We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rockstar Treatment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #27 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Queensland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Rockstar Treatment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2008

Hi there,
We recently had the most fantastic overseas holiday at the Banthai Beach Resort, during this holiday we also held our wedding ceremony and reception at Banthai. Everything was magnificent and the attention to detail was well above our expectations, the beautiful flowers, the setting for both the wedding reception were perfect and the wedding meal was unbelievable. We had 10 or 11 different groups totaling 33 people including children and everyone received the same awesome treatment. For the whole 10 nights that we stayed at the Bantahi we really felt like rockstars with level of service and the friendliest staff we have ever come accross, from the bell boys, reception girls to the senior managers the treatement was THE BEST..... And then of course there was the pool bars!!!
We will be back

  • Liked — Fantastic servie
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fender1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,011
    732
    243
    85
    84
See reviews for
398
964
67
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
canberra
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

I have mixed feelings about this Hotel, but in a nutshell, its a good Hotel for what it is.Having spent 5 days at a luxury quiet boutique Hotel up north, I guess our expectations were a little high.

Pro's
Location is awesome, right in the heart of Patong, minutes away from shopping, eateries and the beach.
Rooms are clean, and have shampoo, conditioner soap and body wash, sewing kit, showercap, qtips, comb, toothpaste and toothbrush. Teabags, coffee sugar and whitener provided, with decent size mugs, but there was never enough sugar for us and we were charged 40 baht if we asked for more. Two bottles of water per day free, bar fridge had the usual (beer, coke, lemonade, some fruit juices and a pack of chips), this wasnt always replaced...fresh towels for personal and beach use, replaced daily if u placed them in the bath. Sheets changed daily, Pool is awesome, very clean and not a bad temperature...the main pool was always warmer than the access pool as it had the sun longer. Pool bar is excellent, providing a variety of drinks, cocktails and snacks. Pool Bar staff are friendly, reception staff for the most part friendly. Good security, and felt safe at all times. Rooms were sprayed each night with repellant...nice touch.

Cons
We had a deluxe pool access room, my biggest complaint was the total lack of privacy with these rooms. Our room was at the end, next door to reception, Reception had floor to ceiling glass windows, which meant that people arriving and departing could see right into our room. Added to this, the main walkway was in front of the pool access rooms, as was the pool bar, which meant that there was a constant stream of guests, giving us even less privacy.
Terrace was small, so there was really nowhere to sunbake. Could constantly hear movement of guests staying in the floor above. Room service food was average, lack of power points was annoying and breakfasts were expensive and average, compared to what was available at local eateries.''

All in all a good Hotel, but large, so lacks that personal touch that some of the smaller hotels offer. I probably wouldnt go back there, or if I did I wouldnt get the deluxe pool access...the pool access rooms were cheaper and had a lot more privacy and room in front of them.

  • Liked — pool bar staff and pool
  • Disliked — lack of privacy, nowhere to sunbake
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jik26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2008

We stayed at the Banthai on the 31st July 2008 for 8 nights. There were 7 couples in total and there were no hold ups being a group booking. From the moment we walked in their friendliness and hospitally was superb. My husband and I had never been to Thailand and I must say we will go again and will be staying at the Banthai.
After reading the reports I was a bit worried but cannot believe what some people complain about! The rooms were fresh and clean, the breakfast was awesome (nearly everything you could think of) and the pool area was fantastic. The pool staff were very friendly. Even with the language barrier we got along fine. People complained about the lack of English speaking staff. They were in Thailand weren't they?!!!
One of our friends had her birthday while we were there and they organised us a table at the Port Restuarant (at front of resort) arranged a birthday cake and got the band to sing Happy Birthday. We had the best night.
I wouldn't recommend it for kids as there is no kids pool etc. So if you want a holiday away from children I fully recommend the Banthai.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — The airconditioner rattled sometimes.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryperth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikoura
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2008

This Place is the BOMB!!!! Loved every minute of our stay here, just wasn't long enough, we stayed for 10 days, People are very very friendly and nice, Weather excellent, (monsoon at night) Pool and POOL BAR...awesome!
Will bring more friends and family when we come next time. A very safe place to come with beautifull islands and snorkling,
I read bad reviews about this place... and they certainly weren't true.
I can't think of a bad thing to say.. !
Best holiday I have ever had.

  • Liked — pool, pool bar, close to everything, very nice place.
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank frillyjilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2008

We have just returned from Thailand and loved the Banthai Beach Resort and Spa. We went for our wedding anniversary and they had spelt out the word 'love' on the bed with flowers and filled the bath with water and put flower petals into it. We also received a fruit basket and wine.The staff were very polite and helpful.Would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Locality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank morris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2008

After reading some of the reviews we were a little worried about the Banthai, but there is absolutley NOTHING TO BE WORRIED ABOUT! My husband and 2 children 19 & 16 had the best family holiday. Kids can't wait to return. Banthai is very well appointed there was no problem with check in we had 2 adjoining rooms, cleaned promptly every day. It's very close to everything, shops, beach, night life, restaurants, massages, tailors. We did have one bad experience at the beach my husband and son nearly drowned getting caught in a rip at the beach, it can be very dangerous so be careful. We were lucky that some thai boys on the beach noticed they were in trouble and got on their boggy boards quickly to save them, a very scary experience.
We went to Phi Phi Island but a little disappointed too many boats. Also went to Rifle shooting range, go-carts, monkey show, Simon Caberet, Phuket town all good.
The shopping is fantastic so much to buy so cheap, we got a taxi for 5 hours, driver drove us wherever we wanted and charged $300 baht, that's $10 AUS dollars, unreal.
We would highly recommend the Banthai the swim up bar is great, cocktails and fruit shakes delicious.
Staff very friendly and no trouble understanding English.
We can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — The location, friendly staff and guests
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Kangas2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2008

Have just come back from staying for 11 Nights at the Banthai Beach Resort and Spa. We had a Deluxe Pool Room and were totally happy with our choice. Nothing seemed worn out or tired and everything was of a very high standard. Whilst at Phuket we also visited the Lagoona Phuket 5 star resorts and this in fact confirmed our choice. We found that only steps away was a height of activity and in the same respect take those steps back and there was peace and quiet. We could hear no other disturbing noises once in our room. Breakfast were great and all staff very helpful. My girlfriend and I both went to the Spa and this also was an "A" grade experience. The complex covers a large area and the beach is just across the road. Best form of transport is a scooter. Security is A1 and they have guards and also safes in the room. For Kids I am not sure. There was a small kid’s play centre at the pool. As a couple the place was perfect and great value for money.

Advise for those interested in Diving/Snorkelling in and around Phuket . Its not that great. I have dived the Great Barrier Reef, Fiji, Hawaii and Koh Samui. Unless there is a secret spot then forget it as it appears most coral life is dead. Some marine life but not a lot. This was the same as Koh Samui 10 years ago. The ocean has been raped without regulation and or any national parks.. I may be wrong. I would like to be but where we went on a dive boat was very commercial and very crowded. There is a large Dive industry in Phuket.. Perhaps it may be better at other spots they can go to at other times of the year. We were there at August. I would rate it as 1 out of 10. Sorry Phuket dive industry..

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank rrstaffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.3 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#28 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#24 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#6 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.4 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.2 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#10 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banthai Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banthai Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 94 Thaveewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#17 Spa Hotel in Patong
#18 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#19 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Banthai Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travelbag, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banthai Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Beach Hotel Patong
Banthai Beach Resort And Spa
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing