We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Showing some wear and tear - amazing staff though.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Showing some wear and tear - amazing staff though.”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Although the hotel is looking like it's in need of a makeover, the friendly staff more than made up for it. In particular two of the barmen, Jack and Tim really made our stay special. The pools are quite nice and the swim up bar is fantastic.
Location is perfect. Right near the main beach but far away enough from the chaos of Bangla Road.
The breakfast buffet is fantastic. I would recommend booking it with the accommodation rather than paying separately.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LB_syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    754
    248
    85
    86
See reviews for
415
982
69
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just come back from Patong and stayed at the Banthai. I must say that I was very disappointed in the room, the decor was very out dated, the bathroom tiles were pretty old, the bath had a scrape down it, the blinds in the bathroom were broken and there was an odour as well. To top it off, the bed was rock hard, very uncomfortable and the room was quite small!! The room we had was the Deluxe Pool Room.... certainly not like the photos on the website and not worth the money we paid.
The front desk staff, the cleaners and pool bar staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast restaurant was pretty good, a wide range of food available. The foyer was nice, gave it a good feel as you walked in, just pity about the room.
The air conditioner was pretty loud but it did drain out the noise of the fireworks that seemed to go on all night.
It was nice to have the pool and spa just outside the room, but we hardly used it as we were always out and about and the pool you couldn't use at night. We should have just got the Deluxe Room in the end as the pool is only a few steps away from the room.
The Banthai is in a great location however, close to the Markets and Banglar Road.
Would I stay at the Banthai again - probably not.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Im not usually one to write reviews but thought i'd make and exception in this case.

We stayed at the Banthai for a total of 7 days and had been referred here via a family friend. And was very happy to say the least.

3 pools and 3 bars to keep you happy, the staff here were very witty and some showed us some fantastic card tricks to keep you laughing throughout the day.

The Hotel staff were just as up to standard calling us daily to make sure everything was to our taste and if we needed assistance or tips with regards to some of the tourist activities on the island

My sincerest gratitude to one of the duty managers Audi (like the car, as he says), to making sure our stay was comfortable as possible and checking on us regularly, And also to Jessica at the front bar who was both hilarious and hospitable throughout our stay.

Would highly recommend this hotel for young couple and young families, this will sure not to disappoint you in anyway. Very Happy

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RyanSlevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I recently stayed at the Banthai for 1 week. The hotel location is great, the staff are lovely, and the breakfast is very nice.
The pools are very nice.

The only downfall is no free wifi, and fireworks going off every night in 15 minute intervals.
Other than the fireworks you would not know that you are in busy patong as it is very quiet and relaxing.

I would recommend this resort to any friends and family wanting to go to Patong.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tash1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

My partner & I stayed at the Banthai whilst we were in Phuket for our Thailand escape. We were warmly welcomed by the staff at the front desk, & given a virgin mojito & refresher towel to cool off. we went to our room, which was delightfully spacious. The only faults inside was that the pillows were too high & that the TV was too small! We met the most fantastic employee you'll ever have the pleasure of meeting at the Banthai, his name was Tim. He was truly the reason we smiled every time we walked in & out of that hotel. Always making funny jokes, humanising every conversation & assisting first time travellers in meeting new people. I can honestly say that we drank souly at the Banthai because Tim was there & made everyone smile, laugh & enjoy themselves. If you do decide to stay at the Banthai, make sure you say hey to Tim, & if you're not sure which one he is, don't worry.. I guarantee he will introduce himself to you.. (or just listen out for an extremely unique laugh!!!)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Ash F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and friends stayed here for a week with rooms pretty much next to each other.
The rooms are pretty standard with nothing out of the ordinary.
The staff are extremely friendly and willing to help as best they can except for one of the pool ladies that gave me some attitude just for asking for a couple beers but Charlie made up for it almost every day going out of his way to say hi and have a joke and laugh, the lady that cleans the rooms daily is also very warming sometimes pretty much running down the hallway to say hi and we where always amazed at what shaped animals the towels will be folded in each day.
One big problem would be the noise in the rooms, the walls seem paper thin as you know what the people either side and above you are doing "literally", even last night a group of blokes came home around 4am and stayed up drinking till late morning, their room was nowhere near ours and they weren't speaking loud but we could hear their conversation as if we where standing next to them. I will also shake anyone's hand that could sleep through the hourly fireworks that go all night. We where in room 1110 but everyone is have spoken to has had the same problem, even sitting here writing this on our last morning someone just came up to me and asked about the noise of the room as they wanted to claim it because of the music on the other side of the building.
The location is perfect with a short walk to bangla road and plenty of places to eat and shop on your doorstep.
Overall I would recommend it, especially if you can sleep through a war.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank oodavski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Banthai for 2 weeks recently and at first it was great. As soon as we got there they seated us in a room and gave us a welcome drink whilst they sorted our booking out for us. We stayed in the superior room and it looked nothing like the photos on the website as it was quite old. If you go there expecting what you see in the pictures you will be disappointed. When we booked the room it said "WiFi available" which we thought meant that we had it, but when we proceeded to ask about our WiFi the staff told us it was not included, and it was expensive if we wanted to get it. If we had of known this we probably would have stayed at another hotel as we wanted to stay in contact with our friends and family and there were other hotels at the same or better location in Patong. We had to change rooms at one point because the pipes were leaking and so they moved us to another superior room and gave us WiFi for free and said that for our last 3 nights they would upgrade us which was a nice gesture. On the third last day we moved to the deluxe room with pool access. The room was old, the paint was coming off the walls and it was full of mosquitoes, I would have much preferred the old room. There was only 1 power socket that we could use and it was extremely unsafe as it was coming out of the wall. Our room was non-smoking, but other guests could sit pretty much at our door on deck chairs (which was annoying in itself) and could smoke, so we had smoke coming into our room. We were given WiFi in this room that had a weak signal and was slow (at some times it would not even work). We checked out at 3 am to board our flight and still had a couple of dollars worth of room service to pay for. We asked if we could pay for it using Australian dollars and they were happy for us too, I then proceeded to take out coins because it was only $2 worth of room service but they said they did not accept coins. The staff were rude and were laughing and said we would have to go over the road to get money out. At this point the man who must have been in charge came over and pointed at our money and said "fine, you go now". I was absolutely disgusted with that, it was incredibly rude as we had stayed there for 2 weeks and spent quite a lot of money at the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel. Will not be back.
Stayed January-February 2014

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca_Anne92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.3 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#27 of 322 in Patong
1,580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#24 of 322 in Patong
1,274 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#8 of 322 in Patong
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banthai Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banthai Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 94 Thaveewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#16 Spa Hotel in Patong
#17 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#19 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Banthai Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banthai Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Beach Resort And Spa
Banthai Beach Hotel Patong
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing