 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banthai Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banthai Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Beach Hotel Patong
Banthai Beach Resort And Spa
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing