We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 334 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 8 nights in April and had an amazing time! We have both travelled to many different hotels and resorts around the world and this is both one of our favourites so far!
My boyfriend had asked the staff if they could do something special for us due to our first trip together and they added the honeymoon bonus on our room free of charge. The staff were all so helpful and nice, they could speak english. Our room was great, no problems with the air conditioning, at times we were cold. The pool bar staff were a lot of fun and always made sure we had popcorn and drinks if needed. Some of the best cocktails I've had were from here! The location is great, our room was not noisy and we definitely could not hear Bangla road from the room or the pool. It felt like we were in a resort a while away as it was so quiet. There were fireworks but this was not a big deal for us.
Breakfast was good and standard buffet.

Definitely would recommend this hotel especially for young couples, groups of friends or families with older children and teenagers. Will definitely be staying at the Ban Thai when we go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a non smoking room which had been renovated, ask to overlook the pool and to not be far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

943 - 949 of 2,319 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed with this hotel. Very average for the price we paid. Breakfast was average. Service for coffee and egg making was painfully slow. They have more staff walking around should be helping were needed. Found staff at breakfast not very helpful. The room next to ours was been renovated. The drilling and noise was so annoying. They turned our hot water off in shower for 2 days. The air conditioning was just ridiculous we had to ask for fans. Daniel was a great member of staff he was so helpful to us at reception. Won't be coming back sorry. Not a good choice.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My husband and I just got back from staying at Banthai Resort and were impressed by its location which was very handy to everything without the need to get a Tuk Tuk everywhere. We at first were disappointed with the bathroom set up. There was no mirror in there and it looked a bit dated in comparison to the rest of room, which felt beachy and re-furbished nicely. We were on 2nd storey with a lovely outlook overlooking pool. King size bed was like sleeping on a slab of marble unfortunately. Management need to replace mattresses for new,softer ones badly, as we didn't get much sleep due to this.Rooms were clean and nicely made up each day. Breakfast was lovely and staff there friendly and welcoming. Staff in general were always helpful and in particular Daniel at the front reception counter is a true asset to the Resort, as not only could he speak English, which was a blessing in disguise, but also very friendly and helpful with lots of advise for us, so we could enjoy our holiday as much as possible. Would come back if new beds in place.

Room Tip: Rooms where we were on the far right section seemed less congested in pool and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Start with the nice. The hotel lobby was nice and the pool was a good temperature, also close to all of the action.
The staff were poorly trained, several times we were addressed by staff (food and drink)"what do ya want?" or just "what". A lady boy working at the bar at in the main lobby would make crude comments every time a male walked past. Very noisy, could hear the partying from Bangla Rd and the fire works were extremely loud, often going until 3am. The lift broke down 3 times while we were in it. The A/C was not up to standard, very noisy, we had it set to 18 degrees and fan speed high, room was uncomfortably hot, went to sleep in a sweat every night (eg next resort we had a/c on 23 degrees and fan speed low, was perfect). The mattress was very hard and they had a sign beside the bed saying if you require a soft mattress please ask, the next day we asked but they didn't change it so we asked room service lady and she just put a extra duvet under the sheet. When we checked out we got charged for a lot of things in the mini bar which we did not use, we knew what we had taken as we had "mytime" which entitled us to 1 full mini bar set up, we kept a note pad beside the fridge and noted what we used however the check out staff would not listen. Hardly any staff there spoke very good english or even basic english which makes communications hard. I would only recommend this resort if you are on a tight budget or have low standards, you get what you pay for. Lots of sheilas walking around with bandaged nose's, initial thoughts were scooter accident but later discovered they were all getting nose jobs so possibly close to a vanity clinic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JasonMcClure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I should always follow my own advice. See how many resorts reviewers have stayed at and what they are comparing it to. I have rated it very good, but that is only because of the staff and the location. Rooms were the problem because very small - non existent bathroom. Basin is in the bedroom so you have to go have a shower and then leave the bathroom to get to the basin for teeth etc. Resort would be beter off building the basin into the bathroom and making the room a tad smaller. You are only sleeping there after all. Would much rather have the bigger bathroom. Can't fault the location as very central to everything. Breakfast fine - what you would expect. have had worse and better. Because of the bathroom the value for money is not there for us. If location is not your only concern perhaps look elsewhere - Merlin Beach, Gracelands maybe However Banthai have the very best staff expecially at the pool bar . John and Charlie are fantastic and realy made us so welcome.

Room Tip: Need to be ground floor near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casspb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at this hotel. The staff were friendly and the hotel beautiful.

The reception area and bar were welcoming. We got a lovely pool facing room on the second floor. The rooms are well appointed, spacious and modern.

The location of the hotel is perfect! Within a 10 minute walk to Bangla Road, markets are right around the corner and the best eateries are within walking distance.

This truly is the best place to stay in Patong.

The only negative I have about this hotel is that you have to pay for wi-fi in the standard rooms.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lungi05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was our second time at the Banthai and this time was not as good as the first. I made a conscious effort to go back here because of the great staff and this fact is still true but our room was a long way from good. We had the pool view room in the last building near the villa, it was full of mosquito's when we arrived and with out a word of a lie it took me three days to kill them all off using the spay that house keeping gave me. At least 2 of the power points didn't work and there are only 3 or 4 in the room which where difficult to get at. The internet was dismal to say the least and the fire alarm went off in the room at midnight with no apparent cause.The stench in the room was stomach wrenching, I don't know what the smell was but it came from the bathroom and got worse each day, we could not find the source. They did come to try to fix these problems and i did stick it out, but after 8 days of that smell i wont be back again. I also came down with a stomach bug after eating at the hotel and I was not the only guest to do so at the resort. This resort is in a great location and as i stated the staff are great especially Tim at the 2nd pool bar its a real shame for us because we really liked this hotel the first time. Just a tip for management, in the pool view rooms you supply a rack outside to dry things, once you put a couple of pairs of shorts and a few other small items there is nowhere to hang any towels bath or pool, most other rooms have the balcony railing. Because of the humidity it is very difficult to get things dried and laying them over the outside furniture does not work i would suggest a bigger rack or at least supply two of them.

Room Tip: Don't pay the extra money for pool access rooms when the pool view rooms are the same pools and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#14 of 334 in Patong
1,475 reviews
0.3 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#25 of 334 in Patong
1,668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#9 of 334 in Patong
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
1 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#32 of 334 in Patong
807 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Laimai Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banthai Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banthai Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 94 Thaveewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#16 Family Hotel in Patong
#16 Spa Hotel in Patong
#19 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range: £49 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banthai Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Banthai Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Beach Hotel Patong
Banthai Beach Resort And Spa
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing