We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #27 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Adelaide, AUS
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed 3 May 2009

We struggled to find a hotel on Patong Beach that had a swim-up pool bar, until we came across the Banthai Beach Resort & Spa. With 3 pools all with swim-up pool bars, it was just what we were looking for. The service was brilliant. We were checked in fast and efficiently, given cool towels and a drink on arrival then shown to our rooms with a complete run-through of everything in our rooms (eg: electronic switchboard control of lights, air-con, alarm etc. We were very impressed from the moment we arrived.
The pool bar staff were very friendly and fed us free snacks and played Jenga and Connect 4 with us to keep us entertained. The cocktails didn't go astray either :) (recommend the Bananrama) The hotel was very quiet considering we were on the main street.
The location was absolutely perfect as were wanting to be in the heart of things without having to catch a Tuk Tuk everywhere we went. With Starbucks, a Tailor, Pizza & Pasta restaurant and a cocktail bar at the entrance of the hotel, what more could you want? Hungry Jacks, Subway and McDonalds plus many roadside food stalls are all within 2 mins of the hotel if you're wanting a snack.
I highly recommend a restaurant called Sweet which is in a small shopping mall 2 streets to the right when you leave the hotel. The thai food was amazing! Thai Green Curry was our favourite - but other meals we had were also very, very nice - not to mention CHEAP!! The Curry cost us about AUD$3 (75 baht)!!!!!
We did miss the lagoon style pool that resorts usually have, however the pools were nice and there weren't too many people around as they were spread over the 3 different wings with individual pools - which was great.
Overall this was a great hotel and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazzam28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    730
    243
    85
    84
See reviews for
396
962
67
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Qatar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2009

The location and the ambience was very pleasing.The swimming pool was very good. To top it all the proximity of the hotel and the attitude of Hotel staff ensured that we had a excellent stay.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank Tiramisu71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

Arrived at Banthai and greated by friendly staff. All went well only to find that we could not have inter-connecting rooms immediately and not sure when or if we could. We where not happy but within a period of 2 hours we had inter-connecting rooms.

We had 2 rooms on the 3rd floor (double bed) & in the other room (2 singles beds) and we had 3 teenagers sharing. Next thing house keeping was making the sofa into the third bed. Rooms a little bit on the smallish side - great if you are planning to be out of the room alot. Balcony also on the small side. Rooms & bathroom clean and tidy. Bed linen (some) needs to be updated as sometimes our sheets had small holes or marks on them. Need mozzie zappers also in rooms.

Pools fantastic and staff very friendly. Drink prices very reasonable but they also allowed you to take your own beverages by the pool. Pool food - reasonable in price and ok size of smalls. Pools get sun & shade which is good if you don't want to be in the sun all day. Very social atmosphere out by the pools.

Breakfast was average and if you went to late it was very busy. Selection of hot food could be better (great if you loved eggs), especially if you where staying awhile.

Location was great in the middle of Patong - which is why we choose to stay at this hotel.

Banthai is good but just needs a few finishing touches to make it superb. I would recommended it to people but would tell them the good & bad.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 101holidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PerthWA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

WE stayed for 9 nights from the beginning of April and absolutely loved everything about the hotel! The staff are very friendly, rooms spacious and cleaned expertly every day and it was in a perfect location. The best part was having the pool right outside your bedroom door (deluxe room) and it was just heavenly to come home after a hard day's shopping and slip straight into the pool. Breakfast was great too - plenty to choose from and a lovely place to eat. I would go back in a heartbeat! Mini-bar prices were very cheap and it was good value at the swim up bar and also at the Port restaurant out the front. Everything you need all in the one spot, and with Haagen-Das and Starbucks out the front too, how could you go wrong?

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debnmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2009

We stayed 7 nights at the Banthai Beach Resort. Couldn't fault anything. Our room was perfect. Clean, well accommodated rooms with pool access, internet in room. Staff very helpful & friendly. Nice modern surroundings. Hotel location was perfect just off the beach road, beach and main drag very accessible. Would most definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

really loved our first trip out of the EU!! Don't like flying but it was totally worth it. The staff at Banthai as lovely, very helpful and very respectful. We didn't get a fruit basket every day or flowers on the bed but really I hate that kind of fuss anyway. The breakfasts were fantastic, although have to question why they would serve beef stew, but you can choose from healthy fruit, smoothies, cheese, salami, melon, cereals, a choice of eggs, bacon, waffles, pancakes, Thai soup, toasts, the list is endless all situated in the breakfast room. The hotel is just of the main road opposite the beach in it's own complex which has a spa and restaurant etc. Try them. It's less than 100 yards to the beach which is great if it starts to rain, and when it rains, it really rains and can last for several hours, although not cold and you can go out but you will be so wet it's not worth it. Take plastic macks and an umbrella, although the hotel does give you an umbrella.
Have a walk up Bangla Road - eye opener - trying to spot which are girls/lady boys etc, the road shuts at about 6pm so that it is only pedestrians which is great. We didn't eat or drink in any bars down this road or any other along this stretch, we did however eat a few times in the shopping complex, near Boots at the top end of Bangla Road, I forget the name, which is nice. Tip if ordering several Thai dishes they all come at once, there's no starters, even though they called starters - so you end up completely stuffed and meal finished in 20 minutes.
The Port restaurant is part of the Banthai Beach Resort and is lovely but expensive - the cheapest wine here is 700bhats which is about £14! Service is great and they have live enterainment every night until about 1am, although after 2 weeks the Bob Marley montage gets really tiresome!! All wine is expensive in Thailand due to import tax but if you walk to Carrefore in the shopping centre you can pick up a bottle for about £5 which is cheapest we could find. The locals drink whiskey and beer - both of which I hate - and it is really hard to find diet anything!!
Places to eat - try Mama Mia's - really nice and good value, Napolean Italian and a great place on the right side of the beach (looking out to sea) on the rocks are some umbrella's, this is a cafe - situated under the lights of a very swish restaurant, there's a family living under cover who will cook all day for you if you wish, very lovely people. We had 4 local dishes (between 2) and additional 8 jumbo BBQ king prawns (which came with salad and chips), and 5 or 6 drinks for 700 bhats, which is about £14 which when you compare to some of the other places along the main road who's dishes are 700 bhats each then that's very good value - and just as good!
Go on some trips, although they can be quiet expensive, but the hotel staff sort all this out for you and recommend the best ones. We did the all day James Bond trip, which is great but not what you expect, and there was lots of getting on and off dingy's, very hot but not good if you want to look cool and dignified for the day, be prepared to get wet, hot and very tired. Although you don't have to join in you can stay on the main boat but you'd miss all the small islands and lagoons - but I have to say when you seen one you've seen them all - although one word of advice - don't look up and open your mouth in the bat cave !

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gina67Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2009

The Banthai was a great place to stay with a few friends on holiday. We had the deluxe rooms, which virtually step out onto the pool. The small deck outside the sliding doors had a table and a place to sit, whilst still being able to access the pool without going up and down stairs. The pools are great, and we never felt crowded or saw too many people "reserving" loungers. The pool bar is nice, but of course, not cheap. The Banthai is right in the middle of Beach Road, which means it is right in the middle of things. This is both a positive and a negative I would say. It means you don't have to walk too far for anything, but it also means it is difficult to escape the Patong intensity (you want suit etc). Great restaurant Sabai Sabai is around the corner, the exchange counter/ATM at the Banthai entrance had great rates, and there is a Starbucks next door if you need that caffeine blast. Breakfast at the hotel was very good, including eggs to order. The rooms are comfortable, with cable tv, aircon, safe, minibar etc. I found the shower design allowed water to run onto the floor, which a was slightly annoying. Staff were fine and friendly enough, some had better English communication thatn others. Overall, a very pleasant place to stay in [--]

Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank before_sunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.3 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#28 of 319 in Patong
1,524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#22 of 319 in Patong
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#6 of 319 in Patong
1,613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.2 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#10 of 319 in Patong
2,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banthai Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banthai Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 94 Thaveewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#17 Spa Hotel in Patong
#18 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#19 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Banthai Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelbag, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banthai Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Beach Hotel Patong
Banthai Beach Resort And Spa
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa Phuket/Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing